Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Integration of Intel's SATA AHCI and RAID drivers

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
1530 replies to this topic

#876
krick

krick

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 116 posts
  • Joined 25-October 04

Is it possible to switch back and forth between AHCI mode and IDE mode on this install of XP /w AHCI drivers?

In other words, if I reboot, change my BIOS back to IDE mode, and boot into XP, will it BSOD or will it work fine? I'm afraid to try this, because I might crash windows in a way that requires a reinstall...



I can't speak for going from AHCI to IDE, but I went from IDE to AHCI using this method. It worked perfectly on the first try...
http://forum.msi.com...?topic=106575.0

Why, exactly, would you want to "switch back and forth"?


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#877
ghaliloo

ghaliloo
  • Member
  • 7 posts
  • Joined 25-March 10
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi,
I have an old Dell latitude C840, for witch the HDD is not detected when trying to install an original Windows XP SP 3 (the cursor stay pending on the black screen), the laptop integrate an Intel 845MP chipset witch have the 82801CAM ICH3-M Controller Hub, I wanna integrate this chipset's controller driver to load it in the textmode by nLite but I can't find the necessary files, is what I'm thinking about possible or not?, cause when I tried Windows Sweet 3 it does, but it very slow and some futures are absent, add to this I wanna make mine with programs and futures like I want, please can you help me?

Edited by ghaliloo, 25 March 2010 - 10:06 AM.


#878
DaveWI

DaveWI

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 28 posts
  • Joined 01-March 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
I'm really sorry but I'd get in trouble at work probably if I read all 44 pages of this thread...

Everything I saw so far is for an nlite made installation.

What about deployment of WIM images using windows PE? Everything worked fine, but when I booted to XP finally I got the intro screen for a second, then BSOD. I traced the problem to this particular situation. It is a Dell box with this Intel chipset I am deploying too.

Does anyone know a solution, or way to get XP to recognize the drive properly? If I just load the drivers into the image and edit the registry to point to the directory of the drivers will it work?

Thanks all.

#879
Fernando 1

Fernando 1

    Easy RAIDer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,021 posts
  • Joined 03-June 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64

I have an old Dell latitude C840, for witch the HDD is not detected when trying to install an original Windows XP SP 3 (the cursor stay pending on the black screen), the laptop integrate an Intel 845MP chipset witch have the 82801CAM ICH3-M Controller Hub, I wanna integrate this chipset's controller driver to load it in the textmode by nLite but I can't find the necessary files, is what I'm thinking about possible or not?, cause when I tried Windows Sweet 3 it does, but it very slow and some futures are absent, add to this I wanna make mine with programs and futures like I want, please can you help me?

Since I doubt, that your old Dell Latitude C840 with its Intel ICH3-M Southbridge has any on-board SATA Controller and a SATA AHCI or RAID Controller less than ever, your problem seems to be totally off topic.
You probably do not have to load (F6) or integrate any S-ATA or P-ATA textmode driver. Maybe your system just needs a Processor to AGP Controller driver or something else. You will find some approproiate drivers >here<.
I am sorry, but I am not able to help you.


I'm really sorry but I'd get in trouble at work probably if I read all 44 pages of this thread...

You should have read just my guide (=first post of this thread). There you get all needed up-to-date informations regarding the integration of Intel's AHCI and RAID drivers into a Windows XP CD by using nLite.

Everything I saw so far is for an nlite made installation.
What about deployment of WIM images using windows PE? Everything worked fine, but when I booted to XP finally I got the intro screen for a second, then BSOD. I traced the problem to this particular situation. It is a Dell box with this Intel chipset I am deploying too.
Does anyone know a solution, or way to get XP to recognize the drive properly? If I just load the drivers into the image and edit the registry to point to the directory of the drivers will it work?

As you already found out, this is the nLite and not the Windows PE Forum.
The driver integration into a WinPE image works totally different than the driver integration into a Windows XP CD. Furthermore you are not abe to use nLite, if you want to slipstream a WinPE CD.
Please post your problem within >this< or any other PE Builder Forum.

Regards
Fernando

Edited by Fernando 1, 02 April 2010 - 09:43 AM.

