Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

How to install Windows from USB- WinSetupFromUSB with GUI


  • Please log in to reply
2097 replies to this topic

#776
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developers
  • 13,394 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Boot-land.net is down, cannot get support from grub4dos developers currently. There should be a better way to put USB disk last and shift all other disks one position up.
Have to think also about cases when USB disk is fd0.

It's back on. :)

Just a reminder:
http://www.msfn.org/...ve-t135142.html

The "shiftdisks" idea wasn't finalized at the time:
http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=8498
http://www.boot-land...?...=8498&st=16
http://www.boot-land...?...=8498&st=22

Maybe now that we have a "practical" use, we can have it. :unsure:


jaclaz

Edited by jaclaz, 09 January 2010 - 01:06 PM.



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#777
wimb

wimb

    Senior Member

  • Developers
  • 669 posts

Can you try again?

map (hd0) (hd1)
map (hd1) (hd2)
map (hd2) (hd0)

Very good, working without cat line now, OK for Install of XP on second harddisk :thumbup

Install of XP on second internal harddisk using USB-boot with small ISO
title First part of XP Prof SP3 setup from USB part 0 - Install on second harddisk
root (hd0,0)
map --mem /WINSETUP/XPpSP3.ISO (0xff)
savedefault 2
map (hd0) (hd1)
map (hd1) (hd2)
map (hd2) (hd0)
map --hook
root (0xff)
chainloader /I386/SETUPLDR.BIN

title Second part of 2000/XP/2003 setup / Boot second internal harddisk
savedefault
map (hd0) (hd1)
map (hd1) (hd2)
map (hd2) (hd0)
map --hook
rootnoverify (hd0)
chainloader (hd0)+1

@ilko_t
test of BOOTWS is coming ....

#778
wimb

wimb

    Senior Member

  • Developers
  • 669 posts
Using BOOTWS folder as is on USB-stick failed for Install of XP on second harddisk (GUI-mode error NTLDR missing).

Changing 3.lst according to lines given by cdob and removing cat lines made BOOTWS folder work OK.

3.lst - OK for Install on second harddisk
map (hd0) (hd1)
map (hd1) (hd2)
map (hd2) (hd0)
map --hook
ls (0xff)/ && root (0xff)
ls (0xff)/ && chainloader /I386/SETUPLDR.BIN
ls (0xff)/ || rootnoverify (hd0)
ls (0xff)/ || chainloader (hd0)+1

Possibly for support of x64 XP it is needed to write
....
ls (0xff)/ && chainloader /I386/SETUPLDR.BIN || /AMD64/SETUPLDR.BIN
....

Also SP2 in winsetup.lst changed into SP3 if needed.

#779
ilko_t

ilko_t

    MSFN Addict

  • Super Moderator
  • 1,687 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Using BOOTWS folder as is on USB-stick failed for Install of XP on second harddisk (GUI-mode error NTLDR missing).

Did you start GUI mode from the internal disk? Which one? Where boot files were placed? Was boot.ini correct?

My intentions for BOOTWS were to replicate default Windows behavior and get boot.ini generated correctly. What cdob posted is a workaround, in case you explicitly want to install in a particular disk, and has to be created manually. What do we do if you want to install on the first disk using the same entries? Or what entries would we create to get some universal solution?
I'd say the better solution in case one wants to get around these limitations is to disable the unneeded disk during setup, rather that changing boot order and forcibly redirecting setup.
Another way around could be a set of BOOTWS folders/entries and en entry for each of them in menu.lst, something like:
Install to first internal disk
Install to second internal disk
etc. etc.

I can't see a way to "understand" what BIOS boot order was and adjust accordingly, since both Setup and grub4dos do not take it in account.
Yet to test what happens in SATA/AHCI mode, it may produce different results. I will be testing tomorrow, just need to check if the test machine had option to switch IDE/AHCI.

Possibly for support of x64 XP it is needed to write

Setupldr.bin in x64 is in I386, txtsetup.sif is in AMD64.

Added:
BTW- did you encounter the same behavior with the arrow keys while in winsetup.lst menus?

#780
wimb

wimb

    Senior Member

  • Developers
  • 669 posts

Did you start GUI mode from the internal disk? Which one? Where boot files were placed? Was boot.ini correct?

GUI mode started from second disk, but gives error NTLDR not found , since XP Bootfiles were made on first harddisk. Booting from first harddisk will let you continue with GUI mode, since boot.ini refers to Install partition.

My intentions for BOOTWS were to replicate default Windows behavior and get boot.ini generated correctly.

Default Windows behavior creates XP bootfiles always on first harddisk and destroy e.g. BOOTMGR-type bootsector.
The BOOTWS folder when adjusted with the mapping strategy of cdob will do better and create always XP bootfiles at the Install partition.
Changing the 3-10.lst files wll give the solution that you are looking for: correct boot.ini made on Install partition.

4.lst - for Install of XP on third harddisk
map (hd0) (hd1)
map (hd1) (hd2)
map (hd2) (hd3)
map (hd3) (hd0)
map --hook
ls (0xff)/ && root (0xff)
ls (0xff)/ && chainloader /I386/SETUPLDR.BIN
ls (0xff)/ || rootnoverify (hd0)
ls (0xff)/ || chainloader (hd0)+1
There is after map:
hd0: target drive
hd1: USB source drive

No need for cat lines anymore.

Added:[/b] BTW- did you encounter the same behavior with the arrow keys while in winsetup.lst menus?

Yes, strange indeed, left+right arrow key do the up/down select work.

Edited by wimb, 10 January 2010 - 07:02 AM.


#781
ilko_t

ilko_t

    MSFN Addict

  • Super Moderator
  • 1,687 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

GUI mode started from second disk, but gives error NTLDR not found , since XP Bootfiles were made on first harddisk. Booting from first harddisk will let you continue with GUI mode, since boot.ini refers to Install partition.

Thanks, so it works as expected.

The BOOTWS folder when adjusted with the mapping strategy of cdob will do better and create always XP bootfiles at the Install partition.

It will force them on the active partition on the second disk in this case. What happens if you use same entries and install to the first disk? How do you know that one is installing to first or second disk?

Yes, strange indeed, left+right arrow key do the up/down select work.

I recall something seen on boot-land about the nested config files, have to search a bit. If it's still up Monday will post there to see what Tinybit and the rest of the band have in mind.

Mind you, it's early stage. Other BIOSes may honor boot order and re-arange disk numbering. SATA/IDE mode may also matter.

#782
ilko_t

ilko_t

    MSFN Addict

  • Super Moderator
  • 1,687 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

...Other BIOSes may honor boot order and re-arange disk numbering. SATA/IDE mode may also matter.

Quick proof- just tested on motherboard MSI G31M3, 2 SATA disks in IDE mode, no option for AHCI/SATA.
Upon changing boot order in BIOS, hard drive numbering changes too, no matter what port they are connected to, booting from USB using F11 hotkey.

#783
NT Man

NT Man

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 20 posts
Wow, great. Now i have on one flash Windows 2003, Windows 7 and Windows FLP!!! Want also add Ubuntu Linux. Please make support for grub4dos Ununtu Linux feature.

#784
ilko_t

ilko_t

    MSFN Addict

  • Super Moderator
  • 1,687 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Wow, great. Now i have on one flash Windows 2003, Windows 7 and Windows FLP!!! Want also add Ubuntu Linux. Please make support for grub4dos Ununtu Linux feature.

Meanwhile have a look here for Ubuntu, there are grub4dos entries for a few versions:
http://www.boot-land...?...=5041&st=20

#785
NT Man

NT Man

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 20 posts
In the current version Grub4Dos already run Ubuntu, but loading fails due to wrong directory structure.

#786
ilko_t

ilko_t

    MSFN Addict

  • Super Moderator
  • 1,687 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
What did you exactly do?
You need to copy the ISO file manually and add the mentioned in that topic entries to menu.lst, according to Ubuntu version.

#787
wimb

wimb

    Senior Member

  • Developers
  • 669 posts

It will force them on the active partition on the second disk in this case. What happens if you use same entries and install to the first disk? How do you know that one is installing to first or second disk?

The user will know where he wants to install and can select from grub4dos menu the TXT-mode start entry that is most suitable to his needs. So when you offer both strategies, then you can deal with most configurations.

#788
ilko_t

ilko_t

    MSFN Addict

  • Super Moderator
  • 1,687 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Did you miss this post?

...Other BIOSes may honor boot order and re-arange disk numbering. SATA/IDE mode may also matter.

Quick proof- just tested on motherboard MSI G31M3, 2 SATA disks in IDE mode, no option for AHCI/SATA.
Upon changing boot order in BIOS, hard drive numbering changes too, no matter what port they are connected to, booting from USB using F11 hotkey.

How would an average user know what his BIOS does, in order to select the appropriate entry? Which one it would be? The one shifting all internal disks one position up and USB disk last, or the desired disk mapped to hd0? :blink:
One likes to manage boot via a boot loader, other prefers to use BIOS boot order.

This is going to be a little mess, I'd stick with the default Setup behaviour, whatever BIOS provides as first internal disk, boot files go there. This is also well known and documented behaviour. Next would be Vista/7, behaviour is the same. There we cannot manipulate it, for now.

An advanced user willing to take the other disk out of the equation should disconnect or disable that disk during setup, or amend entries manually. This goes to the help files.
I 'd now rather focus on more important things to fix and add ;)

#789
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developers
  • 13,394 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

How would an average user know what his BIOS does, in order to select the appropriate entry?

Once ruled out Crystal balls, Tarots and I-Ching, not much remains. :whistle:

Patterns of dust on hard disk covers? But it won't work for new systems. :unsure:

Pig spleen has not proved as very reliable in other fields of prediction, AFAIK:
http://www.almanac.c...rediction-chart
Posted Image

:thumbup

jaclaz

#790
wimb

wimb

    Senior Member

  • Developers
  • 669 posts

This is going to be a little mess, I'd stick with the default Setup behaviour, whatever BIOS provides as first internal disk, boot files go there.

If someone has a computer running Windows 7 and someday he decides to place an extra harddisk and
will Install XP from USB-stick using small ISO method,
then booting from second harddisk will fail and booting with Windows 7 will fail (BOOTMGR BootSector is gone).

I thought may be it is possible to prevent such problems, allthough it is default Windows behavior.
But as you say, other things can be more important to fix and add. B)

Edited by wimb, 11 January 2010 - 11:22 AM.


#791
NT Man

NT Man

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 20 posts
ilko_t, thank's for link.
Tested this grub config on desktop PC and netbook Asus Eee PC 900.

title Start ubuntu-9.10-desktop-i386.iso from partition 0
find --set-root /pmagic/ubuntu-9.10-desktop-i386.iso
map /pmagic/ubuntu-9.10-desktop-i386.iso (0xff)
map --hook
root (0xff)
kernel /casper/vmlinuz boot=casper iso-scan/filename=/pmagic/ubuntu-9.10-desktop-i386.iso quiet splash --
initrd /casper/initrd.lz
boot

Work very nice for me.

Have only problem with notebook Dell Vostro 1000.
Boot fail with this screen.

Posted Image

P.S. For Ubuntu 9.04 used initrd.gz, for Ubuntu 9.10 initrd.lz

#792
ilko_t

ilko_t

    MSFN Addict

  • Super Moderator
  • 1,687 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
@NT Man

I'd do the following:
- chkdsk on the USB disk
- compare MD5 sum for the ISO
- change in BIOS SATA mode to IDE/compatible, if possible
- test the memory modules, also by removing each of them if 2.
- look at Ubuntu's forum for hints, additional kernel parameters may get you going, start with the ones mentioned here, several are posted:
https://bugs.launchp...nux/ bug/172937
- ask for help in Ubuntu's forum

#793
NT Man

NT Man

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 20 posts
Thank you, but the my problem seems in GRUB.
That the same image recorded on CD-R boot up normally on Vostro 1000.

Edited by NT Man, 11 January 2010 - 12:34 PM.


#794
ilko_t

ilko_t

    MSFN Addict

  • Super Moderator
  • 1,687 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
It could be also because you are starting it from USB, thus additional kernel parameters may be needed for this particular machine, or other factors, not present when booted from a CD may matter.
Sorry, I have no other hints, you've got plenty of them to try in the referenced link.

And by the way, to be technically correct- it's Grub4dos, not GRUB, although grub4dos developers are also actively participating in GRUB2 developing ;)

#795
Nic303

Nic303

    Junior

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 50 posts
Avast found virus in archive...

Attached Files

  • Attached File  A.jpg   50.12KB   8 downloads


#796
ilko_t

ilko_t

    MSFN Addict

  • Super Moderator
  • 1,687 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
For some reason AV vendors quite often falsely detect virus patterns in AutoIt compiled programs.
When in doubt check online using multiple scanners:
Posted Image

I'd click on the link you have "Reports as false positive..." B)

#797
ilko_t

ilko_t

    MSFN Addict

  • Super Moderator
  • 1,687 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

...

Added:[/b] BTW- did you encounter the same behavior with the arrow keys while in winsetup.lst menus?

Yes, strange indeed, left+right arrow key do the up/down select work.

So I did see it somewhere, but not on boot-land :rolleyes:

README_GRUB4DOS.txt

The following commands are boot-sensitive(and others are not boot-sensitive):

boot
bootp
chainloader
configfile
embed
commandline
halt
install
kernel
pxe
quit
reboot
setup

An unbootable title will be skipped when the user presses the Up Arrow or Down
Arrow keys. Even the unbootable menu item can get accessed(and executed) by
using the Left Arrow and/or Right Arrow keys.


We do have configfile in winsetup.lst, but it's conditional to geometry(hdX) result, hence it seems ignored.
Add "boot" as last line in each menu and everything goes back to normal:

title First part of Windows XP Professional SP2 setup from partition 0
root (hd0,0)
map --mem /WINSETUP/XPpSP2.ISO (0xff)
savedefault 2
geometry (hd9) && configfile /BOOTWS/10.lst
geometry (hd8) && configfile /BOOTWS/9.lst
geometry (hd7) && configfile /BOOTWS/8.lst
geometry (hd6) && configfile /BOOTWS/7.lst
geometry (hd5) && configfile /BOOTWS/6.lst
geometry (hd4) && configfile /BOOTWS/5.lst
geometry (hd3) && configfile /BOOTWS/4.lst
geometry (hd2) && configfile /BOOTWS/3.lst
geometry (hd1) && configfile /BOOTWS/2.lst
boot



#798
Nic303

Nic303

    Junior

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 50 posts
Boot part is ok but when Windows setup starts cannot copy files.

Edited by Nic303, 15 January 2010 - 07:33 AM.


#799
ilko_t

ilko_t

    MSFN Addict

  • Super Moderator
  • 1,687 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
You will have to be more specific.

#800
Nic303

Nic303

    Junior

  • Members
  • Pip
  • 50 posts

You will have to be more specific.


Working now (although i make the stick using the same iso image)
Thanks.

Edited by Nic303, 15 January 2010 - 11:03 AM.





30 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 18 guests, 0 anonymous users


    Bing (8), Google (4)


How to remove advertisement from MSFN