Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

Opera 9.xx in Windows 98

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
65 replies to this topic

#1
Sfor

Sfor

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 555 posts
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag
I found Opera to be a very good internet browser. Still, there is a problem related with opening links using DDE with both Opera 9.2x and the newest 9.5x betas.

While trying to open Opera through running .URL file or clicking on an Internet link in a third party application, Opera displays an error message saying "it can not locate the file or it's component" (translation from Polish), then the browser is starting without the clicked link oppened.

If the Opera is running, the same action works as it should to.

I found, the problem can be corrected through removing DDE from the file associations created by Opera:
REGEDIT4

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\http\shell\open\command]
@="\"C:\\PROGRAM FILES\\OPERA\\OPERA.EXE\" \"%1\""

[-HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\http\shell\open\ddeexec]

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\https\shell\open\command]
@="\"C:\\PROGRAM FILES\\OPERA\\OPERA.EXE\" \"%1\""

[-HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\https\shell\open\ddeexec]

Still, the Opera will renew the bad registry settings every time it is selected as the default browser.

Edited by Sfor, 14 May 2008 - 10:28 AM.



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
Th3_uN1Qu3

Th3_uN1Qu3

    Digital sinner

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 386 posts
Works fine for me in WinME, didn't get any of that. But please stay away from the 9.5 betas, they're SLOW.
What's the point of security features if we have to disable them for things to work right?

p35-ds3 / e6550 @ 3.5ghz 500fsb scythe mugen / 8gb pqi ddr2 800 @ 1000 / sapphire hd3870 / 320gb wd / x64 / nokia 920c 19"
toshi portege 4010 / p3 tualatin @ 933mhz / 512mb pc133 sdram / 16mb cyberblade / wifi / irda / sd / 30gb ibm / me / 12.1" tft
6bxds / 2x p3 @ 700mhz / 1gb cl2 sdram / sapphire 9800 pro 256mb / awe64 isa / sil3112a pci + 320gb wd / xp / thomson 24" tv

#3
Mijzelf

Mijzelf

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 462 posts
Maybe you could report this to Opera? http://www.opera.com/support/bugs.

#4
Sfor

Sfor

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 555 posts
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag
It would be good to confirm the problem first, I believe. I hope the problem is not Windows language version related.

#5
awergh

awergh

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,059 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
the betas being slow is interesting cause i agree beta 1 is slower then 9.27 but after beta 1 and before beta 2 those snapshots were much faster but then beta 2 seemed about slow again maybe you should look for the lastest snapshot

#6
Sfor

Sfor

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 555 posts
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag
I've tested the bug with the newest Opera 9.5 beta build 10024.

I found the bug still present, so I sent a bug report.

#7
Dave-H

Dave-H

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 769 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Works OK for me.
My registry entry is slightly different from that quoted, this may by significant, I don't know.

REGEDIT4


[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Opera.HTML\shell\open\command]
@="C:\\PROGRAM FILES\\OPERA\\OPERA.EXE \"%1\""

Dual boot Windows 98SE SP2.1a and Windows XP Professional SP3.
Dual 3.2GHz Xeons with 4GB RAM. ATI Radeon X850 Graphics 1920x1080 32 Bit Colour with Large Fonts.


#8
Sfor

Sfor

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 555 posts
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag
In my case the regisrty key you have posted is the same as yours:
REGEDIT4

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Opera.HTML\shell\open\command]
@="\"C:\\PROGRAM FILES\\OPERA\\OPERA.EXE\" \"%1\""

I found the problem to be depandant on a different registry keys:
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\http\shell\open\command
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\https\shell\open\command

So, you did compared wrong registry keys, I'm afraid.

#9
Dave-H

Dave-H

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 769 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Ah, OK.
My equivalent of those keys look like this -

 
REGEDIT4


[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\http\shell\open]

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\http\shell\open\command]
@="\"C:\\Program Files\\Opera\\Opera.exe\""

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\http\shell\open\ddeexec]
@="\"%1\""
"NoActivateHandler"=""

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\http\shell\open\ddeexec\Application]
@="Opera"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\http\shell\open\ddeexec\Topic]
@="WWW_OpenURL"


 
REGEDIT4


[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\https\shell\open]

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\https\shell\open\command]
@="\"C:\\Program Files\\Opera\\Opera.exe\""

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\https\shell\open\ddeexec]
@="\"%1\""
"NoActivateHandler"=""

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\https\shell\open\ddeexec\Application]
@="Opera"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\https\shell\open\ddeexec\Topic]
@="WWW_OpenURL"


It uses the DDE function, which yours doesn't seem to be doing.
:)

Dual boot Windows 98SE SP2.1a and Windows XP Professional SP3.
Dual 3.2GHz Xeons with 4GB RAM. ATI Radeon X850 Graphics 1920x1080 32 Bit Colour with Large Fonts.


#10
Sfor

Sfor

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 555 posts
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag
Another misunderstanding happened. My HTTP and HTTPS registry keys are exactly the same as yours. The registry file I've posted was made to remove the problem. So, it remowes the DDE related keys from the registy.

