Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

How to install Windows from USB- WinSetupFromUSB with GUI


  • Please log in to reply
2120 replies to this topic

#1901
kitnoos2002

kitnoos2002

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 16 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Yes I edit Boot.ini on the USB stick.

You would also need to make sure you boot from USB for the second part, the GUI mode, NOT from the internal disk.


I think the second part don't boot on USB with WinSetupFromUSB 0.2.3 if I press F8 (BBS POPUP)
I try with boot forced on USB in bios.


EDIT :
OK Install is working with USB Forced in bios.
I don't need to do that with WinsetupFromUSB 1.0 Beta 8

I will tel you if complete install work with Verbatim USB 3.0 stick and WinSetupFromUSB 0.2.3

Edited by kitnoos2002, 08 November 2012 - 05:45 PM.



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#1902
kitnoos2002

kitnoos2002

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 16 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Same error,
Verbatim USB 3.0 stick isn't visible at t-28 and I have the error : files are needed (CMPROPS.DL_)

This is strange because at the beginning (T-39) we can see for a few minutes that the light on the USB key is working, so there is a working file transfert at the beginning.
And at T-28, USB stick it becomes not visible...

#1903
ilko_t

ilko_t

    MSFN Addict

  • Super Moderator
  • 1,722 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
OK, thanks a lot for the tests and the patience.

There must be something unusual with this stick, wild guess is that Setup marks it as "needing reboot" in order to be functional, when installing drivers for it or for the USB bus it's on, or installation of some other USB devices are affecting it. I've pointed you to a similar case, sorry I have no further explanation for now, nor a workaround/fix, apart from replugging the device as you figured out.

As for the USB boot- there is a major difference between 0.x.x and 1.x versions- former versions and method needed second boot from USB for the second part, latter do not- second boot for the GUI mode could be from the internal disk, as boot,ini is properly generated during the first part.

To make it clear- with 1.0 beta8 you most likely were not booting from USB for the second part, you just haven't noticed that because there is no error if you don't.
Program, or what's on the USB stick has no such control over BIOS, if F8 boot menu starts USB, whether stick was prepared with 0.2.3 or 1.0 betaX should not matter, it should boot or not the same way in both cases. Unless this particular BIOS reads what's on the USB device (maybe check for a known MBR/start sector or MBR/start sector start bytes?) and decides to ignore the USB boot, but that would be very unlikely in my opinion.

Another point- WinSetupFromUSB prepares the USB stick in a friendly for Setup manner,since it's not USB install aware at all, using number of tricks and cheats and that's it, the rest is in full control of Setup. If Setup does not like that USB key for some reason, it's must be issue with the combination XP Setup, USB drivers, BIOS etc. etc. and this particular USB stick. There could be a workaround or fix for this combination, and that would be yet another trick or cheat, for this particular case.

Install Windows from USB, boot Linux, multiboot and a lot more with WinSetupFromUSB


#1904
kitnoos2002

kitnoos2002

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 16 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
OK! Thank you very much for yours explanations!

Program, or what's on the USB stick has no such control over BIOS, if F8 boot menu starts USB, whether stick was prepared with 0.2.3 or 1.0 betaX should not matter, it should boot or not the same way in both cases.


I am 100% sure With WinSetupFromUSB 1 Beta 8, I no need to Force USB Drive in Bios. Just Select the good USB Drive Once with F8 BBS Boot Menu.
With WinSetupFromUSB 0.2.3 I have to Force USB Drive for Working.

For the Verbatim key problem, could we not use the minimised batch "setup.cmd" to simulate a "disconnect-reconnect" of the USB key?

#1905
ilko_t

ilko_t

    MSFN Addict

  • Super Moderator
  • 1,722 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

OK! Thank you very much for yours explanations!

You are welcome.

Program, or what's on the USB stick has no such control over BIOS, if F8 boot menu starts USB, whether stick was prepared with 0.2.3 or 1.0 betaX should not matter, it should boot or not the same way in both cases.


I am 100% sure With WinSetupFromUSB 1 Beta 8, I no need to Force USB Drive in Bios. Just Select the good USB Drive Once with F8 BBS Boot Menu.
With WinSetupFromUSB 0.2.3 I have to Force USB Drive for Working.

I'd love to prove you wrong, but can't, I have no such hardware around. :)

For the Verbatim key problem, could we not use the minimised batch "setup.cmd" to simulate a "disconnect-reconnect" of the USB key?

Setup.cmd is launched before real Setup starts, for GUI mode, like in T-0, or T-(-1).
It does some things, launches real Setup and is closed. The only leftovers are the minimized CMD screen which should keep the USB drive letter untouched during Setup using 'pushd' command, but in your case it does not. There could be another solution, never needed such until your report, after more than 2 million downloads of the last few versions.
To simulate reconnect at the right moment, and that seems to be at T-28 according to your report, a program must be monitoring the USB key the whole GUI part and if it's lost, then reconnect it. I am not even sure if such program could survive, or run in background the whole GUI part.

It's more interesting why the USB drive is lost, with this particular USB stick...
Can you try something- on installed XP, which never seen this stick, plug it and let it detect it and install drivers. Does it ask for reboot before the device is ready to use? If yes- does this stick have some extra features, like encrypted part of it, CD/DVD part or something unusual?

Install Windows from USB, boot Linux, multiboot and a lot more with WinSetupFromUSB


#1906
kitnoos2002

kitnoos2002

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 16 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Can you try something- on installed XP, which never seen this stick, plug it and let it detect it and install drivers. Does it ask for reboot before the device is ready to use? If yes- does this stick have some extra features, like encrypted part of it, CD/DVD part or something unusual?


I have already tried a lot of time! No, the Verbatim usb stick don't ask for reboot, even on fresh xp install.
It's a standard USB 3.0 stick, with no extra features, no encryptions...
We can add a Password protection software available for download, but it is not originally installed.

Links to my Verbatim Stick

Edited by kitnoos2002, 08 November 2012 - 07:45 PM.


#1907
ilko_t

ilko_t

    MSFN Addict

  • Super Moderator
  • 1,722 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Sorry for the late reply.
I don't have any more ideas for now, need to be able to reproduce the issue in order to find, if possible, a workaround or fix. Will keep it in mind.

Install Windows from USB, boot Linux, multiboot and a lot more with WinSetupFromUSB


#1908
ChR

ChR
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
SOLVED, win xp working.
now i need to test sound, internet and stuff like that.

it won't let me edit post anymore

hvala puno bugarine komsijo :D

uhm, why did you delete my posts?

i now have a "let's activate windows" message :(
it threatens to stop letting me use it after 1 month

Edited by ChR, 20 November 2012 - 08:00 AM.


#1909
Kelsenellenelvian

Kelsenellenelvian

    WPI Guru

  • Developer
  • 8,800 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

i now have a "let's activate windows" message :(
it threatens to stop letting me use it after 1 month


ummmm Could that be because you are using a illegal warezed copy???

Seriously go BUY a copy...

Edited by Kelsenellenelvian, 20 November 2012 - 08:08 AM.


#1910
ilko_t

ilko_t

    MSFN Addict

  • Super Moderator
  • 1,722 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

I have already tried a lot of time! No, the Verbatim usb stick don't ask for reboot, even on fresh xp install.
It's a standard USB 3.0 stick, with no extra features, no encryptions...
We can add a Password protection software available for download, but it is not originally installed.

Links to my Verbatim Stick

Can you test something with the problematic USB stick?

Install Windows from USB, boot Linux, multiboot and a lot more with WinSetupFromUSB


#1911
kitnoos2002

kitnoos2002

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 16 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Yes of course :yes:

#1912
ilko_t

ilko_t

    MSFN Addict

  • Super Moderator
  • 1,722 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Get the disk prepared with beta8 if it's not. Extract setup.cm_ to setup.cmd in \WINSETUP\XP...\I386. You may use 7-zip for the purpose.
Find the line
start /min "Keeping USB disk mounted workarround, do NOT close!" pushd %CDDRIVE%
add a new line just above it:
%CDDRIVE%

Put back setup.cmd where it was, no need to compress it in cab.
Please test now. Does the error come up again during GUI mode?

If yes- there is a test version of beta9, it adds some more settings to migrate.inf and adds it as a hive to be loaded by Setup. Prepare the USB stick with it, does it fix the issue now?
http://code.google.c...-0-beta9_rc3.7z

Install Windows from USB, boot Linux, multiboot and a lot more with WinSetupFromUSB


#1913
roke29

roke29
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
I run the first part of the installer and it works great but when I get to the second part I get a hal.dll error. I don't know what to do anymore I've tried anything

#1914
ilko_t

ilko_t

    MSFN Addict

  • Super Moderator
  • 1,722 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
What version of the program have you used?
If it's 0.X.X read the docs coming the the program, here is also FAQs topic, Q4/A4:
http://www.msfn.org/...ic/116766-faqs/

You may try the latest available version in the first post, currently 1.0 beta8, which should get around this kind of issues.

Install Windows from USB, boot Linux, multiboot and a lot more with WinSetupFromUSB


#1915
bigal.nz

bigal.nz
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I hope this is a appropriate place for this request.

I have a boot USB stick that presents a menu with various OS's and utils. I didnt compile the USB disk, but copied at a block/raw level using ddrescue from a friend. It works well from him.

On some computers it fails after selecting a OS to install with the same message:
*****************************************************************
Booting Windows 7 x64

Autodetect number-of-heads failed. Use default value 2

Autodetect sectors-per-track failed. Use default value 10
Address 0x8280: Value 0x80
Address 0x8280: Value 0x80

Load segment: 0x0 System Type: 0x0 Sector Count: 0x8
Load RBA: 0x2DE Boot Type: 0 = No Emulation

Press any key to boot from CD or DVD
****************************************************************

It then boots from the Hard Disk....

The commands behind the Win 7 install menu are:

map --mem (md)0x800+4 (99)
map /Boot/Win7-x64.iso (0xff)
checkrange 0x80 read 0x8280 && map (hd0) (hd1)
checkrange 0x80 read 0x8280 && map (hd0) (hd1)
map --hook
write (99) [FiraDisk]\nStartOptions=cdrom,vmem=find:/Boot/Win7-x64.iso:\n\0
chainloader (0xff)/BOOTMGR || chainloader (0xff)

Interestingly there are some other utils on the USB stick (like Acronis) which show the same message, but nevertheless boots.

Any help greatly appreciated. I can provide BIOS information for computers on which it fails if thats of any help.

-Al

#1916
ilko_t

ilko_t

    MSFN Addict

  • Super Moderator
  • 1,722 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Well, have to ask, do you press a key on your keyboard when the message appears?

This topic is solely for WinSetupFromUSB program related issues, going to split these posts in a new topic later on.

Install Windows from USB, boot Linux, multiboot and a lot more with WinSetupFromUSB


#1917
osman44

osman44
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • OS:Vista Business x86
  • Country: Country Flag
"Windows 8 and Windows 7 operating systems" on the same USB drive I need to run ---- please help please help please help please help
I do not know english, please help me I am from Turkey
WinSetupFromUSB --- I'm in problem----- I'can Win7 and Win8 setup
I want to do the boot screen
1-Windows XP ------- OK
2-Windows 7-----------NO
3-Windows 8-----------NO
4-Hirren Boot-----------OK
running windows xp boot screen bootcd hirren is running (Windows 7 and Windows 8) has the same pre-install.
"Windows Vista/7/8/Serves 2008-Setup/PE/RecoveryISO" option and add the two operating system "windows-7-windows 8" boot screen windows 8 windows 7 not only has a single operating system

Edited by osman44, 02 February 2013 - 04:41 PM.


#1918
ilko_t

ilko_t

    MSFN Addict

  • Super Moderator
  • 1,722 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
The version you are using does not support multiple Vista/7/8 sources on the same partition.

Try this test version which supports multiple such sources added as ISO files:
http://www.msfn.org/...ost__p__1025046

Install Windows from USB, boot Linux, multiboot and a lot more with WinSetupFromUSB


#1919
osman44

osman44
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • OS:Vista Business x86
  • Country: Country Flag

The version you are using does not support multiple Vista/7/8 sources on the same partition.

Try this test version which supports multiple such sources added as ISO files:
http://www.msfn.org/...ost__p__1025046


Thank You ilko_t ""the problem is solved"" Thank you in the name of god

#1920
ZEUS__

ZEUS__

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 194 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

The version you are using does not support multiple Vista/7/8 sources on the same partition.

Try this test version which supports multiple such sources added as ISO files:
http://www.msfn.org/...ost__p__1025046


it works good also for me. thanks @ilko_t. but there is one issue about it..
I add


My windows 8 iso OK with vmware.. but with USB it hangs on when setupcomplete.cmd works. there is folder called "_ekler".. here is;

Posted Image



::@echo off
for %%i in (C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z) do if exist %%i:\sources\install.wim set CDROM=%%i:
echo Found CD-Rom as drive %CDROM%
::Begin hotfix install

::Malicious software removal tool
::echo Installing Malicious Software Removal Tool
IF EXIST %SystemRoot%\SysWOW64 start /wait %CDROM%\_ekler\updates\Windows-KB890830-x64-V4.16.exe /Q
IF NOT EXIST %SystemRoot%\SysWOW64 start /wait %CDROM%\_ekler\updates\Windows-KB890830-V4.16.exe /Q

::Defender Definitions
::echo Installing Windows Defender Definition updates
IF EXIST %SystemRoot%\SysWOW64 start /wait %CDROM%\_ekler\updates\mpam-feX64.exe /Q
IF NOT EXIST %SystemRoot%\SysWOW64 start /wait %CDROM%\_ekler\updates\mpam-fe.exe /Q

::KB2771431
::echo Installing KB2771431 updates
IF EXIST %SystemRoot%\SysWOW64 start /wait %CDROM%\_ekler\updates\Windows8-RT-KB2771431-x64.msu /quiet /norestart
IF NOT EXIST %SystemRoot%\SysWOW64 start /wait %CDROM%\_ekler\updates\Windows8-RT-KB2771431-x86.msu /quiet /norestart

::KB931125
::echo Installing KB931125 updates
IF EXIST %SystemRoot%\SysWOW64 start /wait %CDROM%\_ekler\updates\KB931125-x64.exe /Q:A /R:N
IF NOT EXIST %SystemRoot%\SysWOW64 start /wait %CDROM%\_ekler\updates\KB931125-x86.exe /Q:A /R:N

::KB2772501
::echo Installing KB2772501 updates
IF EXIST %SystemRoot%\SysWOW64 start /wait %CDROM%\_ekler\updates\KB2772501-x64-all-fixiepropschema.exe
IF NOT EXIST %SystemRoot%\SysWOW64 start /wait %CDROM%\_ekler\updates\KB2772501-x86-all-fixiepropschema.exe

start /wait %CDROM%\_ekler\updates\KB2798897-rvkroots.exe /Q:A /R:N
start /wait %CDROM%\_ekler\updates\delmigprov.exe

::IE) desktop icon
::echo Installing KB2533552 updates
::IF EXIST %SystemRoot%\SysWOW64 regedit.exe /s %~dp0ADD_64.reg
::IF NOT EXIST %SystemRoot%\SysWOW64 regedit.exe /s %~dp0ADD_32.reg
regedit.exe /s %~dp0reg_w8.reg
cd %~dp0
attrib -R -A -S -H *.*
del %~dp0reg_w8.reg
::all processing finished, delete used files, and EXIT::
::CLEANUP
IF EXIST %windir%\Setup\scripts RD /S /Q %windir%\Setup\scripts >nul
::DEL /F /Q %0% >nul
SHUTDOWN /R /T 45
DEL /F /Q %0% >nul


it's about %CDROM% variable. could you help with this?
when I remove lines with
"IF EXIST %SystemRoot%\SysWOW64 start /wait %CDROM%\_ekler\updates\Windows-KB890830-x64-V4.16.exe /Q"


it works.. variable cause this..
Champion

Posted Image


#1921
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,378 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

it's about %CDROM% variable. could you help with this?

Check this line:

for %%i in (C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z) do if exist %%i:\sources\install.wim set CDROM=%%i:

It assigns a drive letter value to the variable CDROM IF it can find the file \sources\install.wim.

It seems like this file is NOT found (and thus the drive letter is not assigned)

WHO wrote that batch?
It is seemingly missing some error control and is all in all more complex than needed.

Change this:
::@echo off
for %%i in (C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z) do if exist %%i:\sources\install.wim set CDROM=%%i:
echo Found CD-Rom as drive %CDROM%
to this:
::@echo off
SETLOCAL ENABLEEXTENSIONS
for %%i in (C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z) do if exist %%i:\sources\install.wim set CDROM=%%i:
echo Found CD-Rom as drive %CDROM%
PAUSE
IF NOT DEFINED CDROM SET /P CDROM=Enter drive letter
SET CDROM=%CDROM%:
SET CDROM=%CDROM:::=:%
SET CDROM
PAUSE

What happens?

jaclaz

#1922
ZEUS__

ZEUS__

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 194 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
hi @jaclaz.. I'll try it now then I'll edit this post :)

my script based a tutorial from driverpacks forum.. I install updates that not integrate with DISM and regedit tweaks.

http://forum.driverp...pic.php?id=5199

I play with windows 8 new.. I test my setupcomplete.cmd with windows 8 updates etc. I think there are a few lines that useless for my windows 8 that commented out.. You think that any other lines that not needed for scripts working correctly?
Champion

Posted Image


#1923
ilko_t

ilko_t

    MSFN Addict

  • Super Moderator
  • 1,722 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
@ ZEUS__

ISO is mounted as a virtual disc during PE pass using imdisk. After first restart it's not longer mounted, hence contents are not accessible, searching for install.wim or any other file on the DVD fails.

If all needed files are in that folder _ekler, you could copy it somewhere on the USB disk (\WINSETUP\ _ekler\ in this example) and amend your script to search for it, instead of \sources\install.wim.
for %%i in (C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z) do if exist %%i:\WINSETUP\_ekler set CDROM=%%i:

Alternatively, you could try mounting the ISO file again at start of your script. Not sure if imdisk can be installed and used at that phase, but maybe worth a try.
Copy WinPreSetup.exe from boot.wim, second index, or use the suitable one from WinSetupFromUSB directory\files\winsetup\ according to your version, 32 or 64 bits.
Place it somewhere on the USB disk, search for it the same way as above and launch it at start of your script passing it the path to the ISO file, e.g.:
start /wait WinPreSetup.exe /mountiso="\WINSETUP\Win8\Win8.iso"

Windows 8 also has native functionality to mount an ISO file. No clue if it's working at that stage, but could be also worth a try.

Install Windows from USB, boot Linux, multiboot and a lot more with WinSetupFromUSB


#1924
ZEUS__

ZEUS__

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 194 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
after @ilko_t wrote, here is a new post.
@jaclaz I gave a try but nothing changed. same as before it hangs on when setupcomplete.cmd and even PAUSE didn't work.

@ilko_t, I tried with this;

for %%i in (C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z) do if exist %%i:\WINSETUP\_ekler set CDROM=%%i:
but again nothing changed. I think the key is your said about virtual disk that imdisk. the folder "_ekler" is in there but setupcomplete.cmd is in DVD :)

Edited by ZEUS__, 07 February 2013 - 06:13 PM.

Champion

Posted Image


#1925
ilko_t

ilko_t

    MSFN Addict

  • Super Moderator
  • 1,722 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Where is setupcomplete.cmd exactly in your source?
Are you using OEM key? Did you use the same key in VMWare?
There is a report which says the script is not launched if an OEM key is used.

Can you check the log files for clues?
http://technet.micro...y/hh824819.aspx

Added:
When are actually contents of $OEM$ folders copied, at which phase? :unsure:

Install Windows from USB, boot Linux, multiboot and a lot more with WinSetupFromUSB





14 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 14 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN