Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

nLite 1.4.9.1 - Honey Turbo 9.1

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
424 replies to this topic

#1
nuhi

nuhi

    nLite & NTLite human.dll

  • Developer
  • 4,362 posts
  • Joined 25-October 03
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Bear woke up, checked his stash and standing guard.

Changelog and download

This one is basically to catch up with the updates.
Lets see if it has some tiny worms eating the bits.


Updates:
09.11.2008 - v1.4.9.1
09.04.2008 - v1.4.9 (nlite.exe v1.4.9.1)
09.01.2008 - v1.4.9
07.20.2008 - v1.4.8
07.01.2008 - v1.4.7
06.12.2008 - v1.4.6

Note: I read that some of you think that nLite breaks the floppy F6 method. That is not true, it is a Windows limitation, just disable the OEM Preinstall on the Unattended - General page or integrate the driver.

Edited by nuhi, 11 September 2008 - 08:03 AM.

http://www.nliteos.com | http://www.ntlite.com
Remove components and customize Windows


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
boooggy

boooggy

    MSFN Master

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,343 posts
  • Joined 27-February 05
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
super......hope is sweet..... :P

#3
mrwrx

mrwrx

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 26 posts
  • Joined 01-February 06
cool a new toy !!! :):) thanks Nuhi :)

#4
UtCollector

UtCollector

    Addon maker

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 310 posts
  • Joined 11-January 06
Nice, focust on sp3 and already ie8 support :rolleyes:

#5
mooms

mooms

    Hello world !

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 303 posts
  • Joined 13-October 07
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
A little bug; but not on nLite :whistle:

Posted Image

#6
anonymous_user

anonymous_user

    ͏͏͏

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 963 posts
  • Joined 25-December 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
As usual, thanks Nuhi :thumbup

#7
nuhi

nuhi

    nLite & NTLite human.dll

  • Developer
  • 4,362 posts
  • Joined 25-October 03
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Appreciated.


mooms, right on :)
http://www.nliteos.com | http://www.ntlite.com
Remove components and customize Windows

#8
clavicle

clavicle

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 454 posts
  • Joined 28-January 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
'Honey' is welcome after long winter hibernation. It rejuvinates and so does 1.4.5b!
Integratation of IE8 and security centre fix are most wanted changes that I wanted to see.
Thanks! :thumbup

#9
NoisySniper

NoisySniper

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 16 posts
  • Joined 18-May 07
Love this tool! Thanks...

If you could find the time to add a couple more tweaks, I would love it even more.. ; - )

(don't) Display simple folder view,-
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Advanced - FriendlyTree

Do not cache thumbnails,-
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Advanced - Disable Thumbnailcache


Hate these, and always disables them with a reg-file, but would be better in nLite....
Will try the new version as soon as possible, it will probably be OK - as usual.

#10
lol.2.dol

lol.2.dol
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 28-May 06
Hi!
Thank you for the new release!
I try to integrate IE8 in XP SP3, but i've an error at the end of the process...
I don't know why, all what I've done is Slipstream SP3 (on SP2 source), add IE8 executable in the hotfix lists!

#11
boyan.sharic

boyan.sharic
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 04-March 08
A bug, possibly not on nLites behalf. On the second page, when choosing the folder witch contains copied Windows installation CD nLite freezes and ProcessExplorer is reporting that nLite is taking 50% of CPU (because i have Core 2 Duo, if a had single processor i supose it would take 100%). On the same PC i have WinXP and Win200 on Virtual PC and nLite is working fine on those. Ive tried both self extracting and the installer versions - still no joy.

Dino, sta je reci?

#12
Bossman7

Bossman7
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 29-February 08
looking forward to testing this out, thanks for all your hard work nuhi

#13
radix

radix

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 738 posts
  • Joined 08-February 07
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Love this tool! Thanks...

If you could find the time to add a couple more tweaks, I would love it even more.. ; - )

Do not cache thumbnails,-
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Advanced - Disable Thumbnailcache

Check General->Performance->Do not cache thumbnails

#14
NoisySniper

NoisySniper

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 16 posts
  • Joined 18-May 07

Love this tool! Thanks...

If you could find the time to add a couple more tweaks, I would love it even more.. ; - )

Do not cache thumbnails,-
HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Advanced - Disable Thumbnailcache

Check General->Performance->Do not cache thumbnails



Thanks. This one must have been hiding itself on my computer.. :whistle:

The program works perfect here with me - once again!

#15
anonim1979

anonim1979

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 19 posts
  • Joined 15-September 04
WIN XP PRO VLK SP2 Polish
1.4.5 beta doesn't completly integrate those hotfixes for me:

H:\winproLENOVO\I386\SVCPACK

2005-12-10 21:47 5˙223˙664 KB900725.exe
2006-05-14 09:30 4˙712˙760 KB908531.exe
2006-12-02 13:10 693˙048 KB914440.exe
2006-12-02 12:24 694˙584 KB920213.exe
2007-04-29 13:08 1˙653˙560 KB925876.exe
2007-05-13 21:54 1˙273˙736 KB927891.exe

It put them into svcpack folder and adds entries to svcpack.inf - so it works - BUT 1.4.1 Final and earlier versions integrated them completly.
(and I can also integrate them manualy by using /integrate:INSTALL_FILES_PATCH switch)
The only operations done are:
Clean SP2 source (ziped archive used in many many working builds)
WMP11 0.991 + hotfixes (noWGA)
Then
nLite with only those:
-hotfixes option (Winins3.1v2,IE7+2hotfixes,+~120 normal hotfixes)
-100TCP/IP
-uxTheme

Everything works but those ~20MB are precious if you use BTS and .NET on CD.

----
EDIT:
Also many files are left on CD uncompressed. Making I386 next 20MB bigger in 1.4.5 beta
for example:
aaclient.dll
aaclient.mui
agentdp2.dll
lhmstsc.chm , exe, dll ,mui
msi31.dll
shell32.dll
xpnetdg.exe, xsl

Edited by anonim1979, 11 March 2008 - 07:46 PM.


#16
Sydnelson

Sydnelson

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 52 posts
  • Joined 04-September 04

WIN XP PRO VLK SP2 Polish
1.4.5 beta doesn't completly integrate those hotfixes for me:

H:\winproLENOVO\I386\SVCPACK

2005-12-10 21:47 5˙223˙664 KB900725.exe
2006-05-14 09:30 4˙712˙760 KB908531.exe
2006-12-02 13:10 693˙048 KB914440.exe
2006-12-02 12:24 694˙584 KB920213.exe
2007-04-29 13:08 1˙653˙560 KB925876.exe
2007-05-13 21:54 1˙273˙736 KB927891.exe

It put them into svcpack folder and adds entries to svcpack.inf - so it works - BUT 1.4.1 Final and earlier versions integrated them completly.
(and I can also integrate them manualy by using /integrate:INSTALL_FILES_PATCH switch)
The only operations done are:
Clean SP2 source (ziped archive used in many many working builds)
WMP11 0.991 + hotfixes (noWGA)
Then
nLite with only those:
-hotfixes option (Winins3.1v2,IE7+2hotfixes,+~120 normal hotfixes)
-100TCP/IP
-uxTheme

Everything works but those ~20MB are precious if you use BTS and .NET on CD.

----
EDIT:
Also many files are left on CD uncompressed. Making I386 next 20MB bigger in 1.4.5 beta
for example:
aaclient.dll
aaclient.mui
agentdp2.dll
lhmstsc.chm , exe, dll ,mui
msi31.dll
shell32.dll
xpnetdg.exe, xsl


Same Problem Here, my XP instalation grow 27mb, 6 new kb files in svcpack and 3 new diretories in I386 folder using this nlite 1.45 version...

Sugestion:
Can NLITE verify and remove duplicate files? Then NLITE integrate only one version of this files into instalation and copy additional ones to destinations directories when needed.
in lastest driverpacks I found 41 duplicatated files eating 5mb of disk space and to make a better XPCD each MB is precious....

Sorry for my english...

Edited by Sydnelson, 13 March 2008 - 05:52 AM.


#17
mimo78

mimo78

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 17 posts
  • Joined 21-June 04
Tryed the new 1.4.5 beta

I had trouble integrating thise critical hotfixes
KB944533
KB933729
KB927891
kb929213
kb932168

I am slipstreaming a Danish (DK) version og windows xp sp2 (from original cd)
I only slipstream hotfixes and copy my winnt.sif file to source befor making an iso

The same hotfixes work fine with 1.4.1.

I always had a problem getting the wga tool to work, but I extracted it and install it from my runonceex.cmd instead (nlite 1.4.1 and 1.5)


By the way Nlite is cool.
The time I invest in getting my xp source just right comes back 10 fold.

So thank you creator of nlite.

Best regards Michael

#18
nuhi

nuhi

    nLite & NTLite human.dll

  • Developer
  • 4,362 posts
  • Joined 25-October 03
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
lol.2.dol, what kind of error (that is important)?

boyan.sharic, antivirus is scanning all files, set it to scan executables only.
Pozdrav.

anonim1979, good catch, fixed in beta 2, out today.
http://www.nliteos.com | http://www.ntlite.com
Remove components and customize Windows

#19
monohouse

monohouse

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 99 posts
  • Joined 01-February 06
is there a version of nLite that runs on IA64 ? and can delete files from XP 64-bit ?

#20
nuhi

nuhi

    nLite & NTLite human.dll

  • Developer
  • 4,362 posts
  • Joined 25-October 03
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Never tried it. If it does not accept normal 32bit then no.
And it does not support IA64 modification, only x64.
http://www.nliteos.com | http://www.ntlite.com
Remove components and customize Windows

#21
monohouse

monohouse

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 99 posts
  • Joined 01-February 06
how can you disable automatic creation of last session presets ?

#22
nuhi

nuhi

    nLite & NTLite human.dll

  • Developer
  • 4,362 posts
  • Joined 25-October 03
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
You can disable loading it but not creating.
Weird request. You want to run nLite from read-only position?
http://www.nliteos.com | http://www.ntlite.com
Remove components and customize Windows

#23
clavicle

clavicle

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 454 posts
  • Joined 28-January 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
@nuhi
You are very fast this time. Within a short time you have beta 2 ready for lates sp.
Appreciable, you are still caring for xp users! Thanks a lot!

#24
galileo

galileo

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts
  • Joined 20-June 05
I may have missed this - but, after using nlite to tweak various user settings are those settings applied to new user accounts that are setup from within Windows after the installation of Windows...? :unsure:

Edited by galileo, 16 March 2008 - 09:30 AM.


#25
ikon2

ikon2

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
  • Joined 16-March 08
Hi,
If I had removed telnet in component removal setup that telnet stay in I386.I tried version 1.4.1 but in version 1.4.5 is the same problem.Thanks




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN