Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

How to Manually Schedule Chkdsk at Startup?

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1
spacesurfer

spacesurfer

    Pharmassist

  • Patrons
  • 1,668 posts
  • Joined 31-July 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
You know how you can check your XP partition for errors at startup because it can't check for errors while XP is running... well how do you do that for all drives. I want to check for errors, not while windows is running, but at startup. Is there a way you can pick and choose which drives you want scanned at startup?

Thanks.
_____________________________________________________________________
[Modify Office 2007 / 2010 Ribbon UI] [Javascript Guide] [Methods of Typing in Gujarati] [My Math Pages]
[Boot Windows 7 from VHD] [Multi-boot Vista/XP and other OSes with Grub Menu] [Boot XP and Vista Independently]


Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L, Intel Core 2 Duo E6550 2.33 GHz, ASUS Radeon EAH3450 256 MB, 6 GB Corsair RAM, Maxtor 300 GB + Seagate 400 GB HDDs, Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
IBM T42 Intel Pentium M 1.7 GHz, 1.5 GB RAM, Radeon Mobility 7500, 160 GB HDD, Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
killerb255

killerb255

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 104 posts
  • Joined 26-May 07
Your best bet would probably be to create a scheduled task that edits the autochk registry key to automatically check all drives on reboot, then resets the key (otherwise, autochk will run on every reboot).

Or...you can create a batch file that runs off of your Scheduled Task with a series of questions asking you if you want to check certain drives. If yes, then it gets entered into the

The reg key is:

HKLM\System\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager

Under that is a string value. The default is:

BootExecute = autocheck autochk *

The asterisk means that no drives are being checked on startup.

I'd give this a read before doing anything:

http://www2.isye.gat...nofCHKDSK_F.htm

#3
GrofLuigi

GrofLuigi

    GroupPolicy Tattoo Artist

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,360 posts
  • Joined 21-April 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
If you want to shedule drive E: for checking on next startup you would open a comand prompt and type:

fsutil dirty set E:

or even put it in a bach file or whatever.

Reference.

GL

#4
spacesurfer

spacesurfer

    Pharmassist

  • Patrons
  • 1,668 posts
  • Joined 31-July 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
thanks for reference.
_____________________________________________________________________
[Modify Office 2007 / 2010 Ribbon UI] [Javascript Guide] [Methods of Typing in Gujarati] [My Math Pages]
[Boot Windows 7 from VHD] [Multi-boot Vista/XP and other OSes with Grub Menu] [Boot XP and Vista Independently]


Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L, Intel Core 2 Duo E6550 2.33 GHz, ASUS Radeon EAH3450 256 MB, 6 GB Corsair RAM, Maxtor 300 GB + Seagate 400 GB HDDs, Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
IBM T42 Intel Pentium M 1.7 GHz, 1.5 GB RAM, Radeon Mobility 7500, 160 GB HDD, Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit

#5
bucketbuster

bucketbuster

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 649 posts
  • Joined 16-November 03
Use Scandefrag :whistle:

#6
spacesurfer

spacesurfer

    Pharmassist

  • Patrons
  • 1,668 posts
  • Joined 31-July 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Thanks for great info!
_____________________________________________________________________
[Modify Office 2007 / 2010 Ribbon UI] [Javascript Guide] [Methods of Typing in Gujarati] [My Math Pages]
[Boot Windows 7 from VHD] [Multi-boot Vista/XP and other OSes with Grub Menu] [Boot XP and Vista Independently]


Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L, Intel Core 2 Duo E6550 2.33 GHz, ASUS Radeon EAH3450 256 MB, 6 GB Corsair RAM, Maxtor 300 GB + Seagate 400 GB HDDs, Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
IBM T42 Intel Pentium M 1.7 GHz, 1.5 GB RAM, Radeon Mobility 7500, 160 GB HDD, Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit

#7
spacesurfer

spacesurfer

    Pharmassist

  • Patrons
  • 1,668 posts
  • Joined 31-July 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
I'm having a problem with my I: partition. I set this partition to be dirty. Now, everytime at startup, it checks the disk for errors and hangs up at the end when it says "USN journal verification etc etc completed."

I don't understand why it hangs when it says it's completed. Anyway, I have to press the reset button to restart and Windows comes up normally. However, next time I shutdown, the same thing happens.

How do I manually get it to reset the dirty bit? The MS page only explains how to set it, but not undo the set.

(I types fsutil dirty query I: and it stated the drive is dirty. So I want to restore to not being dirty.)

There is a file called bootex.log that resides in this I: partition and can't be deleted. When virus scan runs, Windows errors when it gets to this file stating you need to check the drive for errors. If I run it from within Windows, then it freezes at stage 4 of 5.
_____________________________________________________________________
[Modify Office 2007 / 2010 Ribbon UI] [Javascript Guide] [Methods of Typing in Gujarati] [My Math Pages]
[Boot Windows 7 from VHD] [Multi-boot Vista/XP and other OSes with Grub Menu] [Boot XP and Vista Independently]


Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L, Intel Core 2 Duo E6550 2.33 GHz, ASUS Radeon EAH3450 256 MB, 6 GB Corsair RAM, Maxtor 300 GB + Seagate 400 GB HDDs, Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
IBM T42 Intel Pentium M 1.7 GHz, 1.5 GB RAM, Radeon Mobility 7500, 160 GB HDD, Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit

#8
gunsmokingman

gunsmokingman

    MSFN Master

  • Super Moderator
  • 2,419 posts
  • Joined 02-August 03
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Have you tried this cmd

ChkNtfs /?

This is what Vista displays with the above cmd

Displays or modifies the checking of disk at boot time.

CHKNTFS volume [...]
CHKNTFS /D
CHKNTFS /T[:time]
CHKNTFS /X volume [...]
CHKNTFS /C volume [...]

  volume		 Specifies the drive letter (followed by a colon),
				 mount point, or volume name.
  /D			 Restores the machine to the default behavior; all drives are
				 checked at boot time and chkdsk is run on those that are
				 dirty.
  /T:time		Changes the AUTOCHK initiation countdown time to the
				 specified amount of time in seconds.  If time is not
				 specified, displays the current setting.
  /X			 Excludes a drive from the default boot-time check.  Excluded
				 drives are not accumulated between command invocations.
  /C			 Schedules a drive to be checked at boot time; chkdsk will run
				 if the drive is dirty.

If no switches are specified, CHKNTFS will display if the specified drive is
dirty or scheduled to be checked on next reboot.




GunSmokingMan



#9
spacesurfer

spacesurfer

    Pharmassist

  • Patrons
  • 1,668 posts
  • Joined 31-July 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
I just tried that, Gunsmoking. It didn't work. So I backed up my data. Then tried to delete, recreate, and format the partition. Formatting froze the computer. I restarted in BartPE and tried to format there. It's still formatting but I see no HDD activity. I'll give it another hour and if nothing, then I'll assum something else is wrong.

I've been getting a lot of errors on that drive. I recently noticed after a chkdsk some bad sectors (640 k) on that drive. I've gotten a lot of iastor.sys errors in system log in computer management. And also some error called ESET error. Wonder if it's my MOBO's SATA port or is it the hard drive itself?

I'm not sure what's happening here. SATA port or bad hard drive? It's 1 year old - Maxtor MaxLine II 300 Gb. Running it as AHCI. Twice, the drive disappeared from my computer. Once, when I started XP, it wasn't there. I restarted and there it was. Second time (yesterday), it vanished while XP was running!

Frustrated.
_____________________________________________________________________
[Modify Office 2007 / 2010 Ribbon UI] [Javascript Guide] [Methods of Typing in Gujarati] [My Math Pages]
[Boot Windows 7 from VHD] [Multi-boot Vista/XP and other OSes with Grub Menu] [Boot XP and Vista Independently]


Gigabyte GA-P35-DS3L, Intel Core 2 Duo E6550 2.33 GHz, ASUS Radeon EAH3450 256 MB, 6 GB Corsair RAM, Maxtor 300 GB + Seagate 400 GB HDDs, Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
IBM T42 Intel Pentium M 1.7 GHz, 1.5 GB RAM, Radeon Mobility 7500, 160 GB HDD, Windows 7 Ultimate 32-bit




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN