Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

How to install Windows from USB- WinSetupFromUSB with GUI


  • Please log in to reply
2116 replies to this topic

#451
sleepingvolcanno.org

sleepingvolcanno.org
  • Member
  • 2 posts
Im Vibhu im new to ur forums but brousing them fro last 1 year

I must thank u all fo dooing such a nice work of research of installing ap from usb i simply dont have words to thank the developers and helpers :thumbup

but as a student i want to know that how ur software works and thae tools used in it like grub for dos etc.
can any one write an tutorial about manually dooing the entire thing so that ones who dont really unerstand the prodcess may understand its complexity and its details of ur labour in developing the methord
i lll be realy obeliged if some one woulld werite an tutoral abt it . :rolleyes: .
bye and trhanks againto all the helpers may god bless u all.
:hello:


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#452
cochabambinito

cochabambinito
  • Member
  • 3 posts
I did that too... But it only copies a small part of the boot sector, not all the DVD. So, I tried to copy my self all the files, but then it didn't boot (I didn't replace any of the created files)... So, that part is just for recovery options or for testing the boot capability...

Wait a second, you need to put Windows 7 on the USB stick, right? Then use the appropriate field, I guess you are using the one for 2000/XP/2003, do NOT. Use the appropriate field and select the root of the DVD:
Posted Image

Initially I thought you run the program on Windows 7, not that you need to put 7 on USB stick.



#453
ilko_t

ilko_t

    MSFN Addict

  • Super Moderator
  • 1,705 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Im Vibhu im new to ur forums but brousing them fro last 1 year

I must thank u all fo dooing such a nice work of research of installing ap from usb i simply dont have words to thank the developers and helpers :thumbup

but as a student i want to know that how ur software works and thae tools used in it like grub for dos etc.
can any one write an tutorial about manually dooing the entire thing so that ones who dont really unerstand the prodcess may understand its complexity and its details of ur labour in developing the methord
i lll be realy obeliged if some one woulld werite an tutoral abt it . :rolleyes: .
bye and trhanks againto all the helpers may god bless u all.
:hello:

Have a look here:
http://www.msfn.org/...o...st&p=797585
http://www.msfn.org/...o...st&p=815048
And the "historical" thread, which covers all basics:
http://www.msfn.org/...showtopic=61384

I guess the first two links should be pretty close to a tutorial.


I did that too... But it only copies a small part of the boot sector, not all the DVD. So, I tried to copy my self all the files, but then it didn't boot (I didn't replace any of the created files)... So, that part is just for recovery options or for testing the boot capability...

Nope, there is something else wrong going on. This part is NOT just for testing boot or recovery options. Why it didn't boot and separate problem, you need to provide more details what you performed, what files system was used on the USB stick etc.

Bootsector is something different, it's not copied from the DVD anyway.

Please run the following command in CMD window, replacing G with the drive letter of the DVD drive:
dir /a /s G: > c:\windows7.txt

Put in a zip archive your WinSetupFromUSB.log, found in program's directory, all date-time-log.cab files, found in \backups\ directory and c:\windows7.txt. Upload the zip file here, or on datafilehost.com or similar hosting site.

The option which does not work for you has been used on number of machines to prepare Vista and 7 for installation and never gave a glitch.

Did you format the USB in FAT16 by any chance?

Install Windows from USB, boot Linux, multiboot and a lot more with WinSetupFromUSB


#454
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,042 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

but as a student i want to know that how ur software works and thae tools used in it like grub for dos etc.


Start from here:
http://www.msfn.org/...howtopic=133309

jaclaz

#455
TeenTin

TeenTin
  • Member
  • 2 posts
@ilko_t

I have successfully made the bootable USB stick. How can I duplicate this stick (without repeating the steps again) ? Any easy way ? Thanks !

P.S. I know it does not work by simply copying all the files, of course.

Edited by TeenTin, 08 May 2009 - 11:06 PM.


#456
ilko_t

ilko_t

    MSFN Addict

  • Super Moderator
  • 1,705 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Assuming you put XP setup on it:
1. Format it using HP USB format tool, use the one which comes with WSFUSB.
2. Use grubinst_gui.exe to install grub4dos bootsector on it
3. Copy grldr and menu.lst first
4. Copy the rest of the files in root next
5. Copy ~BT folder
6. Copy ~LS folder last

This will take longer than if you just run WSFUSB again and prepare the new stick with it.

Or are both stick 100% similar? You may try to create an image and put it back on the other stick:
http://www.roadkil.n...hp?ProgramID=12
http://dubaron.com/diskimage/

http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=1299

Install Windows from USB, boot Linux, multiboot and a lot more with WinSetupFromUSB


#457
TeenTin

TeenTin
  • Member
  • 2 posts

Assuming you put XP setup on it:
1. Format it using HP USB format tool, use the one which comes with WSFUSB.
2. Use grubinst_gui.exe to install grub4dos bootsector on it
3. Copy grldr and menu.lst first
4. Copy the rest of the files in root next
5. Copy ~BT folder
6. Copy ~LS folder last

This will take longer than if you just run WSFUSB again and prepare the new stick with it.

Or are both stick 100% similar? You may try to create an image and put it back on the other stick:
http://www.roadkil.n...hp?ProgramID=12
http://dubaron.com/diskimage/

http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=1299


So, there are no easy ways. Thank you.

#458
deeksmooth

deeksmooth
  • Member
  • 5 posts

I have been following this project and decided to give it a go, but I have run into a problem.

The install to Flash Drive seems to work fine I have opted to have XP, BartPE, and Vista. XP boots and starts to install but blue screens on "Starting Windows" (text section) the error is

Stop 0x0000007b (0xf7c80524, 0x00000034, 0x00000000, 0x00000000)

Vista works fine I have yet to try BartPE

The PC is a Dell 755 with sata hard drive


I am getting the same thing when trying XP for a Dell Optiplex 745, or a Dell GX280. Have we found a solution for this yet?

#459
ilko_t

ilko_t

    MSFN Addict

  • Super Moderator
  • 1,705 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

I have been following this project and decided to give it a go, but I have run into a problem.

The install to Flash Drive seems to work fine I have opted to have XP, BartPE, and Vista. XP boots and starts to install but blue screens on "Starting Windows" (text section) the error is

Stop 0x0000007b (0xf7c80524, 0x00000034, 0x00000000, 0x00000000)

Vista works fine I have yet to try BartPE

The PC is a Dell 755 with sata hard drive


I am getting the same thing when trying XP for a Dell Optiplex 745, or a Dell GX280. Have we found a solution for this yet?


The answer is just a couple of posts below the one you quoted, it's also in the FAQs thread:
http://www.msfn.org/...howtopic=116766
http://www.msfn.org/...o...st&p=786908

Install Windows from USB, boot Linux, multiboot and a lot more with WinSetupFromUSB


#460
bartgrefte

bartgrefte

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 24 posts
Just ran into this topic, that I bookmarked right away :)

Got 2 questions, before I start trying...

- If this is possible:
Would like XP Prof x86 SP3**, XP x64** and both x86 and x64 of Windows 7 (RC) installers on my Voyager GT USB stick.

4 OS installers, do I have to do anything special for that if it's even possible?
There's more than enough room on my Voyager GT, that won't be a problem...

- And what if... I want to add a linux distribution to those 4, kubuntu for example, what then?

** Both XP x86 and XP x64 are unattended, except the part where to select the harddrive, and both have a cmd running during 1st boot. The cmd is already prepared if the source of the installers is different somehow: The cmd looks for a storage device with dvd.txt in the root and then runs the installers of some programs from that storage device.

Edited by bartgrefte, 16 May 2009 - 10:02 AM.


#461
ilko_t

ilko_t

    MSFN Addict

  • Super Moderator
  • 1,705 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
You may be better off with Wimb's tool:
http://www.msfn.org/...howtopic=121446

The problem is x64, which using this method of install will delete some files during file copy phase in text mode, so you'd need to synchronize your x64 source with contents on USB stick after each setup.

As for adding various Linux distros- look at this post for a generic solution:
http://www.msfn.org/...o...st&p=845651

Or search on grub4dos forum:
http://www.boot-land...hp?showforum=66

Latest Kubuntu may work in a similar way:
http://www.boot-land...?...ost&p=64856

Install Windows from USB, boot Linux, multiboot and a lot more with WinSetupFromUSB


#462
taurus3

taurus3
  • Member
  • 1 posts
thank you for sizable great efforts. Also thanks for msfn forum.org for bridging to share knowledge with members.

#463
300

300
  • Member
  • 3 posts
Hi :hello:

I just tried doing what you said. :unsure: I went to driverpacks and slipstreamed the mass storage drivers on a copy of win xp pro sp3 on my drive c: then i redid process of formatting with hp boot`, then used the slipstreamed copy from c: instead of using the original. reboot from usb but i think i messed up my boot.ini. :wacko: it doesn't go to setup and don't show the 1st part of setup but a few copies of part 2. I'm pretty sure this attempt is worst than my 1st one. :wacko:
[Boot Loader]
Timeout=5
Default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(1)partition(1)\WINDOWS
[Operating Systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(1)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Second part of XP Professional setup from hd 0 part 1" /FASTDETECT
c:\="-------------------------"
c:\="Try entries below if getting HAL.DLL/NTOSKRNL.EXE not found errors"
c:\="--------------------------"
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(1)partition(2)\WINDOWS="Second part of XP Professional setup from hd 0 part 2" /FASTDETECT
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(1)partition(3)\WINDOWS="Second part of XP Professional setup from hd 0 part 3" /FASTDETECT
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(1)partition(4)\WINDOWS="Second part of XP Professional setup from hd 0 part 4" /FASTDETECT
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(2)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Second part of XP Professional setup from hd 1 part 1" /FASTDETECT
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(2)partition(2)\WINDOWS="Second part of XP Professional setup from hd 1 part 2" /FASTDETECT
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(2)partition(3)\WINDOWS="Second part of XP Professional setup from hd 1 part 3" /FASTDETECT
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(2)partition(4)\WINDOWS="Second part of XP Professional setup from hd 1 part 4" /FASTDETECT

Sorry, I don't know much about other methods in formatting my laptop without a cd and floppy drive so I tried this out. :hello:
My Laptop problem -- Toshiba Satellite M205-S4804

sorry bad english, language not my main. :sneaky:

#464
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,042 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
This should be the relevant part:
[quote name='http://forum.driverpacks.net/viewtopic.php?id=3771']PCI\VEN_8086&DEV_2850&SUBSYS_FF101179&REV_03\3&B1BFB68&0&F9 : IntelĀ® ICH8M Ultra ATA Storage Controllers - 2850[/quote]

You may want to leave alone for the moment the drivers pack and use this method:
http://www.msfn.org/...opic=107504&hl=
to integrate your ICH8 drivers to your source.

In any case, start form scratch, i.e. re-format the stick and re-run fully WinsetupfromUSB.


jaclaz

Edited by jaclaz, 23 May 2009 - 11:57 AM.


#465
300

300
  • Member
  • 3 posts
Will do sir. :) thanks for the reply and link.

I'll use this:
"b ) Especially for desktop/notebook users with an Intel ICH8 or ICH9 (without R or M) chipset mainboard, who want to use AHCI:"

Thanks. :)

EDIT:
Btw, is my boot.ini supposed to be like that?
I just finished making another copy of winxp with sata using the steps on the above link. But I think my boot.ini is wrong, idk. :} I understand what the boot.ini does just don't know much about what to modify.

My aim is just simple, just very new to this. ^ ^

I also made a seperate topic, since my post are very long. LINK:lol:

Thanks. :)

Edited by 300, 24 May 2009 - 12:29 AM.


#466
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,042 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

I'll use this:
"b ) Especially for desktop/notebook users with an Intel ICH8 or ICH9 (without R or M) chipset mainboard, who want to use AHCI:"


Since you have an ICH8M, I would try:
"a ) For Intel ICH7R/M, ICH8R/M, ICH9R/M or ICH10R/D S-ATA AHCI and RAID Controllers:"

But this should be not connected with the problem you reported.

Let's continue on the new thread, OK? :)

jaclaz

Edited by jaclaz, 24 May 2009 - 04:29 AM.


#467
burnman

burnman
  • Member
  • 1 posts
so I just tried to use this on my eee pc 900. However, whenever I get to the screen to start, I don't see a first time start, only 3 or 4 second time starts. I saw there was a reply about this above me, but it doesn't make sense to me.

#468
ilko_t

ilko_t

    MSFN Addict

  • Super Moderator
  • 1,705 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Are you talking about the same issue:
http://www.msfn.org/...howtopic=133164

Install Windows from USB, boot Linux, multiboot and a lot more with WinSetupFromUSB


#469
voidseesaw

voidseesaw
  • Member
  • 5 posts
ilko_t: You are seriously awesome.

#470
Caspean

Caspean

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 24 posts
I think I must be doing something incorrectly. I get the following when setup tries to copies files.

Setup cannot copy the file: advpack.mui


and

Setup cannot copy the file: ieframe.mui


The source CD I'm using is a disk that has been modified with both HFSLIP and NLite. I thought this could be used in conjunction with those two pieces of software, was I mistaken?

Thanks,

Caspean

#471
ilko_t

ilko_t

    MSFN Addict

  • Super Moderator
  • 1,705 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Can you find these files on the USB stick? Where are they located?
Does the error occur during Text mode or during GUI mode?
Please attach txtsetup.sif file from USB root.

Edited by ilko_t, 09 June 2009 - 03:42 AM.

Install Windows from USB, boot Linux, multiboot and a lot more with WinSetupFromUSB


#472
Caspean

Caspean

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 24 posts

Can you find these files on the USB stick? Where are they located?

No I can't find these files on the flashdrive. I do find similarly named files as follows:
G:\$WIN_NT$.~LS\I386\IEFRAME.DL_
G:\$WIN_NT$.~LS\I386\IEFRAME.MU_
G:\$WIN_NT$.~LS\I386\ADVPACK.DL_
G:\$WIN_NT$.~LS\I386\ADVPACK.MU_

Does the error occur during Text mode or during GUI mode?

Text Mode; First I partition the drive, then format, then it copies the setup files. During the copy of setup files is when I get these errors.

Please attach txtsetup.sif file from USB root.

Attached.

After everything installs it seems to work, but it worries me a bit that I get those error messages.

Thanks,

Caspean

Attached Files



#473
ilko_t

ilko_t

    MSFN Addict

  • Super Moderator
  • 1,705 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
There are strange duplicate lines in txtsetup.sif, which may not play role when installing from a CD, but may do from USB.

Comment out the first line in USB_root\txtsetup.sif and \$WIN_NT$.~BT\txtsetup.sif of the duplicates:

advpack.mui = 1,,,,,,,2,0,0,advpack.dll.mui
advpack.mui = 1,,,,,,,1005,0,0,advpack.dll.mui
To become:
;advpack.mui = 1,,,,,,,2,0,0,advpack.dll.mui
advpack.mui = 1,,,,,,,1005,0,0,advpack.dll.mui

ieframe.mui = 1,,,,,,,2,0,0,ieframe.dll.mui
ieframe.mui = 1,,,,,,,1005,0,0,ieframe.dll.mui

;ieframe.mui = 1,,,,,,,2,0,0,ieframe.dll.mui
ieframe.mui = 1,,,,,,,1005,0,0,ieframe.dll.mui

The rest of the similar files do NOT have such duplicated lines, such as:

iepeers.dll = 100,,,,,,,2,0,0
iepeers.mui = 1,,,,,,,1005,0,0,iepeers.dll.mui
ieproxy.dll = 1,,,,,,,,3,3


Didn't iedw.mui also give you an error?:
iedw.mui = 1,,,,,,,1005,0,0,iedw.exe.mui
iedw.mui = 1,,,,,,,,3,3
Search for "1,,,,,,,1005" and find any other duplicated entries for the same file name, leave the ones with "1,,,,,,,1005" and comment out the other.

This is problem of nLite or HFSLIP, or improper usage one after another, and the error may occur if installing from a CD as well.

Edited by ilko_t, 09 June 2009 - 10:12 AM.

Install Windows from USB, boot Linux, multiboot and a lot more with WinSetupFromUSB


#474
Caspean

Caspean

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 24 posts

Didn't iedw.mui also give you an error?:

iedw.mui = 1,,,,,,,1005,0,0,iedw.exe.mui
iedw.mui = 1,,,,,,,,3,3


No, no error.

This is problem of nLite or HFSLIP, or improper usage one after another, and the error may occur if installing from a CD as well.


I've installed from this CD a few dozen times and never gotten an error of any kind. Unless NLite automatically suppresses errors I'm not sure why that would be.

Comment out the first line in USB_root\txtsetup.sif and \$WIN_NT$.~BT\txtsetup.sif of the duplicates:


This does resolve the problem.

Thanks,

ss3

#475
ilko_t

ilko_t

    MSFN Addict

  • Super Moderator
  • 1,705 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Thanks for sharing the result.

It's interesting to look a bit deeper why this happens.
Using this as reference:
http://www.msfn.org/...howtopic=127677

1005 means the file goes to system32\en-US\ subdirectory, whereas 2 stands for \system32\.
So advpack.mui for example should be copied twice- to \system32\en-US\ and to \system32\ renamed to advpack.dll.mui.

Logically if the file is not deleted during the first copy (you can check if file is still present after setup), no errors should occur since its location on source disk is the same in both lines, it simple would be copied twice.

If the file does get deleted from USB stick during Text, then other files should be missing too. Is the file still on USB stick after setup?

As for iedw.mui = 1,,,,,,,,3,3 I can't find reference what the missing target subdir location defaults to, thus why no errors are displayed about this file :blink:

Same for why no errors when installing from a CD, maybe if the file is deleted during copying, but cannot be from a CD...
No idea also are the files supposed to be in both system32 and system32\en-US\, or this is wrongly set.

Install Windows from USB, boot Linux, multiboot and a lot more with WinSetupFromUSB





4 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 3 guests, 0 anonymous users


    Baidu (1)


How to remove advertisement from MSFN