Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Integration of Intel's SATA AHCI and RAID drivers

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
1530 replies to this topic

#1
Fernando 1

Fernando 1

    Easy RAIDer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,021 posts
  • Joined 03-June 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
@ all owners of a computer with an Intel S-ATA AHCI or Raid system:

Many users with such system have problems, when they try to install Windows XP (32/64 bit) or Windows Server 2003 (32/64 bit), because the Setup of these Operating Systems will not automaticly detect the hdd's, which are connected to the Intel S-ATA AHCI or Intel SATA RAID ports of the mainboard.
Furthermore the traditional F6/floppy method often fails due to bad floppy media or the lack of a floppy drive.
The easiest and safest solution is the integration of the Intel Controller drivers into a bootable 32/64bit XP or W2k3 CD by using a tool like nLite.

Here is the way how to do it:




Integration of the
Intel SATA AHCI or SATA RAID drivers
by using nLite


Guide for Windows XP and Windows Server 2003 (32/64 bit)
(removed at 08/25/2013)



Dear visitors,

in November 2007 I have written at this place my first guide about the integration of Intel's textmode drivers into a Windows XP CD by using the tool nLite. Until now (August 2013) I have tried to answer all questions and to keep this guide up-to-date and to offer download links to various suitable and actual Intel AHCI and RAID drivers.

Due to the recently completely altered software of this Forum I am not able anymore to update my old MSDN Forum guides the usual way. Since I don't want to offer here an outdated guide with broken download links and since I am offering the related guides within my own new Win-RAID Forum as well, I decided to completely delete the original text of this start post and to refer to my new Forum.

If you want to read my complete and up-to-date instructions about how to integrate Intel's AHCI and RAID drivers into a Windows XP (32/64bit) image and if you are searching for links to the drivers I recommend to integrate, you should join >this< site of my Forum.

Hoping for your understanding
and best wishes

Fernando

Edited by Fernando 1, 25 August 2013 - 07:54 AM.

My current system:
ASUS P8Z68-V | Intel Core i5 2500K | 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 | 2x128GB Crucial M4 SSD as RAID0 in SATA3 mode | Seasonic M12II-520 Modular 520W | ATI Radeon HD6850 1 GB GDDR5
My old system:
DFI nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS: 2006/04/06) | AMD Athlon64 4000+ San Diego | 2x512 MB OCZ PC3200 CL2 Rev.2 Platinum | 2x200 GB Samsung S-ATA II as Raid0 | beQuiet!Titan BQT P5-470W-S1.3 | MSI GeForce NX6600GT-TD128E


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
Mann

Mann

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 95 posts
  • Joined 02-October 03
For JMicron S-ATA ports if bios settings is set to AHCI mode,no hdd is detect.No problem though if set to IDE mode

Edited by Mann, 17 November 2007 - 06:25 AM.


#3
Fernando 1

Fernando 1

    Easy RAIDer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,021 posts
  • Joined 03-June 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64

For JMicron S-ATA ports if bios settings is set to AHCI mode,no hdd is detect.No problem though if set to IDE mode

1. As I have written within my guide:
You cannot use Intel drivers, when your hdd is connected to any JMicron port. Then you have to integrate the JMicron Controller drivers.

2. If you disable AHCI within your BIOS and let the S-ATA Controllers run the IDE mode, you don't need to integrate any textmode driver, but in this case you will abandon all AHCI features of your built-in S-ATA Controllers.
My current system:
ASUS P8Z68-V | Intel Core i5 2500K | 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 | 2x128GB Crucial M4 SSD as RAID0 in SATA3 mode | Seasonic M12II-520 Modular 520W | ATI Radeon HD6850 1 GB GDDR5
My old system:
DFI nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS: 2006/04/06) | AMD Athlon64 4000+ San Diego | 2x512 MB OCZ PC3200 CL2 Rev.2 Platinum | 2x200 GB Samsung S-ATA II as Raid0 | beQuiet!Titan BQT P5-470W-S1.3 | MSI GeForce NX6600GT-TD128E

#4
Mann

Mann

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 95 posts
  • Joined 02-October 03
i did integrate the Jmicron Controller driver but still no go.No problem at all with Intel drivers with sata hdd on Intel ports even with AHCI mode

#5
Fernando 1

Fernando 1

    Easy RAIDer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,021 posts
  • Joined 03-June 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64

i did integrate the Jmicron Controller driver but still no go.No problem at all with Intel drivers with sata hdd on Intel ports even with AHCI mode.

Do you have different SATA hdd's connected to different (Intel and JMicron) S-ATA ports?
Are you sure, that you installed the correct drivers for the connected port?
Which JMicron textmode driver did you load?
My current system:
ASUS P8Z68-V | Intel Core i5 2500K | 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 | 2x128GB Crucial M4 SSD as RAID0 in SATA3 mode | Seasonic M12II-520 Modular 520W | ATI Radeon HD6850 1 GB GDDR5
My old system:
DFI nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS: 2006/04/06) | AMD Athlon64 4000+ San Diego | 2x512 MB OCZ PC3200 CL2 Rev.2 Platinum | 2x200 GB Samsung S-ATA II as Raid0 | beQuiet!Titan BQT P5-470W-S1.3 | MSI GeForce NX6600GT-TD128E

#6
Mann

Mann

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 95 posts
  • Joined 02-October 03
I only have this 4 files.No txtsetup.oem
jgogo.sys
jraid.cat
Jraid.sys
jraid_i.inf

p.s Just got a new driver JMB36X_WinDrv_WHQL_R1.17.28WHQL.this set has txtsetup.oem.Will test this driver

Edited by Mann, 17 November 2007 - 08:55 AM.


#7
PlayStation

PlayStation
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 06-September 04
without txtsetup.oem cannot use txtmode drivers.

and another notice about ICH hubs - Intel offers ICHx and ICHxR versions. only R-labeled hubs support AHCI and RAID capabilities. I've spent a whole day trying to install AHCI on motherboard with ICH9 befor I looked at mb specification.
PlayStation.
Real game is coming !!!

#8
Fernando 1

Fernando 1

    Easy RAIDer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,021 posts
  • Joined 03-June 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64

I only have this 4 files.No txtsetup.oem
jgogo.sys
jraid.cat
Jraid.sys
jraid_i.inf

That doesn't work at all. Windows Setup will not detect your JMicron Controller connected S-ATA hdd's, if AHCI is enabled within your BIOS.

Download this JMicron driver package and unzip it. You will find the suitable textmode driver within the Floppy32 folder.

and another notice about ICH hubs - Intel offers ICHx and ICHxR versions. only R-labeled hubs support AHCI and RAID capabilities. I've spent a whole day trying to install AHCI on motherboard with ICH9 befor I looked at mb specification.

The ICHxM controllers (M=Mobile) are supporting AHCI and RAID too.

Edited by Fernando 1, 17 November 2007 - 09:03 AM.

My current system:
ASUS P8Z68-V | Intel Core i5 2500K | 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 | 2x128GB Crucial M4 SSD as RAID0 in SATA3 mode | Seasonic M12II-520 Modular 520W | ATI Radeon HD6850 1 GB GDDR5
My old system:
DFI nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS: 2006/04/06) | AMD Athlon64 4000+ San Diego | 2x512 MB OCZ PC3200 CL2 Rev.2 Platinum | 2x200 GB Samsung S-ATA II as Raid0 | beQuiet!Titan BQT P5-470W-S1.3 | MSI GeForce NX6600GT-TD128E

#9
Mann

Mann

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 95 posts
  • Joined 02-October 03
thks problrm solved :)

#10
Fernando 1

Fernando 1

    Easy RAIDer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,021 posts
  • Joined 03-June 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64

thks problrm solved :)

What have you done to solve the problem (might be interesting for other users)?

EDIT: Since I believe, that Mann will not answer anymore, I suppose, that he found at least the correct JMicron textmode drivers I have linked to.

Edited by Fernando 1, 17 November 2007 - 11:33 AM.

My current system:
ASUS P8Z68-V | Intel Core i5 2500K | 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 | 2x128GB Crucial M4 SSD as RAID0 in SATA3 mode | Seasonic M12II-520 Modular 520W | ATI Radeon HD6850 1 GB GDDR5
My old system:
DFI nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS: 2006/04/06) | AMD Athlon64 4000+ San Diego | 2x512 MB OCZ PC3200 CL2 Rev.2 Platinum | 2x200 GB Samsung S-ATA II as Raid0 | beQuiet!Titan BQT P5-470W-S1.3 | MSI GeForce NX6600GT-TD128E

#11
boooggy

boooggy

    MSFN Master

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,347 posts
  • Joined 27-February 05
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
thx fernando
all worked good for me. :thumbup

#12
scl205

scl205
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 20-November 07
I have a Gateway laptop model M-6823 I am trying to triple boot Vista XP and Fedora. XP is the problem. The drive is partitioned and Vista and Fedora core 8 work quite well. The XP SATA drivers are the problem. I followed the above instructions and created a CD. It boots fine then says it is checking the system as the screen goes black and the HDD runs and runs like it is loading the drivers etc. I allowed it to run for 20 minutes last night then hit Ctrl-Alt-Del. It had not modified anything the machine still boots Fedora and Vista fine.

Does anyone know should I just allow it to run longer? I tried this CD in an older desktop and it runs through fine to the point of asking for an install point. I do not get the black screen on a desktop however. I have made the CD 2 times so far and gotten the same results.

Thank-you in advance,
Steve

#13
hobiecatter

hobiecatter
  • Member
  • 7 posts
  • Joined 20-November 07
Excellent write up.

I did this slipsream the other day, but just now came across this post.

I am running one drive, but trying to run AHCI mode and install XP Pro. Before slipstreaming, It would not detect the drive of course. I slipstreamed the drives exactly how you have in your guide, the only difference is the source cd was not a clean one, but a disc I slipstreamed SP2 in a few months ago. Does this matter that it was an nlite created disc even though the only thing changed was slipstreamed SP2 in?

OK, so here is my problem. The slipstream must have worked, becuase it recognized the drive during setup, I created and formatted a partition, and sucessfully copied all of the XP setup files to the BRAND NEW hard drive. Just before the reboot, it says cannot copy file Uknown.sys and lets me canel or skip. Next, it reboots your computer to finish the install. It reboots, but after the POST screen, it reboots again and continues this reboot cycle.

Any ideas? This computer was working fine with exact same configuration before I RMA'ed the drive, so I know it's not the bios or connectors or anything.

From reading around, it looks to me that it loads the controller driver during the initial start, allowing my SATA drive to work, but then it will not copy the driver to the hard drive, not allowing it to boot. I don't know what Unkown.sys is, but others have the same problem, only named different things .sys

I loaded used the drive as a slave an loaded up with my Vista drive and copied over the files iastor.inf iaahci.inf and iastor.sys over to the new hd that has the preinstall files copied on it into the i386 folder.

No dice. Still does the same thing.

Any one can help?

Edited by hobiecatter, 21 November 2007 - 01:44 AM.


#14
Fernando 1

Fernando 1

    Easy RAIDer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,021 posts
  • Joined 03-June 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64

I have a Gateway laptop model M-6823 I am trying to triple boot Vista XP and Fedora. XP is the problem. The drive is partitioned and Vista and Fedora core 8 work quite well. The XP SATA drivers are the problem. I followed the above instructions and created a CD. It boots fine then says it is checking the system as the screen goes black and the HDD runs and runs like it is loading the drivers etc. I allowed it to run for 20 minutes last night then hit Ctrl-Alt-Del. It had not modified anything the machine still boots Fedora and Vista fine.
Does anyone know should I just allow it to run longer? I tried this CD in an older desktop and it runs through fine to the point of asking for an install point. I do not get the black screen on a desktop however. I have made the CD 2 times so far and gotten the same results.

At which point of the XP install did you get this strange behaviour? Did you really follow my guide?
If you do not come to the point where you have to decide where to install XP, you obviously have a problem with your system.

I am running one drive, but trying to run AHCI mode and install XP Pro. Before slipstreaming, It would not detect the drive of course. I slipstreamed the drives exactly how you have in your guide, the only difference is the source cd was not a clean one, but a disc I slipstreamed SP2 in a few months ago. Does this matter that it was an nlite created disc even though the only thing changed was slipstreamed SP2 in?

No, that is like a clean OS CD.

OK, so here is my problem. The slipstream must have worked, becuase it recognized the drive during setup, I created and formatted a partition, and sucessfully copied all of the XP setup files to the BRAND NEW hard drive. Just before the reboot, it says cannot copy file Uknown.sys and lets me canel or skip. Next, it reboots your computer to finish the install. It reboots, but after the POST screen, it reboots again and continues this reboot cycle.
Any ideas? This computer was working fine with exact same configuration before I RMA'ed the drive, so I know it's not the bios or connectors or anything.
From reading around, it looks to me that it loads the controller driver during the initial start, allowing my SATA drive to work, but then it will not copy the driver to the hard drive, not allowing it to boot. I don't know what Unkown.sys is, but others have the same problem, only named different things .sys

All SYS files are drivers. XP is obviously searching for an unknown driver.
Did you hit F6 (you should not!)?
If not, try the following: Create a bootable XP CD and integrate not only the Intel textmode drivers, but additionally the Intel INF chipset drivers. You will find a download link within my guide (first post).
My current system:
ASUS P8Z68-V | Intel Core i5 2500K | 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 | 2x128GB Crucial M4 SSD as RAID0 in SATA3 mode | Seasonic M12II-520 Modular 520W | ATI Radeon HD6850 1 GB GDDR5
My old system:
DFI nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS: 2006/04/06) | AMD Athlon64 4000+ San Diego | 2x512 MB OCZ PC3200 CL2 Rev.2 Platinum | 2x200 GB Samsung S-ATA II as Raid0 | beQuiet!Titan BQT P5-470W-S1.3 | MSI GeForce NX6600GT-TD128E

#15
lav0s

lav0s
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 14-June 06
for using the newest driver if gets update, only if you wish to extract drivers for yourself

download Intel Matrix Storage Manager (link found in the main post up there)
open a cmd line and go where you dowloaded the app
then run iata78_cd.exe -a -a (that's actual name and files in the main post)
the go to this folder %programfiles%\Intel\Intel Matrix Storage Manager\Driver
and there will be your drivers so you can update if the need arises

#16
Fernando 1

Fernando 1

    Easy RAIDer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,021 posts
  • Joined 03-June 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64

for using the newest driver if gets update, only if you wish to extract drivers for yourself
download Intel Matrix Storage Manager (link found in the main post up there)
open a cmd line and go where you dowloaded the app
then run iata78_cd.exe -a -a (that's actual name and files in the main post)
the go to this folder %programfiles%\Intel\Intel Matrix Storage Manager\Driver
and there will be your drivers so you can update if the need arises

The extraction is not needed, if you use the actual driver packages linked within the first post of this thread.
Furthermore I will keep the download links up-to-date.

CU
Fernando
My current system:
ASUS P8Z68-V | Intel Core i5 2500K | 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 | 2x128GB Crucial M4 SSD as RAID0 in SATA3 mode | Seasonic M12II-520 Modular 520W | ATI Radeon HD6850 1 GB GDDR5
My old system:
DFI nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS: 2006/04/06) | AMD Athlon64 4000+ San Diego | 2x512 MB OCZ PC3200 CL2 Rev.2 Platinum | 2x200 GB Samsung S-ATA II as Raid0 | beQuiet!Titan BQT P5-470W-S1.3 | MSI GeForce NX6600GT-TD128E

#17
hobiecatter

hobiecatter
  • Member
  • 7 posts
  • Joined 20-November 07
Fernando,

Thanks for your help. Since I was getting the Unknown.sys cannot copy during install, I found a floppy drive and thought I'd try it the "old fashioned" way to see if that would even work, instead of slipstreaming the file.

I get the same error "cannont copy Unknown.sys" even when using the floppy method. When doing the floppy method, you don't have any options of textmode or INF drivers. I have a Dell XPS 410, so I went to Dell's support page, downloaded the SATA exe driver for my computer, extracted it to the floppy. When I hit F6, and loaded the floppy, there were only four options, two were for mobile, the other two only one of which worked, and it was the one for my controller. I still got the same error with this method.

Switching over to regular IDE (not needing to load the SATA drivers) installs fine. So, this is definately something to do with these drivers, just can't figure out what.

I need to install in AHCI mode not regular IDE though because my other HD that has Vista only works in AHCI mode, and I will eventually be dual booting.

#18
Fernando 1

Fernando 1

    Easy RAIDer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,021 posts
  • Joined 03-June 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64

Since I was getting the Unknown.sys cannot copy during install, I found a floppy drive and thought I'd try it the "old fashioned" way to see if that would even work, instead of slipstreaming the file.
I get the same error "cannont copy Unknown.sys" even when using the floppy method. When doing the floppy method, you don't have any options of textmode or INF drivers. I have a Dell XPS 410, so I went to Dell's support page, downloaded the SATA exe driver for my computer, extracted it to the floppy. When I hit F6, and loaded the floppy, there were only four options, two were for mobile, the other two only one of which worked, and it was the one for my controller. I still got the same error with this method.

If you haven chosen the "Unattended Install", you should not hit F6.
Have you tried to enable all possible AHCI Controllers while integrating the Intel textmode drivers with nLite?
My current system:
ASUS P8Z68-V | Intel Core i5 2500K | 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 | 2x128GB Crucial M4 SSD as RAID0 in SATA3 mode | Seasonic M12II-520 Modular 520W | ATI Radeon HD6850 1 GB GDDR5
My old system:
DFI nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS: 2006/04/06) | AMD Athlon64 4000+ San Diego | 2x512 MB OCZ PC3200 CL2 Rev.2 Platinum | 2x200 GB Samsung S-ATA II as Raid0 | beQuiet!Titan BQT P5-470W-S1.3 | MSI GeForce NX6600GT-TD128E

#19
hobiecatter

hobiecatter
  • Member
  • 7 posts
  • Joined 20-November 07

Since I was getting the Unknown.sys cannot copy during install, I found a floppy drive and thought I'd try it the "old fashioned" way to see if that would even work, instead of slipstreaming the file.
I get the same error "cannont copy Unknown.sys" even when using the floppy method. When doing the floppy method, you don't have any options of textmode or INF drivers. I have a Dell XPS 410, so I went to Dell's support page, downloaded the SATA exe driver for my computer, extracted it to the floppy. When I hit F6, and loaded the floppy, there were only four options, two were for mobile, the other two only one of which worked, and it was the one for my controller. I still got the same error with this method.

If you haven chosen the "Unattended Install", you should not hit F6.
Have you tried to enable all possible AHCI Controllers while integrating the Intel textmode drivers with nLite?


I understand you do not hit F6 while using a slipsreamed disc because the drivers load automatically. I don't think I wrote it clearly the first time. When I could not get it to work using the slipsreamed, I backed up and used a NON slipsreamed disc and installed a floppy to load the drivers off the floppy to see if that would work. Doing it this way, of course, I DO hit F6 to install the drivers, however, I was still getting the "cannot copy Unknown.sys" error.

As for the drivers I picked off of the floppy, there were only four of them available. Two had a (mobile) in the name, so I skipped them and I tried the other two. One of them did not work at all. I tried again with the last one, and was able to recognize the drive, copy the files, then it got to the unkown.sys that it couldn't copy.

I have searched all over the Dell forums, and others have had to slipsream the drivers or use a floppy, but none have had this .sys file that could not copy.

I am not giving up though. Going to keep trying different things and will let you know what works.

#20
Fernando 1

Fernando 1

    Easy RAIDer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,021 posts
  • Joined 03-June 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64

I understand you do not hit F6 while using a slipsreamed disc because the drivers load automatically. I don't think I wrote it clearly the first time. When I could not get it to work using the slipsreamed, I backed up and used a NON slipsreamed disc and installed a floppy to load the drivers off the floppy to see if that would work. Doing it this way, of course, I DO hit F6 to install the drivers, however, I was still getting the "cannot copy Unknown.sys" error.
As for the drivers I picked off of the floppy, there were only four of them available. Two had a (mobile) in the name, so I skipped them and I tried the other two. One of them did not work at all. I tried again with the last one, and was able to recognize the drive, copy the files, then it got to the unkown.sys that it couldn't copy.
I have searched all over the Dell forums, and others have had to slipsream the drivers or use a floppy, but none have had this .sys file that could not copy.
I am not giving up though. Going to keep trying different things and will let you know what works.

Your story about the "unknown.sys" file is very strange, because there is no such file within any Intel driver package.
If you slipstream the Intel textmode drivers exactly the way I have layed down within my first post, you will succeed (unless you have another problem within yóur system).
Maybe you should do a google search for "unknown.sys" to find out the real reason for your trouble.
My current system:
ASUS P8Z68-V | Intel Core i5 2500K | 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 | 2x128GB Crucial M4 SSD as RAID0 in SATA3 mode | Seasonic M12II-520 Modular 520W | ATI Radeon HD6850 1 GB GDDR5
My old system:
DFI nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS: 2006/04/06) | AMD Athlon64 4000+ San Diego | 2x512 MB OCZ PC3200 CL2 Rev.2 Platinum | 2x200 GB Samsung S-ATA II as Raid0 | beQuiet!Titan BQT P5-470W-S1.3 | MSI GeForce NX6600GT-TD128E

#21
Eri

Eri
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 01-September 07
6. Use the other options of nLite, if you want. It is a good idea to additionally integrate the Intel INF files drivers named Intel® Chipset Device Software as normal device (=PnP) driver. You can download these INF drivers here.

Please explain the step 6. The Intel INF drivers is a archive .EXE. How can integrate this Intel INF drivers?
Thank.

#22
Fernando 1

Fernando 1

    Easy RAIDer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,021 posts
  • Joined 03-June 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64

6. Use the other options of nLite, if you want. It is a good idea to additionally integrate the Intel INF files drivers named Intel® Chipset Device Software as normal device (=PnP) driver. You can download these INF drivers here.

Please explain the step 6. The Intel INF drivers is a archive .EXE. How can integrate this Intel INF drivers?

You have to extract it twice by using a tool like WinRar or 7-zip.

Here is what you should do:
1. Extract the whole EXE archive.
2. Extract the EXE archive again you will find after having done step 1.
3. Pick any INF file you find within the folder named "All".

I will add this into my guide or pre-extract the package and link to it.

Edited by Fernando 1, 29 November 2007 - 03:54 AM.

My current system:
ASUS P8Z68-V | Intel Core i5 2500K | 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 | 2x128GB Crucial M4 SSD as RAID0 in SATA3 mode | Seasonic M12II-520 Modular 520W | ATI Radeon HD6850 1 GB GDDR5
My old system:
DFI nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS: 2006/04/06) | AMD Athlon64 4000+ San Diego | 2x512 MB OCZ PC3200 CL2 Rev.2 Platinum | 2x200 GB Samsung S-ATA II as Raid0 | beQuiet!Titan BQT P5-470W-S1.3 | MSI GeForce NX6600GT-TD128E

#23
Eri

Eri
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 01-September 07
I will add this into my guide or pre-extract the package and link to it.

Both is better. I think.
Thanks for your help, again.

#24
sittingduck

sittingduck

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 16 posts
  • Joined 27-June 07
Fernando, just a couple of questions:

1. Nlite recommends removing the SCSI/RAID drivers from XP when integrating other drivers. Shouldn't this be added to the guide, or isn't it really necessary?

2. Likewise with the Intel chipset drivers: Should the original XP drivers be removed after integrating these? In case of yes, what should be removed? Because it doesn't seem there's an easy way to remove chipset drivers with Nlite like there is with the SCSI/RAID drivers.

And a suggestion: Instead of extracting the Chipset drivers twice from Intels exe file, just get the zip file instead. Much easier to add the drivers from that one, I think.

Thank you for your guide. And thanks to nuhi for a great app.

#25
Fernando 1

Fernando 1

    Easy RAIDer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,021 posts
  • Joined 03-June 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64

Fernando, just a couple of questions:
1. Nlite recommends removing the SCSI/RAID drivers from XP when integrating other drivers. Shouldn't this be added to the guide, or isn't it really necessary?
2. Likewise with the Intel chipset drivers: Should the original XP drivers be removed after integrating these? In case of yes, what should be removed? Because it doesn't seem there's an easy way to remove chipset drivers with Nlite like there is with the SCSI/RAID drivers.
And a suggestion: Instead of extracting the Chipset drivers twice from Intels exe file, just get the zip file instead. Much easier to add the drivers from that one, I think.

Here are my answers:
1. You can let nLite remove the SCSI/RAID drivers (to save some space on your hdd and time during the textmode part of the Windows Setup), but this is not really necessary.
2. You should not remove the original MS IDE drivers, because you may need them for your native IDE devices (CD-ROM/DVD).

Thanks for your suggestion regarding the Intel INF chipset driver package. I have modified my guide regarding this point.

CU
Fernando

Edited by Fernando 1, 30 November 2007 - 06:36 AM.

My current system:
ASUS P8Z68-V | Intel Core i5 2500K | 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 | 2x128GB Crucial M4 SSD as RAID0 in SATA3 mode | Seasonic M12II-520 Modular 520W | ATI Radeon HD6850 1 GB GDDR5
My old system:
DFI nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS: 2006/04/06) | AMD Athlon64 4000+ San Diego | 2x512 MB OCZ PC3200 CL2 Rev.2 Platinum | 2x200 GB Samsung S-ATA II as Raid0 | beQuiet!Titan BQT P5-470W-S1.3 | MSI GeForce NX6600GT-TD128E




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users