Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Integration of Intel's SATA AHCI and RAID drivers

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
1530 replies to this topic

#1101
MrGT

MrGT
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 20-November 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Also registered just to say thanks alooooooooot
it worked like magic on HP G62-455SX
NOTE :
(xp sp3 - AHCI drivers - nlite) are required .
where usb floppy did not work with the same (driver-not-included) copy of xp sp3 and the same AHCI drivers on the floppy disk !!
regards .
:D


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#1102
ownage11

ownage11

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 02-December 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hello people,
I need your special help, I have tried close to 8 times to install Windows 2000 SP4, Wasted already 8 disk's I bet, And Yesh i'm so nervous even after I cannot install it proper,
Anyway I know it's because I've a new Computer with SanderBridge/ Intel i5 2500k processor & Mother board of Gigabyte p67a-ud4-b3,
I remember that I had the same error/problem when tried to install WinXP long time AGO but it's solve anyway I'm really interesting and need the 2000 version.

- * Ah I forgot to say that i'm using AHCI mode.

I will do everything to run this OS, if someone please can explain to me, I did some many change and things In the Nlite and noting work for me,
Tried to copy manual by the orginal Disk that came from the Store, At first I made a mistake I guess that I used the PNP Normal mode,
Then someone told me that I've to use the Textmode even that failed... So I just download some last pack of drivers include everything from the last November 2011. And I just puted everything into the Disk & The result was like some weird error like :Line 11233 error, What ever I'm sure there is a solution and thats why i'm here and write to you all that story ;)


Thanks in advance & sorry for my english.

Edited by ownage11, 02 December 2011 - 05:49 PM.


#1103
Fernando 1

Fernando 1

    Easy RAIDer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,021 posts
  • Joined 03-June 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
@ ownage11:
Welcome at MSFN Forum!

What is the reason for your idea to run Windows 20000 with a brandnew computer?
I am sorry, but I have to tell you, that you will not be happy with a totally outdated OS running in AHCI mode on a Sandy Bridge CPU mainboard.
Reasons:
  • The OS Windows 2000 is too old and its Setup does't know anything about the SATA AHCI features.
  • None of the actual Intel AHCI drivers do support Windows 2000.
  • There are some very, very old Intel Matrix Storage Manager series drivers, which do support Windows 2000, but you will not be able to use them, because the HardwareID's of all actual Intel SATA AHCI Controllers are missing within the files, which are responsable for a proper installation.
Regards
Fernando
My current system:
ASUS P8Z68-V | Intel Core i5 2500K | 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 | 2x128GB Crucial M4 SSD as RAID0 in SATA3 mode | Seasonic M12II-520 Modular 520W | ATI Radeon HD6850 1 GB GDDR5
My old system:
DFI nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS: 2006/04/06) | AMD Athlon64 4000+ San Diego | 2x512 MB OCZ PC3200 CL2 Rev.2 Platinum | 2x200 GB Samsung S-ATA II as Raid0 | beQuiet!Titan BQT P5-470W-S1.3 | MSI GeForce NX6600GT-TD128E

#1104
ownage11

ownage11

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 02-December 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hmm so from what you saying, it's mean thats impossible to run it on my machine ?
Well I don't mind even to change back to IDE, but there is some big reason that I need the Win200 version....
I would like to know if someone there have any idea or option that might be work,


- I'm on dual boot, so it's will be my secound OS.

Thank you.

Edited by ownage11, 03 December 2011 - 07:23 AM.


#1105
Fernando 1

Fernando 1

    Easy RAIDer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,021 posts
  • Joined 03-June 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64

Well I don't mind even to change back to IDE,

That will be the best option, if you really need to get Windows 2000 installed.

Regards
Fernando

Edited by Fernando 1, 03 December 2011 - 07:36 AM.

My current system:
ASUS P8Z68-V | Intel Core i5 2500K | 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 | 2x128GB Crucial M4 SSD as RAID0 in SATA3 mode | Seasonic M12II-520 Modular 520W | ATI Radeon HD6850 1 GB GDDR5
My old system:
DFI nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS: 2006/04/06) | AMD Athlon64 4000+ San Diego | 2x512 MB OCZ PC3200 CL2 Rev.2 Platinum | 2x200 GB Samsung S-ATA II as Raid0 | beQuiet!Titan BQT P5-470W-S1.3 | MSI GeForce NX6600GT-TD128E

#1106
ownage11

ownage11

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 02-December 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Thank you Fernando, you are welcome.

Another question before i'm going to IDE, there is anything that I have to add/make up in the CD with NLite?

And if you please can explain to me what to add? chipest what hardware (PNP Mode, or Text mode), I have no experience in that all, And after I wasted 8 disks, I'm just afraid to try more 10x times and failed again :rolleyes:

Edited by ownage11, 03 December 2011 - 08:21 AM.


#1107
Fernando 1

Fernando 1

    Easy RAIDer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,021 posts
  • Joined 03-June 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64

Another question before i'm going to IDE, there is anything that I have to add/make up in the CD with NLite?

No, if the Service Pack 4 is already integrated. Yes, if not (in this case you should integrate the SP4).
My current system:
ASUS P8Z68-V | Intel Core i5 2500K | 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 | 2x128GB Crucial M4 SSD as RAID0 in SATA3 mode | Seasonic M12II-520 Modular 520W | ATI Radeon HD6850 1 GB GDDR5
My old system:
DFI nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS: 2006/04/06) | AMD Athlon64 4000+ San Diego | 2x512 MB OCZ PC3200 CL2 Rev.2 Platinum | 2x200 GB Samsung S-ATA II as Raid0 | beQuiet!Titan BQT P5-470W-S1.3 | MSI GeForce NX6600GT-TD128E

#1108
spidernz

spidernz

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 21 posts
  • Joined 12-November 07

@ encore::

Thanks for your statement regarding the possible origin of the BSOD's you got and thanks for the link to the patched and the original old Intel MSM AHCI/RAID driver v7.0.0.1020 dated 02/12/2007..
Nevertheless I am missing the answers to my questions.

By the way:

"iaAHCI.inf" and "TXTSETUP.OEM" must be patched.
Fernando's patch, however, does not work for VirtualBox ICH8 Sata Controller.

It is not my "patch", which doesn't work with VirtualBox systems, it is the behaviour of Intel's actual AHCI/RAID drivers (= SYS files), which belong to the "Intel® Rapid Storage Technology (IRST)" series. This new AHCI/RAID driver generation is very sensitive regarding the hardware environment.
Users, who want to install Windows XP by using the VirtualBox, should integrate an Intel AHCI/RAID driver of the meanwhile outdated "Intel® Matrix Storage Manager (IMSM)" generation.
The latest available Intel MSM driver is v8.9.8.1005 dated 04/05/2010. You can find the "modded" 32/64bit versions of this driver within the start post of >this< thread (Chapter II, second driver set). I am pretty sure, that they will work with your system using the VirtualBox.

Regards
Fernando


Awesome work fernando, loved your nforce4 packs and now with my new comp you've saved me with intel drivers!!!!!!!!!!!!!
will you update the drivers etc in first post here as some are outdated now?

#1109
Fernando 1

Fernando 1

    Easy RAIDer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,021 posts
  • Joined 03-June 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64

Awesome work fernando, loved your nforce4 packs and now with my new comp you've saved me with intel drivers!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Thanks for your encouraging message.

will you update the drivers etc in first post here as some are outdated now?

It's already been done!

@ all:
Since Intel recently has published new official RST drivers, I have just updated the start post of this thread.
Changelog:
  • new: official 32/64bit Intel RST drivers v10.8.0.1003 WHQL dated 10/17/2011
  • new: modded 32/64bit Intel RST drivers v10.8.0.1003 (usable with all Intel AHCI ad RAID systems from ICH7R/M up (except X79)
  • new: complete Intel RST drivers and software pack v10.8.0.1003 (already extracted)
  • new: Intel chipset device INF files set (Intel chipset "drivers") v9.2.3.1022 WHQL (extracted and prepared for the integration)


Regards
Fernando
My current system:
ASUS P8Z68-V | Intel Core i5 2500K | 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 | 2x128GB Crucial M4 SSD as RAID0 in SATA3 mode | Seasonic M12II-520 Modular 520W | ATI Radeon HD6850 1 GB GDDR5
My old system:
DFI nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS: 2006/04/06) | AMD Athlon64 4000+ San Diego | 2x512 MB OCZ PC3200 CL2 Rev.2 Platinum | 2x200 GB Samsung S-ATA II as Raid0 | beQuiet!Titan BQT P5-470W-S1.3 | MSI GeForce NX6600GT-TD128E

#1110
garbim

garbim
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 16-December 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Fernando, please need a help

I have an old driver modder, I need to update

my motherboard is EVGA X58 3x SLI, i7 920, 2 X 60GB ssd musklin, win7 64

Please recommend that

#1111
Fernando 1

Fernando 1

    Easy RAIDer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,021 posts
  • Joined 03-June 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
@ garbin:
Welcome at MSFN Forums!

To be honest I don't understand the correlation between your problem and this thread of the nLite Forum.
The topic of this thread is the integration of the Intel AHCI and RAID driver into a bootable Windows XP CD. The tool nLite cannot be used, if you want to get any driver slipstreamed into a Windows 7 image.

Regards
Fernando
My current system:
ASUS P8Z68-V | Intel Core i5 2500K | 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 | 2x128GB Crucial M4 SSD as RAID0 in SATA3 mode | Seasonic M12II-520 Modular 520W | ATI Radeon HD6850 1 GB GDDR5
My old system:
DFI nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS: 2006/04/06) | AMD Athlon64 4000+ San Diego | 2x512 MB OCZ PC3200 CL2 Rev.2 Platinum | 2x200 GB Samsung S-ATA II as Raid0 | beQuiet!Titan BQT P5-470W-S1.3 | MSI GeForce NX6600GT-TD128E

#1112
leoadias

leoadias
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 21-December 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
HI,

I am trying to install Windows 7 64 bits on a intel ich7r raid 5 group disk, but I am having problems. The installation process does not recognize the (raid) disk. When I load the Intel F6 RST driver, an error appears showing that "the drive version is incorrect. Contact the manufacturer".

The raid is OK and bootable. The SATA MODE is RAID on bios.

Is it realy needed to (pré) install the Intel ich7 RST driver in a new Windows 7 installation?

#1113
Fernando 1

Fernando 1

    Easy RAIDer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,021 posts
  • Joined 03-June 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64

I am trying to install Windows 7 64 bits on a intel ich7r raid 5 group disk, but I am having problems.

What has your problem to do with the topic of this thread? This is the nLite Forum and nLite cannot be used with Windows 7.

Is it realy needed to (pré) install the Intel ich7 RST driver in a new Windows 7 installation?

No, Win7 should be able to detect the Intel RAID array automaticly by using the Intel in-box drivers.

Regards
Fernando
My current system:
ASUS P8Z68-V | Intel Core i5 2500K | 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 | 2x128GB Crucial M4 SSD as RAID0 in SATA3 mode | Seasonic M12II-520 Modular 520W | ATI Radeon HD6850 1 GB GDDR5
My old system:
DFI nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS: 2006/04/06) | AMD Athlon64 4000+ San Diego | 2x512 MB OCZ PC3200 CL2 Rev.2 Platinum | 2x200 GB Samsung S-ATA II as Raid0 | beQuiet!Titan BQT P5-470W-S1.3 | MSI GeForce NX6600GT-TD128E

#1114
rezafarah

rezafarah
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 24-December 11
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi Fernando

i always slipstream XP CD with SATA drivers for intel and AMD chipsets without any problem.
i had slipstream XP CD as you mentioned in the past post's.
but unfurtunately i face this massage before i could rich my hard disk to install XP. (attached pic).
in this section display is seems to be freezing!
my keyboard is not working.and i can not change any option.even my ENTER key or F3 is not working.
by the way my mouse and keyboard is wireless and has been connected to my mainboard by usb pen.
my mainboard is ASUS P8Z68-V PRO.
tnx bro.

Attached Files



#1115
Fernando 1

Fernando 1

    Easy RAIDer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,021 posts
  • Joined 03-June 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
@ rezafarah:
Welcome at MSFN Forum!

my keyboard is not working.and i can not change any option.even my ENTER key or F3 is not working.

You have to enter the BIOS, to choose the "Advanced" menue > "USB Configuration" and to enable the "Legacy USB Support".
After having saved the new BIOS settings you will be able to use your keyboard even in DOS mode.

Regards
Fernando
My current system:
ASUS P8Z68-V | Intel Core i5 2500K | 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 | 2x128GB Crucial M4 SSD as RAID0 in SATA3 mode | Seasonic M12II-520 Modular 520W | ATI Radeon HD6850 1 GB GDDR5
My old system:
DFI nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS: 2006/04/06) | AMD Athlon64 4000+ San Diego | 2x512 MB OCZ PC3200 CL2 Rev.2 Platinum | 2x200 GB Samsung S-ATA II as Raid0 | beQuiet!Titan BQT P5-470W-S1.3 | MSI GeForce NX6600GT-TD128E

#1116
rezafarah

rezafarah
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 24-December 11
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi again Fernando
tnx for your fast replay.
my problem has been solved.
thank you very much.
before i was put the legacy USB option on AUTO.with your advice i switched it to ENABLE and my keyboard is working in XP menu setup without that message.
well done bor. :thumbup

#1117
ESOESOESO

ESOESOESO
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 28-December 11
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi, I'm a holder of P5B and XP Pro, which uses FOR YEARS
Fernando's drivers to enable AHCI. ;)
I also made a demand in this hread but can not remember the account...
I wonder: I'm about to switch to Windows 7, there I will not have
these problems? The AHCI is generally recognized with P5B?
Thank you! :)

Luigi

#1118
Fernando 1

Fernando 1

    Easy RAIDer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,021 posts
  • Joined 03-June 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
Hello Luigi,

welcome again at MSFN Forum!

I wonder: I'm about to switch to Windows 7, there I will not have these problems? The AHCI is generally recognized with P5B?

Yes, Windws 7 has an appropriate in-box AHCI driver. So you will not get any troubles during the OS installation.
Nevertheless I recommend to install the latest Intel RST driver once Win7 is up. Usually you will get a better performance with the special Intel AHCI driver than with the generic MS AHCI driver.

Regards
Fernando
My current system:
ASUS P8Z68-V | Intel Core i5 2500K | 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 | 2x128GB Crucial M4 SSD as RAID0 in SATA3 mode | Seasonic M12II-520 Modular 520W | ATI Radeon HD6850 1 GB GDDR5
My old system:
DFI nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS: 2006/04/06) | AMD Athlon64 4000+ San Diego | 2x512 MB OCZ PC3200 CL2 Rev.2 Platinum | 2x200 GB Samsung S-ATA II as Raid0 | beQuiet!Titan BQT P5-470W-S1.3 | MSI GeForce NX6600GT-TD128E

#1119
ricardrosen

ricardrosen

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 14 posts
  • Joined 02-December 04
When integrating these files to a new XP build as described on page 1, is it as safe as the official Intel method which is described in the drivers readme.txt using:
like $OEM$\$1\Drivers\AHCI

Nlite differs from what Intel instructs as how to manually integrate the drivers. Is this as safe as using Intel's method??

Edited by ricardrosen, 29 December 2011 - 08:36 PM.


#1120
Fernando 1

Fernando 1

    Easy RAIDer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,021 posts
  • Joined 03-June 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64

Nlite differs from what Intel instructs as how to manually integrate the drivers. Is this as safe as using Intel's method??

Yes, and it's much easier than to integrate the driver manually.

Regards
Fernando
My current system:
ASUS P8Z68-V | Intel Core i5 2500K | 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 | 2x128GB Crucial M4 SSD as RAID0 in SATA3 mode | Seasonic M12II-520 Modular 520W | ATI Radeon HD6850 1 GB GDDR5
My old system:
DFI nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS: 2006/04/06) | AMD Athlon64 4000+ San Diego | 2x512 MB OCZ PC3200 CL2 Rev.2 Platinum | 2x200 GB Samsung S-ATA II as Raid0 | beQuiet!Titan BQT P5-470W-S1.3 | MSI GeForce NX6600GT-TD128E

#1121
BubbleBobble

BubbleBobble

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts
  • Joined 17-May 08

Maybe I will add freshly modded 32/64bit Intel MSM drivers v7.8.0.1012 within the start post of this thread for VirtualBox users like you.
Here are the download links:
>32bit Intel MSM AHCI & RAID driver v7.8.0.1012 mod by Fernando<
>64bit Intel MSM AHCI & RAID driver v7.8.0.1012 mod by Fernando<
Maybe you ore someone else can test one of these drivers and report here about the result.do

I confirm that with those modified drivers Xp setup doesn't give any bsod and I was finally successful to install in v.box sata controller.
I think you should mention in the fir post and give instructions about this. I was going crazy not to be able to test my iso with Virtual Box! Thank you 4 everything and have a good year! :D
Found: "Personally, when I find something that works, well I prefer to keep rather than replace it with a new one, *unless* the newer one has a clear advantage or something I need. Might be why I have a hammer that is 64 years old..."

#1122
Fernando 1

Fernando 1

    Easy RAIDer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,021 posts
  • Joined 03-June 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
@ BubbleBobble:
Thank you for your feedback.

I confirm that with those modified drivers Xp setup doesn't give any bsod and I was finally successful to install in v.box sata controller.
I think you should mention in the fir post and give instructions about this. I was going crazy not to be able to test my iso with Virtual Box!

It's done at least before 2012 has come.

Happy New Year!
Fernando
My current system:
ASUS P8Z68-V | Intel Core i5 2500K | 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 | 2x128GB Crucial M4 SSD as RAID0 in SATA3 mode | Seasonic M12II-520 Modular 520W | ATI Radeon HD6850 1 GB GDDR5
My old system:
DFI nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS: 2006/04/06) | AMD Athlon64 4000+ San Diego | 2x512 MB OCZ PC3200 CL2 Rev.2 Platinum | 2x200 GB Samsung S-ATA II as Raid0 | beQuiet!Titan BQT P5-470W-S1.3 | MSI GeForce NX6600GT-TD128E

#1123
muggle

muggle
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 02-January 12
  • OS:XP Home
  • Country: Country Flag
I have a Packard Bell Dot S2 netbook with Intel Atom processor N450 on XP Home. It didn’t come with a mainbord manual so I don’t know about its chipsets, and I don’t know anything about chipsets anyways.

The netbook boots, goes through the Windows screen, then goes black after. I tried to format and install XP Pro from the disk, but after it loads the CD’s contents and says “Setup is starting windows…”, it hits the BSOD with the stop code “STOP: 0x0000007B (0xF7A8A524, 0Xc0000034, 0X00000000, 0x00000000)”. I then changed the SATA mode to IDE; that got me past “Setup is starting windows…” but then froze at “Setup is checking for previous versions of windows”.

The first time I decided to use nLite was when I slipstreamed just the SATA driver the Packard bell website, again I froze at “Setup is checking for previous versions of windows”, but when tried again and pressed F6, it said “Setup cannot identify what type of computer you have…”. I had to choose from ACPI multiprocessor, ACPI uniprocessor, standard PC, etc. I chose standard PC… that didn’t work and that screen never came again. I then followed that above instructions as closely as I could; again I froze at “Setup is checking for previous versions of windows”, the only difference being that it skipped the licence agreement part.
Help! (Please.)

#1124
JenniferArden

JenniferArden

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 97 posts
  • Joined 24-December 06
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag
With some controllers its just impossible to find the correct driver, I have a Packard Bell desktop PC iSmart B3420 which isn't even supported / shown on their website with an unknown mainboard, when I type the model number Google shows its a Packard Bell laptop or manufactured by ECS or an ASUS etc. There is no way to find out the type of chipset because I cant find an AHCI driver to allow me to install XP (no option to change to IDE mode). The chipset has a heatsink over it and I am not planning to damage the board to remove the heatsink. As far as I know it has some ATI chipset which is now owned by AMD I recently found out. I have tried countless AMD drivers but none of them work - all produce BSOD. I have given up trying to install XP on it and its now standing in the corner. By todays specification its a slow PC but still good enough as an office PC / server (P4 3GHz HT, 2GB DDR II, 160GB HDD SATA, DVD RW SATA etc) I am sad about this but I guess thats the way it is :-(
Core2Quad Q8300, 4GB DDR II, ASUS P5QL-EM M/B, ATI Radeon 6670 1GB DDR 5, 500GB Seagate SATA II HD, Realtek 8CH HD Audio, ASUS DRW-24B3LT DVD 24X Lightscribe, Gigabyte GZ-M2 chassis, 320W ATX PSU, Meisner 1200VA XT1200 UPS, 19" PackardBell Calisto LCD

#1125
Fernando 1

Fernando 1

    Easy RAIDer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,021 posts
  • Joined 03-June 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
@ muggle:
Welcome at MSFN Forum!

I have a Packard Bell Dot S2 netbook with Intel Atom processor N450 on XP Home. It didn’t come with a mainbord manual so I don’t know about its chipsets, and I don’t know anything about chipsets anyways.

>Here< is the link to the manual for your Packard Bell Dot S2 netbook. It has an Intel® NM10 Express Chipset.

The netbook boots, goes through the Windows screen, then goes black after. I tried to format and install XP Pro from the disk, but after it loads the CD’s contents and says “Setup is starting windows…”, it hits the BSOD with the stop code “STOP: 0x0000007B (0xF7A8A524, 0Xc0000034, 0X00000000, 0x00000000)”. I then changed the SATA mode to IDE; that got me past “Setup is starting windows…” but then froze at “Setup is checking for previous versions of windows”.

Questions:
1. Why do you want to reinstall Windows XP?
2. Have you entered the BIOS and changed the SATA mode to AHCI?

I suspect, that you were running your netbook SATA Controller in IDE (LEGACY) mode until now and want to change it to AHCI mode. According to >this< information written by an Intel Support employee it is impossible to get Windows XP installed in AHCI mode due to the lack of an appropriate AHCI driver, which is suitable for this OS. Provided he is right you have to install Windows 7, if you want to switch the SATA mode of your netbook to AHCI.

Regards
Fernando
My current system:
ASUS P8Z68-V | Intel Core i5 2500K | 2x4 GB Corsair XMS3 DDR3-1600 | 2x128GB Crucial M4 SSD as RAID0 in SATA3 mode | Seasonic M12II-520 Modular 520W | ATI Radeon HD6850 1 GB GDDR5
My old system:
DFI nF4 Ultra-D (BIOS: 2006/04/06) | AMD Athlon64 4000+ San Diego | 2x512 MB OCZ PC3200 CL2 Rev.2 Platinum | 2x200 GB Samsung S-ATA II as Raid0 | beQuiet!Titan BQT P5-470W-S1.3 | MSI GeForce NX6600GT-TD128E




4 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 4 guests, 0 anonymous users