Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Compatibility Tab and System Restore Small Fix Tool!

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
47 replies to this topic

#26
Buddhaserver

Buddhaserver
  • Member
  • 8 posts
  • Joined 09-May 05
wuugu buugu!

Unfortunately aelupsvc.dll does not exist on my system!

A bit later ? Of course! lol
Haagse-BAF


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#27
Legolash2o

Legolash2o

    Windows 7 Toolkit Programmer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,130 posts
  • Joined 09-February 07
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
like 20-40 mins, got the x86 vista files needed anyways

EDIT: do you see "Program Compatiblity Assistance" or something like that in services?

Edited by legolash2o, 25 September 2007 - 05:44 AM.

Posted Image


#28
Buddhaserver

Buddhaserver
  • Member
  • 8 posts
  • Joined 09-May 05
Hehe :)

Nope nothing what so ever with compatibility! Only found Application Information and re-did the previous steps, your app etc check wer.dll etc... no change.

Catching up on Topgear eps so take your time :P
Haagse-BAF

#29
Legolash2o

Legolash2o

    Windows 7 Toolkit Programmer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,130 posts
  • Joined 09-February 07
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
EDIT: Looks like you'll have to reinstall Vista but keep Application Experience and Error Reporting :)

Edited by legolash2o, 25 September 2007 - 07:37 AM.

Posted Image


#30
mara-

mara-

    Office Integrator Developer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,179 posts
  • Joined 19-February 07
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

EDIT: Looks like you'll have to reinstall Vista but keep Application Experience and Error Reporting :)


Why to keep Error Reporting? You can remove it safely and you will not have any problems. When you are in components part of vLite just add this two lines in File Protection and you don't need to worry about anything:

windows\system32\wer.dll
windows\system32\faultrep.dll

Cheers :}

#31
Legolash2o

Legolash2o

    Windows 7 Toolkit Programmer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,130 posts
  • Joined 09-February 07
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
ive done that (adding the two files) the files did stay but i did get the occasional wer.dll missing message on some apps but compatibility tab still worked.

Posted Image


#32
mara-

mara-

    Office Integrator Developer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,179 posts
  • Joined 19-February 07
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
OK, I don't know about errors because I'm still not using Vista, I just made couple of discs using vLite to see how much I can reduce ram memory usage. I manage to cut it of about half (it use 200MB) but it's still too much because I can cut off XP to use just 70MB of RAM. So I'm waiting new version of vLite to see if I could remove more stuffs that are not important.

Cheers ;)

#33
Legolash2o

Legolash2o

    Windows 7 Toolkit Programmer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,130 posts
  • Joined 09-February 07
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
the problem will hopefully be fixed or some note added in the next version, so this program will not be needed anymore lol. alot of people think 200mb footprint is very good, so what footprint would you need for you to install it (150MB?)

Posted Image


#34
Buddhaserver

Buddhaserver
  • Member
  • 8 posts
  • Joined 09-May 05
Finally made it back,

Yeah i couldnt restore it for some reason, basically removed too much other stuff and made a mess of it!

legolash2o thx for you help on it! Was worth a shot and i learn t some more stuff!

I reinstalled eventually and now can play BF2 again :)

offtopic: i get mine down to 350mb and find that very acceptable. 600mb in use due to all the other stuff i run.
Haagse-BAF

#35
mgsfan

mgsfan

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts
  • Joined 20-November 03
can you reupload since the link is dead please?

#36
Legolash2o

Legolash2o

    Windows 7 Toolkit Programmer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,130 posts
  • Joined 09-February 07
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
ok, just done. was working fine for me though... oh well

Posted Image


#37
mgsfan

mgsfan

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts
  • Joined 20-November 03
nm I had to turn off IDM before it worked..lol

Edited by mgsfan, 02 October 2007 - 05:05 AM.


#38
Legolash2o

Legolash2o

    Windows 7 Toolkit Programmer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,130 posts
  • Joined 09-February 07
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
ok, ive uploaded it to my server so should work now

Posted Image


#39
nuja

nuja

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 61 posts
  • Joined 06-September 05

ok, ive uploaded it to my server so should work now


Hi,
can u tell me where i can get your fix ? and can we do it during the unattended installation of vista ? if not can we get the file and know where to put it to do unattended fix ?

thank in advance :)

#40
Legolash2o

Legolash2o

    Windows 7 Toolkit Programmer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,130 posts
  • Joined 09-February 07
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Hi,
can u tell me where i can get your fix ? and can we do it during the unattended installation of vista ? if not can we get the file and know where to put it to do unattended fix ?

thank in advance :)


Click the download button on the first post, on vlite you can choose to keep "windows\system32\wer.dll" & "windows\system32\faultrep.dll", the files comes with my program so you can also manually copy them yourself.

Lego

Edited by legolash2o, 19 October 2007 - 12:22 AM.

Posted Image


#41
nuja

nuja

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 61 posts
  • Joined 06-September 05

Hi,
can u tell me where i can get your fix ? and can we do it during the unattended installation of vista ? if not can we get the file and know where to put it to do unattended fix ?

thank in advance :)


Click the download button on the first post, on vlite you can choose to keep "windows\system32\wer.dll" & "windows\system32\faultrep.dll", the files comes with my program so you can also manually copy them yourself.

http://legolash2o.phpnet.us/VCF.zip
Lego


the link doesnt work :/ (all we need is to keep those two dll for the compatibility tab fix ?)
i would like to have your files as i already did my unattended vista and its on my hard drive.
thank in advance (and that was the fastest reply i had here xD)

edit: i dont know why but the link doesnt work when i click on it, but when i copy it into an internet browser it works. thx

Edited by nuja, 03 October 2007 - 01:53 PM.


#42
sp00f

sp00f

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 733 posts
  • Joined 30-November 06
thx,i didnt know it was vlite who screwed this up.

thx again

#43
nuhi

nuhi

    nLite & NTLite human.dll

  • Developer
  • 4,368 posts
  • Joined 25-October 03
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
sp00f, which version of vlite are you using?
http://www.nliteos.com | http://www.ntlite.com
Remove components and customize Windows

#44
gossipninja

gossipninja
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 18-December 07
Hi, I made an account so i can add some useful info to this. I ran the above tool, but it did not work, i had a similar issue to budda server. I found a fix though, For some reason, my compatibility was turned on in group policy. Here is how to fix that.
run group policy editor (start-run- gpedit.msc)
Computer Configuration\Administrative Templates\Windows Components\Application Compatibility, I set all these to "Not configured"

now i got compatibility mode back.

Thanks to the original poster for having a download to the needed files, for those who do not have them.

#45
Legolash2o

Legolash2o

    Windows 7 Toolkit Programmer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,130 posts
  • Joined 09-February 07
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
this tool should not be needed anymore as it was fixed in vlite :P so ill remove it

Posted Image


#46
Frojd

Frojd
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • Joined 25-August 08
Hey, I have got this problem on my 1.2RC version. I did just check that the application experience is a running service! Anyway to get hold of these files again? Thanks!

#47
DEKK3R

DEKK3R

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 17 posts
  • Joined 14-September 08
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi,

The download link appears to be broken. Any chance of re-uploading it? I could really do with this tool.

#48
Legolash2o

Legolash2o

    Windows 7 Toolkit Programmer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,130 posts
  • Joined 09-February 07
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I don't have it anymore, sorry.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users