Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Enable Intel AHCI under XP; Case Closed, read second last post

- - - - -

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
251 replies to this topic

#76
puntoMX

puntoMX

    n00b of Masters and Vice Versa

  • Super Moderator
  • 4,863 posts
  • Joined 28-June 04
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I splitted up the topic and moved a part to: AHCI problem with my G33T-M2 ECS motherboard.


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#77
jmartina

jmartina
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 28-March 06
OK i got the GA-p35-ds3l its 4 port Sata, im done all of these post and when i boot i get BSOD? anyone help


Does my Board have to do Raid inorder to use AHCI?

Edited by jmartina, 21 February 2008 - 03:20 PM.

Read the rules...

#78
puntoMX

puntoMX

    n00b of Masters and Vice Versa

  • Super Moderator
  • 4,863 posts
  • Joined 28-June 04
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
It would help if you tell us where it goes wrong.

Your board, and also my test board, hasn’t RAID onboard.

#79
jmartina

jmartina
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 28-March 06
Well not sure where it goes wrong....it BSOD as it boots.... I know my sata controllers are 2921 and 2926 all the registry things im seen havent had those numbers, am i missing something here? does the AHCI have different numbers?


Could my DVD player have an affect on this? I do see the windows splash scree for about a sec then it BSODS


Here are the ID's of my controllers now.... which is different from what im seen

PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2921&CC_0101 = ICH9 family 2 port sata Controller 1
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2926&CC_0101 = ICH9 family 2 port sata Controller 2


PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2921&SUBSYS_B0021458&REV_02\3&13C0B0C5&0&FA = SATA 1
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2926&SUBSYS_B0021458&REV_02\3&13C0B0C5&0&FD = SATA 2


Edited by jmartina, 21 February 2008 - 05:29 PM.

Read the rules...

#80
puntoMX

puntoMX

    n00b of Masters and Vice Versa

  • Super Moderator
  • 4,863 posts
  • Joined 28-June 04
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

... does the AHCI have different numbers?

Could my DVD player have an affect on this? I do see the windows splash screen for about a sec then it BSODS[/b]

No different numbers, but it could be your DVD(-RW) indeed. Did you run the AHCI_ICH9.REG? As I described the procedure in my first post it should work, just do it over again, you must have missed a step somehow...

#81
jmartina

jmartina
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 28-March 06
PER INTEL and another Post in here.....ICH9, ICH8, ICH7 and ICH6-based chipsets, as well as ICH5 and ICH5R-based chipsets, do not use AHCI. So how any of u with ICH9 got it too work i sure cant
Read the rules...

#82
cymanet

cymanet
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • Joined 04-February 08
No doubt, AHCI Rulez!!! :thumbup Testing in my mobo, Gigabyte P35 DS3-L, Seagate 3200.10 320gb Sata 2 16mb cache:

Copying folder 793mb from partition to desktop:

- Without AHCI, Sata drivers, Write cache enabled: 52 seg.
- With AHCI, Intel Storage Manager drivers, Write cache disabled: 39 seg.

A big difference, INMHO... The only drawback in AHCI mode is that i can't enabled write cache (is grayed out)

Greetings from Spain

#83
captainvideo

captainvideo
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 28-February 08
gigabyte ga-p35-s3g, winXpProSP2, WD5001ABYS (500gig sata2)
I followed original directions, and at first I got the blue screen STOP. I deactivated sata settings in bios. Rebooted. I went back and right clicked the INF file and selected install, I also went to device manager and selected the IDE device and forced a driver update to the modified files from the floppy image. Changed bios to native sata with ahci. reboot. Windows boots now.Attached File  screen1.JPG   111.02KB   67 downloads

Now I just dont know if it is correct. Without SATA enabled in the BIOS, the driver was showing the harddrive as an IDE using DMA 5.

With this new intel driver, under "intel ICH9...controller" there is no info on the diskdrive or mode. I also still have listed 'Primary and Secondary IDE'. Under Primary IDE (advanced) device type is auto detect with mode DMA,...current mode is 'not applicable'.

I cant tell if this is correct.
Are the entries for Pimary and Secondary IDE remaining from the prior driver/prior bios entry?
or are these supposed to be there under the AHCI driver?

Should I see my SATA interface listed somewhere else. I was expecting a tab with options to turn off NCQ, and info on the current transfer mode (something like "SATA generation 2 3G")

I also have a sata dvd burner (liteon) installed and working.

I am used to seeing the individual sata chanels listed with maximum transfer rates, and current drives plugged in. I am not seeing them here, and I want to know if I installed the driver correctly, or if maybe I missed something, or need to install something else.

Does it look this way for everyone?

As a side note, at this point, with the driver installed, if I delete the device entries and reboot, will it boot or will it bluescreen again?

---

ubcd4windows,
I built this cd in november of 07.
I had to disable AHCI in bios to get it to boot. (I was able to leave 'native-sata' enabled). I think someone mentioned getting AHCI to work under this environment. Maybe it is a later build, or other drivers were included (slipstreamed).

Not exactly on topic, but if anyone is hitting bluescreen with this PE based boot cd, it may be the AHCI.

#84
puntoMX

puntoMX

    n00b of Masters and Vice Versa

  • Super Moderator
  • 4,863 posts
  • Joined 28-June 04
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
captainvideo,

What you see is not the SATA controller, it’s the PATA controller.
You won’t see the mode of your drives that are connected now, just the AHCI controller.

You successfully enabled AHCI on your ICH9. ;)

#85
jtdoom

jtdoom

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 14 posts
  • Joined 08-August 06
Hi Captainvideo,
if you want to prove it to yoursef, look at detail in the properties screen.
The device's HWID will show there, and that line could/should contain CC_0106.
Kind regards, Jaak.

#86
captainvideo

captainvideo
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 28-February 08
Attached File  screen2.JPG   32.31KB   71 downloads
OK, so I guess you mean this screen. I dont really know what I am looking at there, but I wish i could see something that showed me that my specific drive was being recognized and working under a specified transfer rate. When I look at these entries, i think i am look at the ability of the controller to handle certain types of drives, but i am not certain that i am seeing the fact that a certain drive is being recognized under a specific mode.

Maybe it is right there, I dont know. I currently have the westerndigital drive, and I have a SATA liteon dvd drive hooked up. I dont know what the specification for the dvd drive is, but I suspect it is different from the harddrive.

Attached File  hdtune1b.JPG   68.06KB   29 downloads

I ran HDtune to see if it would tell me anything. I dont know if anything can be seen from that image either as I have never used htune before. My main concern is transfer rates. I was worried that the default setup in my bios (gigabyte/award) was designed to take the sata drives and mimic pata/ide. I installed windowsXP yesterday, and i noticed the drives listed as DMA5. I was thinking that there might be improvement if the harddrive was actually recognized as sata gen2, so I found this thread and here I am.

My thanks to everyone that has helped with this.

#87
jtdoom

jtdoom

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 14 posts
  • Joined 08-August 06

Attached File  screen2.JPG   32.31KB   71 downloads


the bottom line in that properties/detail screen is the tell tale.
You Have AHCI enabled

;)

#88
sebmex

sebmex
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 06-March 08
Hi everyone.

read this interesting post and couldn't use any of the methods mentionned, i hope you can give me a hand.

I have a gigybate G33-DS2R motherboard, which is ICH9R equiped.

In my windows hardware management screen, I have 2 ICH9 controllers installed which are :

ICH9 2 ports SATA Storage controller 2 - 2926
ICH9 2 ports SATA Storage controller 1 - 2920

What should I do to be able to avoid BSOD on boot when activating AHCI and SATA Native in Bios ?

Thank you very much for your help !

Sebmex

P.S. : by the way, when I try to install the Intel Matrix Storage package, it says I don't meet minimum requirements ... I have a raid compatible mobo ... ! how comes it says that ??

Edited by sebmex, 07 March 2008 - 03:16 AM.


#89
puntoMX

puntoMX

    n00b of Masters and Vice Versa

  • Super Moderator
  • 4,863 posts
  • Joined 28-June 04
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
sebmex,

You have a ICH9R, so you need to skip step 2, your chipset is already in that INI file.



Intel® ICH9 2 port Serial ATA Storage Controller 1 - 2921
Intel® ICH9 2 port Serial ATA Storage Controller 1 - 2921
Intel® ICH9 2 port Serial ATA Storage Controller 2 - 2926
Intel® ICH9 2 port Serial ATA Storage Controller 2 - 2926
Intel® ICH9 2 port Serial ATA Storage Controller 2 - 2926
Intel® ICH9 2 port Serial ATA Storage Controller 2 - 2926
Intel® ICH9 2 port Serial ATA Storage Controller 2 - 2926
Intel® ICH9 2 port Serial ATA Storage Controller 2 - 2926
Intel® ICH9 4 Port SATA AHCI Controller - 2923
Intel® ICH9 4 Port SATA AHCI Controller - 2923
Intel® ICH9 4 port Serial ATA Storage Controller 1 - 2920
Intel® ICH9 4 port Serial ATA Storage Controller 1 - 2920
Intel® ICH9 6 Port SATA AHCI Controller - 2922
Intel® ICH9 6 Port SATA AHCI Controller - 2922
Intel® ICH9M 1 port Serial ATA Storage Controller 2 - 292E
Intel® ICH9M 1 port Serial ATA Storage Controller 2 - 292E
Intel® ICH9M 2 port Serial ATA Storage Controller 1 - 2928
Intel® ICH9M 2 port Serial ATA Storage Controller 1 - 2928
Intel® ICH9M 2 port Serial ATA Storage Controller 2 - 292D
Intel® ICH9M 2 port Serial ATA Storage Controller 2 - 292D

* going to edit this post in a bit...

#90
Guest_silicon_ghost_*

Guest_silicon_ghost_*
  • Guests
  • Joined --

sebmex,

You have a ICH9R, so you need to skip step 2, your chipset is already in that INI file.


* going to edit this post in a bit...


Hrmm, I'm confused, I have the same issue as puntoMX. Following the various instructions failed to get AHCI working.

I have a Gigabyte EP35-DS4 that in the device manager shows the following items:
Intel ICH9 2 port Serial ATA Storage Controller 2 - 2926
Intel ICH9 4 port Serial ATA Storage Controller 1 - 2920
Intel ICH9 SATA AHCI Controller

That last one may be bogus from all the messing around I did attempting to make this work. The sticker on the Gigabyte box has ICH9R on it. Sure am curious what the difference is between ICH9 and ICH9R. Is is simply some level of RAID support? I generally consider onboard RAID bogus as it chews up CPU power; I have a real 3Ware RAID controller in another system I built.

Also, I see mentions on the web that I will lose my SATA DVD drive if I enable this AHCI in WinXP. Any truth to that?

#91
puntoMX

puntoMX

    n00b of Masters and Vice Versa

  • Super Moderator
  • 4,863 posts
  • Joined 28-June 04
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Hrmm, I'm confused, I have the same issue as puntoMX. Following the various instructions failed to get AHCI working.

That´s the same problem as sebmex I presume ;). Just skip point 2 and all should be fine.

Also, I see mentions on the web that I will lose my SATA DVD drive if I enable this AHCI in WinXP. Any truth to that?

No you don´t lose support for optical drives, but not all will work with ACHI enabled, that´s true.

Sure am curious what the difference is between ICH9 and ICH9R. Is is simply some level of RAID support?

Indeed, that’s true. Also it will give you AHCI when setting up XP with the F6 button and will let you install the Matrix drivers after installing XP.

#92
Guest_silicon_ghost_*

Guest_silicon_ghost_*
  • Guests
  • Joined --

Hrmm, I'm confused, I have the same issue as puntoMX. Following the various instructions failed to get AHCI working.

That´s the same problem as sebmex I presume ;). Just skip point 2 and all should be fine.


Skipping step 2 doesn't help. Based on the instructions, the work in Step 2 don't come into play until AFTER I get a successful boot into Windows. I BSOD on the way into Windows.

Just speculating but I'm guessing that the registry hack that goes against:
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\ControlSet001\Control\CriticalDeviceDatabase\pci#ven_8086&dev_2923&cc_0106]

Does not apply to ICH9R.

Is it possible the Device ID is different and therefore needs a different registry hack?

I'm speculating that I also cannot see the PCI Device ID of my particular southbridge without enabling the BIOS settings. It seems I have a catch-22 problem.

#93
puntoMX

puntoMX

    n00b of Masters and Vice Versa

  • Super Moderator
  • 4,863 posts
  • Joined 28-June 04
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Is it possible the Device ID is different and therefore needs a different registry hack?

Ow shoot, I forgot about that. Did you try it already?

By the way, it’s not a hack, I’m not hacking any thing just editing the INI file and adding some keys to the registry ;).

#94
Guest_silicon_ghost_*

Guest_silicon_ghost_*
  • Guests
  • Joined --

Is it possible the Device ID is different and therefore needs a different registry hack?

Ow shoot, I forgot about that. Did you try it already?

By the way, it’s not a hack, I’m not hacking any thing just editing the INI file and adding some keys to the registry ;).


Yes, I did try that and it didn't work. I tried a few different solutions (including others I found on the web) and no luck.

As for the term "hack" it was meant in the original meaning of "hacking" (knowing the guts of the computer and OS and bypassing the newbie way of doing things). I've done plenty of hacking with the registry over the years.

Does anyone know of a easy bootable (CD for example) solution that would allow me to enumerate the PCI bus? I'm guessing the the BIOS API for enumeration of PCIexpress is backward compatible to routines written for PCI.

#95
Didge

Didge
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 13-March 08
Hello. First i must say AHCI drives me mad.
Ive done i million diffrent reg files and copied files back and forth altering ini-files and so on.
I got a ASUS P5E3 Deluxe with the latest 1001 bios and Windows XP SP2.
When i set SATA to IDE in bios i can install and run windows.
When i set it to AHCI Windows boots up to BSOD and restart. I dont see the Login screen.
And if i try to install Windows it cant find my harddrive.
So now i have downloaded latest Intel Matrix driver "iata78_enu.exe" and extractad it with -a variable and then downloaded nLite and alterd a new Windows ISO with the driver.
Now when i set it to AHCI in bios and installs from this disc windows finds the harddisk and i can make partitions and format and install.
I can see during the install that he uses the iStor.sys driver for the Satacontroler so it looks promising.
But when its fully installed and doing the last reboot i come to BSOD :blink:
I then have to go to bios and set it to IDE to get in to windows :(
If i now check c:\windows\system32 the iStor.sys is here and installed.
So now i really dont know what more to do.

* * Offtopic * *
I have a IDE DVD+RW and if i set that to AHIC in bios its no problem just install the jMicron drivers for it and it apairs under "SCSI/RAID controller".

Kind reguards
//Didge

Edited by Didge, 13 March 2008 - 07:58 AM.


#96
longo213

longo213
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 18-September 06
Would not be better to add those entries into the INF file instead of overwriting some older ones? Would be much more useful, for example if someone wants to include the drivers into his Windows installation with nLite.

Edited by longo213, 22 March 2008 - 06:54 AM.


#97
puntoMX

puntoMX

    n00b of Masters and Vice Versa

  • Super Moderator
  • 4,863 posts
  • Joined 28-June 04
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
jtdoom is working on it I think, and nuhi didn´t see anything in a direct integration...

#98
jtdoom

jtdoom

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 14 posts
  • Joined 08-August 06
:hello:
I strongly believe there is no easy permanent fix to the driver issue when the user switches mode between trials.
The things I had to do to make a HDD usable again after a fail in ICH5 (yes, old stuff) taught us that the hard drive contains settings left by the previous mode setting.
I was not the guy whom discovered this, but I recall a topic about AHCI at DriverPacks.net where we learned that switching from one mode to another after a BSOD did not resolve the BSOD.

I will emphasise that the story was about ICH5.
I had the hardware to test what got reported and ran tests with results I could reproduce.
I concluded that test with an uneasy feeling.
I had had to hook up hard drives to a controller and had this controller lowlevel those HDD so as to reset them.
(I walked through some testing scenarios and currently still believe a HDD can contain traces in firmware of a mode it had been used in. Mobo BIOS sets a mode for HDD in BIOS, and that apparently leaves traces in the HDD itself. So, part of MY test was that I moved hard drives back and forth between machines and reparitioned for setup tests. I saw a HDD was detectable and I could repartition, but when PnP reboot happened I still had BSOD. ??)
After a real low level on a raid controller, I could install.
I reproduced the test results. Switch from AHCI to sata or IDE, and BSOD happened. The drive retained settings after repartitioning.
(I Lowleveled from a Silicon card with Raid and LL capabilities more than once during these tests.. )

That happened with ICH5, and that makes me think ICH8 and ICH9 could also have "mode switch issues" if a user chooses to switch and then repartitions after switching modi.
I wish my current rig had ICH9r. (it has ICH7 and Sil 3132 and Iteraid)
Kind regards, Jaak.

#99
theshadowrunner

theshadowrunner
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 02-April 08
hey guys,
here is what i have in my (french) device manager.
P5K-VM mobo (ICH9) with 2 SATA HDDs (connected physically to SATA ports 1 & 2 on mobo) and 1 DVD-RW drive (connected physically on IDE port, drive is NOT sata).
I see another entry "Standard IDE double channel PCI controller" that isn't in your picture puntoMX.
Do you think it is still safe to attempt the mod?

Attached Files



#100
BuildSmart

BuildSmart
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 21-March 08

jtdoom is working on it I think, and nuhi didn´t see anything in a direct integration...

I've been working on a direct integration because I found that different vendors include different secondary raid controllers so my first thought was to properly integrate the Intel Matrix storage drivers and I've actually come up with a solid working solution that didn't require nLite, doesn't affect recovery and doesn't use winnt.sif so adding additional drivers if required with "F6" doesn't break the installation process.

It covers ICH6 - ICH9 in RAID and AHCI mode and it doesn't mess up installations if you have IDE set or your board doesn't support RAID/AHCI.

The only issue I've got now is that it complains about the WHQL but a mouse click gets you passed it so it's not a real problem but more of an annoyance.

Even using nLite you get the same WHQL problem but using winnt.sif you can set it to ignore this so it's not a terribly serious problem or one to cause any major concern.


If you give me a day I'll put together the instructions and the files and post them.

-- BuildSmart




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users