Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

nLite 1.4.9.1 - Honey Turbo 9.1

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
424 replies to this topic

#326
ricktendo

ricktendo

    Group: Banned Members

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,297 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Hi,

use nLite to include in Windows XP source a file entries.ini. This file contain registry tweaks of format inf that are additional to file NLITE.IN_. During the integration of the file entries.ini, all the folders on the desktop are copied inside the i386 folder of the source. It's normal?

Cheers :hello:

No this is not normal, make sure you archive your entries.ini and integrate the zip, cab, rar or 7zip instead of the ini


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#327
mara-

mara-

    Office Integrator Developer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,179 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Little Bug

If your write in RunOnce:
%Source%\Bla\Bla
Then nLite makes if Batch is started:
%Source%\\Bla\Bla


No bug here. This is normal. This variable already contain backslash. So your path need to looks like:

%Source%Bla\Bla

This is done because in some cases this variable would not mean anything without backslash. Example is with drives. For example if you DVD drive is assigned to letter F, you will not never type F: to access it, you will always type:

F:\

Cheers ;)

Edited by mara-, 14 September 2008 - 09:43 AM.


#328
Bejelit

Bejelit
  • Member
  • 2 posts

No this is not normal, make sure you archive your entries.ini and integrate the zip, cab, rar or 7zip instead of the ini

Hi Ricks and thank you for having responded.

I had already tried to compress the file entries.ini, but the folders were copied to the same. I did some testing and I think I have solved the problem. Everything depends on the location of the file entries that should not be on your desktop, anywhere, but not on the desktop.

Thanks again... :D

Bye

#329
Alien42

Alien42

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 19 posts

Little Bug

If your write in RunOnce:
%Source%BlaBla
Then nLite makes if Batch is started:
%Source%BlaBla

No bug here. This is normal. This variable already contain backslash. So your path need to looks like:
%Source%BlaBla
This is done because in some cases this variable would not mean anything without backslash. Example is with drives. For example if you DVD drive is assigned to letter F, you will not never type F: to access it, you will always type:
F:\

Strange, it works fine for me. I have this entry in my RunOnce:
%SOURCE%\Batch\makefolders.bat
and it works fine.

Nuhi, got a bunch of feature requests for you & a few suggestions for improvement.

1. Although I don't use IE [or to be more exact, Maxthon] as much as I used to, 1 thing that annoys me is I sometimes find myself clicking the E-mail Picture entry on the context menu for images instead of Save Picture As. In XP32 I was able to disable the menu entry [but not remove it - clicking it just had no result] with the following command:
regsvr32 /s /u sendmail.dll
But this doesn't seem to work in XP64. I've also tried Nirsoft's ShellExView, which doesn't do it either. Any ideas on disabling this?

2. On the import screen in nLite it would be better if the date format could match that of the system it's being run on.

3. Please allow setting of user specified homepage, beyond just nLite homepage, Google, or about:blank.

4. Disable desktop cleanup:
[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Desktop\CleanupWiz]
"NoRun"=dword:00000001
5. nLite sets user variables for temp folder, but doesn't set them for system variables in the bottom part of the environment variables window, that can be fixed quite easily, for example:
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\Environment]
"TEMP"="C:\\Temp"
"TMP"="C:\\Temp"
6. Options to set location of temporary internet files & cookies folder [hivedef.inf], for example:
U_SHELL_FOLDERS_CACHE="%SYSTEMDRIVE%\Temporary Internet Files"
U_SHELL_FOLDERS_COOKIES="%SYSTEMDRIVE%\Cookies"
7. Option to turn off notification about automatic updates in security centre.
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Security Center]
"UpdatesDisableNotify"=dword:00000001
8. remove IE & OE links from pinned section of start menu
[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\HideDesktopIcons\ClassicStartMenu]
"{20D04FE0-3AEA-1069-A2D8-08002B30309D}"=dword:00000001

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\HideDesktopIcons\NewStartPanel]
"{645FF040-5081-101B-9F08-00AA002F954E}"=dword:00000001
"{20D04FE0-3AEA-1069-A2D8-08002B30309D}"=dword:00000001
9. option to display quicklaunch folder on taskbar by default.

10. option to set taskbar to double-height.

11. individual selection of games & internet games, as in which ones to install or not.

12. Folder options:
Single click to open file
underline files when I point to them
turn off remember each folder's view settings

13. selection of which screensavers to install, which 1 to set as default, & time limit setting.

14. Is there any way to seperate Infrared hardware support from Bluetooth? At the moment it says that Infrared support is needed for Bluetooth.

15. Why does an update for windows agent show up if agent was removed?

#330
TranceEnergy

TranceEnergy

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 963 posts
enable tweak "use small icons in start panel"
is supposed to set key :
HKCU,"SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Advanced","Start_LargeIcons",0x00010001,0

This key does not exist even when enabled large icons everywhere, start menu and desktop..

The second part of this tweak , Start_LargeMFUIcons, DOES exist. I confirmed this with a clean xp 64 sp2 source.

edit found another error in "Disable DNS Failure cache" tweak

HKLM,"SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Dnscache\Parameters","NegativeCacheTime",0x00010001,0
HKLM,"SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Dnscache\Parameters","NetFailureCacheTime ",0x00010001,0
HKLM,"SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Dnscache\Parameters","NegativeSOACacheTime ",0x00010001,0

The errors are "NetFailureCacheTime " and "NegativeSOACacheTime " , as one can see there's an empty space at the end.


edit2: Add Administrative tools menu tweak
this tweak sets
HKCU,"SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\Advanced","StartMenuAdminTools",0x00010001,1

this key uses YES or NO. not 1 or 0. Also confirmed with clean source.

edit3: disable Outlook express link creation still leaves these two keys to be done.

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\Active Setup\Installed Components\{44BBA840-CC51-11CF-AAFA-00AA00B6015C}]
"StubPath"=hex(2):00,00
and

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\Active Setup\Installed Components\>{881dd1c5-3dcf-431b-b061-f3f88e8be88a}]
"StubPath"=hex(2):00,00

As one can see i removed the values already.

Tweak : disable media player 6.4 created bookmarks x64 part missing:
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\Active Setup\Installed Components\{22d6f312-b0f6-11d0-94ab-0080c74c7e95}]

In windows media player tweaks:
Enhanced privacy settings tweak sets "UpgradeCodecPrompt"=dword:00000001 and
disable automatic codec download sets "UpgradeCodecPrompt"=dword:00000000, so one of them would cancel the other one out..


Many of the tweaks doesnt do the x64 part such as My Computer\"Remove Shared Documents" tweak
leaves HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Explorer\MyComputer\NameSpace\DelegateFolders\{59031a47-3f72-44a7-89c5-5595fe6b30ee} to also be deleted.

Edited by TranceEnergy, 16 September 2008 - 05:09 PM.


#331
black_zero

black_zero
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
i've used nlite to make unattended xp, everything is working fine. i'm trying to assign a password to users through user accounts which is also accepting it. but when i m restarting the computer, xp is loading without asking for any password or user selection.

any solutions pls.
Shehek

#332
jmbattle

jmbattle

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 169 posts
Press Windows key + R to bring up a run box, then type:

control userpasswords2

Check the 'Users must enter a username and password to use this computer' box, then click 'Okay'.

Cheers,
James
x
Notebook PC: nLite 1.4.1 reduced WinXP with SP2 / RyanVM / FlyakiteOSX / Drivers integrated.

#333
TranceEnergy

TranceEnergy

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 963 posts
I would like to make a toast for nuhi on his vacation/holiday =)

Cheers!

#334
black_zero

black_zero
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Press Windows key + R to bring up a run box, then type:

control userpasswords2

Check the 'Users must enter a username and password to use this computer' box, then click 'Okay'.

Cheers,
James
x


thanx James for ur response. I know this could be done also through Kel's User Accounts 2 on installed xp. but i want this thing enabled in my unattended xp cd
Shehek

#335
anass_f

anass_f

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 17 posts
I have created a topic under : "in [Default Hide] mode most nlite tweaks are not applied. Please Help" but no one has give me any tip to my problem which is a general problem for all those who create un UXPCD in "Default hide" mode.
Hereby I repost it, please geeks help me:

Hi guyz.
I made two copies of my UXPCD, one is fully unattended and just fine, the other one is for repairing purpose so I choosed "Default hide" mode in it.
Since in this mode the "$OEM$" is ignored so "cmdlines.txt" won't run --> "nlite.inf" which contains all the tweaks prepared by nLite firstly for the "Full Unattended" mode won't be applied either.

I would apply all these tweaks once the windows repair/reinstallation made by the seconde CD is finished :blushing: . So I tried the following:
expand the "i386\nlite.in_" into "system32\nlite.inf"
run : "rundll32 advpack.dll,LaunchINFSection nLite.inf,nlite"

That did nothing as far as I noticed :wacko: .
Any possible trick here?
Thank you in advance for u all :hello:



I also expanded "i386\nhelper.ex_" to "system32\nhelper.exe", because it's called in "RunOnce" by "nlite.inf".

I manually set the "NetBT" (Net BIOS over TCP/IP) to "automatic", my "nlite.inf" should bring it to "disabled" once applied. Using my method the service stay unchanged, that's why I suppose it doesn't work.



#336
ribil

ribil
  • Member
  • 1 posts
Hello
sorry for my english

I have a problem whit ICFGNT.DLL registering T-15, after integrating IE8 in XP SP3, I do not eliminate anything. Pleace help me. I have trated several times.
Version Nlite 1.4.9.1
thanks

Edited by ribil, 15 October 2008 - 06:39 AM.


#337
Kurt_Aust

Kurt_Aust

    Master of trial, error & Google

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 551 posts
Integration failure:

WindowsServer2003.WindowsXP-KB956391-x64-ENU.exe (Cumulative Security Update for ActiveX Killbits) appears to integrate successfully but still shows on windows update.

Silent install method works (WindowsServer2003.WindowsXP-KB956391-x64-ENU.exe /Passive /NoRestart).

#338
TranceEnergy

TranceEnergy

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 963 posts
KB938464 and KB951759 for windows xp x64bit also fail integration. Using the /integration with the kb itself works, or as kurt says manual install. I can verify Kurt Aust's last post.

#339
GTO455

GTO455

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 16 posts
Hello Everyone,

I'm having an issue with (I think) NLite, and it would be great if someone ele out there could confirm if I'm crazy or not. I happened upon this quite by accident, and I have it outlined in this thread



Thanks,
Charlie

#340
GrofLuigi

GrofLuigi

    GroupPolicy Tattoo Artist

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,353 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
On W2K Pro, "ms comic sans bold" is still reported missing during setup. (the actual name is shorter). No (extra) fonts were removed. It allows to continue by pressing esc, this is very early in the setup stage (copying files to HDD I think). I remember this issue present since forever.

Is this a bug in nLite or my source? (I think the source is OK).

(About the attached file, there was a first NLite pass before it, integrating SP4 and Windows2000-KB891861.EXE only).

GL

Attached Files



#341
Bruce Darby

Bruce Darby

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
nuhi,

When using the Unattended section of NLite, on the Users tab, if you create a user other than Administrator or Guest under Add User Account, then select that user to be the default in the Autologon section of the same tab, then set a password, the user account that you wanted to create doesn't get created and the password gets assigned to the Administrator account.

Steps I took to create the account...
1. Selected the Users tab
2. Clicked on the Add button
3. Typed in my name as the New User Account name
4. Typed my full name in the Full Name text box
5. Typed the description of my computer into the description text box
6. Left password expiration checked and at 0
7. Selected my new account in the drop-down under Autologon
8. Set the number of autologons to 3
9. Entered my password and then verified
10. Left 'Must have password' and 'Can change password' checked
11. Finished my other tweaks on the remaining tabs and ran the changes in Nlite

I am currently using NLite 1.9.4.1. The strange thing about all this is that during the unattended installation, the account name I created gets placed in the username field on the login screen, but it tells me that my account doesn't exist. But if I then type in 'Administrator' and type in the password I entered for my created account, the system logs on just fine. Could it be something that I'm not doing correctly?

#342
WKjun

WKjun
  • Member
  • 3 posts
Hi!

I'm new to NLITE and used this release for the first time. It's really great but I've discovered some problems, possible bugs, and looked around here some time with no luck. I use the German version of WinXP Pro, SP3 + all hotfixes for SP3 integrated.
One question in advance: Should the session presets be language compatible? I've of corse set NLITE up in German and tried to load it in English (for better description in here) and I find many options incorrect.

Here is what I've experienced (sorry for not knowing exactly every English counterpart term):

  • COMPONENTS: If I remove the "Client for Netware Networks" and I install the IPX protocol later, it is unsigned. Maybe this is due to shared files which have been removed through the Client removal.
  • UNATTENDED - DISPLAY: Screen Resolution does not work at all. Resolution is always 640x480 after first start. Does it only work with integrated display drivers?
  • UNATTENDED - NETWORK SETTINGS: Even the Custom settings (without any adapter & MAC added) rely on at least one adapter/MAC added, right? Pre-install of IPX protocol didn't work.
  • UNATTENDED - REGIONAL - LOCATION
    4.1 In the Custom section "Österreich" (Austria) is missing.
    4.2 If I set up Location to "Deutsch (Österreich)" I tend to have "Deutsch (Deutschland)" too in the XP regional settings after installation.
    BUT if I abandon the customizations for Austria and select Germany instead, I have "Deutsch (Deutschland)" and "Englisch (USA)" in the regional settings.
    I only want 1 regional setting in there, either Austria/German or Germany/German.
  • TWEAKS - GENERAL
    5.1 The performance tweak "Disable paging of kernel and core-os" is known as a XP myth. Quiet useless (and unprofessional) to offer it in my opinion.
    5.2 The Boot and Shutdown tweak "Disable automatic restart on System Failure" does not work.
  • TWEAKS - SERVICES: Change status of the "Task Scheduler" does not work.
Tweaks that would be fine for future implementation:
- IE Lan settings: Disable Automatic Proxy search
- Disable Sounds in Windows (profile "no sounds")
- Disable Offline Files

Another bug: After accidently changing the RoyalFour desktop theme while running NLITE, NLITE crashed with an exception instantly I've pressed the Next button.

Comment on the German translation: Quiet good but lots of wrong or untranslated words/terms. Do you need some help here?

Thanks a lot and I hope to be of help somehow.

#343
TranceEnergy

TranceEnergy

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 963 posts
Bruce : Yes. If that didnt work, there would be dozens of replies that it doesnt work. You have configured something wrong.

Wkjun:
1. nlite have rewritten some files if you have removed things, obviously things then get unsigned
2. It depends on the resolution, best if integrated display drivers of course.
3. No
4.1 Are you sure it should exist?
4.2 That is impossible if you have localized source and settings. You are asking the install to be both, yet you also say it cant be. It's either both or neither.
5.1 That depends on the source.
5.2 That maybe because of your localized custom source.
6. Also works here.

#344
WKjun

WKjun
  • Member
  • 3 posts
Thanks TranceEnergy for your comments!

1. That's fine if it is wanted to have Netware support fully or none. Actually NLITE is not sensitive enough for shared files, as this could only be a deleted CAT file.
2. It depends on the resolution? I've tried 800x600 and 1024x768. Cannot imagine what could be a limiting factor, except it only works with integrated display drivers, which I havn't done. (however this is not described in NLITE)
3. If you mean it like I understand it, it should be possible to set up custom settings without an adapter added. Well, pre-installing the IPX protocol didn't work and I had the proper NIC driver from Intel integrated and recognized by XP.
4.1 Yes it is there in the original :sneaky:. For better understanding, there is no special Austrian version. Only a German version, but with the possibilty to set certain localization options to "Österreich" aka "Austria" and "Deutsch (Österreich)" aka "German (Austria)". It is imaginable that it has been abandoned because of the so called Umlaute "Ö", "Ü", "Ä", which may alternatively be spelled as "OE", "UE" and "AE".
4.2 Sorry, bad English of mine. My goal is to setup all localization settings to "Austria". After doing so I have 2 profiles instead of 1 (Austria AND Germany). If I, alternatively, set it up for "Germany" I have Germany AND USA installed. See screenshots for further details.
5.1 Look for "DisablePagingExecutive" on this site for example:
http://home.comcast....cd/XPMyths.html
I didn't find anything wrong so far on this site. And for myself I didn't find any difference in the used memory and performance.
5.2 My source isn't custom at all, the standard German version.
6. Same as 5.2, does not work on German version.

Comment on the German translation: Quiet good but lots of wrong or untranslated words/terms. Do you need some help here?

Especially for 5.2 and 6. I cannot see why XP should have differences between the two languages, registry wise. Fact is that NLITE supports the German version, as many others. And as a matter of fact there are many incorrect translations in it, as I wrote. What can I do to help you out?
And for the session.ini I can also not see why the same options are not compatible and correctly set in NLITE after changing the language profile at the beginning. I think it would be pretty easy to save the settings compatible for all languages.

Attached Files

  • Attached File  D_E.PNG   37.21KB   6 downloads
  • Attached File  A_D.PNG   37.42KB   7 downloads


#345
TranceEnergy

TranceEnergy

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 963 posts
I think you should have started a new thread instead of hijacking this sticky thread. As far as registry myths go, a lot of that information on that page you linked to, is actually out dated.
Also things are relative, on a slow enough computer having registry size of 10mb vs 60mb is going to make quite an impact on shutdown, startup , logins etc and many other things.
Some of the xp myths there are as they say, but understand that the page is written in a way so it is perceived as popular and or logical.


#5.1 :
DisablePagingExecutive Disable Paging Executive Negative Low Memory Systems, Neutral or Partial High Memory Systems

[HKLM\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\Memory Management] "DisablePagingExecutive"

Myth - "Setting DisablePagingExecutive to 1 improves performance by preventing the kernel from paging to disk."

''Reality - "DisablePagingExecutive applies only to ntoskrnl.exe. It does not apply to win32k.sys (much larger than ntoskrnl.exe!),''

- This is actually a false reality. And it is dependent on the windows source. On my system the ntoskrnl.exe IS larger then win32k.sys. Not only that, the impact of what kernel, for heaven sake, naturally makes a larger impact then most if not everything else.

'''the pageable portions of other drivers, the paged pool and of course the file system cache. ''' By the nature of what the kernel IS, this is also false.

''All of which live in kernel address space and are paged to disk. On low memory systems this can force application code to be needlessly paged and reduce performance. ''
- Read where it says low memory systems. Then take into account what ddr2 memory costs nowadays. As always, things are relative.

''If you have more than enough RAM for your workload, yes, this won't hurt, but then again, if you have more than enough RAM for your workload, the system isn't paging very much of that stuff anyway. This setting is useful when debugging drivers and generally recommended for use only on servers running a limited well-known set of applications." - Source - Source 2 - Source 3''

- My point exactly. I will decide if i want paging to disk or not when i got the memory enough anyway. Why tire out my harddrive? Screw that.


On your #2, well probably it is dependent on whatever default VGA driver you got running. This isnt my area tho, but i would assume thats a logical guess.
on #3 For such things, with network settings, personally i have found it makes a difference whatever network settings are enabled, and if things are running in unattended mode, and of what kind of unattended (hide pages, fully automated or whatever). Not that i can explain why or the correct way. Perhaps unattended.msfn got more info.

on #4.1 and #4.2 I really am not in a position to help with this since i dont a) read german , and B) got a german windows cd like you do to try and troubleshoot the issues.

I think i have already answeared the rest.

#346
WKjun

WKjun
  • Member
  • 3 posts
Hi there, sorry for "hijacking" THE 1.4.9.1 thread, I thought nothing more appropriate than posting the bugs here in the most important thread of the latest release. And for the tweaks, I didn't want to start an in-depth discussion anyway.

Remember I am new, I don't know who of you(?) has written Nlite. I came from the German Nlite forum, where a user linked me here to post my troubles. I take the risk that you find me rude, what is not my intention, but I feel a bit pushed off here. Do you rate my comments as offense? Sorry for that. But on the other hand, you seem not to be responsible for the programming of Nlite and the tenor here is that nothing is to be done with the German version of Nlite as if no one has ever done it. Who has done the translations? And I really would like to offer my help for future improvements, at least for the German part.

Edited by WKjun, 20 October 2008 - 04:04 PM.


#347
TranceEnergy

TranceEnergy

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 963 posts
No not at all. Im just saying it would perhaps be more appropiate that it was in its own topic. You can always pm nuhi if you like, which would be recommended if you want to translate nlite.
If you didnt want to start an discussion on it, then it's kind of not logical you posted these posts in the first place.

#348
Bruce Darby

Bruce Darby

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts

Bruce : Yes. If that didnt work, there would be dozens of replies that it doesnt work. You have configured something wrong.


Results 1 - 10 of about 1,510 from www.msfn.org/board for Cannot create user account

Not attempting to be combative TranceEnergy, but 1,510 posts on the same subject that I posted about seems a bit more than dozens. :whistle::) And not one of the threads that I've read through, and I have searched and devoured about 100-150 posts on this subject so far, gives any indication that this feature of the software works as it is supposed to and the users have taken another track to perform the task that NLite is supposed to handle natively. I love the convenience that NLite has offered, but I think there is a bug. If there is not, then the user guide needs to be a bit more clear on what controls or settings might gum up the works in this area.

#349
TranceEnergy

TranceEnergy

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 963 posts
You have configured something wrong. Recent replies, not historically speaking.

#350
Nick_White

Nick_White

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 137 posts
I have a small request:

If I remove the "Windows Sounds" component, there is a small cosmetic problem: the default selected sound scheme in Windows still contains references to missing files. This could be fixed by nLite by automatically selecting the "No sounds" scheme - since all sounds were removed.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN