Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

PE 2.0 Boot Screen

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
59 replies to this topic

#26
Rakesh Baldha

Rakesh Baldha

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 14 posts

I found a solution for replacing the "Windows is loading files..." text. It involves modifying and adding a bootmgr.exe.mui file. I'm still working out some of the kinks, but I'll post the full instructions soon (probably tomorrow).

Until then, here's a few teaser shots.




Could you please tell me which image you have modified?


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#27
zorphnog

zorphnog

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 427 posts
Instructions for modifying the "Windows is loading files..." text

Tools needed:

PE CheckSum: Available at The Code Project (sign up required).
A hex editor: I'd suggest HHD's free Hex editor.

Procedures
  • Make a directory called en-US in your ISO\boot directory. (en-US is the default. If you use a different locale then you will need to create a folder corresponding to your specific locale. If you are not sure what your locale is for the bootmgr, run this command on your bcd: bcdedit /store %pebuildingdir%\ISO\boot\bcd /enum. Look for the "locale" value located under the {bootmgr} settings.)
  • Locate the bootmgr.exe.mui file located in your PE image under %imageroot%\Windows\Boot\PCAT\en-US and copy it to your ISO\boot\en-US directory.
  • Open the ISO\boot\en-US\bootmgr.exe.mui file in your hex editor and go to block 0x0000F050 and edit the "Windows is loading files..." section.

    Attached File  hexedit.jpg   55.81KB   293 downloads

    IMPORTANT: When editing this section you MUST leave a "dot" between every letter. The "dot" is not a period ".", but rather a 0x00 word. When editing this file, the total size of the file CANNOT differ from the original size of the file. Therfore, replaced text must fit into the original space (cannot exceed 27 characters).

    Attached File  hexedit2.jpg   59.41KB   202 downloads

    Save and close the bootmgr.exe.mui file.
  • Open the PE CheckSum tool and browse to your ISO\boot\en-US\bootmgr.exe.mui file. Click the Retrieve button.

    Attached File  checksum.jpg   30.1KB   165 downloads

    The "Existing" and "Calculated" values should be different. Copy the "Calculated" value to the "New value" text box and click the write button.

    Attached File  checksum2.jpg   30.48KB   129 downloads

    The "Existing" value should now match the "Calculated" value. Exit the PE CheckSum tool.
  • Create your iso image as you normally would and your PE image will now load with your custom text.

    Attached File  loading.jpg   7.5KB   163 downloads

Edited by zorphnog, 04 December 2007 - 08:41 AM.


#28
gadget

gadget

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 197 posts
Glad you cracked it... Well done...

We load PE 2 onto around 300 systems a day here, might put up some interesting statements on the loader.....

#29
Rakesh Baldha

Rakesh Baldha

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 14 posts
Hi Zorphnog,

Great! I am also done. Thanks....

But I did it in another way, your way is also helpful to me.

Steps
1> Make folder ISO\boot\en-US and copy image bootmgr.exe.mui into it from %imageroot%\Windows\Boot\PCAT\en-US.
2> Modified this resource by resource hacker.( freely available on internet ).
3> Done we will get modified text screen.

Thanks really good work you have done for me, thank you very much!

#30
JuMz

JuMz

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 466 posts
Sweet! Nice work dude!

#31
MaciekMR

MaciekMR
  • Member
  • 4 posts
Anyone know what happens when I replace bootmgr.exe.mui from ie. PL-pl folder to US-us? This also change "Windows is loading files..." text to ie. PL version?

#32
zorphnog

zorphnog

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 427 posts
I'm guessing you want to change the bootloader to another language? If that is the case, then placing the pl version of the bootmgr.exe.mui file in the ISO\boot\en-US folder should work.

If that doesn't work, then you will have create a folder for pl, ISO\boot\pl-PL, and place the bootmgr.exe.mui file in there. Then you will have to change the bootmgr language to pl-PL by modifying the BCD (ISO\boot\bcd).

#33
MaciekMR

MaciekMR
  • Member
  • 4 posts

I'm guessing you want to change the bootloader to another language?


Yep. I just try to change this "Windows is loading..." text without change in any file (copyrights)

If that is the case, then placing the pl version of the bootmgr.exe.mui file in the ISO\boot\en-US folder should work.


I try - I have only pl-pl folder: \boot\pl-pl\bootsect.exe.mui - still english text...

If that doesn't work, then you will have create a folder for pl, ISO\boot\pl-PL, and place the bootmgr.exe.mui file in there. Then you will have to change the bootmgr language to pl-PL by modifying the BCD (ISO\boot\bcd).


BCDEdit.exe. also works without Vista? AFAIK bcdedit can change boot option off installed OS...

Best regards
MR

Edited by MaciekMR, 19 September 2007 - 08:46 AM.


#34
zorphnog

zorphnog

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 427 posts

If that is the case, then placing the pl version of the bootmgr.exe.mui file in the ISO\boot\en-US folder should work.


I try - I have only pl-pl folder: \boot\pl-pl\bootsect.exe.mui - still english text...

en-US is the default language. Its always going to be in English if you don't put bootmgr.exe.mui in a en-US folder or change the bcd. Rename the pl-pl folder to en-US: \boot\en-US\bootmgr.exe.mui

BCDEdit.exe. also works without Vista? AFAIK bcdedit can change boot option off installed OS...

Yes you can use bcdedit.exe. WinPE 2.0 is based off of the Vista kernel/architecture. Thats why it uses BCD and bootmgr to boot from rather than boot.ini and ntldr.

#35
Stratuscaster

Stratuscaster

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 31 posts

Ok. I've got it to work by replacing the green bars with a picture (no animation).

1. Download and install Vista Boot Logo Generator.
2. Run the generator and add a 800x600 24-bit BMP and 1024x768 24-bit BMP.
3. Save the file as winload.exe.mui.
4. Copy and replace the winload.exe.mui file in the \Windows\System32\Boot\en-US directory of your boot image with the new one.

xcopy /y c:\peimage\winload.exe.mui c:\peimage\mount\Windows\System32\Boot\en-US
5. Capture or unmount your image to ISO\sources\boot.wim
6. Disable the gui option of your bcd entry for WinPE.

bcdedit /store c:\peimage\ISO\boot\bcd /set {default} quietboot yes

Now the green bars will be replaced with your picture!

I must give credit where credit is due, I modified the instructions from this website to work for PE:

http://www.howtogeek...-windows-vista/


Kudos, as this works great - my WinPE CD shows my custom boot screen just fine.

The boot.wim that I use on my PXE network doesn't show them, though. I think it's because we aren't changing anything - other than copying the MUI to the mount - before we capture/unmount the WIM.

Any thoughts?

#36
zorphnog

zorphnog

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 427 posts
You have to edit the BCD for your PXE boot as well. Did you perform step 6 for your PXE BCD? It should be located at <pxeroot>\boot\bcd.

Edited by zorphnog, 24 October 2007 - 02:19 PM.


#37
Ghost82

Ghost82

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 138 posts
Does anyone have that PEChecksum tool somewhere? I can't get it from the code project (I keep getting an error) :realmad:

TIA!

#38
brianjester

brianjester
  • Member
  • 3 posts

Does anyone have that PEChecksum tool somewhere? I can't get it from the code project (I keep getting an error) :realmad:

TIA!


I've attempted to attach the file here:Attached File  PEChecksum.zip   107.56KB   110 downloads
Brian Jester
Chula Vista, CA

#39
n-ikeda

n-ikeda
  • Member
  • 3 posts
Hi Zorphnog,

Instructions for modifying the "Windows is loading files..." text
is Greate !

And I want to do same setting at "WinPE lanboot from Windows Deployment Service on Windows server 2003 std SP2.

I custumized bootmgr.exe.mui at C:\RemoteInstall\Boot\x86\en-US.
But "Windows is loading files..." message is not changed.
It succesed at boot from DVD.

Please tell me how can i set.

Thank you .

#40
zorphnog

zorphnog

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 427 posts
Try putting it in: C:\RemoteInstall\Boot\en-US

#41
n-ikeda

n-ikeda
  • Member
  • 3 posts

Try putting it in: C:\RemoteInstall\Boot\en-US


Thank you for your Help !!
I Tried it, but i did not success.

I put custumized bootmgr.exe.mui in C:\RemoteInstall\Boot\en-US & C:\RemoteInstall\Boot\x86\en-US.
I did "bcdedit /store c:\RemoteInstall\Boot\x86\default.bcd /set {bootmgr} locale en-US" .
I did "bcdedit /store c:\RemoteInstall\Boot\x86\test.wim.bcd /set {identifier} locale en-US" .

There is "Windows Deployment Services Role" at Microsot TechNet

Associate a language pack with an install image
You can associate multiple language packs with a single image, reducing the number of images you need to maintain. To use a language pack, create the appropriate folder structure and copy the language pack. Language packs are only supported on Windows Vista and Windows Server 2008 operating systems.

If I want to use bootmgr.exe.mui for "WDS", Do i need Windows 2008 server?

Thank you .

#42
zorphnog

zorphnog

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 427 posts
You don't need Windows 2008. WinPE 2.0 is based off the vista architecture so you should be fine. I don't use WDS so I am not familiar with the folder and file structure. Since you say it works on DVD, then it should just be a matter of putting the bootmgr.exe.mui file in the right location. I can't really tell you where that is without seeing the folder structure. Mainly, where are the 'bootmgr' and 'BCD' files?

#43
n-ikeda

n-ikeda
  • Member
  • 3 posts

You don't need Windows 2008. WinPE 2.0 is based off the vista architecture so you should be fine. I don't use WDS so I am not familiar with the folder and file structure. Since you say it works on DVD, then it should just be a matter of putting the bootmgr.exe.mui file in the right location. I can't really tell you where that is without seeing the folder structure. Mainly, where are the 'bootmgr' and 'BCD' files?


Thank you zorphnog.

I tried several location to putting the bootmgr.exe.mui file in the WDS(Windows deployment service).
But I can't change Message Text & Color at the plogress bar .

I think WDS put the bootmgr.exe to Taget PC by tftp, but WDS does not put bootmgr.exe.mui file to target PC,though bootmgr.exe doesn't know the bootmgr.exe.mui.

Boot from DVD is OK, and boot from WDS with "BCD : quietboot yes" is OK.

If anybody know how to try with WDS, please teach me it.

Thank you everybody.

Edited by n-ikeda, 22 February 2008 - 10:51 PM.


#44
RBCC

RBCC

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 634 posts
Has anybody figured out how to do the background and progress bar? John

#45
RBCC

RBCC

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 634 posts
Does anyone knoe how to edit the bootmgr.xml? to put a graphic in the background of windows is loading files?? John

#46
Eagle710

Eagle710

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 159 posts
Anyone try this one WinPE 3?
Flying High

#47
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,699 posts
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

It should be pretty similar to Win PE 2.x. The main differences between that and 3 are more back-end stuff.
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3.x | lol probloms
msfn2_zpsc37c7153.jpg

#48
jseaman111

jseaman111
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

It should be pretty similar to Win PE 2.x. The main differences between that and 3 are more back-end stuff.


I have tried the procedure for WinPE 3.0 and the location of the message starts at a different place, but I edited it with the same rules. The only problem I have is with the PE Checksum tool. When trying to write the New Value it comes up with an error: Error writing new Checksum GetLastError() returned 32.

Ever see that happen?

#49
babargud

babargud
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
@jseaman111
same with me...
but when i opened the same bootmgr.exe.mui with the PE Checksum tool again...it shows me the existing & calculated values r same(????)

#50
babargud

babargud
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
To,
zorphnog & other members,

I have tried to modify the "Windows is loading files..." text in NTI Backup now recovery disc(iso) with the help of zorphnog's post.

I have done the following :-

1. Extracted BOOT.WIM from the ISO file.
2. Checked the locale of the extracted bcd file with
bcdedit /store bcd  /enum
, which was en-US.
3. Mounted the BOOT.WIM with IMAGEX tool in RW mode to edit the WIM file.
( I think it is a windows vista version BOOT.WIM file,coz the ISO shows the windows vista boot screen when it is booted... )
4. Edited the BOOT.WIM{mounted}\Windows\Boot\PCAT\en-US\bootmgr.exe.mui using HEX editor & PE checksum successfully, as described in the zorphnog's post.
5. Unmounted and saved the BOOT.WIM with the new bootmgr.exe.mui file.
6. Replaced the edited BOOT.WIM with the original BOOT.WIM in the ISO file.
7. Added {ISO}\BOOT\en-US\bootmgr.exe.mui from the edited "bootmgr.exe.mui" file, as the {ISO}\BOOT\en-US\bootmgr.exe.mui was not present by default in the ISO file.
8. BOOTED the New ISO image in vm player.

~~~~~ RESULT ~~~~~


Booted successfully with "Windows is loading files..." message instead of the expected new message !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!????????????????????????

NO CHANGE IN THE "Windows is loading files..." MESSAGE..... :no: :realmad: :realmad: :realmad:



Please help.......
sorry for my COLOURFUL post....




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN