Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Home Hot fixes

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1
elduderino

elduderino

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 75 posts
  • Joined 19-November 03
Hi
I have made and installed an unattended XP Home SP1+ Update Roll-up disc,i then went to The windows update site to download and install the updates that windows said i needed. at the same time copying the updates from WUTemp to a separate folder, so i could then make another disc with the Pre SP2 Hotfixes (that windows said i needed), included.
Here is my svcpack.inf , can someone tell me if i have done it correctly please.(correct switches and right order)and do i need to put QChain.exe in as well.(will it work with Home)

[Version]
Signature="$Windows NT$"
MajorVersion=5
MinorVersion=1
BuildNumber=2600

[SetupData]
CatalogSubDir="\i386\Update"

[ProductCatalogsToInstall]
KB826939.cat

[SetupHotfixesToRun]
update.exe -q -n
js56nen.exe /Q:A /R:N
KB810217.exe /Q /N /Z
KB817787.exe /Q:A /R:N
KB823182.exe /Q /N /Z
KB824105.EXE /Q /N /Z
KB824141.exe /Q /N /Z
KB825119.exe /Q /N /Z
KB828026.exe /Q /N /Z
KB828035.exe /Q /N /Z
msjavwu.exe /Q:A /R:N
Q330994.exe /Q:A /R:N
Q819696.exe /Q /N /Z
Q823718.exe /Q:A /R:N
Q824145.exe /Q:A /R:N


Thanks for any help on this.


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
Numinous

Numinous

    Supercalafragalistic XPalidosious

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 560 posts
  • Joined 30-September 03
add the /O switch to the /Q /N /Z hotfixes and update.exe for a much faster install .. qchain shouldn't be needed, you can add it to be safe

KB828026 needs to be installed after wmp9

#3
Aaron

Aaron

    The MSFN Banana

  • Patrons
  • 5,767 posts
  • Joined 17-August 01
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Take out 817787 too, won't work under svcpack.inf. Besides, if you plan on installing WMP9 then you won't need to install 817787 at all.

#4
elduderino

elduderino

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 75 posts
  • Joined 19-November 03
:) AronXP & Numinous
Thanks for the replies and the info,I hope i have interpreted your info correctly, here is my updated svcpack.inf file for your much needed approval.

[SetupHotfixesToRun]
update.exe -q /o -n
js56nen.exe /Q:A /R:N
KB810217.exe /Q /O /N /Z
KB823182.exe /Q /O /N /Z
KB824105.EXE /Q /O /N /Z
KB824141.exe /Q /O /N /Z
KB825119.exe /Q /O /N /Z
KB828035.exe /Q /O /N /Z
msjavwu.exe /Q:A /R:N
Q330994.exe /Q:A /R:N
Q819696.exe /Q /O /N /Z
Q823718.exe /Q:A /R:N
Q824145.exe /Q:A /R:N
WMP9_MM2.exe
KB828026.exe /Q /O /N /Z
qchain.exe


Also, do i delete Q815062_W2K_spl_X86_EN.exe after Extraction


Thanks again

#5
Aaron

Aaron

    The MSFN Banana

  • Patrons
  • 5,767 posts
  • Joined 17-August 01
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Don't use the /O in update.exe -q -n

#6
elduderino

elduderino

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 75 posts
  • Joined 19-November 03
Hi AaronXP
Thanks for the reply and the info

#7
elduderino

elduderino

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 75 posts
  • Joined 19-November 03
Hi AaronXP

Really appreciate the help given, i feel like a top computer expert (I no where the experts are really), and all i did was follow instructions.
Everything was installed,windows update told me i did not require any critical updates.
One clitch, it was only a 99.5% unattended installation, i had to interact with the installation of Q823718, had to click OK to install, and then told i would have to restart,clicked OK, but set-up did not restart, and continued with the installation.
There are instructions for this update here

MDAC - Requires different switch. Do not use this syntax directly in svcpack.inf. You can create a batch file to call out that syntax from svcpack.inf, or do it from GuiRunOnce:

Install using: Q823718_MDAC_SecurityPatch.exe /T:%systemdrive%\install\tmp /C:"%systemdrive%\install\tmp\dahotfix.exe /q /n" /Q

Would this solve the problem, and if so can you explain it a bit more for a newbie.

If not i am more than pleased with the results, as the first time i installed an operating system it took me 2 days (win 98),and then i had to install the updates.

Many Thanks :)

#8
daze

daze

    $cd /pub || grep $more beer

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 96 posts
  • Joined 31-October 03
Hi,

i was always wondering why some ppl are still using this "qchain.exe" tool. here a quote from microsofts hfdeploy guide

Using Qchain.exe
Windows XP SP1 and all post-SP1 hotfixes have Qchain.exe functionality built in. You can install SP1, and then install any number of post-SP1 hotfixes without having to restart the computer in between.

Or this one:

Note QChain.exe functionality is included in all Windows Server 2003, Windows XP, and Windows 2000 product updates that use Update.exe and that were released since May 18, 2001. However, an issue exists in product updates that were released before December 2002 that may apply the wrong binary on your computer in some circumstances. In March 2003, Microsoft released an updated version of QChain.exe to resolve this issue. For additional information about this issue or to obtain the updated Qchain.exe tool, click the following article number to view the article in the Microsoft Knowledge Base: 815062 The Correct File Is Not Installed When You Chain Multiple Hotfixes


I think i am right, when i say there are no hotfixes before 02/12. and there is no use for this little tool. or am i wrong.

greetings! :)

#9
m4dh0

m4dh0

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 48 posts
  • Joined 23-April 03
internet explorer updates and windows media updates dont have qchain support. Its best to leave it in to be safe.

#10
Aaron

Aaron

    The MSFN Banana

  • Patrons
  • 5,767 posts
  • Joined 17-August 01
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

MDAC - Requires different switch. Do not use this syntax directly in svcpack.inf. You can create a batch file to call out that syntax from svcpack.inf, or do it from GuiRunOnce:

Install using: Q823718_MDAC_SecurityPatch.exe /T:%systemdrive%\install\tmp /C:"%systemdrive%\install\tmp\dahotfix.exe /q /n" /Q

Would this solve the problem, and if so can you explain it a bit more for a newbie.

Yep, put that syntax into a cmd file, e.g. mdac.cmd:

start /wait %systemdrive%\apps\hotfixes\Q823718_MDAC_SecurityPatch.exe /T:%systemdrive%\install\tmp /C:"%systemdrive%\install\tmp\dahotfix.exe /q /n" /Q

Then put in mdac.cmd under [SetupHotfixesToRun] in svcpack.inf

start /wait %systemdrive%\apps\hotfixes\Q823718_MDAC_SecurityPatch.exe /C:"dahotfix.exe /q /n" /q also works well.

#11
elduderino

elduderino

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 75 posts
  • Joined 19-November 03
Hi AaronXP

sorted out the 823718 problem.
Here is my winnt.sif file, and as you can see i have the computer name,and the workgroup name inserted,yet after installation the computer name is one chosen by windows and the Workgroup to join is called Workgroup.
I have been doing Unattended installations for a while,(but only SP1 Unattended, not with the hotfixes) and have never had this happen before,can anybody explain this, it happens with Home, and Pro.

;SetupMgrTag
[Data]
AutoPartition=0
MsDosInitiated="0"
UnattendedInstall="Yes"

[Unattended]
UnattendMode=FullUnattended
OemSkipEula=Yes
OemPreinstall=Yes
TargetPath=\WINDOWS
Repartition=No
FileSystem=ConvertNTFS
UnattendSwitch=yes
DisableDynamicUpdates=Yes
Hibernation=No
WaitForReboot=No
DriverSigningPolicy=ignore

[GuiUnattended]
AdminPassword=*
EncryptedAdminPassword=NO
AutoLogon=Yes
AutoLogonCount=1
OEMSkipRegional=1
TimeZone=85
OemSkipWelcome=1

[UserData]
ProductID=
FullName=""
OrgName=""
ComputerName=Loucypher1

[Display]
BitsPerPel=32
Xresolution=1024
YResolution=768
Vrefresh=75

[TapiLocation]
CountryCode=44
Dialing=Tone
AreaCode=01827

[RegionalSettings]
LanguageGroup=1
SystemLocale=00000809
UserLocale=00000809
InputLocale=0809:00000809

[Branding]
BrandIEUsingUnattended=Yes

[URL]
Home_Page=www.google.com
Help_Page=www.google.com
Search_Page=www.google.com

[Proxy]
Proxy_Enable=0
Use_Same_Proxy=1

[Identification]
JoinWorkgroup=LOUCYPHERS

[Networking]
InstallDefaultComponents=Yes

[SystemRestore]
MaximumDataStorePercentOfDisk=06
RestorePointLife=7
CheckpointSessionFrequency=24

[Components]
AutoUpdate=Off
Fax=On
Freecell=Off
Hearts=Off
Media_clips=Off
Minesweeper=Off
Msnexplr=Off
Objectpkg=Off
Pinball=Off
Rec=Off
Solitaire=Off
Spider=Off
Zonegames=Off

[GuiRunOnce]
%systemdrive%\install\batch_file.cmd
%systemdrive%\install\hotfixes\hotfixes.cmd


Thanks :)

#12
Aaron

Aaron

    The MSFN Banana

  • Patrons
  • 5,767 posts
  • Joined 17-August 01
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Setup will change your computer name if there's already one on the network called loucypher1, you can't have 2 same names on a network.

#13
elduderino

elduderino

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 75 posts
  • Joined 19-November 03
Hi AaronXP
Thanks for the fast reply,never even thought of that.
Thanks :)

#14
Gism0

Gism0

    Huh?

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 473 posts
  • Joined 11-November 03
mine didn't change when i used one that already existed, i just got a load of IP conflicts
Wise man say, "forgiveness is divine, but never pay full price for late pizza." -Michelangelo

#15
elduderino

elduderino

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 75 posts
  • Joined 19-November 03
Hi AaronXP
The only update that will not install is 330994, thats on Pro. i have the hotfix in Update,and Here is the svpack.inf. can you help please.

update.exe -q -n
js56nen.exe /Q:A /R:N
Q815062.exe /Q /O /N /Z
Q819696.exe /Q /O /N /Z
Q823182.exe /Q /O /N /Z
Q824105.exe /Q /O /N /Z
Q824141.exe /Q /O /N /Z
Q824145.exe /Q:A /R:N
Q825119.exe /Q /O /N /Z
Q828035.exe /Q /O /N /Z
Q828750.exe /Q:A /R:N
Q330994.exe /Q:A /R:N
msjavwu.exe /Q:A /R:N
WMP9_MM2.exe
DX9NTopk.exe
Q828026.exe /Q /O /N /Z
QCHAIN.exe

No Problems with any of the others
Thanks.

#16
Aaron

Aaron

    The MSFN Banana

  • Patrons
  • 5,767 posts
  • Joined 17-August 01
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
This is probably because you have downloaded the wrong version. As you can see on this page: http://www.microsoft...94/download.asp there are 4 listed. For Windows XP SP1, download from the first link. If you don't have SP1 slipstreamed, grab from the 3rd link.

#17
elduderino

elduderino

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 75 posts
  • Joined 19-November 03
Hi AaronXP
Thanks for the info, but i am sure i downloaded from the first link, but i will download again overwriting the file in update.

#18
elduderino

elduderino

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 75 posts
  • Joined 19-November 03
Hi AaronXP

[QUOTE]This is probably because you have downloaded the wrong version. As you can see on this page: http://www.microsoft...94/download.asp there are 4 listed. For Windows XP SP1, download from the first link. If you don't have SP1 slipstreamed, grab from the 3rd link.


Yr did it again, thanks a bunch
I use reg tweaks, but how do i have the desktop start with the Icons auto arranged.

:)

#19
XtremeMaC

XtremeMaC

    MSFN SuperB

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 5,070 posts
  • Joined 13-October 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
put a [/quote] at the end to put it on a quote






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users