Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

HFSLIP64 v1.1.5 released

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
193 replies to this topic

#151
jvidal

jvidal

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 719 posts
  • Joined 14-November 05
Ok.
I'm very busy right now, but as son as I have some free time, i'll test it.

Wait a minute? MRT.ex_ or MRT.EXE????
I put MRT.EXE in HF, I dind't rename or compress it...
nevermind, it was already compressed.

thx!

PD: I did the mod, now I'm installing (got a few minutes)

Edited by jvidal, 17 November 2009 - 02:41 PM.



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#152
jvidal

jvidal

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 719 posts
  • Joined 14-November 05
Alright!!!!
we're 99.99% there. MU was totally happy, no updates needed.
The only issue is triedit.dll. Everything else is fine!
Nice work, Tommy!!!!!!

#153
tommyp

tommyp

    MSFN Addict

  • Developer
  • 1,680 posts
  • Joined 09-January 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
One last question, and pardon if I have I asked this before. Does triedit.dl_ exist anywhere in the sourcess directory? At one point I thought you said it did and another time I thought you said it didn't.
Posted Image

#154
jvidal

jvidal

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 719 posts
  • Joined 14-November 05
Let me remind you.
Triedit.dl_ exists in source\AMD64 but NOT in sourcess\AMD64.
there is wtriedit.dl_ in sourcess\I386

#155
tommyp

tommyp

    MSFN Addict

  • Developer
  • 1,680 posts
  • Joined 09-January 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
I was able to borrow an x64 disk and tested hfslip64 with it but didn't install it. I have triedit.dl_ in sourcess\amd64 at the end. Very strange. True I do not have all the hotfixes you list, but the file is there. I'm not sure how to address the copy issue you are having. Maybe as a workaround, and as a rather poor bandaid, create a folder called replace\amd64 and put a cabbed version of triedit.dl_ there. Or maybe perhaps your HFSLIP64_POST_DelObsBin.cmd in hftools is trying to delete it for you? I don't know dude. In any event, please double check that HFSLIP64_POST_DelObsBin.cmd file, or maybe delete it all together. If things work nicely, your WU should be satisfied. Hope she works....
Posted Image

#156
jvidal

jvidal

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 719 posts
  • Joined 14-November 05
that's weird, maybe I have an obsolete ver. of HFSLIP64_POST_DelObsBin.cmd.
Read what I wrote a few posts back. After re-compressing driver.cab, the script deletes a bunch of files it renders "obsolete binaries" (for some reason), one of them being "triedit.dl*", that is triedit.dll AND triedit.dl_...
I'll check the file and try your latest beta.
thanx again!

Edit: I checked and in fact, it deletes all instances of triedit.*. I edited and removed references to triedit, let's se what happens.

I attached it for you to analyze it.
Edit2: Should I put mrt.exe in HF or is hfslip able to decompress it from kb890830?
BTW,the attached files is the unmodded ver.

Attached Files


Edited by jvidal, 18 November 2009 - 07:00 PM.


#157
tommyp

tommyp

    MSFN Addict

  • Developer
  • 1,680 posts
  • Joined 09-January 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Yes, you're right. Right after the driver cab generation the script process the post-cmd files. It just so happens that your post-cmd file deletes triedit and a mess of other files too. Remove that cmd file and you'll be fine. A couple of extra files in the sourcess won't kill you.

Oh, you need mrt in HF. Nothing else needs to be done. HFSLIP can't decompress it, unless you can find a switch for it.
Posted Image

#158
jvidal

jvidal

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 719 posts
  • Joined 14-November 05
Wow! finally! with the modded delobs...blablabla.cmd there was no triedit error!
On the other hand, MU still wanted MRT (I removed mrt.exe from HF. It seems hfslip can not handle 890830 and MRT.exe needs to be manually uncompressed and placed in HF)

#159
jvidal

jvidal

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 719 posts
  • Joined 14-November 05
I tried with expand.exe, extrac32.exe, but couldn't find a suitable switch/command line. of course, running hfslip on an x64 os would make the /x switch useful.
I decompress it with winrar, it's just a regular self-extracting cab archive. the problem is that it is a 64-bit binary (unlike all the other hotfixes, weird).

Alright, I finally got it: this command does the trick:

7z x windows-kb890830-x64-v3.1.exe mrt.exe (and if you want it quiet, add >nul at the end). you can direct the outpur to another folder using the "-o{folder}"
switch.
(tested it, works)

this is just an example, you might wanna send it to another folder and recompress it to mrt.ex_ using makecab.

You need to put 7z.exe in hftools (if you don't have it already in %programfiles%\7-zip, in that case, you don't need to do anything).

the script could check for the presence of 7z.exe, if it's present, then use it to extract mrt.exe. if it's not present, then look directly for mrt.exe and use it.
If none of those conditions apply, then just skip MRT slipstreaming. how'bout that?

there's nothing strange about this, since hfslip already relies on external utilities to perform certain actions.

Edited by jvidal, 18 November 2009 - 08:41 PM.


#160
jvidal

jvidal

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 719 posts
  • Joined 14-November 05
what about this?

7z x -owork\mrt windows-kb890830-x64-v3.1.exe mrt.exe
cd work\mrt
makecab mrt.exe mrt.ex_
move mrt.ex_ sourcess\AMD64

and then add the line to txtsetup.sif

(probably needs some tweaking, but you get the idea)

#161
tommyp

tommyp

    MSFN Addict

  • Developer
  • 1,680 posts
  • Joined 09-January 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
It's probably easiest to just place mrt.exe into the HF folder.

Personally I do not think that MRT does anything to the system other than take up filespace. The OS does not call MRT or run MRT. The only thing MRT.exe is used for is to keep WU happy. This is why I classify it as a worthless junk update. If the same issue was for a critical update, then updating the script would be needed. For now though, I think all is fine. The intent of slipstreaming critical hotfixes is done.

I think we should be good to go at this point.
Posted Image

#162
jvidal

jvidal

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 719 posts
  • Joined 14-November 05
I know. You're right, it's just to keep MU quiet.

I still have to test the very latest CD I slipstreamed, but I think everything should be fine.

Again, I can't thank you enough.
(maybe now that we made such a good team, we could look into IE8 support for win2k3 in regular hfslip :-) )

bye!

#163
tommyp

tommyp

    MSFN Addict

  • Developer
  • 1,680 posts
  • Joined 09-January 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
The code for the old hfslip is quite larger, so I would expect more trouble. So far, there aren't many requests for ie8 in 2k3 server. As FDV would say - a server OS should be just that, a server. Why should it have a unsercure browswer on it? Let it rest for a bit, I have some real life tasks to take care of besides this.

LMK if all installs fine on a real machine. I'll post a new final.
Posted Image

#164
jvidal

jvidal

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 719 posts
  • Joined 14-November 05
thx, tommy, I'll LYK

#165
hfuria

hfuria
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 01-April 08
The link provided for hfslip64-v1.1.4.zip is broken! It leads to:

That page was not found.

If you feel this is an error on our part, please leave a message on the HFSLIP support forum; let us know which operating system and browser you are using as well as information about any proxy or firewall software you are running.

The error has been reported with the following data:

IP: ***.***.***.***
Host: ********.******.com.br
Request: /64/files/stable/hfslip64-v1.1.4.zip
Referrer: http://hfslip.org/64..._downloads.html
Agent: Mozilla/4.0 (compatible; MSIE 8.0; Windows NT 5.2; WOW64; Trident/4.0; .NET CLR 2.0.50727; .NET CLR 3.0.4506.2152; .NET CLR 3.5.30729; FDM; OfficeLiveConnector.1.3; OfficeLivePatch.0.0)
Date: Fri Nov 20 2009 5:53:24 pm EST

Maybe you would like to go back or go home?

Please update the page http://hfslip.org/64..._downloads.html to include the correct link.
It would be useful if the page could provide a direct link!

Thanks!

Edited by hfuria, 20 November 2009 - 05:03 PM.


#166
jvidal

jvidal

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 719 posts
  • Joined 14-November 05
Done!
Perfect. I burned the iso to a CD and installed on a real machine (X2 4600+, 3.5GB RAM ) and everything went fine. No errors during setup, no updates wanted by MU/WU.

nicely done, tommy.
Again, a zillion thanks for your good work and your patience!

PD: Tommy, you should update the first post to inform everyone that MRT.exe has to be manually extracted and then placed in HF.
PD2: I made an updated swflash 10 package for HFSLIP64. I can send it to you for uploading @hfslip.org

PD3: Link to hfslip64 1.1.4 doesn't work.
PD4: Link to HFSLIP64_POST_DelObsBin_v4.zip still points to v3.

bye!

One last thing, is it possible to slipstream MSI4.5?

Edited by jvidal, 20 November 2009 - 08:33 PM.


#167
jvidal

jvidal

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 719 posts
  • Joined 14-November 05
Tommy, link for hflsip64 1.1.4 is still broken. As well as the link for the updated HFSLIP64_POST_DelObsBin_v4.zip
(none of them exist).

On the other hand, the link for the swflash 10 package works fine.

#168
jvidal

jvidal

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 719 posts
  • Joined 14-November 05
link for hfslip 1.1.4 is still broken!

The rest are working now, though.

#169
meowing

meowing

    XP64 is a joy forever

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 135 posts
  • Joined 24-July 08
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag
What are the advantages of HFSLIP x64 over nLite ?

#170
jvidal

jvidal

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 719 posts
  • Joined 14-November 05
Tommy, is MSI 4.5 supported by hfslip64?

#171
Martin H

Martin H

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 802 posts
  • Joined 24-November 06
  • OS:none specified

What are the advantages of HFSLIP x64 over nLite ?

The following comparisson goes for both HFSLIP/HFSLIP64 VS. nLite...

  • More updates supported for direct integration(e.g. nLite normally don't support updates with new binaries added, WMP updates for <WMP11 versions are wrongly slipped, DX updates not supported etc.)
  • IE8 slipstreaming.
  • WMP11 slipstreaming.
  • DirectX slipstreaming.
  • WUA slipstreaming.
  • Can be run unattended(nLite cannot when adding new updates to slipstream).
  • No NET dependency. (ligh framework is still 23 megs extra and writes to '%windir%\system32' and to a msft system reg-key).
  • Open-source.
etc. etc. :)

/* Moved to Linux - Thanks for a nice stay all! */
Posted Image


#172
jvidal

jvidal

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 719 posts
  • Joined 14-November 05
Can someone pick up where tommyp left off?
I'd hate to see this project dead...

#173
tommyp

tommyp

    MSFN Addict

  • Developer
  • 1,680 posts
  • Joined 09-January 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Tommy, is MSI 4.5 supported by hfslip64?

I don't think so. I don't plan on adding it either. HFSLIP64 is no longer maintained and I have not a single interest in it.

Edited by tommyp, 24 February 2010 - 04:33 PM.

Posted Image

#174
knightrider1956

knightrider1956
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 25-February 10
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag


Tommy, is MSI 4.5 supported by hfslip64?

I don't think so. I don't plan on adding it either. HFSLIP64 is no longer maintained and I have not a single interest in it.



Hi. I was wondering. I am trying to make a slipstream xp pro 64 with SATA drivers for my new build, so I can format a sata 150 gig as my system drive. I dont have a floppy at all so cant load them that way. will HFSLIP64 allow me to add the drivers to the mix so that I can do this ? Its a brand new build using only SATA drives and a GIGABYTE mobo, and so far I havent been able to figure out how to do the slip stream. My copy of 64 dosent have the TXTSETUP.SIF that a Guy on MaximumPC stated I had to modify in my i386 file in my XP. I looked and never found it. I found it in my older XP PRO SP2 32bit folder but was unsure if I could swap it to the 64bit with out disaster. Help please ?

#175
tommyp

tommyp

    MSFN Addict

  • Developer
  • 1,680 posts
  • Joined 09-January 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Your copy does not have txtsetup.sif? Txtsetup.sif is an essential file for setting up windows. It's also an essential file that hfslip modifies to add new files for install. If you don't have txtsetup.sif, then hfslip won't work for you either.
Posted Image




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users