My current system:
ASUS P8Z68-V | Intel Core i5 2500K | 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 | 2x128GB Crucial M4 SSD as RAID0 in SATA3 mode | Seasonic M12II-520 Modular 520W | ATI Radeon HD6850 1 GB GDDR5
My old system:
DFI nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS: 2006/04/06) | AMD Athlon64 4000+ San Diego | 2x512 MB OCZ PC3200 CL2 Rev.2 Platinum | 2x200 GB Samsung S-ATA II as Raid0 | beQuiet!Titan BQT P5-470W-S1.3 | MSI GeForce NX6600GT-TD128E

#880
DaveWI

DaveWI

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 28 posts
  • Joined 01-March 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Thank you for the reply...

I only posted here because this seems to be the only reference to this Intel SATA driver issue I could find. I'm not using BartPE, I'm using Iceman's Windows PE deployment walk through. I'll check with him I guess.

#881
tona2005

tona2005
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 06-April 10
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Thank you, Fernando.

#882
tona2005

tona2005
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 06-April 10
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
I was trying to install windows XP SP3 with the latest Intel SATA drivers (9.6.0.1014), NVIDA, AMD AHCI, Jmicron, integrated in the installation ISO (done with nlite). During the installation however I 'm getting a bsod.

BAD_POOL_HEADER

...

***STOP: 0x00000019 (0x00000020, 0xF8471538, 0xF8471B50, 0xCCC35D5B)

*** acpi.sys - Address F8471538 base at F845B000, DateStamp 480252b1
*** acpi.sys - Address F8471B50 base at F845B000, DateStamp 480252b1


Although this eror appeared when I test with Virtual PC, I ignored this and burned a disc to test.
I am testing in the system: ASUS P5QL-PRO with ICH10.
If I set the SATA mode to AHCI, the disk would boot well without any errors.
But.... If I set the SATA mode to IDE, the Blue Screen appear with the same error.

My temporary solution: I tried to del old OS Source, running Nlite again, adding fewer driver but it still not working. Could you help me, Fernando? Please.

* I upload the file named "last session" that Nlite made. This file contains which types of drivers that I have intergated, could you see it and tell me if there is some mistakes?

Attached Files


Edited by tona2005, 06 April 2010 - 11:17 PM.


#883
Sp0iLedBrAt

Sp0iLedBrAt

    MSFN Addict

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,727 posts
  • Joined 19-March 09
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
It doesn't and won't work, not this way. You should only integrate one SATA driver with nLite, usually the one you need for you PC. If you want a CD with more than one SATA driver, use DriverPacks or look at the Device Drivers forum http://www.msfn.org/...rivers-f88.html

#884
tona2005

tona2005
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 06-April 10
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag

It doesn't and won't work, not this way. You should only integrate one SATA driver with nLite, usually the one you need for you PC. If you want a CD with more than one SATA driver, use DriverPacks or look at the Device Drivers forum http://www.msfn.org/...rivers-f88.html

Thank you for your reply :thumbup . But I often intergated drivers like that way (in the past, with the previous verson of Fernando's drivers) so I do not understand why this time it gets some errors. :( .

PS: Fernando said:

Tip:
If you are not sure, which of the listed Controllers are the suitable one(s) for your chipset, enable all of them (Windows Setup will find and install the correct driver).

:D.

Edited by tona2005, 07 April 2010 - 03:54 AM.


#885
Sp0iLedBrAt

Sp0iLedBrAt

    MSFN Addict

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,727 posts
  • Joined 19-March 09
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
True, but I'm pretty sure it means, for e.g. if you're not sure if it's Intel ICH8 or ICH9, but you have to be sure it's Intel, otherwise you get a 0x7B BSOD. Now, I really want to know how you manage to integrate several different SATA drivers with nLite and don't get any problems. One of the problems that should arise is that every set of SATA drivers has a specific txtsetup.oem file, which contains data pertinent to the specific driver. When integrating different drivers, my logic tells me that one txtsetup.oem file will overwrite the other.

#886
tona2005

tona2005
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 06-April 10
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Well, this is one sample for multi SATA drivers in one disc :thumbup :
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=VB7YODXK
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=F11IC0IZ
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=INLJQMC0
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=FB1ORCGZ
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=E5PHLKLW
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=HA6QT1PE
http://www.megaupload.com/?d=6CFLW53F

I still keep the discs which I have made since the previous version of Fernando's post, I have tested these discs in a lot of computers and they have been running well :) .

From the last reply with you :D, I have tried some others way to find what is wrong in this version of SATA. And, even when I just intergated the Intel SATA driver, I got the BSOD again when testing in Virtual Machine :( , what's going on? I upload the next "LAST SESSION.ini" of nlite as a proof. Anybody could solved this problem?

Attached Files


Edited by tona2005, 07 April 2010 - 06:05 AM.


#887
tona2005

tona2005
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 06-April 10
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Well, after a long search, I find out that Intel textmode driver 8.9.0.1023 mod by Fernando is still good at this time :sneaky: . If we still use the latest driver on post #1, we may get the BSOD when booting in IDE mod or in Virtual PC. But it still boot on AHCI mode in real hardware :wacko: .

May be, in the next version of driver, Fernando could solved this problem. It would be very convenient if we could add all SATA drivers into one discs (with the previous version of SATA drivers we could do that easily). Thank you Fernando and Sp0iLedBrAt for your help. Best wishes to you :) .

PS: Would you mind uploading again "Intel textmode driver 8.9.0.1023 mod by Fernando" to mediafire for me? I have searched a lot but all link for this died.

Edited by tona2005, 07 April 2010 - 11:03 AM.


#888
Fernando 1

Fernando 1

    Easy RAIDer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,021 posts
  • Joined 03-June 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64

Would you mind uploading again "Intel textmode driver 8.9.0.1023 mod by Fernando" to mediafire for me? I have searched a lot but all link for this died.

Upon your request I have reuploaded these specially modified 32/64bit versions of the Intel MSM driver v8.9.0.1023 to MediaFire.
Here are the links:
32bit Intel textmode driver v8.9.0.1023 mod by Fernando
64bit Intel tectmode driver v8.9.0.1023 mod by Fernando

Good luck!
Fernando
My current system:
ASUS P8Z68-V | Intel Core i5 2500K | 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 | 2x128GB Crucial M4 SSD as RAID0 in SATA3 mode | Seasonic M12II-520 Modular 520W | ATI Radeon HD6850 1 GB GDDR5
My old system:
DFI nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS: 2006/04/06) | AMD Athlon64 4000+ San Diego | 2x512 MB OCZ PC3200 CL2 Rev.2 Platinum | 2x200 GB Samsung S-ATA II as Raid0 | beQuiet!Titan BQT P5-470W-S1.3 | MSI GeForce NX6600GT-TD128E

#889
tona2005

tona2005
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 06-April 10
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Would you mind uploading again "Intel textmode driver 8.9.0.1023 mod by Fernando" to mediafire for me? I have searched a lot but all link for this died.

Upon your request I have reuploaded these specially modified 32/64bit versions of the Intel MSM driver v8.9.0.1023 to MediaFire.
Here are the links:
32bit Intel textmode driver v8.9.0.1023 mod by Fernando
64bit Intel tectmode driver v8.9.0.1023 mod by Fernando

Good luck!
Fernando

Thank you B) .

Edited by tona2005, 08 April 2010 - 02:42 AM.


#890
zilan

zilan
  • Member
  • 8 posts
  • Joined 26-August 09
I have same problem with tona2005, so the solution is use old drivers 8.9.0.1023? why new driver cause bsod bad pool header?

#891
Fernando 1

Fernando 1

    Easy RAIDer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,021 posts
  • Joined 03-June 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64

I have same problem with tona2005, so the solution is use old drivers 8.9.0.1023?

No, the new RST AHCI and RAID drivers are running fine after having been integrated into a Windows XP CD and installed onto a real (not a virtual) system running in AHCI or RAID Mode.

why new driver cause bsod bad pool header?

This is not the usual consequence of using the new Intel RST driver.
Please give us some informations about your hardware (Southbridge details of your mainboard), your SATA settings (IDE, AHCI or RAID) and a short report about what you have done and what happened.

Regards
Fernando
My current system:
ASUS P8Z68-V | Intel Core i5 2500K | 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 | 2x128GB Crucial M4 SSD as RAID0 in SATA3 mode | Seasonic M12II-520 Modular 520W | ATI Radeon HD6850 1 GB GDDR5
My old system:
DFI nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS: 2006/04/06) | AMD Athlon64 4000+ San Diego | 2x512 MB OCZ PC3200 CL2 Rev.2 Platinum | 2x200 GB Samsung S-ATA II as Raid0 | beQuiet!Titan BQT P5-470W-S1.3 | MSI GeForce NX6600GT-TD128E

#892
bl4h13

bl4h13
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 12-April 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Fernando...if you were a woman...I would kiss you. I have been trying to install XP Pro SP2 since around 8pm tonight (it's now 4am) on my Asus P5E Deluxe. I finally found your recommendations and as we speak...XP Pro w/SP2 is finally installing. Thank you so much!!!
Intel Core2Quad 9550, Asus P5E Deluxe, 8GB of OCZ DDR2800, ATI FireGL V5600, ATI 4870, WD Raptor 300GB, 3-WD 500GB Blacks, Corsair 800D, Corsair HX1000.

#893
AhmedKayihan

AhmedKayihan
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 18-April 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
hi, i have a problem, and this problem is probably the same with heaps of users out there who cannot boot XP PRO 64 bit (with sata/raid) drivers and achieve a successful install.

i get a stop 0x0000007b error message when i try to boot with xp. it loads the drivers, (no need for f6 - i'm sick of reading sad case ppl saying u need a floppy in other posts all over da net!). it happens when it says "setup is starting windows" or something like that right after drivers are being loaded.

My dvd rom is operating as external USB, because i cannot use the SATA DVD Drive in AHCI or RAID mode. hmm...

i DON'T want to use IDE function because my whole purpose of integrating drivers with sata/raid is to USE Raid... and i need it that way for video editing. windows 7 was allright, but XP 64 is better.

if my annoying problem is solved, i, and a whole lot of other ppl on da internet forums will be happy too.

such a problem doesn't happen when booting with win 7 64. only xp in AHCI and RAID mode.

#894
Lancelot_Real

Lancelot_Real

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 99 posts
  • Joined 14-November 07
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi AhmedKayihan,

I am a XP x64 (the greatest windows) user and using my ahci + raid disks (xpx64 on raid0 disks) too. Follow Fernando's great work to success and feed back on further success or failures etc.
btw, I am not a strick tester but I guess* xpx64 performance is not very good with raid0 ;). Check google for comments.
Good luck
:thumbup

edit:
@Fernando
I can not use msfn.org's new skin to pm on something not directly related about your current topic, how can i pm to you (maybe through 911 or ...)

Edited by Lancelot_Real, 18 April 2010 - 08:29 AM.


#895
AhmedKayihan

AhmedKayihan
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 18-April 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Hi AhmedKayihan,

I am a XP x64 (the greatest windows) user and using my ahci + raid disks (xpx64 on raid0 disks) too. Follow Fernando's great work to success and feed back on further success or failures etc.
btw, I am not a strick tester but I guess* xpx64 performance is not very good with raid0 ;). Check google for comments.
Good luck
:thumbup

edit:
@Fernando
I can not use msfn.org's new skin to pm on something not directly related about your current topic, how can i pm to you (maybe through 911 or ...)


yeah i checked google but could not find any solutions. maybe you could help me out, or redirect me to a solution ? also, where is fernando, i need his professional help! :)

#896
Lancelot_Real

Lancelot_Real

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 99 posts
  • Joined 14-November 07
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Have you followed Fernando's instructions on post #1 of current topic !!! (your initial post make me feel you have not yet)

#897
AhmedKayihan

AhmedKayihan
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 18-April 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Have you followed Fernando's instructions on post #1 of current topic !!! (your initial post make me feel you have not yet)


yeah i fully read them. however i still can't get a fix for the BSOD 0x7b error. its frustrating. i did everything the post said. didn't you ever get that error?. also, did you attach ur dvd rom with usb (the same problem i had where SATA is not recognised properely with AHCI and RAID) ? can't boot with it, must be attached via usb

#898
Fernando 1

Fernando 1

    Easy RAIDer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,021 posts
  • Joined 03-June 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
@ AhmedKayihan:
Welcome at MSFN Forums!

i get a stop 0x0000007b error message when i try to boot with xp.

If you really want help, you should give me some additional informations:
  • Please let us know the chipset and the Southbridge of your system. Alternatively you can post the vendor and the name of the computer or mainboard.
  • Are you running your SATA hdd('s) in AHCI or in RAID Mode?
  • Which Windows XP x64 Pro version (without SP = SP0, with integrated SP1 or SP2?) was on your USB drive, when you tried to get the OS installed?
  • Did you slipstream any drivers into the XP x64 image? If yes, which ones? Most important are the vendor and the version of the integrated drivers.
  • Where did you get the Windows XP Professional x64 version from? Did you really use an original (=untouched) OS as source?

it loads the drivers, (no need for f6 - i'm sick of reading sad case ppl saying u need a floppy in other posts all over da net!). it happens when it says "setup is starting windows" or something like that right after drivers are being loaded.

Which drivers have been loaded? If you are running your SATA hdd('s) in AHCI or RAID mode, they will not be detected by the Windows XP x64 Setup, unless you have loaded (F6) or integrated the suitable AHCI or RAID textmode driver.
If you really didn't load or integrate any textmode driver, then you obviously used no original (=untouched) OS as source. You can easily verify it by having a look into the AMD64 directory of your XP x64 source. If you will see a file named WINNT.SIF, the OS has already been customized by you or someone else.

@Fernando
I can not use msfn.org's new skin to pm on something not directly related about your current topic, how can i pm to you (maybe through 911 or ...)

If you are not able to send me a PM from within the MSFN Forums (I cannot understand why), you can send me an eMail (most frequent used address: fernando@win-lite.de).

Regards
Fernando
My current system:
ASUS P8Z68-V | Intel Core i5 2500K | 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 | 2x128GB Crucial M4 SSD as RAID0 in SATA3 mode | Seasonic M12II-520 Modular 520W | ATI Radeon HD6850 1 GB GDDR5
My old system:
DFI nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS: 2006/04/06) | AMD Athlon64 4000+ San Diego | 2x512 MB OCZ PC3200 CL2 Rev.2 Platinum | 2x200 GB Samsung S-ATA II as Raid0 | beQuiet!Titan BQT P5-470W-S1.3 | MSI GeForce NX6600GT-TD128E

#899
Lancelot_Real

Lancelot_Real

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 99 posts
  • Joined 14-November 07
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag

didn't you ever get that error?.

in the past yes ;) , with Fernando's help not anymore.

attaching dvdrom from usb and ahci/sata etc. things are totally different. At least you can be sure connecting through usb has no issue on installing xp (x64 or x86 etc.) , I use usb connection my self for years to install.

I strickly advice you to follow Fernando's posts providing required information asked properly, be sure there is light in the end :thumbup

@Fernando
I just figured out to use msfn pm, and just send one to you, I hope I managed :). Thanks a lot again.

#900
AhmedKayihan

AhmedKayihan
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 18-April 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

@ AhmedKayihan:
Welcome at MSFN Forums!

i get a stop 0x0000007b error message when i try to boot with xp.

If you really want help, you should give me some additional informations:
  • Please let us know the chipset and the Southbridge of your system. Alternatively you can post the vendor and the name of the computer or mainboard.
  • Are you running your SATA hdd('s) in AHCI or in RAID Mode?
  • Which Windows XP x64 Pro version (without SP = SP0, with integrated SP1 or SP2?) was on your USB drive, when you tried to get the OS installed?
  • Did you slipstream any drivers into the XP x64 image? If yes, which ones? Most important are the vendor and the version of the integrated drivers.
  • Where did you get the Windows XP Professional x64 version from? Did you really use an original (=untouched) OS as source?

it loads the drivers, (no need for f6 - i'm sick of reading sad case ppl saying u need a floppy in other posts all over da net!). it happens when it says "setup is starting windows" or something like that right after drivers are being loaded.

Which drivers have been loaded? If you are running your SATA hdd('s) in AHCI or RAID mode, they will not be detected by the Windows XP x64 Setup, unless you have loaded (F6) or integrated the suitable AHCI or RAID textmode driver.
If you really didn't load or integrate any textmode driver, then you obviously used no original (=untouched) OS as source. You can easily verify it by having a look into the AMD64 directory of your XP x64 source. If you will see a file named WINNT.SIF, the OS has already been customized by you or someone else.


•Intel® X58 / ICH10R . its an asus p6t6 ws revolution motherboard.
•running in RAID mode . must be RAID, otherwise RAIDed HDDs don't work in AHCI
•xp pro x64 with SP2 integrated
•not in usb drive, but SATA DVD drive connected via usb (acting as an external, otherwise i cannot boot with cd or dvd... it says cd rom boot priority...35, etc etc etc)
•yeh, i slipstreamed ALL Sata AHCI and RAID drivers for Intel, just to be sure. my main one is ICH10R raid, and thats what i care about. i even did a floppy disk, with f6 and it said windows has already loaded them, so the drivers are loaded properely
•as i said, there is no need for f6, i have intergrated them.
•i think the cd has been customised, as it had sp2 on it, and i added the drivers. i added textmode drivers, and pnp aswell (after many cd's, i decided to add the whole lot to guarantee it) and the size grew by like 1 mb




5 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 5 guests, 0 anonymous users