Another problem is, why you do not experience the same effects as I do. Could you explain your testing procedure?

As far as I understand the problem, links oppened through Explorer (system shell) are causing the problem. It's quite possible, other system shells or file managers are not affected.

#11
RJARRRPCGP

RJARRRPCGP

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,190 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Sounds like Windows 98 may be giving an error about a file, because of the DDE file associations.

Messed up registry updates done by Opera is possible.
Asus P5QL Pro, Core 2 Duo E4500, eVGA GeForce 9500 GT with XP Pro x64 Edition -> Works great with Asus P5QL Pro!

#12
Dave-H

Dave-H

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 769 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Sorry for the misunderstanding(s) Sfor!
:)
If when you click a web link Opera opens but doesn't display the page, it sounds like it's not recognising the "%1" bit of the command.
I have that happen sometimes, but it's usually (I think) because my installation of Opera (9.27 Build 8841) takes a long time to open up when running on Windows 98. It's much faster on Windows 2000 (dual boot).
It's almost as if the fact that Opera is taking so long to load is causing the command to be forgotten somehow!

How long does it take the Opera GUI to appear when you run it?
If it's longer than 5 seconds this could be the problem.
I found it was greatly improved after I emptied the Opera cache (Tools>Preference Settings>Advanced>History>Empty Now).
If that helps, try setting the cache size to no more that 50MB or the problem will quickly come back.
I queried this a lot on the Opera user forums, but never got a satisfactory answer.
:)

Edited by Dave-H, 03 June 2008 - 05:51 AM.

Dual boot Windows 98SE SP2.1a and Windows XP Professional SP3.
Dual 3.2GHz Xeons with 4GB RAM. ATI Radeon X850 Graphics 1920x1080 32 Bit Colour with Large Fonts.


#13
Sfor

Sfor

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 555 posts
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag
Please save the following data as a .REG file and import it to the registry:

REGEDIT4

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\http\shell\open\command]
@="\"C:\\PROGRAM FILES\\OPERA\\OPERA.EXE\" \"%1\""

[-HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\http\shell\open\ddeexec]

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\https\shell\open\command]
@="\"C:\\PROGRAM FILES\\OPERA\\OPERA.EXE\" \"%1\""

[-HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\https\shell\open\ddeexec]

It will switch off the DDE by removing the DDE registry entries, and the Opera should start with the proper link opened. According to my experiment results, the situation does not have anything to do with the speed of the Opera application.

#14
erpdude8

erpdude8

    MSFN Master

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,139 posts
You can try out the latest Opera 9.5x beta builds here:
http://my.opera.com/desktopteam/blog/

#15
Sfor

Sfor

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 555 posts
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag
I've tried the latest Opera 9.5 beta build 10048. The problem is still present there.

#16
Dave-H

Dave-H

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 769 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
I'm wondering Sfor, does your problem happen with .htm files as well as .html and .https files?
I ask because your registry entries don't show any data for .htm files.

I don't have an entry for .https files, but I do for .htm and .html files, and they are both of type "Opera.HTML"
The entry for that, which is generated by Opera of course is -

 
REGEDIT4


[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Opera.HTML]
@="HTML Document"
"EditFlags"=dword:00000000
"BrowserFlags"=dword:00000008

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Opera.HTML\ScriptHostEncode]
@="{0CF774D0-F077-11D1-B1BC-00C04F86C324}"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Opera.HTML\shell]
@=""

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Opera.HTML\shell\Edit]
@="&Edit"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Opera.HTML\shell\Edit\command]
@="\"C:\\Program Files\\Office XP\\Office10\\msohtmed.exe\" %1"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Opera.HTML\shell\open]

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Opera.HTML\shell\open\command]
@="C:\\Program Files\\OPERA\\OPERA.EXE \"%1\""

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Opera.HTML\shell\open\ddeexec]
@="\"%1\""

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Opera.HTML\shell\open\ddeexec\Application]
@="Opera"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Opera.HTML\shell\open\ddeexec\Topic]
@="WWW_OpenURL"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Opera.HTML\shell\Open in Internet Explorer]
"EditFlags"=hex:01,00,00,00
@="Open in Internet Explorer"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Opera.HTML\shell\Open in Internet Explorer\command]
@="C:\\Program Files\\Internet\\IEXPLORE.EXE %1"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Opera.HTML\shell\Print]
@="&Print"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Opera.HTML\shell\Print\command]
@="\"C:\\Program Files\\Office XP\\Office10\\msohtmed.exe\" /p %1"

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Opera.HTML\ShellEx]

[HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\Opera.HTML\ShellEx\IconHandler]
@="{42042206-2D85-11D3-8CFF-005004838597}"


Ignore the entry for Internet Explorer, I just added that manually so I can right click and choose to open the file in IE instead of Opera if I want to. The Office XP entry was put there by Office XP itself!

Apart from the times when Opera is a bit too slow starting up, and opens with a blank page, this always works.
If I double click on an htm or html file in Windows Explorer, or on a link say in an e-mail, Opera opens and displays the page as it should do.

Although it sounds a bit drastic, I would uninstall Opera, and go through and delete manually all registry entries referring to it if any remain.
Then make IE your default browser, assuming that you have it, and make sure that works with the file associations as it should.
Then reinstall Opera and make that the default browser and see if it behaves any better.
:)

Edited by Dave-H, 05 June 2008 - 05:08 PM.

Dual boot Windows 98SE SP2.1a and Windows XP Professional SP3.
Dual 3.2GHz Xeons with 4GB RAM. ATI Radeon X850 Graphics 1920x1080 32 Bit Colour with Large Fonts.


#17
Sfor

Sfor

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 555 posts
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag
No, the problem does not happen with the .HTM and .HTML files. But, when I'm trying to open an internet page shortcut from my desktop (Active Desktop - Switched off) without the Opera running, the Opera starts without the link loaded. If Opera is running, the link opens correctly.

When creating a new shortcut on the desktop to an internet page, the Windows 98 creates a .URL file. The file extension is not shown by the windows explorer in any place. In order to confirm the file extension is .URL it is necesary to open properties of the link. The file extension is visible in the MS-DOS file name field, only.

When creating a new shortcut, the explorer does create .LNK or .URL file depending on what is entered in the command line field. Local file path means .LNK. While an internet page address will result in the .URL.

#18
Dave-H

Dave-H

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 769 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Ah, so your problem is related to .url files, which are internet shortcuts (as used by IE favorites).
The registry keys you quoted were only relevant to .html and .https files, which are quite different.

Try this, go to Opera Tools>Preferences>Advanced>Programs and select the "Details" button.
Check "URL shortcuts" on the left hand side and see if that does the trick.
:)

Dual boot Windows 98SE SP2.1a and Windows XP Professional SP3.
Dual 3.2GHz Xeons with 4GB RAM. ATI Radeon X850 Graphics 1920x1080 32 Bit Colour with Large Fonts.


#19
Sfor

Sfor

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 555 posts
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag
The registry keys I have posted are used, when the Explorer or Outlook Express is opening internet shortcuts. I've proved it, because a change in these keys does change the way the .URL files are opened.

The Opera (while making it the default browser) changes these keys by default. If they would not be selected, other browser would be used to open the shortcuts. So, the check box you are referring to should change nothing. And as a matter of fact it does change nothing, as I have tried all the possible Opera settings long time ago (with this particular setting included).

#20
Dave-H

Dave-H

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 769 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
If I go to my Internet Explorer favorites folder using Windows Explorer, and double click on one of the files, Opera opens and displays the webpage that it's pointing to.
Those are internet shortcuts, and are actually .url files, although they show no file extension.
Looking at my file types, .url fines are associated with this command "rundll32.exe shdocvw.dll,OpenURL %l" (without the quotes.)
See if this is the case on your system.
:)

Dual boot Windows 98SE SP2.1a and Windows XP Professional SP3.
Dual 3.2GHz Xeons with 4GB RAM. ATI Radeon X850 Graphics 1920x1080 32 Bit Colour with Large Fonts.


#21
cannie

cannie

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 469 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
After trying the last beta and the precedent, I've gone back twice to the last stable version until the next stable one is delivered. IMO there's no need to hurry at all, at least for Win9x users.

Edited by cannie, 08 June 2008 - 03:17 PM.


#22
Sfor

Sfor

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 555 posts
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag

If I go to my Internet Explorer favorites folder using Windows Explorer, and double click on one of the files, Opera opens and displays the webpage that it's pointing to.
Those are internet shortcuts, and are actually .url files, although they show no file extension.
Looking at my file types, .url fines are associated with this command "rundll32.exe shdocvw.dll,OpenURL %l" (without the quotes.)
See if this is the case on your system.
:)

Yes, there is exaclty the same setting. My shdocvw.dll version is 6.00.2800.1849. It is possible the problem is version or language related. In my case the shdocvw.dll is a Polish language version.

#23
Dave-H

Dave-H

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 769 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
So if you double click on one of the IE favorites folder files, what happens?
Does Opera open but not display the page?
:)

Dual boot Windows 98SE SP2.1a and Windows XP Professional SP3.
Dual 3.2GHz Xeons with 4GB RAM. ATI Radeon X850 Graphics 1920x1080 32 Bit Colour with Large Fonts.


#24
Sfor

Sfor

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 555 posts
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag
Yes, that's exactly the problem.

I've been trying to replace the shdocvw.dll to some older versions. But, I was unable to correct the issue that way. The attempt to replace the shdocvw.dll to some other language version prevented the system from booting correctly. The shdocvw.dll seems to be a wrong trail, I think.

#25
thydreamwalker

thydreamwalker

    teddybearguru7

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 252 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
:unsure: New Opera9.5(latest build) works from USB Cruzer but no go from hdd so use from it as it accomplishes same as a system program and Internet Access is O.K.,too! :thumbup
thydreamwalker




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN