Unwonted
Jun 21 2003, 09:29 PM
I visited a site,
http://www.farb-rausch.com, and they had movies for download that I found. They have music, bump-mapped textures, and lighting effects, but are
still a mere 64k. Does anyone know how they do this?
Download one
-=here=-.
It gives me the creeps.
Visentinel
Jun 21 2003, 09:48 PM
an exe ?
U said its Movies / Music
Unwonted
Jun 21 2003, 10:25 PM
Yes, it IS an exe. It's a Direct3d demo of some sort. How does it work? When you watch it, you will wonder how they got it into a file smaller than most of my term papers.
SqueakyByte
Jun 21 2003, 10:56 PM
its a trojan, dont download it
it fuct my PC
Unwonted
Jun 21 2003, 11:21 PM
Not a trojan

It runs fine on my computer. Maybe you have an old 3d card. Did you even scan it before declaring it a trojan?
SqueakyByte
Jun 21 2003, 11:23 PM
i scanned it with nortons av '03 with up to date definitons
and my 3d card is a geforce fx 5900 ultra..
Unwonted
Jun 21 2003, 11:24 PM
QUOTE (SqueakyByte @ Jun 21 2003, 11:23 PM)
i scanned it with nortons av '03 with up to date definitons
and my 3d card is a geforce fx 5900 ultra..
What virus did it say it was? Now you've got me worried. I've got an up-to-date NAV '03 as well, and it didn't come up with anything. Maybe there's something wrong with my scanner?
SqueakyByte
Jun 21 2003, 11:30 PM
i dunno but it said its a backdoor.netdevil
i used safe mode/dos to delete the bugger
Unwonted
Jun 21 2003, 11:38 PM
Ok, I've just run it through AVG, NAV, and McAfee, and even Panda. NONE say it's a virus. Odd... My active scanner is AVG though.
SqueakyByte
Jun 21 2003, 11:42 PM
hmm maybe its not, my security level is all the way up, it thought photoshop was a virus..
lynchknot
Jun 22 2003, 12:42 AM
Those 64k movies have been around for a while - they are amazing.
Aaron
Jun 22 2003, 06:39 AM
Yep, pure brilliance.
By guessing - Its got no textures in the executable, its got 64k of code instructing DirectX what textures and sounds to generate, which makes it very small.
btw, its neither a virus or trojan, it hasn't attempted to access the net, and doesn't bring up anything on NAV, seeing as this is a popular file and its been around for nearly 2 years. SqueakyByte - Your virus scanner is too sensitive.
MSNwar
Jun 22 2003, 11:21 AM
Nice to see candytron again. I remember it was done in part with lightwave and some of the music loops.
Unwonted
Jun 22 2003, 11:47 AM
Thanks for the help guys! Up until now, I've just been telling my friends that the files are demon-possesed.
This is a "lo-fi" version of our main content. To view the full version with more information, formatting and images, please
click here.