IPB

Google Frontpage Forums Unattended CD/DVD Guide

> Unattended CD/DVD Guide Homepage · MSFN Forum Rules

- First contribute to MSFN, then you can post your site in here. In other words, don't advertise your site here without helping out around the forum.

- For commercial advertising PM Admin.

- Do not post any warez site or porn sites. We do not encourage it in any form.

People who don't follow those three simple rules will see their post deleted, and their warn level increased.

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Beware of www.canaca.com
Alexei
post Aug 25 2005, 04:28 PM
Post #1


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 21
Joined: 31-January 04
Member No.: 13537
OS: none
Country Flag


Hello
People beware of web hosting company called www.canaca.com

This company is managed by a bunch of thieves.

It offers an alleged excellent offer to seduce you: (10 GB web space, 200 GB montly bandwidth, 3.95 $ per month)
Sound good?
Nope, once you're there you're busted.

First they tell you when oredering that they need your phone number to call you for confirmation. And here come the first tide:
You'll receive this e-mail from canaca.com:

QUOTE
Phone Confirmation

Hello,

We tried calling you with no luck. Please give us a call when you have
a minute. Our number is 1-800-823-9410 -or- +1-905-276-0658 for outside
North America.

Please note that once you call and speak to a rep they will be able to
activate your account for you without any problems.

Best Regards,
Canaca-Com Inc.
Now after taking your money, it's you who should call them.

It's Ok, let's continue:

They said that the call is free, and here's come the second tide:
THE CALL IS NOT FREE


Once YOU call and confirm, you need to send a dozen of begging e-mails to receive your login.

It's OK. You'll wait 1 week to receive your username and password.

The first week of hosting is great and everything is going fine. But once 10 days pass, your site will stop working, it will cease to exist. You can neither upload nor download, and you'll recieve a new e-mail, so prepare yourself for a third tide:

QUOTE
The IP address of your account has been blocked due to overloading the network by having lots of unusual connection.
Please provide us with explanations.


My goodness!!! Where's the 200 GB promised???
Whatever your explanation is, you'll receive this e-mail:

QUOTE
What caused your account IP address to be blocked is using lots of bandwidth at a same time so the network can't handle. As you know, we have clearly mentioned in out TOS (http://canaca.com/contract.html) that you are not allowed to use the network resources more than 10% at a single moment. We had to block your IP address to prevent further disruptions in serving other accounts which are using the same network resources.

Anyway, if you assure us to avoid letting happen of such network abuses, we will unblock your account IP address and resume your hosting account.
See guys, I can only use 10 % of my 200 GB.
My 200 GB dropped to 20 GB monthly.
And notice: http://canaca.com/contract.html
This page is hidden when you place your order. It only appears when they drop your 200 GB to 20 GB.
So you need now to accept the new rules, otherwise the hosting will be canceled and you can say goodbye to your money.

What is funny, is that on their home page, they said "30 days money back gurantee if you're not satisfied..."
Well this is a big lie. You'll never get your money back.
Jusr read the hidden page: http://canaca.com/contract.html:

QUOTE
If the issue is related to something that we did not promise you to provide then this 30 day money back guarantee will not apply.

So dream not of some money back.

Now, if you send more e-mails to protest and asking when your IP will be unblocked, you'll be punished and you'll receive this e-mail:

QUOTE
No, The IP address should be blocked for at least 4 days.



So now I lost my money, my bandwitdh dropped to 20 GB and I am punished for at least 4 days.
I don't know what is waiting for me in the next few days.
Don't worry, I'll let you know.

Meanwhile, please warn your friends:

BEWARE OF THESE THIEVES AT WWW.CANACA.COM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
tj007s13
post Sep 23 2005, 10:07 PM
Post #2


Newbie


Group: Members
Posts: 26
Joined: 6-March 05
Member No.: 46590
Country Flag


I had a similar problem sad.gif
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
XPerties
post Sep 26 2005, 06:04 PM
Post #3


I am root, obey my authority!
Group Icon

Group: Patrons
Posts: 3139
Joined: 18-August 01
From: New Jersey
Member No.: 12
Country Flag


QUOTE
10 GB web space, 200 GB monthly bandwidth, 3.95 $ per month)


That would have been the first clue it was a scam. The saying has never died and will be alive for years to come:

"If it's to good to be true, it probably is"
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
XPerties
post Sep 26 2005, 06:06 PM
Post #4


I am root, obey my authority!
Group Icon

Group: Patrons
Posts: 3139
Joined: 18-August 01
From: New Jersey
Member No.: 12
Country Flag


hahahahahaha...

[1] The guy is photoshopped
[2] The guy shirt is photoshopped

Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Zxian
post Sep 26 2005, 09:35 PM
Post #5


Scroll up - see the Google bar?
Group Icon

Group: Super Moderator
Posts: 5318
Joined: 30-September 04
From: Vancouver, Canada
Member No.: 32464
OS: Vista Ultimate x64
Country Flag


I'm trying to set up web hosting at x10hosting.com. My signup failed at step 2, so my site is up and running (zxian.x10hosting.com), but I don't have access. blink.gif

Soon though... soon.

Check it out - X10 Hosting

Free hosting... needs a banner, but that's not that big of a deal... it's free, no?
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
G30
post Oct 20 2005, 10:41 AM
Post #6





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 20-October 05
From: Torremolinos
Member No.: 77201
Country Flag


Just been checking their site out! what a scream.

they even ofer a dial up internet access at http://acanac.com/Dialup.htm.

Note the slight change in Company name.

It says that one of the perks of their dial up package is the ability to send 50Mb attachments! over a 56k dial up!. LOL

And the website, sheesh that template has been doing the rounds for ages.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
avalanch
post Jan 31 2007, 07:54 PM
Post #7





Group: Members
Posts: 7
Joined: 27-January 07
Member No.: 123775
Country Flag


QUOTE (Zxian @ Sep 26 2005, 09:35 PM) *
I'm trying to set up web hosting at x10hosting.com. My signup failed at step 2, so my site is up and running (zxian.x10hosting.com), but I don't have access. blink.gif

Soon though... soon.

Check it out - X10 Hosting

Free hosting... needs a banner, but that's not that big of a deal... it's free, no?


A misplaced or unexpected banner can easily mess up a well coded page in my opinion. I prefer 4uhost.info. No banners at all plus great service & plans.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
RJARRRPCGP
post Mar 22 2007, 06:53 PM
Post #8


MSFN Expert
******

Group: Members
Posts: 1212
Joined: 13-April 05
From: USA (Cavendish, Co. Windsor, Vermont)
Member No.: 51865
OS: none
Country Flag


So the 200 GB shall have been 20 . 0 GB!

Sounds like that host loves to act like malware!

This post has been edited by RJARRRPCGP: Mar 22 2007, 06:54 PM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
Chozo4
post Apr 14 2007, 05:02 AM
Post #9


Advanced Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 363
Joined: 31-July 05
Member No.: 66754
OS: 98SE
Country Flag


This might be piling onto it but...

QUOTE
10 GB web space, 200 GB monthly bandwidth, 3.95 $ per month)


Oh look! it's even more good to be true! It now says:

QUOTE
500 GB web space, 2000 GB monthly bandwidth, 3.95 $ per month)


As for hosting however, why not host yourself and not worry about advertising?

This post has been edited by Chozo4: Apr 14 2007, 05:05 AM
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post
kelf
post Oct 21 2007, 01:37 AM
Post #10





Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: 21-October 07
Member No.: 159074
OS: none
Country Flag


I have been a canaca customer for a long time. Recently I wanted to upgrade my plan and figured that they would have billed me correctly before with my Bronze 12 month.

Turns out that even though the listed USD$4.95 * 12 for 12 months, plan, they also converted it to CAD for me at a rate of 1.2 (the rate is 1.07 at the time of the credit card transaction).

When I asked their sales, they said their contract says it's a converstion rate of 1.2. Nowhere in their contract on their terms of use listed 1.2.

I am going to contact Better business bureau if they don't fix this up. I don't know how many Canaca customers are being ripped off out there.
Go to the top of the page
 
+Quote Post

Google Frontpage Forums Unattended CD/DVD Guide

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 9th January 2009 - 04:29 PM
All trademarks mentioned on this page are the property of their respective owners
MSFN is not affiliated with Microsoft
Copyright © 2001-2008 msfn.org
Privacy Policy