Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

SmoothText 1.1.8

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
501 replies to this topic

#51
Colonel O'Neill

Colonel O'Neill

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 256 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Here's that random corruption picture anyway.

Posted Image
Using 12pt Calibri.

But so far, 0.4.2 doesn't seem to be showing any signs of that :D
Keep up the good work! :thumbup
T400: 7x86
X100e: 7x86, 2008R2 (in progress), 2000 (in progress).


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#52
WildBill

WildBill

    Senior Member

  • Developer
  • 695 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Great that the bug is gone. Please let me know if you run into any more problems. That text bug was exactly what I was trying to fix with the 0.3.9 redesign.

Edited by WildBill, 26 December 2008 - 02:39 PM.


#53
WildBill

WildBill

    Senior Member

  • Developer
  • 695 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Version 0.4.3 is uploaded (see the top post). It has a caching/rendering bugfix and better performance.

#54
WildBill

WildBill

    Senior Member

  • Developer
  • 695 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Hello all,

I was experiencing some random crashing problems with version 0.4.3 so I made some changes and posted version 0.4.4. I'm hoping that this fixes the problem.

#55
Colonel O'Neill

Colonel O'Neill

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 256 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Thanks! It's running MUCH faster when loading folder lists :thumbup

Although there's still a few problems: Chart text in MS Word doesn't show up properly (Major Argh when editing.)
Posted Image

And also the sudden disappearance of Shortcut Keys (the Ctrl+W thingies) at the end of a menu selection in Photoshop CS2.
Posted Image

There is also some missing text (Paragon Partition Manager).
Posted Image

Last minor problem: Middle-button scrolling the text in Firefox slowly leaves some kind of artifact.
Posted Image

Good to see that the Firefox text bug was fixed :D Was missing D's and W's.
T400: 7x86
X100e: 7x86, 2008R2 (in progress), 2000 (in progress).

#56
WildBill

WildBill

    Senior Member

  • Developer
  • 695 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Great to see that you're having better success, though those bugs are weird. I was able to reproduce the Firefox one, but I'm not sure what I could do about it. I think I understand what's going on, that it's probably doing a bitblt() and only painting the extra text, which might not be something I can solve.

I don't have any of your other programs, though I could possibly try a chart on MS Word 2000 to see what happens. It would be a lot easier, though, if you could post a document that I could load in MS Word to see what happens.

LOL, Are you trying this in Vista?!

I just posted version 0.4.5 which is a little more friendly, but shouldn't affect the rendering issues you showed above.

Edited by WildBill, 12 January 2009 - 06:14 PM.


#57
Colonel O'Neill

Colonel O'Neill

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 256 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
What? Vista? Noooo.... :blink: Windows 2000 :P

Anyways, the Photoshop and Partitioning things, not much of a nuisance because I don't Partition often. Photoshop is unseverely affected.

Firefox scroll thing I could care less, I rarely scroll that way anyway. :ph34r:

Attached is a word document with a chart.
It begins to mess up severely when resized or edited.

Hope your first weeks of 2009 were happy. :)
T400: 7x86
X100e: 7x86, 2008R2 (in progress), 2000 (in progress).

#58
WildBill

WildBill

    Senior Member

  • Developer
  • 695 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
I made some minor changes and the chart shows up better once I double-click on it, but remember I'm running Word 2k instead of 2k3. I downloaded the demo of the partition manager, but I can't get to your screenshot to see what's wrong with it. Can you fix the screen shot while I try the demo?

Edited by WildBill, 12 January 2009 - 08:38 PM.


#59
WildBill

WildBill

    Senior Member

  • Developer
  • 695 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Okay, I just posted version 0.4.6, which fixes the problem with the partitioning program at least, and fixes a couple of other things as well. How does this version treat you?

#60
Colonel O'Neill

Colonel O'Neill

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 256 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Woot! The text isn't missing anymore... Although... :blushing:

Posted Image

Task Manager got... a new "facelift" as Microsoft might call it.

It's showing through and has some text corruption not seen before 0.4.6.

I apologize if I'm causing any inconveniences here... :blushing:
Great software, bad Microsoft. ;)
T400: 7x86
X100e: 7x86, 2008R2 (in progress), 2000 (in progress).

#61
WildBill

WildBill

    Senior Member

  • Developer
  • 695 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Ah. Yet more ETO_OPAQUE/ETO_CLIPPED subtleties. I fixed it and posted version 0.4.7, which has another improvement as well. We're cooking with gas now.

I've been looking at SmoothText's internal architecture (which is really clean and modular), and I'm thinking that a much better way to do skinning would be to add a skinning behavior to SmoothText rather than fight with TClock3 anymore. SmoothText has a concept of separate behaviors that have their own configuration, ability to be turned on or off, etc. It's really very clean. I'm still on the fence, but I'm investigating the possibility. A lot of TClock3 code would be ported if I took that route (actually rewritten from scratch, but using TClock3 as a template).

#62
hpj2

hpj2

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 18 posts
Hello WildBill,

although SmoothText is getting better and better, here is an error I found.
It's a dialog box in SpeedCommander 10.54 (Delete a file).
0.4.6 OK
Attached File  SmoothText_0.4.6.jpg   15.08KB   8 downloads
0.4.7 NOT OK
Attached File  SmoothText_0.4.7.jpg   11.12KB   8 downloads

by the way: Happy New Year :yes:

#63
WildBill

WildBill

    Senior Member

  • Developer
  • 695 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
I downloaded the demo of SpeedCommander (and I think I got the right version), but I couldn't reproduce the problem. That said, I fixed a number of issues and posted version 0.4.8. I still have more things to fix, but would you mind checking to see if this at least fixes the problem you posted?

#64
Colonel O'Neill

Colonel O'Neill

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 256 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
I did notice a similar thing to hpj2's dialog box. Virtual PC 2007 showed me a dialog that looked like that for a second. Reflexively pressed Enter before noticing it. Anyway, I think it's not program specific. Both occured in a dialog box. From my experience of dialog boxes in Reshacker... The word that shows up there is just filler until the program puts the proper text in. Not sure though. :unsure:

But I did have a hard lock up in 0.4.7. Had a temporary lock-up using 0.4.8 while opening Photoshop. :wacko:

BTW, did you see the Cleartype in 98/ME thread by Tihiy? I think SmoothText has gone beyond Cleartype's capabilities... Although IMHO... The SmoothText algorithm could use a bit more pixel boundary snapping. Tahoma is rather blurry ATM. :)

Enough rambling for now.
T400: 7x86
X100e: 7x86, 2008R2 (in progress), 2000 (in progress).

#65
WildBill

WildBill

    Senior Member

  • Developer
  • 695 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Some days I just can't win. I missed a potential crash problem in 0.4.8 and I've posted version 0.4.9 that takes care of it. I wouldn't be be surprised if that was your problem, but could you try it out? SmoothText also can override tab controls now when tabs are painted as buttons (see your Windows taskbar).

Wow, I didn't know about the ClearType thread. I'll go take a look at that now before I get to bed (it's late! ;) )

#66
hpj2

hpj2

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 18 posts
Hello WildBill,

Thank you for your new version. I tested SpeedCommander with 0.4.9 and the problem with the copy-dialogbox is gone.
But I found another error. It's always the same with 0.4.6 - 0.4.9!

Without Smoothtext:

Attached File  Without_SmoothText_0.4.9.jpg   44.81KB   12 downloads

With Smoothtext 0.4.9:

Attached File  SmoothText_0.4.9.jpg   40.91KB   12 downloads

It's the optionsdialog menu: extras => options

#67
Colonel O'Neill

Colonel O'Neill

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 256 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Confirm similar bug. The Time/Date dialog is resized weirdly.

Posted Image

Other than that... No other incompatibilities seen so far.

It'd be nice if one could adjust the boldness (weighting) of semi-filled pixels. That would be awesome. :D
T400: 7x86
X100e: 7x86, 2008R2 (in progress), 2000 (in progress).

#68
WildBill

WildBill

    Senior Member

  • Developer
  • 695 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Hmm. That's very strange. I'm seeing that on my PC as well. Oh, well, it's yet another thing to investigate.

I posted version 0.5.0 tonight, which should fix a lot of issues. I'm probably going to slow down development a little bit (these nightly releases are killing me!). That sizing bug is definitely going to be high on the list, though.

I've been looking into the possibility of tuning the text output, but I haven't worked out all the details yet. It has to be done in a way that wouldn't harm performance. A few versions ago I made some preliminary steps toward it, but I haven't figured it all out yet.

#69
Colonel O'Neill

Colonel O'Neill

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 256 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
WOOHOO Tahoma is normal width now. In the before time it looked way way way too narrow...
IMHO Segoe UI is a smidge too thin. Could you add a way to use the old algorithm for certain fonts? :angel

Tried to look at your source for the Subpixel.pas... Found Assembler, Nice! :lol:
Unfortunately I don't understand a word of Assembler.

I'll try to decipher the logics of it... See if I can port the frameworks it to VB to test speed if weighting is added...
ATM... Very confused. :wacko:

Don't kill yourself over SmoothText... It's not worth it! :lol:
It won't hurt us to wait a while before getting updates.

(Can't get enough of the MSFN emoticons. :yes: )
T400: 7x86
X100e: 7x86, 2008R2 (in progress), 2000 (in progress).

#70
Colonel O'Neill

Colonel O'Neill

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 256 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Oh my. SmoothText seems to have messed up controls within frames. :blink:

Posted Image

Also, whatever Wikipedia's article font is, it looks too thin at Ctrl+0 (Normal Size) in firefox. :blink:
T400: 7x86
X100e: 7x86, 2008R2 (in progress), 2000 (in progress).

#71
WildBill

WildBill

    Senior Member

  • Developer
  • 695 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Thanks for finding that. Version 0.5.1 is posted, which should fix at least some of the issues. The one with SpeedCommander is still escaping me, though.

#72
Colonel O'Neill

Colonel O'Neill

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 256 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
:w00t: Awesome! The frames show proper controls now, really quick bug fix too!
T400: 7x86
X100e: 7x86, 2008R2 (in progress), 2000 (in progress).

#73
Colonel O'Neill

Colonel O'Neill

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 256 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Hmm... I was wondering why certain things were looking off. MS Sans Serif (or some other similar font) when put through SmoothText ends up thinner than usual. Other fonts, like Segoe UI, are wider when put through SmoothText (actually more pleasant due to it's wider proportions).

Posted Image

Some diagrams drawn in Paint are included.
Not a major problem, just a heads up. :whistle:
T400: 7x86
X100e: 7x86, 2008R2 (in progress), 2000 (in progress).

#74
WildBill

WildBill

    Senior Member

  • Developer
  • 695 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
It's pretty much inevitable that some characters would change in width, since I don't have individual character-width control (only the average width of the entire font). Anyhow, version 0.5.2 is posted, and it fixes a lot of issues.

#75
Colonel O'Neill

Colonel O'Neill

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 256 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Awesome new interface! :thumbup
Everything looks great! It even works on XP :D
T400: 7x86
X100e: 7x86, 2008R2 (in progress), 2000 (in progress).




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN