Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Beware of www.canaca.com
MSFN Forums > Miscellaneous > Websites and Boards

   
Google Internet Forums Unattended CD/DVD Guide
Alexei
Hello
People beware of web hosting company called www.canaca.com

This company is managed by a bunch of thieves.

It offers an alleged excellent offer to seduce you: (10 GB web space, 200 GB montly bandwidth, 3.95 $ per month)
Sound good?
Nope, once you're there you're busted.

First they tell you when oredering that they need your phone number to call you for confirmation. And here come the first tide:
You'll receive this e-mail from canaca.com:

QUOTE
Phone Confirmation

Hello,

We tried calling you with no luck. Please give us a call when you have
a minute. Our number is 1-800-823-9410 -or- +1-905-276-0658 for outside
North America.

Please note that once you call and speak to a rep they will be able to
activate your account for you without any problems.

Best Regards,
Canaca-Com Inc.
Now after taking your money, it's you who should call them.

It's Ok, let's continue:

They said that the call is free, and here's come the second tide:
THE CALL IS NOT FREE


Once YOU call and confirm, you need to send a dozen of begging e-mails to receive your login.

It's OK. You'll wait 1 week to receive your username and password.

The first week of hosting is great and everything is going fine. But once 10 days pass, your site will stop working, it will cease to exist. You can neither upload nor download, and you'll recieve a new e-mail, so prepare yourself for a third tide:

QUOTE
The IP address of your account has been blocked due to overloading the network by having lots of unusual connection.
Please provide us with explanations.


My goodness!!! Where's the 200 GB promised???
Whatever your explanation is, you'll receive this e-mail:

QUOTE
What caused your account IP address to be blocked is using lots of bandwidth at a same time so the network can't handle. As you know, we have clearly mentioned in out TOS (http://canaca.com/contract.html) that you are not allowed to use the network resources more than 10% at a single moment. We had to block your IP address to prevent further disruptions in serving other accounts which are using the same network resources.

Anyway, if you assure us to avoid letting happen of such network abuses, we will unblock your account IP address and resume your hosting account.
See guys, I can only use 10 % of my 200 GB.
My 200 GB dropped to 20 GB monthly.
And notice: http://canaca.com/contract.html
This page is hidden when you place your order. It only appears when they drop your 200 GB to 20 GB.
So you need now to accept the new rules, otherwise the hosting will be canceled and you can say goodbye to your money.

What is funny, is that on their home page, they said "30 days money back gurantee if you're not satisfied..."
Well this is a big lie. You'll never get your money back.
Jusr read the hidden page: http://canaca.com/contract.html:

QUOTE
If the issue is related to something that we did not promise you to provide then this 30 day money back guarantee will not apply.

So dream not of some money back.

Now, if you send more e-mails to protest and asking when your IP will be unblocked, you'll be punished and you'll receive this e-mail:

QUOTE
No, The IP address should be blocked for at least 4 days.



So now I lost my money, my bandwitdh dropped to 20 GB and I am punished for at least 4 days.
I don't know what is waiting for me in the next few days.
Don't worry, I'll let you know.

Meanwhile, please warn your friends:

BEWARE OF THESE THIEVES AT WWW.CANACA.COM
tj007s13
I had a similar problem sad.gif
XPerties
QUOTE
10 GB web space, 200 GB monthly bandwidth, 3.95 $ per month)


That would have been the first clue it was a scam. The saying has never died and will be alive for years to come:

"If it's to good to be true, it probably is"
XPerties
hahahahahaha...

[1] The guy is photoshopped
[2] The guy shirt is photoshopped

Zxian
I'm trying to set up web hosting at x10hosting.com. My signup failed at step 2, so my site is up and running (zxian.x10hosting.com), but I don't have access. blink.gif

Soon though... soon.

Check it out - X10 Hosting

Free hosting... needs a banner, but that's not that big of a deal... it's free, no?
G30
Just been checking their site out! what a scream.

they even ofer a dial up internet access at http://acanac.com/Dialup.htm.

Note the slight change in Company name.

It says that one of the perks of their dial up package is the ability to send 50Mb attachments! over a 56k dial up!. LOL

And the website, sheesh that template has been doing the rounds for ages.
avalanch
QUOTE (Zxian @ Sep 26 2005, 09:35 PM) *
I'm trying to set up web hosting at x10hosting.com. My signup failed at step 2, so my site is up and running (zxian.x10hosting.com), but I don't have access. blink.gif

Soon though... soon.

Check it out - X10 Hosting

Free hosting... needs a banner, but that's not that big of a deal... it's free, no?


A misplaced or unexpected banner can easily mess up a well coded page in my opinion. I prefer 4uhost.info. No banners at all plus great service & plans.
RJARRRPCGP
So the 200 GB shall have been 20 . 0 GB!

Sounds like that host loves to act like malware!
Chozo4
This might be piling onto it but...

QUOTE
10 GB web space, 200 GB monthly bandwidth, 3.95 $ per month)


Oh look! it's even more good to be true! It now says:

QUOTE
500 GB web space, 2000 GB monthly bandwidth, 3.95 $ per month)


As for hosting however, why not host yourself and not worry about advertising?
kelf
I have been a canaca customer for a long time. Recently I wanted to upgrade my plan and figured that they would have billed me correctly before with my Bronze 12 month.

Turns out that even though the listed USD$4.95 * 12 for 12 months, plan, they also converted it to CAD for me at a rate of 1.2 (the rate is 1.07 at the time of the credit card transaction).

When I asked their sales, they said their contract says it's a converstion rate of 1.2. Nowhere in their contract on their terms of use listed 1.2.

I am going to contact Better business bureau if they don't fix this up. I don't know how many Canaca customers are being ripped off out there.
Google Internet Forums Unattended CD/DVD Guide
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please click here.