Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

PE 2.0 Boot Screen

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
59 replies to this topic

#1
egorss78

egorss78

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 14-December 06
Anyone have a way to edit the boot screen for vistape. Looking to add our custom logo while it boots up. Thanks.


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
JuMz

JuMz

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 466 posts
  • Joined 09-August 04
I would like to know this too...Thanks in Advance!

#3
zorphnog

zorphnog

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 427 posts
  • Joined 25-July 06
I remember reading about this somewhere. Its just a resource file that you have to hack. I'll see if I can track it down again.

#4
egorss78

egorss78

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 14-December 06

I remember reading about this somewhere. Its just a resource file that you have to hack. I'll see if I can track it down again.


Found a bunch of information on doing it for PE 2005 and just plain Vista. But nothing on Vista PE, figure there has to be a way to do it.

#5
Pyrosoft

Pyrosoft

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 28 posts
  • Joined 02-June 06
I may be way off here, but could it be notoskrnl.exe?
I've not had a chance to experiment yet, but I will at some point over the next week hopefully.

#6
zorphnog

zorphnog

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 427 posts
  • Joined 25-July 06
Ok. I've got it to work by replacing the green bars with a picture (no animation).

1. Download and install Vista Boot Logo Generator.
2. Run the generator and add a 800x600 24-bit BMP and 1024x768 24-bit BMP.
3. Save the file as winload.exe.mui.
4. Copy and replace the winload.exe.mui file in the \Windows\System32\Boot\en-US directory of your boot image with the new one.

xcopy /y c:\peimage\winload.exe.mui c:\peimage\mount\Windows\System32\Boot\en-US
5. Capture or unmount your image to ISO\sources\boot.wim
6. Disable the gui option of your bcd entry for WinPE.

bcdedit /store c:\peimage\ISO\boot\bcd /set {default} quietboot yes

Now the green bars will be replaced with your picture!

I must give credit where credit is due, I modified the instructions from this website to work for PE:

http://www.howtogeek...-windows-vista/

Edited by zorphnog, 03 August 2007 - 02:28 PM.


#7
p4ntb0y

p4ntb0y

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 237 posts
  • Joined 14-February 06
Would be nice to see a screenshot?

#8
zorphnog

zorphnog

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 427 posts
  • Joined 25-July 06
Umm...a screenshot of the image I use? There isn't really anything to show. After the "Windows is loading files..." screen is finished, the image you choose displays until the desktop is loaded.

I'll look into posting a video once I get back to the office.

#9
Jazkal

Jazkal

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 595 posts
  • Joined 16-January 04
Any one know how to edit the:

"Windows is loading files..."

You could do it under WinPE v1.6 and before, but I've had no luck with v2.0

And zorphnog, good working putting that together.
Did you RTFM?

#10
egorss78

egorss78

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 14-December 06

Ok. I've got it to work by replacing the green bars with a picture (no animation).

1. Download and install Vista Boot Logo Generator.
2. Run the generator and add a 800x600 24-bit BMP and 1024x768 24-bit BMP.

...



That's it, thanks. :)

#11
zorphnog

zorphnog

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 427 posts
  • Joined 25-July 06

Any one know how to edit the:

"Windows is loading files..."

You could do it under WinPE v1.6 and before, but I've had no luck with v2.0

And zorphnog, good working putting that together.


Just thought I'd give you guys an update.

I found out where the "Windows is loading files..." is stored in the bootmgr file. Only problem is that when I try to change it I get this error: "The file is possibly corrupt. The file header checksum does not match the computed checksum." So it seems that this file is uneditable unless I can figure out where the checksum is stored and how to compute a new one with my own message. However, the area where the loading message is stored seems to be part of an xml file, so I'm thinking there may be a way to compile your own bootmgr with a custom xml file.

Basically I've only ran into more brick walls, but I'll still hack around with it in my spare time (if there is such a thing).

Edit: Finally hit 2^8 posts lol.

Edited by zorphnog, 22 August 2007 - 07:52 AM.


#12
JuMz

JuMz

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 466 posts
  • Joined 09-August 04

Any one know how to edit the:

"Windows is loading files..."

You could do it under WinPE v1.6 and before, but I've had no luck with v2.0

And zorphnog, good working putting that together.


Just thought I'd give you guys an update.

I found out where the "Windows is loading files..." is stored in the bootmgr file. Only problem is that when I try to change it I get this error: "The file is possibly corrupt. The file header checksum does not match the computed checksum." So it seems that this file is uneditable unless I can figure out where the checksum is stored and how to compute a new one with my own message. However, the area where the loading message is stored seems to be part of an xml file, so I'm thinking there may be a way to compile your own bootmgr with a custom xml file.

Basically I've only ran into more brick walls, but I'll still hack around with it in my spare time (if there is such a thing).

Edit: Finally hit 2^8 posts lol.


I've run into this before. You need something called ModifyPE

http://unattended.ms...xp/view/web/64/

Let me know if you get it working! Thanks for the research by the way!

#13
zorphnog

zorphnog

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 427 posts
  • Joined 25-July 06
I don't think ModifyPE is for PE 2.0 files, since the app was made in 1999. It doesn't work for the bootmgr file. I found some articles on hacking the bootmgr checksum, but it gets pretty complicated. Basically you just need to reverse two of the jmp statements where it calculates the checksum. Its just a matter of finding them. I'll let you know if I ever get anything working.

Just for fun though, here's the XML I was able to extract from bootmgr. You'll notice the text for "Windows is loading files..." on line 760.

Attached File  bootmgr_xml.txt   28.91KB   106 downloads

#14
Rakesh Baldha

Rakesh Baldha

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 14 posts
  • Joined 23-July 07

Any one know how to edit the:

"Windows is loading files..."

You could do it under WinPE v1.6 and before, but I've had no luck with v2.0

And zorphnog, good working putting that together.


I am also looking for this change. could you please help me on this.

we can do it on WinPE 1.0, but its different into WinPE 2.0.

Thanks.

#15
Rakesh Baldha

Rakesh Baldha

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 14 posts
  • Joined 23-July 07

Ok. I've got it to work by replacing the green bars with a picture (no animation).

1. Download and install Vista Boot Logo Generator.
2. Run the generator and add a 800x600 24-bit BMP and 1024x768 24-bit BMP.
3. Save the file as winload.exe.mui.
4. Copy and replace the winload.exe.mui file in the \Windows\System32\Boot\en-US directory of your boot image with the new one.

xcopy /y c:\peimage\winload.exe.mui c:\peimage\mount\Windows\System32\Boot\en-US
5. Capture or unmount your image to ISO\sources\boot.wim
6. Disable the gui option of your bcd entry for WinPE.

bcdedit /store c:\peimage\ISO\boot\bcd /set {default} quietboot yes

Now the green bars will be replaced with your picture!

I must give credit where credit is due, I modified the instructions from this website to work for PE:

http://www.howtogeek...-windows-vista/


Great! Thanks zorphnog,

Its done, great help,

still i am running into another prob, can you please help me on it?

problem: when we boot WinPE 2.0 it shows "Windows is loading files..." and progress bar, I want to change text and progress bar, any pointers?

Thanks,

#16
zorphnog

zorphnog

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 427 posts
  • Joined 25-July 06
I haven't found a solution for the loading files and progress bar yet. Just know they're stored in the bootmgr.

#17
Rakesh Baldha

Rakesh Baldha

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 14 posts
  • Joined 23-July 07

I haven't found a solution for the loading files and progress bar yet. Just know they're stored in the bootmgr.


I tried to hack %systemroot%\boot\bootmgr.exe using resource hacker appliaction and modified string into this resource file (bootmgr.xsl), but it won't affect, even I got image file for bootmgr (bootmgr.exe.mui), and replace it, still it wont get proper image to replace, I am not sure that I was replacing right image and proper text.

thx

#18
zorphnog

zorphnog

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 427 posts
  • Joined 25-July 06
The bootmgr file you should be trying to modify is ISO\bootmgr, not the one from the WIM. What resource editor are you using? I still think you are going to run into the checksum issue.

#19
p4ntb0y

p4ntb0y

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 237 posts
  • Joined 14-February 06
Use the mui version to get round the checksum issue

#20
Rakesh Baldha

Rakesh Baldha

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 14 posts
  • Joined 23-July 07

The bootmgr file you should be trying to modify is ISO\bootmgr, not the one from the WIM. What resource editor are you using? I still think you are going to run into the checksum issue.


zorphnog,
I am using resource hacker (reshacker.exe ), that freely available on net. using this editor I can not edit ISO\bootmgr file, it says "this is not win32 executable file", I have to go for another editor, could you please suggest?, but still what about check sum? I have got some link to calculate checksum but its complex to do so.

steps to calculate this checksum I got is,

1> Read whole file word by word,
2> add all word with carry forward,
3> split this 32 bit into two 16 bit.
4> add two 16 bit w/o carry.
you will get checksum.

p4ntb0y,
I tried even this also,

Steps i had performed for it is,
1> open bootmgr.exe.mui using reshacker.exe.
2> open specific resource file bootmgr.xsl and save this resource file as binary.
3> open saved resource file and edit string "Windows is loading files..."
4> replace resource binary that modified with reshacker.exe opened resource file.
5> you will have modified resource binay into bootmgr.exe.mui
6> unmount and commit Wim image,create ISO image, It wont affect this text, when I boot with this ISO image.
I modified almost all mui file \mount\Windows\Boot\PXE\en-US\bootmgr.exe.mui, \mount\Windows\Boot\PCAT,\mount\Windows\System32\RemInst\boot\x86\en-US also.


Thanks bot of you guys.

Edited by Rakesh Baldha, 05 September 2007 - 11:43 PM.


#21
p4ntb0y

p4ntb0y

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 237 posts
  • Joined 14-February 06
sounds to me you have nearly done it.

How does the bootmgr.exe.mui get picked over the normal one?

#22
Rakesh Baldha

Rakesh Baldha

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 14 posts
  • Joined 23-July 07

sounds to me you have nearly done it.

How does the bootmgr.exe.mui get picked over the normal one?

I modified all bootmgr.exe.mui depending upon language en-US, that I got into my ISO folder, but it still not changed text. then after I did peimg /lang=en-us on our mounted image.Is there any way to change resource files (bootmgr.exe.mui) in one shot? thanks for your replies.

#23
zorphnog

zorphnog

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 427 posts
  • Joined 25-July 06
I don't know. I tried messing around with the mui file as well, but have not been able to get the regular bootmgr to check for it. I think I'm going to try to mess around with the language packs to see how the boot file is incorporated. My fear is that en-US might be the default.

I found some white papers about hacking the bootmgr a while back called VBootKit. It went into detail about the checksum, but I was never able to find where the checksum is stored in the header.

#24
zorphnog

zorphnog

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 427 posts
  • Joined 25-July 06
I found a solution for replacing the "Windows is loading files..." text. It involves modifying and adding a bootmgr.exe.mui file. I'm still working out some of the kinks, but I'll post the full instructions soon (probably tomorrow).

Until then, here's a few teaser shots.

Attached File  beloading.jpg   10.69KB   170 downloads

Attached File  zorph.jpg   10.7KB   184 downloads

#25
Jazkal

Jazkal

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 595 posts
  • Joined 16-January 04
Very nice indeed
Did you RTFM?




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users