Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

vLite v1.2 Final - RapidCatched

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
148 replies to this topic

#101
mil0sh

mil0sh
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • Joined 15-September 05
I copied wimgapi.dll x64 instead of x86 version.

My bad. :rolleyes:

Edited by mil0sh, 25 September 2008 - 10:57 AM.



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#102
RAMI7250

RAMI7250

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 49 posts
  • Joined 05-April 05
great work nuhi!

btw, what about vista tweaking option?

#103
sp00f

sp00f

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 733 posts
  • Joined 30-November 06
Has anyone integrated : KB947821-v4 ?
Cause inside are lots of exe files :

[MSUInstallOrder]
0=Windows6.0-6001-Client-X86.EXE
1=Windows6.0-6001-Client-Wave0-X86.EXE
2=Windows6.0-6001-Client-Wave1-X86.EXE
3=Windows6.0-6001-Server-X86.EXE
4=Windows6.0-6001-Server-Wave0-X86.EXE
5=Windows6.0-6001-Server-Wave1-X86.EXE
6=Windows6.0-6001-Servicing-X86.EXE
7=CheckSURPackage.EXE
8=Windows6.0-KB947821-v4-x86.cab


#104
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,092 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

you don't need to integrate that update. This is update is only needed if you have CBS issues which prevent installing updates. If you don't have any issue skip this update
Posted Image

#105
Tomorrow

Tomorrow

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 375 posts
  • Joined 20-December 07
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

you don't need to integrate that update. This is update is only needed if you have CBS issues which prevent installing updates. If you don't have any issue skip this update

Actually:

This tool is being offered because an inconsistency was found in the Windows servicing store which may prevent the successful installation of future updates, service packs, and software. This tool checks your computer for such inconsistencies and attempts to resolve issues if found.


So to avoid possible problems in future it is suggested to install this

#106
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,092 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

So to avoid possible problems in future it is suggested to install this


No!

Only run the update if you have issue with the CBS :rolleyes:
Posted Image

#107
georgeasch

georgeasch

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 17 posts
  • Joined 10-August 05
I was wrong, sorry!

Edited by georgeasch, 17 October 2008 - 01:04 AM.


#108
Food4PC

Food4PC
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 02-March 08
Attached File  Last_Session.ini   10.79KB   8 downloadsHello Everybody here.... :hello:

Let me get straight to the topic--- Here i have a strange problem.the problem is whenever i integrate any windows update(.msu) and remove the components using vlite v1.2 Final,my installation never completes(or u may say it completes) but never able to get to the desktop as it shows something like completing stage 3of 3 at the logon screen- it goes from 0 to 100% rebooots n goes on rebooting (looping).......

Though when i remove the same components without adding any update to my pre-integrated vista sp1 image(x86),the installation works.it finishes off perfectly.

i tried another way, also --- didnt integrated any update, just only internet explorer 8 beta 2 but again the same error..

I think this may be becoz i remove component cache(Winsxs). it might be like if i integrate any updates then i shouldn't remove comp. cache.

My vlite config file is attached (see at the top of this note),plz tell me if i'm removing something that is required for setup to work properly.

Also can somebody guide me how to disable driver signing check during setup,i get an error message saying my drivers are not signed.This breaks the unattended setup.

Waiting For Quick Reps AND forgive me if i hav posted in the wrong thread!!!!

#109
marauder16

marauder16

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 37 posts
  • Joined 09-December 07
yep, that's the problem I get when removing winsxs along with integrating updates. I just decided to drop that but I'm sure there's a solution =)
to understand...

#110
Food4PC

Food4PC
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 02-March 08
Download a Tool -- GimageX, extract n copy wmigapi.dll to the extracted gimagex folder(keep both gimagex and wmigapi.dll file in one folder) and install ur respective wmifilter (x86 or x64)drvier.open gimagex - click mount- [before this make a folder say WORK in ur C:\ drive] and select mount point to this folder(WORK).Now select ur vlited Install.wim as source.click read write and then mount.now goto WORK and open winsxs folder there u will find pending.xml- delete it! (search work folder for pending.xml if u cant find it)close the folder.Now click commit changes in the tool and unmount, u may now make ur vlited bootable cd--- one more thing ='TESTED WORKING'
Bang! all done :thumbup

Credits : WiCiO

#111
bardeban

bardeban
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 17-November 08
I installed vlite 1.2 final. but everytime i open vlite , it asks me to download and install waik, its a loop and I don't know how to go around it.
Can you help please?
TIA :blink:

#112
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,092 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

copy the WIMGAPI.dll from the C:\Program Files\Windows AIK\Tools\x86 to your vLite installation folder.
Posted Image

#113
marauder16

marauder16

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 37 posts
  • Joined 09-December 07
nuhi, when will we see 7lite? :D prebetas are already available and they are faast (just need some tuning :P )
to understand...

#114
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,092 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

you can use vLite 1.2 to remove things from Win7.
Posted Image

#115
marauder16

marauder16

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 37 posts
  • Joined 09-December 07

you can use vLite 1.2 to remove things from Win7.

didn't try that, thank you ;)
to understand...

#116
RickSteele

RickSteele

    Rick Steele

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 259 posts
  • Joined 13-October 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
....any ideas nuhi?:

http://www.msfn.org/...howtopic=126428

#117
nlvfreestyler

nlvfreestyler
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 09-June 07
I've read a lot of topics here and somewhere else...but I'm doubtful.

Now I want to make an unattended ISO of windows vista ultimate x64 with SP1 drivers, hotfix and all my favorite applications. So I will be able to install all I need in one step.

I've read this guide but I'm doubtful: Do I need other hotfixes besides sp1's ones or this guide is correct ?

Does SP1 contain all hotfix I need ? Will I need to download other hotfixes non included in SP1 ?

Can I install additional drivers using drivers packs and following the same method I used with nlite?
If this method don't work, wich is the correct one ?

I've maked applications' cabs for nlite but I'm not sure they will work with vlite. Are they compatible ?
How can I add my applications to ISO image ?

In short: I need help to make a complete iso image with windows vista ultimate x64, all needed drivers, all needed hotfixes and all my favorite applications.

Thanks a lot !

Sorry for my bad english

#118
COOLCOMPUTERGUY

COOLCOMPUTERGUY

    Cool.

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 72 posts
  • Joined 27-October 08
I was just wondering why the wim filter driver is not included in the new version, was it a legal issue ?
Dave

#119
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,092 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

yes, the files are not marked as Redistributable and so providing those files with your own software is not allowed. To get the WIM files you have to download the full WAIK.
Posted Image

#120
COOLCOMPUTERGUY

COOLCOMPUTERGUY

    Cool.

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 72 posts
  • Joined 27-October 08
Just as I thought.
Vlite always works for me.
Dave

#121
Guest_TomaXTC_*

Guest_TomaXTC_*
  • Guests
  • Joined --
erased

Edited by TomaXTC, 02 December 2008 - 02:37 PM.


#122
thinhinsight

thinhinsight
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 22-December 08
I have integrated some drivers into my vista iso and installed it using VMWare Workstation 6.5. Is there any way i can check whether my drivers has been successfully installed together with vista?

For instance, I know that my touch pad drivers are all in C:\Program Files\Synaptics\ and I go to check this folder in my virtual computer. I found nothing!!! Does this mean that the driver has unsuccessfully been integrated into my iso? I also noticed a prompt when vlite was trying to integrate the drivers and rebuilding the image indicating that some file could not be found.

Please note I am using VMWare to test my iso.

Edit: Add some more questions:

What is the suggested modification sequence when using vlite? (e.g. slipstream service pack, integrate hotfixes, add drivers, language pack, remove components,... and so on)
I'm particulary asking if we should remove some unnecessary drivers before integrating our own ones. For example, I want to integrate my own Nvidia graphic card driver. Should I remove the one that is in vista and then integrate my driver or should I do the other way round? And in general, what is the suggested steps we should follow to reduce errors.

I'm experimenting, and if i find anything, i will reply here.

Edited by thinhinsight, 25 December 2008 - 04:44 AM.


#123
redxii

redxii

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 286 posts
  • Joined 18-August 05
To check integrated drivers you'd have to install it on the system it is meant for, virtual machines have different emulated hardware.

#124
JatinBeniwal

JatinBeniwal

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 167 posts
  • Joined 27-November 08
To Check reopens vlite and in integration tab if you found your integrated drivers in it. They are integrated sucessfully otherwise they are not.
Jatin Beniwal

#125
scorpi.dragon

scorpi.dragon

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts
  • Joined 21-March 08
Vlite 1.2 final has an issue when integrating drivers after SP1 is slipstreamed into Vista Ultimate x64 :thumbdown. Vlite seems to corrupt both AMD AHCI & Realtek LAN drivers during installation of Vista Ultimate x64 too :angry:.

Edited by scorpi.dragon, 16 January 2009 - 04:55 AM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users