Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account

Photo

Diskless Windows XP boot over network

- - - - -

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

lesterhung

lesterhung

• 24 posts
  • Joined 02-June 05
Hi
I am very new to this and have done a little bit of research.
Client Computers will have NO harddrives, and will boot from the network.
Basically the client computers will have NO harddrives, but they will need to be able to boot into windows xp with the softwares that I want.
One computer will act as the server which holds the windows image files.

How do I get a windows image file? and what software do i need on the server to respond to network boot requests from the client machines?

I have used tftpd32.310beta in the past to boot client PCs into Linux. But this time I need clients to be able to boot into Windows XP.

Any help is appreciated. I really don't know where to start looking

How to remove advertisement from MSFN

Pyrosoft

Pyrosoft

• 28 posts
  • Joined 02-June 06
Assuming you don't mind the 24 hour limit then you could just use PE to boot up and load RDP automatically which would connect to a terminal server?

If you're not going to have a hard drive then you'll either be limited to remote desktops of some description, or having lots of RAM in the boxes.

Jazkal

Jazkal

• PipPipPipPip
  • 595 posts
  • Joined 16-January 04
Windows XP can't be loaded as you describe. However, you can configure BartsPE to look and behave like XP. You would need something like the XPE plugin for BartsPE.
Did you RTFM?

aspenjim

aspenjim

• PipPip
  • 152 posts
  • Joined 09-April 05