Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

What is your HardDisk's Brand?


  • Please log in to reply
40 replies to this topic

Poll: What is your HardDisk's Brand? (85 member(s) have cast votes)

What is your HardDisk's Brand?

  1. Voted Western Digital (34 votes [40.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 40.00%

  2. Maxtor (8 votes [9.41%])

    Percentage of vote: 9.41%

  3. Voted Seagate (30 votes [35.29%])

    Percentage of vote: 35.29%

  4. Hitachi (6 votes [7.06%])

    Percentage of vote: 7.06%

  5. IBM (0 votes [0.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 0.00%

  6. Samsung (2 votes [2.35%])

    Percentage of vote: 2.35%

  7. Quantum (0 votes [0.00%])

    Percentage of vote: 0.00%

  8. Other - Please specification in your post (5 votes [5.88%])

    Percentage of vote: 5.88%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#26
pm*

pm*

    MSFN Patron

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 108 posts
i've used seagate on my new PC config

i've used maxtor on my old PC config

i want to use a hitachi


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#27
ripken204

ripken204

    The Hardware Guy

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 6,311 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
i think this should be checkboxes instead of radio buttons..
i chose WD since thats what i have running the OS in 3 of my computers.
my server has a samsung 1TB for OS and a bunch of seagate 1.5TBs


Desktop: || lappped Q6700 w/ lapped TRUE || ASUS P5Q Deluxe|| Sapphire 4870 1GB || Mushkin Ascent XP2-8500 (2x2GB) || 2 x WD6400AAKS || Corsair HX620W || Lian-Li PC-60FB || 2 x BenQ G2400WD || Vista Ultimate 64bit || Samsung SH-S223Q || Logitech MX518 || Logitech Ultra-X || SteelSeries SX || Klipsch ProMedia Ultra 5.1 || ATI TV Wonder 650 PCIe ||
Server: || E5200 w/ XIGMATEK HDT-S1283 || ASUS P5Q-EM || EVGA 8800GTS G92 w/ Accelero S1 R2 || G.SKILL 6400 2x2GB || 1 x WD6400AAKS || 4 x 1TB Samsung F1 || SeaSonic M12II SS-500GM || Antec Three Hundred || Samsung SH-203BL || Ubuntu 8.10 ||


#28
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,699 posts
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

i think this should be checkboxes instead of radio buttons..
i chose WD since thats what i have running the OS in 3 of my computers.
my server has a samsung 1TB for OS and a bunch of seagate 1.5TBs


I agree. Its a big mix for me too. I now use Maxtor ATA and WD SATA at home, and at work its Seagate and WD.
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3.x | lol probloms
msfn2_zpsc37c7153.jpg

#29
herbalist

herbalist

    paranoid independent

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 726 posts
  • OS:98
  • Country: Country Flag
Same here. This PC has a Maxtor, a WD, and a Quantum.

#30
woody.cool

woody.cool

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 38 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
I've got 1 Hitachi and 1 Maxtor in my main PC
BUT, my Server has a two Seagates in it and my laptop's drive just has a HP sticker on it (but I think HP use Western Digital anyway!?! ... please correct me if I'm wrong)

#31
JustShootIt

JustShootIt

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 27 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
I love both Seagate and Western Digital, so it comes down to what's available for what price at the moment of purchase. I've tended towards Seagate lately. However, I really, really want a WD Raptor
 
"If something looks too good to be true, it's best to shoot it, just in case." -- Fiona Glenanne [Burn Notice, USA]

  • Windows XP Pro SP2 (Also have legacy Windows, not installed, except I lost my ME disk. Can install a legacy version in extra space if needed to help troubleshoot.)
  • Linux (Slackware 13), KDE 4 (but will go back to 3, 4 imitates Vista too much), wireless automatic, no need for monitor drivers
  • Linux (Absolute Linux), GNOME, comes with CUPS already configured/running, hundreds of printer-drivers built-in, no need for monitor drivers

#32
Sp0iLedBrAt

Sp0iLedBrAt

    MSFN Addict

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,727 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Western Digital for the desktop, Hitachi Traveler for the notebook.

#33
Blekthor

Blekthor

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 31 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
All WD - got tired of 500gb Seagates dropping like flies. (that ought to get some flames)

#34
Tripredacus

Tripredacus

    K-Mart-ian Legend

  • Super Moderator
  • 9,699 posts
  • OS:Server 2012
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

All WD - got tired of 500gb Seagates dropping like flies. (that ought to get some flames)


Not really. In fact we had so many threads about Seagates getting bricked that we created a subforum for those types of threads:
http://www.msfn.org/...e-media-issues/
MSFN RULES | GimageX HTA for PE 3.x | lol probloms
msfn2_zpsc37c7153.jpg

#35
Scofield

Scofield

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Sorry if this is considered necro posting I have 5 of those brands actually (in different computers, I have 6 older computers. NOTE these are all IDE drives....

I'll list were each brand of drive is...

I have one Western Digital 80GB in my main computer

One Seagate Barracuda 120GB in my main computer

One Maxtor 20GB in my Pentium 3

One Seagate Barracuda 20GB in my Pentium 4

I also have a Hitachi Deskstar 1TB external drive

Oh, and there was a brand I have that wasn't listed in the poll... Fujitsu it's in my Pentium 1 MMX (it's a 16GB drive split in half since that computer's BIOS can't read a disk over the size of 13GB)

Edited by Scofield, 28 October 2010 - 10:44 AM.


#36
James_A

James_A

     

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 153 posts
Also not in the poll: Toshiba.

(Don't get the 1TB Toshiba 2.5inch SATA for your laptop -- it won't fit because it's 12.5mm high not 9.5mm high.)

#37
robertplant

robertplant

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Seagate just cuz I got an OEM real cheap, but it seems to be working ok.

Edited by robertplant, 04 November 2010 - 11:26 AM.


#38
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,942 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

[x] Samsung (SpinPoint F3)
Posted Image

#39
Andromeda43

Andromeda43

    Retired PC Tech.

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,018 posts
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
The poll was somewhat misleading, since IBM and Quantum are no longer making hard drives.

As a computer builder, the worse drives I ever used were WD's. If you do have an RMA with one, you'll get a rebuilt drive back, not a new one.
The last one I got back from WD was so scratched up, it looked like someone had kicked it across a cement floor. It only lasted one month, in service, before it shot craps. NO MORE WD's for this old tech.

I use mostly Seagate/Maxtor drives, but recently I got a great deal on a Samsung 1 terrabyte drive (SATA II) and I'm lovin' it. It's fast, quiet and does not heat up like the WD's used to.

B)
A person with experience is never at the mercy of a person with an argument.

#40
endlessness

endlessness

    for large values of 5

  • Member
  • 21 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
My Dell XPS 15 has a Seagate and my Acer 5532 has a WD. I have an Hitachi in an external case.

#41
JodyT

JodyT

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 235 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Two Fitjitsu U320 SCSI Drives






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN