Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

HFSLIP64 v1.1.5 released

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
193 replies to this topic

#51
Tomcat76

Tomcat76

    MSFN Junkie

  • Developer
  • 3,174 posts
WMP11 should be supported now for XP.

IE7 appears to work for Server 2003 as well. Weird... :)

I have no plans for SNMx64 for the moment.
Posted Image
Real-time support (Yahoo Messenger): hfslip_tc76
Update lists for HFSLIP finals: Win2K SP4 (2008-04-10), WinXP SP3 (2008-06-11) and Win2K3 SP2 (2008-05-25).

Inexperience Patcher 0.7.1 * NoSoftwarePatents.com * My computer


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#52
XibaD

XibaD

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 141 posts
Maybe stupid quiestion... but are updates in another languages supported as well? (like spanish ones... for example). With english files, all works perfectly.

And, you know if XPIZE would be supported in the future? Would be MUI too?

Thanks for this script Tomcat76

Edited by XibaD, 06 April 2008 - 07:06 AM.


#53
Tomcat76

Tomcat76

    MSFN Junkie

  • Developer
  • 3,174 posts
Languages at this point are a bit of a mystery to me. Windows XP x64 and Server 2003 x64 only exist in English and Japanese. Service Pack 2 is supposed to "add support" for 9 other languages, but only for Server 2003 and I haven't figured out yet how that works. The only thing MS have to say on it is this:

"Service Pack 2 contains 9 new localized language support for Windows Server 2003 x64 SKUs. Without SP2, Windows Server 2003 only supports English and Japanese. New languages for Windows Server 2003 x64 include German, French, Korean, Chinese Traditional, Chinese Simplified, Spanish, Italian, Russian and, Portuguese (Brazilian). These language packs are not available for Windows XP Professional x64 Edition which will continue to be supported in only English and Japanese."

That's all the relevant information I could find.

You could try setting LCIDD=3082 (for Spanish) in HFANSWER.INI but the outcome of that is unverified.

I have no plans for XPIZE, and MUI isn't planned for now (at least not for 1.0, which is scheduled for Tuesday or Wednesday).
Posted Image
Real-time support (Yahoo Messenger): hfslip_tc76
Update lists for HFSLIP finals: Win2K SP4 (2008-04-10), WinXP SP3 (2008-06-11) and Win2K3 SP2 (2008-05-25).

Inexperience Patcher 0.7.1 * NoSoftwarePatents.com * My computer

#54
XibaD

XibaD

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 141 posts
Well I tried all spanish versions of the update list of the first post (at least the updates which have spanish version) and I get multiple errors. One in text mode (wpdshxr.dll file missing...) and user32.dll registering errors in graphic installation.

XP 64 version I have is english one, but with MUI you can translate to another language. And then the downloaded updates are in your languages. I think I'm staying with english version for now, or at least try to slipstream IE7 in my language, to see if it works...

Thanks Tomcat76

EDIT

Ok, with IE7 spanish (& updates) and all the remaininig updates in english, the same wpdshxr.dll error appears. It seems that at this point the script doesn't handle multilanguage IE7 files quite well. Am I wrong?

EDIT2

The result is that if IE7 is in another language different than english, is NOT slipstreamed.

Edited by XibaD, 06 April 2008 - 02:33 PM.


#55
sabregreen

sabregreen

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 94 posts
I'm trying to find out my problem. I slipstreamed IE7, the new TZ update, and WMP11 with the microsoft update cabs. I received errors. I don't know if its because I have IE7 with the microsoft update cabs or the new TZ update but im testing.

#56
sabregreen

sabregreen

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 94 posts
I'm getting a folder in Program Files(x86) called Windows Media Player[strings] and it has on compressed file inside. Seems out of place to me.

#57
Tomcat76

Tomcat76

    MSFN Junkie

  • Developer
  • 3,174 posts

Well I tried all spanish versions of the update list of the first post (at least the updates which have spanish version) and I get multiple errors. One in text mode (wpdshxr.dll file missing...) and user32.dll registering errors in graphic installation.

wpdshxr.dll is a temporary name for wpdshextres.dll from WMP11 but there is only an English and a Japanese version of the file inside the WMP11 package. You get the copy error because HFSLIP64 hardcodes an entry for it in TXTSETUP.SIF and DOSNET.INF. So you can't slipstream WMP11 with the enforced LCIDD setting for the moment.

user32.dll comes with WindowsServer2003.WindowsXP-KB925902-x64-xxx.exe. See if removing this update helps.

I'm trying to find out my problem. I slipstreamed IE7, the new TZ update, and WMP11 with the microsoft update cabs. I received errors. I don't know if its because I have IE7 with the microsoft update cabs or the new TZ update but im testing.

That's odd... You said it was fine before. What errors are you receiving?

I'm getting a folder in Program Files(x86) called Windows Media Player[strings] and it has on compressed file inside. Seems out of place to me.

As far as I know, this is correct. A search on the Internet reveils that "Windows Media Player[strings]" is an existing subfolder of the 32-bit Program Files folder. BTW... npds.zip is a Netscape 4 Java plugin that's used for scripted interaction with Windows Media Player 6.4 (LiveConnect).
Posted Image
Real-time support (Yahoo Messenger): hfslip_tc76
Update lists for HFSLIP finals: Win2K SP4 (2008-04-10), WinXP SP3 (2008-06-11) and Win2K3 SP2 (2008-05-25).

Inexperience Patcher 0.7.1 * NoSoftwarePatents.com * My computer

#58
sabregreen

sabregreen

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 94 posts
Here is the setuplog.log file from the windows directory. I received no errors in setuperr.log on this run using everything, WMP11, Flash and TZ update plugins, rc3, IE7, and Microsoft Update.

Attached Files


Edited by sabregreen, 06 April 2008 - 10:54 PM.


#59
Tomcat76

Tomcat76

    MSFN Junkie

  • Developer
  • 3,174 posts
So this run was fine? I'm confused now...
Posted Image
Real-time support (Yahoo Messenger): hfslip_tc76
Update lists for HFSLIP finals: Win2K SP4 (2008-04-10), WinXP SP3 (2008-06-11) and Win2K3 SP2 (2008-05-25).

Inexperience Patcher 0.7.1 * NoSoftwarePatents.com * My computer

#60
sabregreen

sabregreen

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 94 posts
Ya sorry. Ive never looked at setuplog until this run. It says at the top failed loading a few things but I'm guessing they don't affect anything or something like that. The setuperr.log had nothing in it, so thats what i meant by the run succeeded. Sorry about that.

#61
Tomcat76

Tomcat76

    MSFN Junkie

  • Developer
  • 3,174 posts
A couple of notes on IE8....

1) Because IE8 is still in beta, its handling by HFSLIP64 may change when a newer version of IE8 is released

2) IE8 is slow to start the first time

3) If you want to check the Windows installation with Microsoft Update, click the "Emulate IE7" button on IE8's tab bar, click OK, close all Internet Explorer windows and then go to Microsoft Update (in whichever way you prefer). This is necessary because Microsoft Update doesn't support IE8.... Too standards-compliant, maybe? :P

4) Don't slipstream IE8 beta 1 for anything else than testing purposes; future betas, release candidates and finals of IE8 may not be able to correctly update a source that has a previous version of IE8 installed

Edited by Tomcat76, 18 April 2008 - 10:25 AM.

Posted Image
Real-time support (Yahoo Messenger): hfslip_tc76
Update lists for HFSLIP finals: Win2K SP4 (2008-04-10), WinXP SP3 (2008-06-11) and Win2K3 SP2 (2008-05-25).

Inexperience Patcher 0.7.1 * NoSoftwarePatents.com * My computer

#62
the_guy

the_guy

    Creator of the Windows ME Service Pack

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 914 posts
  • OS:ME
  • Country: Country Flag
I am planning on posting an update list for x64 installs based on my current lists.

If also supported, and ia64 version might also appear.

Is this for SP1 and SP2 or just SP2?

the_guy
Creator of the Windows ME Service Pack.

#63
Tomcat76

Tomcat76

    MSFN Junkie

  • Developer
  • 3,174 posts
Server 2003 ia64 is theoretically supported but it hasn't been tested yet.

If no SP*.cat file is found, HFSLIP64 assumes the source is at SP1 (which is OK for x64). However, SP1 has never been tested either so if any extra hard-coding needs to be done for that (eg, if new binaries need to be copied into non-standard locations) then it's not supported. It's up to you, but I wouldn't bother creating a list for SP1 (certainly not now).
Posted Image
Real-time support (Yahoo Messenger): hfslip_tc76
Update lists for HFSLIP finals: Win2K SP4 (2008-04-10), WinXP SP3 (2008-06-11) and Win2K3 SP2 (2008-05-25).

Inexperience Patcher 0.7.1 * NoSoftwarePatents.com * My computer

#64
7yler

7yler

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 26 posts
Hi Tomcat76,

Firstly, Great work. :thumbup Good to see you supporting 64 bit as well. Tested on XP and 2003s/2003e, all integrates fine with WU only asking for KB943729 GPO Extensions.

I've noticed a minor bug, on the 2003 Server Builds that 3 Administrative Tools shortcuts are not created. This happens with both the 64bit and 32bit builds.

C:\Documents and Settings\All Users\Start Menu\Programs\Administrative Tools

Remote Desktops.lnk (tsmmc.msc /s)
Terminal Services Configuration.lnk (tscc.msc /s)
Terminal Services Manager.lnk (tsadmin.exe)

You can still run the apps from Start|Run just the shortcuts are gone.

Cheers
7yler

#65
7yler

7yler

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 26 posts
Some interesting 64bit info ...

I've been using WPI to install apps, and using IF "%PROCESSOR_ARCHITECTURE%"=="AMD64" to identify 64bit Windows, now I've been pulling my hair our wondering why its not working.

During installation certain variables are not defined correctly, they change after first logon.

During Installation:

PROCESSOR_ARCHITECTURE=x86
PROCESSOR_ARCHITEW6432=AMD64
ProgramFiles=C:\Program Files (x86)
ProgramFiles(x86)=C:\Program Files (x86)
ProgramW6432=C:\Program Files (Think it was this - Can't remember)

After Installation (First Logon):

PROCESSOR_ARCHITECTURE=AMD64
PROCESSOR_ARCHITEW6432= (Does not exist)
ProgramFiles=C:\Program Files
ProgramFiles(x86)=C:\Program Files (x86)
ProgramW6432= (Does not exist)

This is a real pain, least I know now and can use:

IF DEFINED ProgramFiles(x86) echo hello AMD64

Hope this info is of interest, its not caused by HFSLIP, its good old Microsoft.

7yler

#66
Tomcat76

Tomcat76

    MSFN Junkie

  • Developer
  • 3,174 posts

Tested on XP and 2003s/2003e, all integrates fine with WU only asking for KB943729 GPO Extensions.

You need to use the latest version; the one offered on the Download Center is a month older than the one Windows Update wants you to have. There is a direct link to the newer version on the hotfix list for XP SP2 x64.

I've noticed a minor bug, on the 2003 Server Builds that 3 Administrative Tools shortcuts are not created. This happens with both the 64bit and 32bit builds.

This is caused by the new mstsc.exe binary. HFSLIP64 version 1.1.1 works around this by having Windows setup replace the old file at T-13. This is also done for XP in case there are more problems with the new file that are not as apparent.

Version 1.1.1 also relocates the Remote Desktop Connection shortcut to the Accessories group. This is done in the same way as when you install KB925876-v2 manually, using tscupdatecustom.dll, to make it language-independent. This means it's safe for Japanese sources as well. This file is slipstreamed as TSCUPD.DLL and is placed in the temporary %WINDIR%\HFSLIP folder during Windows setup so you won't have it on your system when setup has finished.
Posted Image
Real-time support (Yahoo Messenger): hfslip_tc76
Update lists for HFSLIP finals: Win2K SP4 (2008-04-10), WinXP SP3 (2008-06-11) and Win2K3 SP2 (2008-05-25).

Inexperience Patcher 0.7.1 * NoSoftwarePatents.com * My computer

#67
7yler

7yler

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 26 posts
Nice, HFSLIP64 1.1.1 works great all shortcuts are created.

HFSLIP 1.7.5 for x32 has the same problem when you have some time. :rolleyes:

You need to use the latest version; the one offered on the Download Center is a month older than the one Windows Update wants you to have. There is a direct link to the newer version on the hotfix list for XP SP2 x64.

I checked both the hotfix list and http://hfslip.org/64/ and I can't see the link to KB943729 GPO Extensions, if you can post the link that would be great.

Thanks again for the quick script update.

#68
Tomcat76

Tomcat76

    MSFN Junkie

  • Developer
  • 3,174 posts
Oops... I thought I had it.

Both XP x64 lists should have the link now.
Posted Image
Real-time support (Yahoo Messenger): hfslip_tc76
Update lists for HFSLIP finals: Win2K SP4 (2008-04-10), WinXP SP3 (2008-06-11) and Win2K3 SP2 (2008-05-25).

Inexperience Patcher 0.7.1 * NoSoftwarePatents.com * My computer

#69
jvidal

jvidal

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 717 posts
Just a little question, guys. HFSLIP64 HAS to be run on an x64 platform, right?

Edited by jvidal, 25 April 2008 - 11:46 AM.


#70
7yler

7yler

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 26 posts
HFSLIP64 can be run on any platform, I'm using XP x32 to integrate Hotfixes in x64 OS's.

Of course the x64 OS will only install on a x64 CPU.

#71
jvidal

jvidal

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 717 posts
Running HFSLIP64 on a 32-bit platfrom doesn't cause any problems?
I once tried integrating HFs and IE7+WMP11 with nlite and it didn't work, I HAD to run it on windows x64.

#72
7yler

7yler

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 26 posts

Running HFSLIP64 on a 32-bit platfrom doesn't cause any problems?


No problems, it works great.

I once tried integrating HFs and IE7+WMP11 with nlite and it didn't work, I HAD to run it on windows x64.


I've tryed integrating HF and IE7+WMP11 with nlite in the past with no problems. Also tryed RyanVM 64bit packs with RVMi, also no issues.

I prefer HFSLIP/HFSLIP64 as i find them to be more flexible, and have more control over what I want to do.

I've run all these tool on my main box, which is XP 32bit.

Hope this helps.

#73
Tomcat76

Tomcat76

    MSFN Junkie

  • Developer
  • 3,174 posts
All testing on my end was performed on Windows 2000... :)
Posted Image
Real-time support (Yahoo Messenger): hfslip_tc76
Update lists for HFSLIP finals: Win2K SP4 (2008-04-10), WinXP SP3 (2008-06-11) and Win2K3 SP2 (2008-05-25).

Inexperience Patcher 0.7.1 * NoSoftwarePatents.com * My computer

#74
jvidal

jvidal

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 717 posts
Well, that's very good news!

c ya guys!

#75
redxii

redxii

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 286 posts

I'm getting a folder in Program Files(x86) called Windows Media Player[strings] and it has on compressed file inside. Seems out of place to me.

As far as I know, this is correct. A search on the Internet reveils that "Windows Media Player[strings]" is an existing subfolder of the 32-bit Program Files folder. BTW... npds.zip is a Netscape 4 Java plugin that's used for scripted interaction with Windows Media Player 6.4 (LiveConnect).

I was looking on Google if anyone else had this "problem".

Part of mplayer2.inf looks like this by default:

[DestinationDirs]
wWMPCopy.Core.uni=16426,Windows Media Player
wWMPDelete.URLs=16426,Windows Media Player
wWMPCopy.Plugin=16426,Windows Media Player[Strings]


KEY_DXMEDIA="Software\Microsoft\Multimedia\DirectXMedia"
KEY_NETSHOW = "Software\Microsoft\NetShow\Player"
KEY_FILETYPEDB = "Software\Microsoft\Multimedia\MPlayer2"
KEY_WMP = "Software\Microsoft\MediaPlayer"
KEY_ACTIVESETUP = "Software\Microsoft\Active Setup\Installed Components"
DSHOW_GUID = "{22d6f312-b0f6-11d0-94ab-0080c74c7e95}"


It should be:

[DestinationDirs]
wWMPCopy.Core.uni=16426,Windows Media Player
wWMPDelete.URLs=16426,Windows Media Player
wWMPCopy.Plugin=16426,Windows Media Player


[Strings]

KEY_DXMEDIA="Software\Microsoft\Multimedia\DirectXMedia"
KEY_NETSHOW = "Software\Microsoft\NetShow\Player"
KEY_FILETYPEDB = "Software\Microsoft\Multimedia\MPlayer2"
KEY_WMP = "Software\Microsoft\MediaPlayer"
KEY_ACTIVESETUP = "Software\Microsoft\Active Setup\Installed Components"
DSHOW_GUID = "{22d6f312-b0f6-11d0-94ab-0080c74c7e95}"

Because the inf is supposed to have a [Strings] section.

I did a search on Google for "Windows Media Player[strings]" and this thread, a spyware forum thread, and one of those pages that puts random text related to nothing you were searching for, were the only results. I fixed it myself and placed a new mplayer2.inf on my XP x64 CD (happens in Server and XP x64).

Edited by redxii, 03 May 2008 - 10:53 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN