Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

Enable Intel AHCI under XP; Case Closed, read second last post

- - - - -

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
251 replies to this topic

#151
S'Nowski

S'Nowski
  • Member
  • 3 posts
Just a quick heads up... Intel released new drivers yesterday and it seems as if they have changed some things inside the .inf files. Has anyone had a chance to look into this? I'd really like to try this out, but I'd also prefer to use the latest drivers if possible.


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#152
Octopuss

Octopuss

    I am the walrus

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,127 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Just a quick heads up... Intel released new drivers yesterday and it seems as if they have changed some things inside the .inf files. Has anyone had a chance to look into this? I'd really like to try this out, but I'd also prefer to use the latest drivers if possible.

I will install system onto other HDD with these in few mins. What exactly do you want to know?

#153
S'Nowski

S'Nowski
  • Member
  • 3 posts

I will install system onto other HDD with these in few mins. What exactly do you want to know?


Well, I can tell you that the steps listed in the first post are no longer valid for the latest drivers. I'm sure I could figure out how to achieve the same results based on the previous instructions, but I was just wondering if anyone was already working on that. I'm sort of hoping that Intel changes their minds and incorporates AHCI support into their driver, but I can tell you I tried to slipstream these into my last Windows install and it didnt work.

Just to note:
The line that was originally supposed to be replaced in the .inf file is no longer present.

#154
Octopuss

Octopuss

    I am the walrus

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,127 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Hm, well, I just installed the system with help of a diskette with the driver so I can't really comment on this. Didn't work otherwise.
But once installed, it works perfectly. I even have an impression it's a bit faster.

#155
S'Nowski

S'Nowski
  • Member
  • 3 posts

Hm, well, I just installed the system with help of a diskette with the driver so I can't really comment on this. Didn't work otherwise.
But once installed, it works perfectly. I even have an impression it's a bit faster.


Perhaps I should clarify...
I'm running a Gigabyte GA-EP35-DS3L (with ICH9)
I would like to enable AHCI in Windows XP
The initial post by puntomx described how to do that on a current installation after some minor modifications.
On page 3 of this topic, a method for doing this on a fresh install is also listed by Vascoman
Both methods are basically the same, with the only real exception being a registry edit

What I'm saying is that the instructions listed in both of those posts are no longer valid for the latest chipset drivers, posted on June 2nd, because the line that needs to be replaced is not present. I was just wondering if the original poster or anyone else has had a chance to look into this yet. I have not tried anything yet myself, other than seeing if Intel had incorporated support for AHCI on ICH9 in those drivers. Unless I messed up when I slipstreamed the drivers into my Windows install cd, the answer is no.

Edited by S'Nowski, 03 June 2008 - 12:32 PM.


#156
Octopuss

Octopuss

    I am the walrus

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,127 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Oh, shame on me, not installation, but messing about with already installed system. Nevermind then :)

#157
puntoMX

puntoMX

    n00b of Masters and Vice Versa

  • Super Moderator
  • 4,848 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I was just wondering if the original poster or anyone else has had a chance to look into this yet. I have not tried anything yet myself, other than seeing if Intel had incorporated support for AHCI on ICH9 in those drivers.

I would like to look into it but I have my system now up and running with Vista. If you have time and you like to contribute I would be very pleased with it. Sure you will get the credits ;).

#158
jtdoom

jtdoom

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 14 posts
Hi puntoMX
We had some private testers going at the "beta", and now that the official AHCI is released by intel, we put up a driverpack for mass storage including that new driver.

I will eventually be able to personally test all BIOS settings in a ICH7, an ICH9 and an ICH9R.
XP live tests take time, and I wish I had 46 hours in a day. :(

What I am saying is that driverpack.net have a testpack with the latest, ready for integration, and we are interested about comparatives and (also) on how it does without us hacking into files. (you know that when it works well without a hack, you don't want to break it.)

I promised we would not forget you people, and I hope intel made the right choice for you.
You see, IF it can be done by F6, it can be done by driverpacks.
(I will also soon look at adding USB drives to driverpacks, so that ...)

EDIT.. my personal tests so far were on a hi end gigabyte mobo, ICH9R, in a raid5 array. (blot in that HW is a Jmicron duplicate for tertiary controller. mobo has 8 sata rails.).
other testplank is an abit with ICH9 (which does not offer AHCI in BIOS :( mobo has six sata rails.)

I am saying I've got some freaks to test. (I have stored 7 issue rich testplanks).
Some of these boards should not have been sold to public. I kept these as litmus test.

Edited by puntoMX, 05 June 2008 - 02:10 PM.

Kind regards, Jaak.

#159
alter_ed

alter_ed
  • Member
  • 1 posts
Hi

Just updated to the new 8.2.0.1001 drivers. I was previously using 7.8 installed with the instructions provided here. All I did to update was change the inf file on the new drivers, and update using device manager. Everything good so far.

Using Gigabyte GA-P35-S3L with bios F6 and Win XP Pro SP2

Thanks

#160
Methanoid

Methanoid

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 88 posts
  • OS:none specified

Hm, well, I just installed the system with help of a diskette with the driver so I can't really comment on this. Didn't work otherwise.
But once installed, it works perfectly. I even have an impression it's a bit faster.


Perhaps I should clarify...
I'm running a Gigabyte GA-EP35-DS3L (with ICH9)
I would like to enable AHCI in Windows XP
The initial post by puntomx described how to do that on a current installation after some minor modifications.
On page 3 of this topic, a method for doing this on a fresh install is also listed by Vascoman
Both methods are basically the same, with the only real exception being a registry edit

What I'm saying is that the instructions listed in both of those posts are no longer valid for the latest chipset drivers, posted on June 2nd, because the line that needs to be replaced is not present. I was just wondering if the original poster or anyone else has had a chance to look into this yet. I have not tried anything yet myself, other than seeing if Intel had incorporated support for AHCI on ICH9 in those drivers. Unless I messed up when I slipstreamed the drivers into my Windows install cd, the answer is no.


Can I second the request for post 1 and the page 3 alternative to be updated. I downloaded latest and got confused as hell. BTW, its Ctrl-H not Ctrl-R for Search/Replace... that got me confused before I even found out that there is no 2923 to search for in first place!!!

#161
TechFind

TechFind

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 21 posts
Giea sas friends,
I tried an Abit IX38 GuardGT with the following controllers:

Intel® ICH9 2 port Serial ATA Storage Controller 2 - 2926
Intel® ICH9 4 port Serial ATA Storage Controller 1 - 2920
JMicron JMB363 Sata / Pata Controller.


In step 2 and 3 I replaced “2923” to “2920” in all needed places
also in registry file but bsod and restart...

Any advise?

PS: If things were gone ok I could add all other lines for 2926 but...

#162
TechFind

TechFind

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 21 posts
Things went ok!

1) download intel AHCI drivers version 8.2.0.1001
1) copy iastor.sys to windows\system32\drivers\
2) install modified iaAHCI.inf (*)
3) reboot
4) change in bios from IDE to AHCI
5) and vouala! AHCI ENABLED!

(*) Change line 44 from:
44 : %PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2922&CC_0106.DeviceDesc% = iaStor_Inst, PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2922&CC_0106

to:
44 : %PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2920&CC_0106.DeviceDesc% = iaStor_Inst, PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2920&CC_0106
44b: %PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2926&CC_0106.DeviceDesc% = iaStor_Inst, PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2926&CC_0106

line 54 from:
54 :%PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2922&CC_0106.DeviceDesc% = iaStor_Inst, PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2922&CC_0106

to:
54 :%PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2920&CC_0106.DeviceDesc% = iaStor_Inst, PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2920&CC_0106
54b :%PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2926&CC_0106.DeviceDesc% = iaStor_Inst, PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2926&CC_0106

line 214 from:
214 :PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2922&CC_0106.DeviceDesc = "Intel® ICH9R/DO/DH SATA AHCI Controller"

to:
214 :PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2920&CC_0106.DeviceDesc = "Intel® ICH9R/DO/DH SATA AHCI Controller"
214b:PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2926&CC_0106.DeviceDesc = "Intel® ICH9R/DO/DH SATA AHCI Controller"._

#163
mopgcw

mopgcw
  • Member
  • 4 posts
PuntoMX,

THANKS for this. It worked like a champ for my Asus P5K-DLX, though it took a little bit of sleuthing to realize that in skipping part 2 of your instructions, I also had to adjust the registry tweak.

I also tried it on my son's PC, which has the P5E3 board, and it worked fine, but his Samsung 203N drives do NOT like it and freeze up. my plextor 760a had no issue.

Did anyone else have an issue with a Samsung DVD?

thanks again for the guide.

take care
George

Edited by mopgcw, 17 July 2008 - 04:41 AM.

ASUS-P5K-DLX | X6800 2.93G | Corsair 8500C5D 2G | 8800 GTX | WD1500 Raptors | Plextor PX-760a | XP-Pro SP3

#164
puntoMX

puntoMX

    n00b of Masters and Vice Versa

  • Super Moderator
  • 4,848 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I also tried it on my son's PC, which has the P5E3 board, and it worked fine, but his Samsung 203N drives do NOT like it and freeze up. my plextor 760a had no issue.

Did anyone else have an issue with a Samsung DVD?

No issues here so far, it must be the AHCI BIOS version of the P5E3 board in combination with that drive, check out this topic too.

You´re welcome, and again welcome to be on the board ;).

#165
wz1012

wz1012
  • Member
  • 1 posts
Hi, thanks for the nice guide.

Edited by wz1012, 19 August 2008 - 01:18 PM.


#166
puntoMX

puntoMX

    n00b of Masters and Vice Versa

  • Super Moderator
  • 4,848 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi wz1012, welcome to the forum. So you found no problems of what so ever?

#167
Jeremy

Jeremy

    Casual Poster

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,473 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
:wub: Hi, Punto.:wub:
:lol:

#168
maggotspawn

maggotspawn

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 26 posts
This is what brought me to this site. Great guide.
MSI G33M, Q6600, G0 stepping, OC'd to 3.0 GHz, 4 GB Mushkin DDR2 800 , 160 GB WD SATA 2 HD, 1 TB WD SATA 2 HD, Lite-On DVD Burner, Seasonic S-12 PSU, Windows XP Pro SP2
ACER Extensa 5620Z, Pentium Dualcore 1.86 GHz T2390, 3 GB DDR2 533 , 160 GB SATA HD, Etc.
Triplebooting Vista Home Premium SP1, Windows XP Home SP2, Puppy Linux 4.00

#169
ragnarok

ragnarok
  • Member
  • 1 posts
Hi, thanks for this great guide, but I followed these instructions and tried to enable achi, and it's not working for me.

I tried both the iaStor that was linked to in this article, as well as the latest one from Intel. I did try to right click install the driver(before I found this article) and also tried the older set of registry changes.

I'm running windows xp pro (32) sp3. In Event Viewer, I see an event: The following boot-start or system-start driver(s) failed to load: iaStor.
In C:\WINDOWS\system32\drivers I have iaStor.sys size 301kb (304kb on disk) version 7.8.0.1012 (when right clicking it)

What can I do to trouble shoot this and what can i look for? Thanks very much!

#170
maggotspawn

maggotspawn

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 26 posts
Update: I don't know if it was the driver version I used or what, but I was transcoding some video today and got a BSOD.
Driver IRQ less then equal, I think it was. I switched back to IDE mode and all is good.
MSI G33M, Q6600, G0 stepping, OC'd to 3.0 GHz, 4 GB Mushkin DDR2 800 , 160 GB WD SATA 2 HD, 1 TB WD SATA 2 HD, Lite-On DVD Burner, Seasonic S-12 PSU, Windows XP Pro SP2
ACER Extensa 5620Z, Pentium Dualcore 1.86 GHz T2390, 3 GB DDR2 533 , 160 GB SATA HD, Etc.
Triplebooting Vista Home Premium SP1, Windows XP Home SP2, Puppy Linux 4.00

#171
gertin

gertin
  • Member
  • 1 posts
I successfully changed to AHCI after installing XP x64 SP1, but now I need to change it back to IDE because of some performance issues (freezing and stuttering) when copying files between two drives (Samsung F1 1TB and WD Raptor 150GB).

I assume I have to force install the IDE driver instead, but I can't figure out which one it is. I'm using a Asus P5Q Deluxe board with Intel ICH10R chipset.

#172
jtdoom

jtdoom

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 14 posts
Hi,
You mention 64bits.

It has been quite a while I last ran XP64 and cannot say for sure it uses same registry entries.
(( but, I doubt the procedure described applies to X64 ))
Kind regards, Jaak.

#173
puntoMX

puntoMX

    n00b of Masters and Vice Versa

  • Super Moderator
  • 4,848 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I assume I have to force install the IDE driver instead, but I can't figure out which one it is. I'm using a Asus P5Q Deluxe board with Intel ICH10R chipset.

Just set it to IDE in the BIOS and all should be back to where it was (besides some REG entries and files that will not be used but are present on the hard disk ;)).

It has been quite a while I last ran XP64 and cannot say for sure it uses same registry entries.

It´s the same, but some 32bit drivers would not work 100% on a 64bit system...

#174
francisc1701

francisc1701

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 14 posts
Hi.

I have an ICH8M sata controller and I was wondering is this guide applies to that one too. Specifically, those numbers in iaahci.inf -- changing "2821" to "2923" -- are those the right numbers for ICH8M too?

Thanks

#175
James_A

James_A

     

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 153 posts
You'll have to check the INF file, but
2821 = 82801 (ICH8R) SATA AHCI Controller
2923 = 82801IB/IR/IH (ICH9 Family) 4 port SATA AHCI Controller

I think you need to look for:-
2828 = 82801 (ICH8M) 3 port SATA Controller

.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN