Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Enable Intel AHCI under XP; Case Closed, read second last post

- - - - -

  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
251 replies to this topic

#201
puntoMX

puntoMX

    n00b of Masters and Vice Versa

  • Super Moderator
  • 4,849 posts
  • Joined 28-June 04
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Before:
Posted Image

Wow, that looks really messed up. Low numbers besides the CPU usage...


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#202
slimbo51

slimbo51
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 23-February 09
Hiya All

First time on site.

Followed instructions to enable AHCI, all worked perfect except for 1 question.

On checking install in device manager it says its ICH8 and not ICH9 which my M/Board is. GA-EP35-DS3L

Would this be because I need a newer version of drivers or am I missing the plot.

Great Instructions for enableing, my compliments to the designer.

Many Thanks for any help.

#203
puntoMX

puntoMX

    n00b of Masters and Vice Versa

  • Super Moderator
  • 4,849 posts
  • Joined 28-June 04
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

On checking install in device manager it says its ICH8 and not ICH9 which my M/Board is. GA-EP35-DS3L

That should not matter, it's just a text and you can put any text you like there. If you like to change the text than just look it up in your register and edit it there, nothing can go wrong any way ;).

Welcome to the forums! :hello:

#204
desktop

desktop
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 01-March 09
First of all, thanks to you puntoMX for putting all this together. Appreciate it.

I followed all your steps, and upon restarting the computer (the second time after changing settings in BIOS) I saw the usual boot up screen and the system test screen, but then I would get a message saying that this version (Serial ATA AHCI BIOS Version iSrc 1.07 08042006) only supports AHCI for CD drives and HDDs, whatever that means. Then the screen flickered and I was presented with a screen saying Windows could not start normally and it gave me the option to start in Safe Mode, etc. However I could not use the arrow keys on my keyboard.

Finally I just hit DEL again and changed the SATA settings back to their defaults in the BIOS and I managed to get back on the desktop again. I installed the Intel Chipset Utility, but I can't install the Matrix Storage Manager unless I use the F6 floppy method. This is because the Matrix Manager must be installed on a system already having AHCI enabled.

I have a Gigabyte P35-DS4 (rev 2.1) mobo with WinXP Home (SP3) so I know thats available on that board. Any ideas?

Thank you.

Edited by desktop, 01 March 2009 - 08:00 PM.


#205
puntoMX

puntoMX

    n00b of Masters and Vice Versa

  • Super Moderator
  • 4,849 posts
  • Joined 28-June 04
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

However I could not use the arrow keys on my keyboard.

Try a PS/2 keyboard, some USB keyboard might not work.

I have a Gigabyte P35-DS4 (rev 2.1) mobo with WinXP Home (SP3) so I know thats available on that board. Any ideas?

You should use another chipset number as you have a ICH9R and not ICH9, the hardware ID for your ICH is:
HardwareID = PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2829&CC_0106
Description: Intel(R) ICH9R/DO/DH SATA AHCI Controller


#206
vblanche

vblanche
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 07-January 09
Hi,

First, many thanks for this thread :thumbup

I've been trying to get AHCI.So, I'm following "à la lettre" this tuto, however I don't find this line:

PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2923&CC_0106.DeviceDesc	= "Intel(R) 82801HR/HH/HO SATA AHCI Controller"
in the IAAHCI.INF file.

Here is what I have:
;********************************************************
[Strings]
DiskName									= "Intel Matrix Storage Manager Driver"
*PNP0600.DeviceDesc						 = "Intel AHCI Controller"
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2681&CC_0106.DeviceDesc	= "Intel(R) ESB2 SATA AHCI Controller"
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_27C1&CC_0106.DeviceDesc	= "Intel(R) ICH7R/DH SATA AHCI Controller"
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_27C5&CC_0106.DeviceDesc	= "Intel(R) ICH7M/MDH SATA AHCI Controller"
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2821&CC_0106.DeviceDesc	= "Intel(R) ICH8R/DH/DO SATA AHCI Controller"
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2829&CC_0106.DeviceDesc	= "Intel(R) ICH8M-E/M SATA AHCI Controller"
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2922&CC_0106.DeviceDesc	= "Intel(R) ICH9R/DO/DH SATA AHCI Controller"
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2929&CC_0106.DeviceDesc	= "Intel(R) ICH9M-E/M SATA AHCI Controller"
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_3A02&CC_0106.DeviceDesc	= "Intel(R) ICH10D/DO SATA AHCI Controller"
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_3A22&CC_0106.DeviceDesc	= "Intel(R) ICH10R SATA AHCI Controller"

should I proceed w/o modifying this file?

thanks

Edited by vblanche, 11 March 2009 - 01:04 PM.


Gigabyte P35 DS4 (rev 1.2) - Intel Q6600 cooled by ultra120 extreme+Scythe SFlex 1600rpm - 2GB Crucial DDR2 1066 - XFX 8800 GTS 320MB - Seagate Barracuda 160GB + WD 250GB - NEC DVD writer - Corsair HX620W


Only 4 lines of text here please...

#207
puntoMX

puntoMX

    n00b of Masters and Vice Versa

  • Super Moderator
  • 4,849 posts
  • Joined 28-June 04
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Indeed, you have an ICH9R so no editing is needed there.

#208
tordenflesk

tordenflesk

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 40 posts
  • Joined 12-July 05
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I have both ICH9 and ICH9R on my IP35PRO. What do i do?
I've tried switching to AHCI before, resulting in BSOD's and re-installs.
Attached File  Untitled_1.png   21.73KB   15 downloads

Edited by tordenflesk, 16 March 2009 - 02:15 PM.


#209
puntoMX

puntoMX

    n00b of Masters and Vice Versa

  • Super Moderator
  • 4,849 posts
  • Joined 28-June 04
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Okay, that's strange as it should only show a ICH9R, so, you don't need to edit the INI file. If you reinstall that system then I would integrate the drivers into the windows setup.

PS. the second controller is a JMicron JMB363...

#210
tordenflesk

tordenflesk

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 40 posts
  • Joined 12-July 05
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag
So, just install the driver via Device Manager, ignore the "This driver hasn't been blessed by Bill himself"-bit, reboot, switch to AHCI in the BIOS and pray to FSM it won't BSOD then?

Edited by tordenflesk, 19 March 2009 - 03:01 PM.


#211
Olegh

Olegh
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 20-March 09
Hi.
What should i do to install the driver on ich10 this way?

Sorry for my english..

#212
tordenflesk

tordenflesk

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 40 posts
  • Joined 12-July 05
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag

So, just install the driver via Device Manager, ignore the "This driver hasn't been blessed by Bill himself"-bit, reboot, switch to AHCI in the BIOS and pray to FSM it won't BSOD then?

Anyone?

#213
cdob

cdob

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,000 posts
  • Joined 29-September 05
@tordenflesk and Olegh

Copy a appropiate driver iastor.sys to %SystemRoot%\system32\drivers.

Import IastorAHCI.reg
 
Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\CriticalDeviceDatabase\pci#ven_8086&cc_0106]
"Service"="iaStor"
"ClassGUID"="{4D36E96A-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\iaStor]
"Type"=dword:00000001
"Start"=dword:00000000
"Group"="SCSI miniport"
"ErrorControl"=dword:00000001
"ImagePath"="system32\\drivers\\iaStor.sys"
"tag"=dword:00000019
"DisplayName"="Intel AHCI Controller"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\iaStor\Parameters]
"queuePriorityEnable"=dword:00000000


#214
tordenflesk

tordenflesk

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 40 posts
  • Joined 12-July 05
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag
What would an "appropriate" iastor.sys be?

#215
cdob

cdob

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,000 posts
  • Joined 29-September 05

What would an "appropriate" iastor.sys be?

A iastor.sys version supporting your hardware.

#216
tordenflesk

tordenflesk

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 40 posts
  • Joined 12-July 05
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I know that. It's just that there's no way in hell I'm ever going to find it on intel's site. I found something for ICH6R, but otherwise nothing.

#217
xrs

xrs
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 12-January 07
I have successfully enabled AHCI under Windows XP on my P35 based motherboard (Abit IP35 with ICH9R) using these instructions and I have tried to do the same to my P45 based notebook (Samsung R560 with ICH9M) but the problem is after forcing AHCI in the BIOS Windows XP doesn't even attempt to boot. I have Linux Mint installed as well with GRUB being the boot manager and Linux works fine and detects ICH9M in AHCI mode. After selecting Windows XP from GRUB, "Starting up..." appears and that's it, even after 15min of waiting nothing happens.

The notebook itself came with Vista pre-installed and it worked in AHCI mode there so why doesn't it want to work under XP? The BIOS even has an "Auto" setting that will set AHCI mode according to what OS is being booted - for XP it will be disabled and for any other enabled. Maybe the BIOS is somehow broken and doesn't boot XP properly in AHCI mode?

I have basically tried every combination of, somewhat limited, BIOS including EFI boot, legacy disk access mode, but it still doesn't even try to boot XP.

On the manufacturers site there is a BIOS update but it says that mine is already newer so it quits without doing anything.

I'm using 32-bit version of XP even tho the system is perfectly capable of running a 64-bit version (having P8600 and 4GB of RAM) so maybe that's the problem? Mint is 64-bit.

Edit with solution:
The solution to my problem came somewhat unexpectedly...
Windows 7's bootloader is able to boot Windows XP while AHCI is on so I think Vista's might be able to do it as well.

Edited by xrs, 06 April 2009 - 01:51 PM.


#218
stephan288

stephan288
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 27-March 09
Hello all!

you guys are heroes. Solving all that stuff that is so complicated. I work like 20 years in solving computer problems and stuff like that, but today i got a very big problem with an HP G50-104NR. I wanna bother you a little bit with it and hope i can get a solution for it. I put my problem here because of the topic: ICH9 and the SATA controller. Actually mine is ICH9M.

A customer brought this HP G50-104NR. I need to install Windows XP on it. I tried it and it loads the files, the drivers. Until here no problem. But then comes the screen where i have to choose the disk and the partition to install windows. And i get a bluescreen (BSOD). Message:

Stop : 0x0000007B (0xF78DE524, 0xC0000034, 0x00000000 0x00000000)

It also says to remove any hard drive and hard drives controllers and to run chkdsk /f

I know that that is not the problem. I had anothe Notebook before with the same error. The solution is very very simple, just disable the AHCI in the BIOS, set to native or legacy IDE.

But the BIOS in this notebook does have the option to do that.

I contacted HP support and got no solution, so I investigated. And i got from topic to topic, learned about a program called nlite, got some drivers from HP for the ich9, compiled a cd with nlite,...didn´t work.
now i downloadad some ich9 drivers from
http://software.adsl...n-xp-con-nlite/
and used the drivers they provide there. I also downloaded the drivers that you are talking about in the 1st post, to have a second choice of drivers (because yours r different) in order to not waste a lot of cd´s and my burner.
If those do not work i don´t know what else to do. I remind you that this BIOS has no choice to disable AHCI
Anyone has a good idea how to integrate the right drivers into a XP istall cd? i give you the specs of the notebook, maybe anyone has a similar machine or problem and might be able to help me out.

I appreciate all the help i can get with this one. Thanxx in advance.

THE REPORT IS FROM EVEREST. I only put the machine specs to save you the rest, it´s very long. Sorry for the spanish, but i guess the professionals will understand xD

It´s a HP G50-104NR:

EDIT: no need no more. I compiled a cd with nlite and YOUR drivers and it works. Thanxx so much.

#219
puntoMX

puntoMX

    n00b of Masters and Vice Versa

  • Super Moderator
  • 4,849 posts
  • Joined 28-June 04
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Sorry that I didn't reply earlier.

The thing is that it should work in most cases but I wonder if Intel changed their drivers again.

I know that. It's just that there's no way in hell I'm ever going to find it on intel's site. I found something for ICH6R, but otherwise nothing.

Well, just get the package from the link in the first post, unpack them and there should be the file you are looking for.

What would an "appropriate" iastor.sys be?

That's the 32 or 64 bit version, depending on your OS (The INF file has all hardware IDs in them).

Long time I looked over it by the way...

#220
tordenflesk

tordenflesk

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 40 posts
  • Joined 12-July 05
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Just wanted to confirm that this:

@tordenflesk and Olegh

Copy a appropiate driver iastor.sys to %SystemRoot%\system32\drivers.

Import IastorAHCI.reg

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\CriticalDeviceDatabase\pci#ven_8086&cc_0106]"Service"="iaStor""ClassGUID"="{4D36E96A-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318}"[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\iaStor]"Type"=dword:00000001"Start"=dword:00000000"Group"="SCSI miniport""ErrorControl"=dword:00000001"ImagePath"="system32\\drivers\\iaStor.sys""tag"=dword:00000019"DisplayName"="Intel AHCI Controller"[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\iaStor\Parameters]"queuePriorityEnable"=dword:00000000

and this:

[url="http://downloadcente...ang=eng"]32-bit Floppy Configuration Utility for Intel® Matrix Storage Manager[/url

Worked on Abit IP35PRO with the IC9R. Installed the driver, moved the iastor.sys and ran the reg-file. Restarted, set AHCI, rebooted and prayed :P

#221
MDGx

MDGx

    98SE2ME + 98MP10

  • Super Moderator
  • 2,678 posts
  • Joined 22-November 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
I have created an automated installer [using MS Iexpress], which copies all files to proper locations and merges the REG file [32-bit]:
http://www.mdgx.com/xp.htm#PSP3
Look for "Unofficial Windows XP Intel SATA AHCI/Hot-Plug/RAID Driver for Intel P35 Motherboard Chipsets with built-in ICH9 Controllers".
All you need to do after installing the driver is enable the BIOS settings and the "PCI Device" after reboot.
Comes with complete instructions.

P.S.:
Seems to work great on my Gigabyte P35-DS3L mobo.

HTH

#222
puntoMX

puntoMX

    n00b of Masters and Vice Versa

  • Super Moderator
  • 4,849 posts
  • Joined 28-June 04
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Nice, I hope that this helps out some people! :thumbup

#223
MDGx

MDGx

    98SE2ME + 98MP10

  • Super Moderator
  • 2,678 posts
  • Joined 22-November 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

I have created an automated installer [using MS Iexpress], which copies all files to proper locations and merges the REG file [32-bit]:
http://www.mdgx.com/xp.htm#PSP3
Look for "Unofficial Windows XP Intel SATA AHCI/Hot-Plug/RAID Driver for Intel P35 Motherboard Chipsets with built-in ICH9 Controllers".
All you need to do after installing the driver is enable the BIOS settings and the "PCI Device" after reboot.
Comes with complete instructions.

P.S.:
Seems to work great on my Gigabyte P35-DS3L mobo.

HTH

Caution...

In some cases one may need to delete (or rename their INF extension) the Intel INF files (if any) from C:\Windows\INF [or whereever you have WinXP installed, generic is %windir%\INF], respectively in my case ICH9CORE.INF + ICH9SMB.INF .
Reboot after the rename/delete, and then redetect your ICH9 devices [ISATA_XP.EXE (see URL above) should be already installed and all other necessary steps already performed].
These are installed by Intel INF Installer chipset utility:
http://www.intel.com...t/chipsets/inf/
Downloads are here [pertaining to WinXP]:
http://downloadcente...s...4&submit=Go!
Otherwise I was getting a conflict message in Device Manager, something like this:

"this device has already another driver assigned"

HTH

#224
ilko_t

ilko_t

    MSFN Addict

  • Super Moderator
  • 1,722 posts
  • Joined 06-December 06
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Here is a little set of files, which allow you to switch easily to ACHI or move Windows to Intel ICH controller.
What it does:
1. Creates the needed entries in HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\CriticalDeviceDatabase for the following HardwareIDs:
PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_24DF&CC_0104PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_25B0&CC_0104PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2652&CC_0104PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2652&CC_0106PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2653&CC_0106PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2681&CC_0106PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2682&CC_0104PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_27C1&CC_0106PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_27C3&CC_0104PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_27C5&CC_0106PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2821&CC_0106PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2829&CC_0106PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2922&CC_0106PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_5029&CC_0106PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_27C6&CC_0104PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2822&CC_0104PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2824&CC_0106PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_282A&CC_0104PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2923&CC_0106PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2929&CC_0106PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_3A02&CC_0106PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_3A03&CC_0106PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_3A22&CC_0106PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_3A23&CC_0106
This should cover ICH5 up to ICH10, including a couple of OEM specific HWIDs.
2. Creates the relevant services- iastor55, iastor70, iastor78 and iastor86
3. Copies iastor55.sys, iastor70.sys, iastor78.sys and iastor86.sys to \system32\drivers\
4. Copies the relevant and modified inf and cat files to \windows\DR\ and adds this location to HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\DevicePath, preserving any existing values in this key, so Windows can find and use the appropriate driver from this folder upon new hardware detection.

The driver versions and HWIDs are as per BTS mass storage DP 9.01 I1-I4. Thanks to BTS DriverPacks team for this great project.
Intended for 32 bit XP only.
Has been tested already on a few machines, having multiple iastor services seems to cause no harm.
Not tested, but updating manually the driver with original one through Device manager or installing Intel matrix storage pack may not be not good idea as this will create another iastor service.

Just in case- use F8 at Windows start and "Last known Good Configuration" if you get any issues after installing this.

http://www.datafileh...d-a548acb9.html

Install Windows from USB, boot Linux, multiboot and a lot more with WinSetupFromUSB


#225
w2k

w2k
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 21-May 09
Hi,

On the matter of the ICH-9 controller, I have a windows 2000 system I need to migrate to a Intel motherboard that uses the ICH-9M-E/M SATA AHCI controller. I know ICH-9 does not "officially" support 2K, but then again so it is the case for XP, and a solution was obviously found by editing inf/cat files. I'm also aware 2K is a "old" O/S, but the system is really running very well and I'd hate having to change ("upgrade") O/S specially if it is not really needed for purposes other then the compatibility issue with the ICH-9 controller, and I already found all needed device drivers for 2K. BTW the system obviously doesn't have a floppy drive so the F6 option is not available either, but integrating the drivers with nLite would be no problem if I manage to find a compatible 2K SATA AHCI driver. The AMI Bios does not even provide an HD IDE mode option either, so no chance of that workaround.

Thanks in advance to any help from the gurus.

w2k




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users