Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

Enable Intel AHCI under XP; Case Closed, read second last post

- - - - -

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
251 replies to this topic

#226
Aero-R

Aero-R
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 25-June 09
ASUS P5K Premium / WiFi-AP here. First time I try Hot-Swap in my life. What I've done is bought an ICY DOCK MB671SK-BB days ago when I saw my motherboard supports hot-swap. I've been reading a lot and one of my doubts is: if I change the whole Intel S-ATA ports to AHCI (from IDE) won't be the data affected in all the discs?. I don't want to lost something, I just want to hop-swap one disc on this ICY DOCK unit without loosing data on the other ones, so I don't know how AHCI would affect the others (and I've seen that AHCI can't be applied to a single port, just to the 6 ones in this Intel controller).

I've been trying this method before install the ICY DOCK (it arrived today and I've not connected it yet) since seems I must do it in order to make my XP x64 able to recognize AHCI things. I've started the steps on the 1st post (many thanks for all that work) but the problem is that on iaAHCI.inf file I can't find the next line:

PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2923&CC_0106.DeviceDesc	= "Intel(R) 82801HR/HH/HO SATA AHCI Controller"

So I have not replaced it yet. The most similar line I can find is the next one:

PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2923&CC_0106.DeviceDesc	= "Intel(R) ICH8R/DH/DO SATA AHCI Controller"

So just to clarify, I've properly replaced the "2821" with "2923" on the iaAHCI.inf file, and saved, but it's the 2n part of the task the one that I can't complete because after had replaced that number, when I'm looking for the line mentioned, the list includes just the next ones:

[Strings]
DiskName									= "Intel Matrix Storage Manager Driver"
*PNP0600.DeviceDesc						 = "Intel AHCI Controller"
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2681&CC_0106.DeviceDesc	= "Intel(R) ESB2 SATA AHCI Controller"
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_27C1&CC_0106.DeviceDesc	= "Intel(R) ICH7R/DH SATA AHCI Controller"
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_27C5&CC_0106.DeviceDesc	= "Intel(R) ICH7M/MDH SATA AHCI Controller"
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2923&CC_0106.DeviceDesc	= "Intel(R) ICH8R/DH/DO SATA AHCI Controller"
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2829&CC_0106.DeviceDesc	= "Intel(R) ICH8M-E/M SATA AHCI Controller"
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2922&CC_0106.DeviceDesc	= "Intel(R) ICH9R/DO/DH SATA AHCI Controller"
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2929&CC_0106.DeviceDesc	= "Intel(R) ICH9M-E/M SATA AHCI Controller"
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_3A02&CC_0106.DeviceDesc	= "Intel(R) ICH10D/DO SATA AHCI Controller"
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_3A22&CC_0106.DeviceDesc	= "Intel(R) ICH10R SATA AHCI Controller"

I don't know which line I've to deleted to put the new one, or if in my case I shouldn't change something (and neither the 2821 entries..) or.... don't know. Any ideas?

One problem I've in my computer after I've installed XP x64 is that I can't turn it off (it doesn't turn off completely, so what I do is reboot it and turn it off on the part of the post where it ask for my bios pass). I really don't know if this will affect all this AHCI thing. Excuse my many doubts regarding this but I'm totally new on this and don't want to lost something. Many thanks in advances for taking your time to read.

EDIT: Okay... I've found that this seems to be only for ICH9 and not ICH9R (my motherboard says P35 + ICH9R), so I don't have the possibility to AHCI like this?

Edited by Aero-R, 26 June 2009 - 01:03 PM.



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#227
Aero-R

Aero-R
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 25-June 09
Okey... I couldn't stop until I founded a solution, so for my ASUS P5K Premium / WiFi-AP Black Pearl Ed. with P35 / ICH9R, what I've done is what's explained in the next URL: http://social.techne...46-6c9a81346528

No problems at all, and I think it worked properly. The only thing you've to take in mind is that the link for the download is broken, so you've now to use this one () that will guide you to the IATA88ENU.exe

You'll have to use that file instead of the older version (also with the -a, of course).

I don't have used the hot swap module yet, I'll give it a try later. My S-ATA optical drive is working without problems. For suggestions, it's a HL-DT-ST DVDRAM GH20NS10.

In my device manager, under IDE ATA/ATAPI controllers, only one device appears: Intel® ICH9R/DO/DH SATA AHCI Controller. I don't know if this is enough to ask if all has been done correctly or not. If I've to post something more to check, please don't doubt to ask.

I'll post results of the hot-swapping as soon as possible. Hope this helps.

EDIT: After a few hours of problems I had with the boot.ini, I'm back on my computer. The disk into the hot-swap unit is recognized and operative, but it doesn't appear with the safety remove option like the stick usb, so... I haven't hot-swapped it to avoid any electrical damage. Any idea?

Edited by Aero-R, 28 June 2009 - 06:48 AM.


#228
Deporange

Deporange
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 28-June 09
Hi, first time poster. I'd like to use the utility created by MDGx (posted Apr 2) but think my circumstances are slightly different from the standard, so wanted to check with the experts first before proceeding. When I initially setup my Gigabyte P35-DS4 motherboard 1.5 years ago, I installed WinXP Pro and enabled RAID with the Gigabyte-provided ICH9R driver via diskette. Things have worked just peachy since then, but now I wish to disable the motherboard RAID and just go with AHCI. After deleting the RAID volumes and changing the BIOS from RAID to AHCI, Windows won't load. I get to the black screen with the Windows logo for a few seconds, then the machine restarts. If I switch back to RAID or IDE or Disabled in the BIOS, I can get into Windows. But I want AHCI. Under the RAID settings, the Device Manager shows Intel ICH84/ICH9R/ICH10R/DO SATA RAID Controller under SCSI and RAID Controller. There is no AHCI driver showing under IDE ATA/ATAPI controllers.

Do you think I can just run MDGx's utility and be OK, or will there be issues since I've already enabled the RAID?

THANKS

#229
puntoMX

puntoMX

    n00b of Masters and Vice Versa

  • Super Moderator
  • 4,848 posts
  • Joined 28-June 04
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

... one of my doubts is: if I change the whole Intel S-ATA ports to AHCI (from IDE) won't be the data affected in all the discs?.

Normally there will be no data loss but I in the PM you send me that your NTLDR is missing files... that's strange. Do you use a RAID setup?

I've started the steps on the 1st post (many thanks for all that work) but the problem is that on iaAHCI.inf file I can't find the next line: ...

Intel has been changing files since the first post and the problem I have is that I don't use any XP install any more (currently on Windows 7) and I hoped that someone else would have taken over the fire to carry it on. MDGx and ilko_t made it's easier to install so it would have been better to use what they provided first as it´s more automated and works on different ICH as well.

EDIT: Okay... I've found that this seems to be only for ICH9 and not ICH9R (my motherboard says P35 + ICH9R), so I don't have the possibility to AHCI like this?

Yes it works also on a ICH9R, just don't use PCIVEN_8086&DEV_2923 but PCIVEN_8086&DEV_2922...

EDIT: After a few hours of problems I had with the boot.ini, I'm back on my computer. The disk into the hot-swap unit is recognized and operative, but it doesn't appear with the safety remove option like the stick usb, so... I haven't hot-swapped it to avoid any electrical damage. Any idea?

I personally don't know the drive bay but reviews show it's a good product so I would presume you are save there. The "save to remove icon" will not power down your device so electrical there is no problem, but if caching is enabled for data you could end up by loosing data when not using the "save to remove icon".

#230
cdob

cdob

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,000 posts
  • Joined 29-September 05

now I wish to disable the motherboard RAID and just go with AHCI.

If I switch back to RAID or IDE or Disabled in the BIOS, I can get into Windows. But I want AHCI.

Boot windows, import reg setting
REGEDIT4

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\CriticalDeviceDatabase\PCI#VEN_8086&CC_0106]
"ClassGUID"="{4D36E96A-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}"
"Service"="iaStor"
Next goto BIOS, set AHCI.

#231
Deporange

Deporange
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 28-June 09

REGEDIT4

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\CriticalDeviceDatabase\PCI#VEN_8086&CC_0106]
"ClassGUID"="{4D36E96A-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}"
"Service"="iaStor"[/code]
Next goto BIOS, set AHCI.

Sweet - I updated the Registry, rebooted, updated BIOS, and got into Windows - no restart :thumbup.
But then I got the New Hardware prompt. I'm not sure what to do - should I follow the steps on page 1 of this thread to edit the IAACH.INF file and point to it? Are the instructions still valid given the age? THANKS

#232
cdob

cdob

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,000 posts
  • Joined 29-September 05

I got the New Hardware prompt. I'm not sure what to do - should I follow the steps on page 1 of this thread to edit the IAACH.INF file and point to it?

Yes, follow the instructions: insert your HardwareID to IAACH.INF.

#233
Deporange

Deporange
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 28-June 09

Yes, follow the instructions: insert your HardwareID to IAACH.INF.

Done, it works! I downloaded the current Intel 32bit Floppy Config Utility from here! and extracted iastor.sys and iaahci.inf, copied them to system32\drivers, and pointed the New Hardware Wizard to that folder. I didn't have to edit the INF, appears my hardware was already represented.
Thanks for your help, cdob!

#234
Aero-R

Aero-R
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 25-June 09

I personally don't know the drive bay but reviews show it's a good product so I would presume you are save there. The "save to remove icon" will not power down your device so electrical there is no problem, but if caching is enabled for data you could end up by loosing data when not using the "save to remove icon".

Yes but doesn't that spin down the HD rpms?

I've tested utilities like "HOTSWAP!" but it lets me hot-swap hard disk that are not into the caddy, but not the caddy one. I still have not tried to plug / unplug it although I do not have the caching enabled, I don't know if it would damage my motherboard or so..

Edited by Aero-R, 01 July 2009 - 07:33 AM.


#235
puntoMX

puntoMX

    n00b of Masters and Vice Versa

  • Super Moderator
  • 4,848 posts
  • Joined 28-June 04
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Yes but doesn't that spin down the HD rpms?

No it does not.

#236
Aero-R

Aero-R
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 25-June 09

Yes but doesn't that spin down the HD rpms?

No it does not.

Ah.. I thought it does that.

What would be the worst effect if I try the hot-swap but it's not enabled to do it?. Will my motherboard / hard disk be damaged?

#237
puntoMX

puntoMX

    n00b of Masters and Vice Versa

  • Super Moderator
  • 4,848 posts
  • Joined 28-June 04
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Not that I can think of, the tray should buffer electronically charges, but set write cashing off else you could lose some data.

#238
jsyzc

jsyzc
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 24-June 09
Must have something to do with BTS driverpacks... but I never used it...

#239
MDGx

MDGx

    98SE2ME + 98MP10

  • Super Moderator
  • 2,678 posts
  • Joined 22-November 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Sorry, I've been absent from this forum for a long while. :(
But I'm back now.

@Deporange:

Your question probably referred to the old AHCI exe installer I've created a while back.
That particular package did not work very well, and was restricted to only a few intel chipsets.
But another member [ilko_t] here at MSFN found a better way to package all drivers for [most] all intel chipsets currently supported, so I posted his exe at my site.
I am not the author. I only posted the links.
http://www.mdgx.com/xp.htm#PSP3

* Unofficial Windows XP Intel SATA AHCI/Hot-Plug/RAID Driver 32-bit for Intel
8xx/9xx/Pxx/Xxx Motherboard Chipsets with built-in ICHx Controllers:
http://www.msfn.org/board/index.php?showtopic=109450&st=223
Direct download [524 KB]:
http://www.mdgx.com/files/intelahci.exe
More info:
http://www.msfn.org/board/index.php?showtopic=121503&st=3
How to install this Driver:
1. Run intelahci.exe (see above).
2. Reboot.
3. Press Del, Esc, F1, F2, F3, F4 or F8 (see your motherboard documentation
for specific key) to enter BIOS setup.
4. Change settings below (if any) to match the values inside square brackets:
SATA RAID/AHCI Mode [AHCI]
SATA Port 0-3 Native Mode [Enabled]
5. Reboot again to Windows.
6. Windows should have activated your motherboard built-in Intel ICHx
controller and found all your installed SATA hard + optical disks.
7. Open Control Panel.
8. Run "System Properties".
9. Click the "Hardware" tab.
10. Click "Device Manager".
11. Double-click "IDE ATA/ATAPI controllers". You should see a new item:
"Intel ICHx SATA AHCI Controller".
This Driver works with ALL Intel 8xx/9xx/Pxx/Xxx x86 motherboard chipsets with
built-in Intel I/O Controller Hubs x (ICHx) chipsets:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/I/O_Controller_Hub
AHCI:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Advanced_Host_Controller_Interface
In my experience, this newer driver package works 100%, no matter if you install WinXP 1st or if you enable the BIOS AHCI settings 1st.
And in most cases you don't even need to reboot. ;)
Try to install this driver package on a "fresh"/"clean" [from scratch] XP installation.
Also, if you need to install the intel Infinst package, install this unofficial AHCI package first.

HTH

#240
Sp0iLedBrAt

Sp0iLedBrAt

    MSFN Addict

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,727 posts
  • Joined 19-March 09
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Is there a space

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\CriticalDeviceDatabase\pci#ven_8086&cc_0106]

between the slash and pci?

#241
cdob

cdob

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,000 posts
  • Joined 29-September 05

Is there a space

No, there is no space. Sorry forum software display funny.

Edited by cdob, 09 March 2010 - 02:33 AM.


#242
Sp0iLedBrAt

Sp0iLedBrAt

    MSFN Addict

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,727 posts
  • Joined 19-March 09
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Just one more question: a motherboard has SATAII with 945GZ Express Chipset and ICH7. Will these instructions work for ICH7? It is currently installed with XP x86 under IDE mode.

Thanks in advance

#243
cdob

cdob

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,000 posts
  • Joined 29-September 05
Yes, pci#ven_8086&cc_0106 refers to ICH7 too.
Actually this refers to all Intel AHCI hardware.

#244
bondiablo

bondiablo
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 27-March 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
In step 2 wouldn't it be simpler to just replace all instances of 2922 with 2923? No other changes of the IAAHCI.INF file would be needed. Or, am I missing something?

That would also eliminate any confusion when people can't find the line PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2923&CC_0106.DeviceDesc = "Intel® 82801HR/HH/HO SATA AHCI Controller" because Intel has updated the drivers.

Edited by bondiablo, 28 March 2010 - 11:42 AM.


#245
puntoMX

puntoMX

    n00b of Masters and Vice Versa

  • Super Moderator
  • 4,848 posts
  • Joined 28-June 04
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

That would also eliminate any confusion when people can't find the line PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2923&CC_0106.DeviceDesc = "Intel® 82801HR/HH/HO SATA AHCI Controller" because Intel has updated the drivers.

Well, it's just the display name in the device manager. It's not needed to edit that but it's just the finishing touch.

I would have expected that people already switched to Vista or Windows 7 and that this topic would have been dead by now (note that support for XP is going down by the day and that for example the new live messenger won't be working (unless you hack it yes) on XP. That as a side note).

MDGx made it simple i hope ;).

If I need to update the first post, let me know by PM.

#246
SyntaxError

SyntaxError

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 150 posts
  • Joined 04-January 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Just an FYI, Intel has enabled AHCI with their latest chipset drivers, version 9.1.1.1025. No more need to manually enable the Microsoft generic sata driver. I had to manually update each component via device manager, as setup wouldn't do it for some reason.

I have the G33/ICH9 chipset and it works fine.

Someone probably already mentioned this, but I'm not going to read 13 pages to find out.

Edited by SyntaxError, 24 April 2010 - 11:37 AM.


#247
alphazoom

alphazoom
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 23-July 10
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Now I was assuming this was enabling winxp under win xp even post installation...say years later....

I did all the steps.. booted to bios in my GA-P35-GS3L - goto bios - anable AHCI, then reboot, change the boot up drives because they need to be moved around...then i reboot...BSOD everytime.

But in device manAttached File  hardware.JPG   143.79KB   23 downloadsager everything is already installed...how could i force them to disappear and re-install themselves while I am in windows.

I have 3 SATA devices total.

1 320 drive
1 160 drive that WinXP was cloned from...previous drive was 80 gig IDE drive.
1 DVDRW Asus drive.

Edited by alphazoom, 23 July 2010 - 03:50 PM.


#248
puntoMX

puntoMX

    n00b of Masters and Vice Versa

  • Super Moderator
  • 4,848 posts
  • Joined 28-June 04
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Now I was assuming this was enabling winxp under win xp even post installation...say years later....

Hello alphazoom, welcome to the forums. The first post in the topic hasn't been updated lately but try MDGx tool first. I hope that helps. It seems that Intel has been updating the drivers.

#249
alphazoom

alphazoom
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 23-July 10
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag


Now I was assuming this was enabling winxp under win xp even post installation...say years later....

Hello alphazoom, welcome to the forums. The first post in the topic hasn't been updated lately but try MDGx tool first. I hope that helps. It seems that Intel has been updating the drivers.



Thanks, I'll try that and see if I get BSOD again....

If I do, I may need a WINXP repair install from all the crap I've loaded this comp up with but I can't format...too much stuff I've saved drive to drive.

Update.... I managed to get the SATA AHCI bios fully installed thanks to this link...although something is still wrong with my SATA main drive... CHKDSK is finding many errors and correcting them, but when i try to navigate large folders, it locks up and disappears....but it doesn't disappear like before using NON-AHCI mode. Then...it used to completely disappear from win explorer, now I see the drive but it's really not there.

Here are the errors I get now.

An error was detected on device \Device\Harddisk1\D during a paging operation. - 51
The system failed to flush data to the transaction log. Corruption may occur. - 57
The device, \Device\Harddisk1\D, is not ready for access yet. - 15

So, using the SATA interface in Native mode the drive got worse for some reason. I think perhaps because it worked before after windows made it run in pio mode or ultra dma 4...something slower....I'd at least have access to the drive unlike in AHCI mode.... I'm just glad I got the SATA mode to work as it was just bugging me I couldn't. Now, If I go back to Non-AHCI mode I'll see what happens... I may need a new HD. Especially if CHKDSK is finding errors.

So, I ran the ultimate boot CD and ran a surface test and the drive becomes "not ready" for whatever reason where as no other drive exhibits this behavior. Even though the HD is not totally dead....thankfully...it's still on it's way out. The sad part, is that my older 160 gig IDE drive has 42k hours on it compared to this 320 gig drive@26k hours.

I went back to non AHCI because the drive seems more stable unless I really stress it out. But...time will tell... gonna look into replacing it with a better drive anyhow. I think perhaps another 320 or 500 with 16mb cache on it. The only reason I like smaller drives is because there's less to backup and less to lose when the drive take a dump...which they eventually always do.

Edited by alphazoom, 24 July 2010 - 11:55 PM.


#250
puntoMX

puntoMX

    n00b of Masters and Vice Versa

  • Super Moderator
  • 4,848 posts
  • Joined 28-June 04
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I went back to non AHCI because the drive seems more stable unless I really stress it out. But...time will tell... gonna look into replacing it with a better drive anyhow. I think perhaps another 320 or 500 with 16mb cache on it. The only reason I like smaller drives is because there's less to backup and less to lose when the drive take a dump...which they eventually always do.

Check out the 1TB drives; most of them are almost at the same price level as a 500GB these days.




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN