Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Enable Intel AHCI under XP; Case Closed, read second last post

- - - - -

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
251 replies to this topic

#51
hadrum

hadrum
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 19-January 08
Hello,

I have been trying quite a bit and cannot get it to work even though I am following the instructions.

I run XP prof sp2, on a GA-P35-DQ6. I have the latest bios version. My windows drive shows as G:, and the boot drive is slave on channel 2 when running IDE.

Currently, I have two (IMHO) relevant serial ata storage controllers in device manager: 2920 and 2926. I have four SATA-devices on 2920 (2 HD, 2DVD) and none on 2926. Thus, I do not bother about 2926.

What I am registering looks like yours, though I use 2920 instead of 2923 (and no mention of 2926).
In my registry, I now have "ControlSet002" - "ControlSet004", with current = default = 3, failed = 1, lastknowngood=4, thus I put the registry keys into "003" instead of "001" but still no go.

Any advice would be very appreciated!


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#52
VascoMan

VascoMan

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 17 posts
  • Joined 01-February 06
I followed your directions exactly on asus p5k-vm + raptor150. Everything is working very nicely!
I have a question: is there a way to have the AHCI turned on during xp installation? so we have to press F6, etc. ?

thanks.

#53
nitroshift

nitroshift

    Beware of programmers with screwdrivers!

  • Super Moderator
  • 2,907 posts
  • Joined 29-November 05
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I followed your directions exactly on asus p5k-vm + raptor150. Everything is working very nicely!
I have a question: is there a way to have the AHCI turned on during xp installation? so we have to press F6, etc. ?

thanks.


The method described here provides a way to enable AHCI after windows is installed. Should you want to have AHCI enabled from the start (before installing windows), you must follow the F6 method or integrate the chipset drivers into the windows installation disk either using nLite or through driverpacks. Hope this answers your question.

Please read the rules, folks!


#54
VascoMan

VascoMan

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 17 posts
  • Joined 01-February 06
How to enable AHCI on Intel ICH9 under XP - DURING INSTALL

Ok, I gave this a shot, and seems to be working?

STEPS:

1. Unpacking the Drivers
same as above

1.1 Extracting .IMA file with Magic ISO
same as above

2.1 Preparing the drivers
Open the IAAHCI.INF with Notepad. Use CRTL-R and you should get a “replace” window. In the first input window you type “2821” and the second “2923”, so you will replace all “2821” text to “2923”, and click “Replace All”.

Replace the line:
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2923&CC_0106.DeviceDesc	= "Intel(R) 82801HR/HH/HO SATA AHCI Controller"
To:
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2923&CC_0106.DeviceDesc	= "Intel(R) ICH9 SATA AHCI Controller"
Save the file under the same name, e.g. IAAHCI.INF and exit Notepad.


Open the TXTSETUP.OEM with Notepad. Use CRTL-R and you should get a “replace” window. In the first input window you type “2821” and the second “2923”, so you will replace all “2821” text to “2923”, and click “Replace All”.

Replace the line:
iaAHCI_ICH8R = "Intel(R) 82801HR/HH/HO SATA AHCI Controller (Desktop/Server/Workstation)"
To:
iaAHCI_ICH8R = "Intel(R) ICH9 SATA AHCI Controller"
Save the file under the same name, e.g. TXTSETUP.OEM and exit Notepad.

2.2 Preparing the media
IAAHCI.CAT
IAAHCI.INF - this has been modified by you
IASTOR.CAT
IASTOR.INF
IASTOR.SYS
TXTSETUP.OEM - this has been modified by you

Choose one of:

A: save these files to floppy (F6 method)
B: integrate using nlite. (slipstream method)

3. Creating Windows registry file
Not needed. After installing XP with this method, the registry already contains these settings.

4. BIOS Settings
Restart the computer and enter the BIOS (Mostly entered by pressing DEL). Make the settings:
SATA RAID/AHCI Mode		  [AHCI]
SATA Port0-3 Native Mode	 [Enabled]
For ASUS P5K motherboards (IF present in BIOS, please report if not present.):
SATA Configuration	   [Enhanced]
Configure SATA as		[AHCI]

Also, dont forget to set BOOT ORDER to CD/DVD first, HDD second.
Next, SAVE and EXIT.

5. Installing the drivers in Windows

Put your xp installation disk in the drive.
If you saved files to floppy, hit F6 at the prompt.

6. Final installation check
same as above.

7. Editors thoughts
Seems to be working on P5K-VM.
Anyone else try this?

Edited by VascoMan, 24 January 2008 - 05:01 PM.


#55
jrf2027

jrf2027

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 238 posts
  • Joined 06-September 04
puntoMX,

Thanks for the great work! I've successfully enabled AHCI on my Gateway GM5478 (uses an OEM board from Intel, the DG33SXG2) by following your guide.

Couple of tweaks to your original instructions for this particular board - may be applicable to other Intel-branded or Intel OEM boards:

In Step 2 - I did not need to edit IAAHCI.INF.

In Step 3 - I needed to tweak your original registry file as follows:
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\CriticalDeviceDatabase\pci#ven_8086&dev_2922&cc_0106]
"Service"="iaStor"
"ClassGUID"="{4D36E96A-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\iaStor]
"Type"=dword:00000001
"Start"=dword:00000000
"Group"="SCSI miniport"
"ErrorControl"=dword:00000001
"ImagePath"="system32\\drivers\\iaStor.sys"
"tag"=dword:00000019
"DisplayName"="Intel AHCI Controller"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\iaStor\Parameters]
"queuePriorityEnable"=dword:00000000

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\iaStor\Enum]
"0"="PCI\\VEN_8086&DEV_2922&SUBSYS_5044107B&REV_02\\3&18d45aa6&0&FA"
"Count"=dword:00000001
"NextInstance"=dword:00000001

As I have my system set up to dual boot with XP and Vista, I was able to figure out the necessary registry edits by using the same driver under Vista.

Thanks again!

#56
puntoMX

puntoMX

    n00b of Masters and Vice Versa

  • Super Moderator
  • 4,851 posts
  • Joined 28-June 04
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
VascoMan, thank you for the testing, also nice to see the nLite / unattended add-on there ;). If some one else confirms that it works I will edit my first post to add your information.

As I have my system set up to dual boot with XP and Vista, I was able to figure out the necessary registry edits by using the same driver under Vista.

Intel(R) ICH9 6 Port SATA AHCI Controller - 2922
Intel(R) ICH9 4 Port SATA AHCI Controller – 2923
jrf2027, it seems I forgot that there was also a 6 Port SATA ICH9 Controller; I should edit this in my first post soon, thank you!

#57
Neo - Matrix

Neo - Matrix

    Hewlett Packard Brazil Support

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 64 posts
  • Joined 08-November 02
It worked like a charm on my GA-P35-DS3 rev2

But i would like to make and Addon like DriverPacks to make it work during setup. any chance for better instructions on this !?
eXtremeMods OverClockTeam
http://www.eXtremeMods.com.br

Lord of War - CSS Server Admin
http://www.lordofwar.com.br

#58
puntoMX

puntoMX

    n00b of Masters and Vice Versa

  • Super Moderator
  • 4,851 posts
  • Joined 28-June 04
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
VascoMan already made the guide to that. If you don’t know what to do with it the please take a look at the nLite / unattended sections on this forum.

#59
chival4ry

chival4ry
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 28-December 06
Hi.

I tested on BIOS 0406[with AHCI Mode : not jmicron] & 0805[without AHCI Mode] in ASUS-P5K(plain), but failed.^^;
( I don`t use RAID Configurations [RAID 0, RAID 1, ...] )

[1] ( puntoMX ) (BIOS 0406)
1. Unpacking drivers (done)
1.1 Extracting .IMA file with Magic ISO ( I used UltraISO. )
2. Preparing the drivers (done)
3. Creating Windows registry file (done)
4. BIOS Settings ( SATA Configuration[Enhanced] + Configure SATA as [AHCI] => My experience : SATA Configuration[Intel Robson Technology - Enabled or Disabled] + Configure SATA as [AHCI] )
So I couldn`t experience the next steps[ 5. & 6. ]

5. Installing the drivers in Windows
6. Final installation check

[2] ( VascoMan ) (BIOS 0406)
1. Unpacking the Drivers (done)
1.1 Extracting .IMA file with Magic ISO ( I used UltraISO. )
2.1 Preparing the drivers (done)
2.2 Preparing the media (done)
3. Installing the drivers in Windows (done - F6 method)
4. BIOS Settings ( SATA Configuration[Enhanced] + Configure SATA as [AHCI] => My experience : SATA Configuration[Intel Robson Technology - Enabled or Disabled] + Configure SATA as [AHCI] )
5. Creating Windows registry file (done - After installing XP with this method, the registry didn`t contain these settings.)
6. Final installation check ( I couldn`t try this step because of step 4. )

Who succeeded on ASUS-P5K ?

----------
I modified my experiences. ( one more : Robinson => Robson )

Edited by chival4ry, 30 January 2008 - 03:25 AM.


#60
puntoMX

puntoMX

    n00b of Masters and Vice Versa

  • Super Moderator
  • 4,851 posts
  • Joined 28-June 04
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

4. BIOS Settings ( SATA Configuration[Enhanced] + Configure SATA as [AHCI] => My experience : SATA Configuration[Intel Robinson Technology - Enabled or Disabled] + Configure SATA as [AHCI] )

Keep the "Intel Robinson Technology" (What a name to use in the BIOS, should be Robson)) Disabled first and just set SATA as AHCI.

Or what problem do you have with point 4?

Edited by puntoMX, 09 March 2011 - 09:25 PM.
Robson


#61
chival4ry

chival4ry
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 28-December 06
( Keep the "Intel Robson Technology" (What a name to use in the BIOS) Disabled first and just set SATA as AHCI. )
I tried both[Disabled and Enabled], but failed.

( Or what problem do you have with point 4? )

P5K has Default AHCI Mode on only BIOS 0406. (Not BIOS 0408, 0603, 0805...)

o The step 4 on 0406 :
- ( SATA Configuration[Intel Robson Technology - Enabled or Disabled] + Configure SATA as [AHCI or IDE] ) ( I couldn`t go to xp. )
- ( SATA Configuration[Disable or Comparable or Enhanced] + Configure SATA as [AHCI or IDE] ) ( If I select IDE... )

o The step 4 on 0805 :
- ( SATA Configuration[Disable or Comparable or Enhanced] + Configure SATA as [IDE] ) ( I couldn`t see AHCI Mode. ) ( As I said above, 0805 has only IDE on "Configure SATA as" )

------------------
Intel Robson Technology ( http://www.intel.com...robson-1206.htm )

Robson is the code name for a new Intel® platform technology that uses non-volatile memory (Flash memory) to increase system responsiveness, make multi-tasking faster, and extend battery life. Robson technology will be available on Intel’s forthcoming Santa Rosa platform—the next-generation mobile platform building on the power savings and performance benefits of Intel® Centrino® processor technology. Robson technology is designed to support two new features of the upcoming Microsoft Vista* operating system: ReadyBoost* and ReadyDrive* technologies...
-------------------

#62
JWUTWN

JWUTWN
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 31-January 08
Doesn't work for me as I don't understand why you need to do step 1.
I have another hard drive in Vista which works.

Edited by puntoMX, 02 February 2008 - 09:30 PM.


#63
cymanet

cymanet
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • Joined 04-February 08
Hi friends. I have a Gigabyte P35 DS3-L and i have the same problem:

Well that didn't work for me. After setting SATA at AHCI in the bios, windows xp pro doesn't start up anymore. It asks if I want to boot in safemode what doesn't work either. Xp only boots with SATA set to IDE. Not sure where the problems lies.


Please, can you say me step by step how can I enable AHCI in this mobo. Thank you very much

#64
puntoMX

puntoMX

    n00b of Masters and Vice Versa

  • Super Moderator
  • 4,851 posts
  • Joined 28-June 04
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Doesn't work for me as I don't understand why you need to do step 1.

Step one is only when you don’t have a floppy drive, you can also run the EXE file downloaded and edit/run it from there.

#65
cymanet

cymanet
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • Joined 04-February 08

Doesn't work for me as I don't understand why you need to do step 1.

Step one is only when you don’t have a floppy drive, you can also run the EXE file downloaded and edit/run it from there.


Ok. Thank you very much friend, you're a master. It's works well :thumbup Thank you, thank you again. Your online attention was amazing. Only a question... where is NCQ setting? and do you don't recommend me enable write cache in disk drives? My best regards.

#66
puntoMX

puntoMX

    n00b of Masters and Vice Versa

  • Super Moderator
  • 4,851 posts
  • Joined 28-June 04
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

where is NCQ setting? and do you don't recommend me enable write cache in disk drives?

NCQ will be automatically enabled if your drive supports it, in your case with a Seagate 320GB SATA (I presume a 7200.10 series drive) it will be automatically enabled.

The write cashing always goes with a warning, you can loose data when your computer doesn’t close a session well or turns of suddenly.

#67
cymanet

cymanet
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • Joined 04-February 08

where is NCQ setting? and do you don't recommend me enable write cache in disk drives?

NCQ will be automatically enabled if your drive supports it, in your case with a Seagate 320GB SATA (I presume a 7200.10 series drive) it will be automatically enabled.

The write cashing always goes with a warning, you can loose data when your computer doesn’t close a session well or turns of suddenly.

Curiosly, i check the "write caching" box in device manager to enable it and hit ok. Now, all the boxes in the "policies" tab dealing with write caching are greyed out and can't be checked. Also, the write caching box is now unchecked and I can't change this.

Does this matter?Why did it grey out the boxes?

#68
keplenk

keplenk
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 08-February 08
Hi,

Thank you for this guide :)

However, I'm having problems :(

I strickly followed your guide but I failed :( It always result to BSOD 0x0000007B

I extracted the IASTOR.SYS and copied it to System32\drivers

Created the registry file and ran it.

REbooted, changed to AHCI and Native 0-1 (enabled) save and restart ... and BAM! BSOD

I have a GA-P35-DS3L rev 2.0 F5 Bios

Where did I go wrong?

BTW, my SATA hdd and SATA DVDRW is connected at port 0 and 1 of this board.

THank you.

EDIT: Could it be the BIOS? To the owners of the P35-DS3L boards that made this work, what's your BIOS version? TY

EDIT2: I forgot to ask the most important question :) Is there a method on installing AHCI in this ICH9 PC ..

BEFORE installing Windows?

I'm thinking of reformatting and I was hoping I could just install it without hacking drivers. Is that possible?

Or I don't have any choice but to install XP in IDE mode first then follow this guide, then enable AHCI in bios?

Thank you!

Edited by keplenk, 08 February 2008 - 05:01 AM.


#69
jtdoom

jtdoom

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 14 posts
  • Joined 08-August 06
Hi,
when you integrate driverpacks mass storage and driverpacks chipset, the AHCI driver is available for TXTmode, and during windows setup the PnP drivers are also available.

But, it istalls the drivers in the mode that BIOS was in at the time of TXTmode detection, so you could still experience a BSOD if you change the mode in BIOS after windows setup completed..
One possible workaround you could try is integrate Mass storage and chipset on a fresh copy of your source CD, use Method 1, and use KTD. This would copy the INF files and system files of all those drivers and let windows know where they are at on hard disk.

limitation in method one is that you cannot use all packs, but if you do not select all three graphics (only the one you need), and only sound you need, then you might risk including WLAN (Wlan is path hog).

I think M1 with KTD would work better than Method 2 with KTD.
However, Method 2 with KTD has no windows path length limit, and one can include as many packs as one wishes.
It is worth a try..

Oh, with the current release (DPsBase7052), please ALWAYS turn on QSC (and especcially with method 1).

Edited by jtdoom, 08 February 2008 - 11:56 AM.

Kind regards, Jaak.

#70
VascoMan

VascoMan

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 17 posts
  • Joined 01-February 06
keplenk:

the method I described above is how I enabled AHCI before(during) windows install.

#71
keplenk

keplenk
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 08-February 08
@VascoMan

Thanks for your reply. :)

I now tried your method ..

Just to let you this is how I did it (please point out my mistake):

1) Extracted the files from Step 1
2) Edited iaahci.inf and TXTSETUP.OEM
3) Copied all the files you mentioned
4) Restared my PC, enabled AHCI in bios and native 0-1 ... 4.1) set boot order CDROM, HDD
5) Booted from my Windows XP cd, pressed F6
6) Pressed "S" and press Enter key when asked (floppy thing)
7) Did some reading noise from the floppy (which seems good)
8) Error:

File txtsetup.oem caused an unexpected error (1024) at line 1747 in d:\nt\base\boot\setup\oemdisk.c.

Press any key to continue ...

9) Pressed a key
10) 0x000007B BSOD

I also tried using my Windows XP home CD and gives a similar message exect d:\xpsp2 < something instead of d:\nt\base...

Where did I go wrong?

THanks for your help.

#72
keplenk

keplenk
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 08-February 08
Hi,

Its me again :)

I managed to solve the txtsetup.oem error :D However, its a mystery. I had to write protect my Floppy drive. Thats it. I installed Windows and verified I had ICH9 installed correctly.

*I found a forum post of a guy having the exact same problem, he also thinks its a mystery. write-protecting the floppy solved his problem.

BUT, when I tried to REFORMAT again, just playing around .. To my surprise it gave the same error again (even when right-protected/using the same floppy). I have to reformat my floppy, try again and hope it works. Its intermittent. Right now, after 7 tries of format/write-protect/recopy files to the floppy, it worked! Its so weird.

I think the slipstream method is better. But I don't know how to do it.

@Vascoman, how did you manage to integrate those files in your Windows XP installation CD? Can you give us some basic details on how to do this?

Thanks again VascoMAN and Punto! You both rock!

#73
jtdoom

jtdoom

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 14 posts
  • Joined 08-August 06

I think the slipstream method is better. But I don't know how to do it.

@Vascoman, how did you manage to integrate those files in your Windows XP installation CD? Can you give us some basic details on how to do this?

Thanks again VascoMAN and Punto! You both rock!


Hi
http://users.pandora...e/Eng_tut6b.htm

warning
DVDRW recommended.
important. mass storage 801 has flaws.
I personally promise that 801 will get a revision, and that means release of 802 is within two days.

Edited by jtdoom, 08 February 2008 - 10:03 PM.

Kind regards, Jaak.

#74
keplenk

keplenk
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 08-February 08

I think the slipstream method is better. But I don't know how to do it.

@Vascoman, how did you manage to integrate those files in your Windows XP installation CD? Can you give us some basic details on how to do this?

Thanks again VascoMAN and Punto! You both rock!


Hi
http://users.pandora...e/Eng_tut6b.htm

warning
DVDRW recommended.
important. mass storage 801 has flaws.
I personally promise that 801 will get a revision, and that means release of 802 is within two days.


Hey, jtdoom .. thanks for your reply. I'll look in to the guide you gave me. Now, I hope I can understand it. lol.. thanks man!

#75
swooc

swooc
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 14-February 08
for people who have ich9r, follow the steps from this link

http://forum.noteboo...ad.php?t=164159

however in step 6 where you want to choose the driver to install, choose the Intel® ICH9 SATA AHCI Controller. then continue with step 7.

it should boot into windows, which then continues with installation. it will ask for another reboot after it finishes. after the second reboot, it should work perfectly.

this method would probably also work for chipsets that support AHCI. unless you want to experiment, please don't try this with a ich9.

i did this with an asus p5k-e wifi/ap board.

Edited by swooc, 14 February 2008 - 06:42 PM.





1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users