Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

Making Nero 8 a silent install

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
150 replies to this topic

#26
yadzil

yadzil

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 69 posts

@yadzil and Gorki : do u install immediately after uninstalling previous nero installation? if yes, u have to reboot.


No. I reboot after uninstall. it still ask to reboot. till now I can't install nero 8


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#27
rajesh.kumar

rajesh.kumar

    Crank up

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 340 posts
give the details on the steps you took.
Wow - Its the World of Wonderboy

#28
yadzil

yadzil

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 69 posts
I uninstall the previous version nero , then reboot, then install step by step as you mentioned before.

#29
rajesh.kumar

rajesh.kumar

    Crank up

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 340 posts
after uninstalling, try deleting the following, then restart and install :
C:\Users\Administrator\Application Data\Nero
C:\Users\Administrator\Local Settings\Application Data\Nero
C:\Users\All Users\Application Data\Nero
C:\Program Files\Nero
C:\Program Files\Common Files\Nero

then use ccleaner to remove unwanted registry entries and other junk.

ok now, what i was asking is the method in steps "YOU" carried out.

Edited by rajesh.kumar, 07 October 2007 - 02:19 AM.

Wow - Its the World of Wonderboy

#30
yadzil

yadzil

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 69 posts
What I did,
1)I uninstall previous version of Nero
2) Reboot
3) Run Nero 8 setup

Ok I'll try yours. I'll inform you the result. Thanks

#31
rajesh.kumar

rajesh.kumar

    Crank up

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 340 posts
just noted that if nero installed immediately after other KB installation, it needs to reboot.
Wow - Its the World of Wonderboy

#32
yadzil

yadzil

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 69 posts
Hi Rajesh,

The problem still the same. I follow step by step as you mentioned.
The message :
"A system reboot was requested by previous software installation (e.g. a Windows update). Please reboot your computer to resume the installation of Nero 8 Demo".

If I click OK, my computer will reboot, but nothing happened after reboot or the same message appear.

#33
Gorki

Gorki

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 50 posts

@yadzil and Gorki : do u install immediately after uninstalling previous nero installation? if yes, u have to reboot.

this is very simple method and you just "extract" the installation files from temp dir and execute some files through a cmd file. i tested with several machines and it works.
what steps did u go through exactly.
Anyone gone through the steps, kindly post your response.

Yes I understand that. I made addon from CEoCEo script and that addon makes that problem during installation. In other words it (nero 8) does not install? :blink:

EDIT:
Posted Image

I disable windows update via Nlite...

Edited by Gorki, 08 October 2007 - 08:03 PM.


#34
rajesh.kumar

rajesh.kumar

    Crank up

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 340 posts

Hi Rajesh,

The problem still the same. I follow step by step as you mentioned.
The message :
"A system reboot was requested by previous software installation (e.g. a Windows update). Please reboot your computer to resume the installation of Nero 8 Demo".

If I click OK, my computer will reboot, but nothing happened after reboot or the same message appear.


is Automatic update turned on? it would be installing updates or something. samething happened to me when i tested yesterday after installing fresh windows and immediately installed nero8 after ie7 patch(didnt reboot). after rebooting, all went well. so what i did was, after everything else installed, reboot anyway and call neroinstall.cmd
Wow - Its the World of Wonderboy

#35
yadzil

yadzil

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 69 posts
Hi Gorki

I disable windows update via Nlite...


Does this solve your problem.

is Automatic update turned on? it would be installing updates or something. samething happened to me when i tested yesterday after installing fresh windows and immediately installed nero8 after ie7 patch(didnt reboot). after rebooting, all went well. so what i did was, after everything else installed, reboot anyway and call neroinstall.cmd


Maybe it's true. I'm gonna to try it now. Thanks Rajesh

#36
yadzil

yadzil

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 69 posts
Hi Gorki, Rajesh,

The problem still there even windows update being off. The wizard started but the installation not done. Msg says

"The wizard was interrupted before Nero 8 Demo could be completely installed"

:(

#37
Gorki

Gorki

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 50 posts
yadzil I always disable windows update...so I tested it that way with update disabled...result can bee seen in screen above. I have no idea how to solve this? :unsure:

#38
yadzil

yadzil

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 69 posts
Hope someone can solve our problem Gorki.

#39
rajesh.kumar

rajesh.kumar

    Crank up

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 340 posts
ok from Gorki's screen, it seems it may not be possible to install through svcpack because there would be other files already installed and waiting for reboot.
try installing through RunOnceEx. If it too doesnt work, from RunOnceEx, call another cmd file(ex:RunOnceEx2.cmd) which adds nero installation to RunOnceEx registry and call restart. so after restart, nero would install.
Wow - Its the World of Wonderboy

#40
crawf

crawf
  • Member
  • 6 posts
Hey CEoCEo, thanks for that script.

I get an error when installing though. Nero works fine, but its just the error that halts the install process, so defeating the unattended process.

Heres the error.

line 0 (File "C:\Nero\Nero8110.exe");
RunWait ( @ScriptDir & "\" & $TF & " /S" )
Cannot find path specified

Nero8110.exe is the AutoIt script, compiled if you were wondering. Im using the trial download directly from the website link.

Thanks again, great script!

-Crawf

#41
CEoCEo

CEoCEo

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 64 posts
@crawf
I'm aware of this issue, just waited for someone to mention it. :rolleyes:
You get this error because you search for additional Template Packages and the script doesn't find any.

Replace this line
RunWait ( @ScriptDir & "\" & $TF & " /S" )
with
If Not $TF = 0 Then RunWait ( @ScriptDir & "\" & $TF & " /S" )
to get it working with whatever settings you use in the script.

@yadzil & Gorki
You're not alone, I hope someone can solve this problem too. :}
* Antec P180B / Antec Neo HE550EC / GA-X38-DQ6 / C2D E6600@3.2GHz
Nero 8 AutoIt script

#42
crawf

crawf
  • Member
  • 6 posts
Yeah, i figured it was something to do with the Template Packages.

Thanks for that, it works a treat now!

-Crawf

#43
xavier73

xavier73

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 19 posts

run the setup file first and dont install.
go to temp dir and copy the NERO13820 dir somewhere.
put this cmd file inside NERO13820 dir and run it.

neroinstall.cmd

@echo off
title Nero 8.1.2.0
echo.
echo Updating DirectX 9c Redistributable...
start /wait Data\Redist\DirectX\dxsetup.exe /silent
echo.
echo VCR...
start /wait Data\Redist\VCRedistSetup.msi /passive /norestart
echo.
echo Nero XML...
start /wait Data\Redist\neroxml.msi /passive /norestart
echo.
echo KB884016 v2...
start /wait Data\Redist\WindowsInstaller-KB884016-v2-x86.exe /passive /norestart
echo.
echo Installing Nero Premium 8.1.2.0...
start /wait SetupX.exe /qb! /NORESTART RebootYesNo="No" NERO_SCOUT="FALSE" serialnum_userval="---your-serial---no---" AgreeToLicense="Yes" EULA_AGREEMENT=1

if /passive used instead of /qb!, it asks for restart.

finally, use 7zip or winrar to create installer and repack to the normal size.
7zip installer : http://www.ryanvm.ne...?...&highlight=


I can't find the temp map where nero extracts his files too. Can someone tell me where this is so i can put the extracted files on dvd so the installation will take less time.

#44
urie

urie

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 519 posts

run the setup file first and dont install.
go to temp dir and copy the NERO13820 dir somewhere.
put this cmd file inside NERO13820 dir and run it.

neroinstall.cmd

@echo off
title Nero 8.1.2.0
echo.
echo Updating DirectX 9c Redistributable...
start /wait Data\Redist\DirectX\dxsetup.exe /silent
echo.
echo VCR...
start /wait Data\Redist\VCRedistSetup.msi /passive /norestart
echo.
echo Nero XML...
start /wait Data\Redist\neroxml.msi /passive /norestart
echo.
echo KB884016 v2...
start /wait Data\Redist\WindowsInstaller-KB884016-v2-x86.exe /passive /norestart
echo.
echo Installing Nero Premium 8.1.2.0...
start /wait SetupX.exe /qb! /NORESTART RebootYesNo="No" NERO_SCOUT="FALSE" serialnum_userval="---your-serial---no---" AgreeToLicense="Yes" EULA_AGREEMENT=1

if /passive used instead of /qb!, it asks for restart.

finally, use 7zip or winrar to create installer and repack to the normal size.
7zip installer : http://www.ryanvm.ne...?...&highlight=


I can't find the temp map where nero extracts his files too. Can someone tell me where this is so i can put the extracted files on dvd so the installation will take less time.


Nero folder is extracted to:
C:\Documents and Settings\**Your Name**\Local Settings\Temp


#45
taltamir

taltamir

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 44 posts
may I recommend ImgBurn as a nero alternative? I have been looking for something to replace nero since v7 came out as horrible bloatware...

and two days ago I found ImgBurn.

ImgBurn really impressed me... its burns several times faster and it is extremely light...
The one drawback. I don't think it can make an audio CD from files...

Edited by taltamir, 12 October 2007 - 07:13 AM.


#46
rajesh.kumar

rajesh.kumar

    Crank up

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 340 posts
to find temp directory, type %temp% or %tmp% in cmd prompt.
will try imgburn. is it supporting bootable disks and multisession? i use ultraiso to create bootable disk.

Edited by rajesh.kumar, 12 October 2007 - 11:15 AM.

Wow - Its the World of Wonderboy

#47
radix

radix

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 738 posts
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
CEoCEo, with your script for Nero 8.1.1.0, the installation of Nero 8.1.1.0b is stopped on first
screen (Nero Ask Toolbar window).
I think that something is missed in the script.

Edited by radix, 16 October 2007 - 08:04 AM.


#48
CEoCEo

CEoCEo

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 64 posts
Finally the AutoIt script is updated to match the current release... :D

Changelog: 2.1
* ReAdded: Support for 'Ask Toolbar'
* Added: Suppress restart dialog box
* Added: Option to install through 'RunOnce' if file rename operations are pending
* Added: Several error checking improvements
* Updated: String values and comments to be more user-friendly
* Fixed: 'Template Packages' string management
* Fixed: Search for Nero 8 Help File Package

EDIT: Updated script again... 2.11
Minor internal changes regarding reboot prompt issues in any language.

Please test and report back your results.
Script is found in my signature :hello:

Edited by CEoCEo, 16 October 2007 - 01:59 PM.

* Antec P180B / Antec Neo HE550EC / GA-X38-DQ6 / C2D E6600@3.2GHz
Nero 8 AutoIt script

#49
Sanjay

Sanjay

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 273 posts
Thanks 'CEoCEo' for the script. I will get back with the feedback after I get a chance to use it. I do have one suggestion/request, could you please modify the script so that if one leaves the UserName and CompanyName blank then the default is picked up from the system.
I think the following should be changed,
from:
$UN = "UserName"
$CN = "CompanyName"

to:
$UN = ""; UserName
$CN = ""; CompanyName

Thanks.

#50
CEoCEo

CEoCEo

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 64 posts
Good suggestion Sanjay! :thumbup
Implemented into 2.12
* Antec P180B / Antec Neo HE550EC / GA-X38-DQ6 / C2D E6600@3.2GHz
Nero 8 AutoIt script




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN