Welcome to MSFN

Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to contribute to this site by submitting your own content or replying to existing content. You'll be able to customize your profile, receive reputation points as a reward for submitting content, while also communicating with other members via your own private inbox, plus much more! This message will be removed once you have signed in.

moc_orlando

new to the whole Linux...Unix....MS DOS

18 posts in this topic

hey...Like i said i am new to the whole Linux.....

I have a standard Desk Top with windows XP on it.

i wanted to know where i can learn about using these operating systems like Linux on my computer??...remember im like so stupid when it comes to using CMDs ....i need like a introduction to see if it is the right move for me ...i really want to learn how to manage linux or Ms Dos or whatever one i chose to use in place of windows

DOS is dead... don't touch it.

If you want a really good *nix system and want to dive into the realm of command line shells, then go for FreeBSD. If you want something with GUI shell to fall back on, I'd recommend FedoraCore. Just make sure you get FC6 (Zod) and not 7 - they made 7 too glitsy in my opinion.

I started on Slackware, but don't recommend it for your first venture. Ubuntu is popular these days.

Nah compile a full Gentoo install from a stage 1 tarball THEN install Ubuntu. Then there will be no complaints about installing Ubuntu :)

Let's see:

1. Ubuntu. Easy to use, simple and moderatelly fast.

2. Gentoo. Hard to use, more complex since you have to compile it yourself, the fastest since you can tailor it to your hardware.

3. Sabayon linux. Its made from Gentoo and its really flashy since its got those vista-like hardware rendered effects. Its pretty easy to use, no idea about speed since I only ran it off a live-cd.

Those are my faves.

And DOS is not dead. Its a very good learning tool.