Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Asus Eee PC and Windows 9x.

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
98 replies to this topic

#26
Tihiy

Tihiy

    the creator

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,941 posts
  • Joined 19-November 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

There IS. Unfortunately page with them (http://my.scitechsoft.com/) vanished.

So as abadonware, i can release my build with support for Intel graphics up to 965G (and some other graphic chipsets, too):
http://rapidshare.co.../snapdriver.rar




How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#27
Sfor

Sfor

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 561 posts
  • Joined 01-July 07
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag
The SNAP driver works correctly with DOS applications. But, the system does not switch off itself. It is necesary to use the power button.

The top possible resolution on the LCD is the 800x600, still. It is possible to select a higher resolution, but the LCD will cut it to the top left 1024x600.

Edited by Sfor, 17 October 2008 - 02:34 AM.


#28
bearwindows

bearwindows

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 34 posts
  • Joined 13-June 07

The SNAP driver works correctly with DOS applications. But, the system does not switch off itself. It is necesary to use the power button.

The top possible resolution on the LCD is the 800x600, still. It is possible to select a higher resolution, but the LCD will cut it to the top left 1024x600.

using GAMODE.EXE tool it is possible to add any resolution "on the fly" in Windows9x//NT/2000/XP/2003.
Link: http://www.bearwindo....net/myproj.htm
Usage from command line:
GAMode - SciTech SNAP Graphics Dial-A-Mode Utility
		 Copyright 1993-2006 SciTech Software, Inc.

Valid commands are:

  gamode show [device]
  gamode showvbe [device]
	 To show the list of display modes for the device. The showvbe variant
	 will show the list of modes reported to VESA VBE applications.

  gamode add <xres> <yres> <bits> [device]
	 To add a new display mode (automatically enabled for VESA VBE apps)

  gamode addref <xres> <yres> <refresh> [device]
	 To add a new refresh rate for a specific resolution. To specify an
	 interlaced refresh rate, use a negative value. i.e.: use -87 for 87Hz
	 interlaced modes.

  gamode del <xres> <yres> <bits> [device]
	 To remove a specific display mode

  gamode set <xres> <yres> <bits> <refresh> [head] [device]
	 To set the default refresh rate for a specific resolution
This way I add std DVD PAL resolution 720x576:
gamode add 720 576 8
gamode add 720 576 16
gamode add 720 576 32
No restart is required.

Edited by bearwindows, 17 October 2008 - 10:56 AM.

Developer quote:
If its good, I am responsible. If its bad, its all your fault. ;)
Suggestions and bug-reports are always welcome.
Well ... bug-reports are perhaps not *that* welcome ... ;)
© Daniela Engert.

#29
Sfor

Sfor

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 561 posts
  • Joined 01-July 07
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag
After adding the 1024x600 modes I had to restart the system. Then I was able to select the 1024x600 mode.

Unfortunatelly, the screen remained at 800x600. The desktop was resized to 1024x600, but the visible part is 800x600, only.

So, GAMode does not change much


I've checked the 1024v768 mode, again. I was wrong. The screen is cut to just 800x600 instead of 1024x600.

I have no idea how to set the native 1024x600 LCD resolution.

Edited by Sfor, 18 October 2008 - 01:55 AM.


#30
Tihiy

Tihiy

    the creator

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,941 posts
  • Joined 19-November 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

That won't help. For me to use 1280x800 resolution i had to install resident VBIOS patcher, and that worked only with VBEMP, not with any SciTech driver.

#31
Sfor

Sfor

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 561 posts
  • Joined 01-July 07
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag
Is there Windows 98 compatible VBEMP driver available?

All I've found is Windows NT related, so far.

#32
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,674 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Is there Windows 98 compatible VBEMP driver available?

All I've found is Windows NT related, so far.


You mean apart the one by bearwindows?
http://www.msfn.org/...d...1.html&st=4

Didn't you already tried it? :unsure:

jaclaz

#33
Sfor

Sfor

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 561 posts
  • Joined 01-July 07
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag
Oh, I did not realize the VBEMP = Universal VBE. Apparently there are two branches of the same project (9x and NT compatible).

Still, it allows to use just 800x600 mode.

How can I "persuade" the BIOS to use 1024x600?

#34
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,674 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
If I get it right, you have a i910 which should behave (wrongly) like the 915 G.

On the same page:
http://www.geocities...ows/vbe9x.htm#7

Cards (chips) affected
Description

Intel 845G, 865G, 915G (may be others)
PRB: Cannot set resolution higher than 800x600x8bits and 640x480x16bits.
DETAILS: In Video BIOS frame buffer size hardwired to 832 Kbytes, which is not enough even for 1024x768x16bit = 1024*768*2 = 1572864, 1572864 > 832K.
FIX: Update your BIOS with latest version or patch it.


You may want to try running INFOVBE:
http://www.geocities...ows/vbe9x.htm#7
http://www.bearwindo...net/infovbe.zip
to make sure about the available resolutions, then try contacting bearwindows :thumbup , he may have (or find) a solution :unsure:.

jaclaz

#35
Sfor

Sfor

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 561 posts
  • Joined 01-July 07
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag
No, it does not seem to be the case.

InfoVBE (build 05may2008)
VESA/VBE BIOS Present (3.00, 7872 Kb)
OEM String: (0x0BC3FEC8) Intel®915GM/910ML/915MS Graphics Chip Accelerated VGA BIOS
Capabilities: 0x00000001
OEM VendorName: (0x0BC3FF05) Intel Corporation
OEM ProductName: (0x0BC3FF17) Intel®915GM/910ML/915MS Graphics Controller
OEM ProductRev: (0x0BC3FF45) Hardware Version 0.0
OEM SoftwareRev: 0x0100
VideoModePtr: 0x0BC3FE08


So, the BIOS reports more than enough of memory available.

#36
bearwindows

bearwindows

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 34 posts
  • Joined 13-June 07
Sfor
I see no problems with your VBIOS.
There is another way. Use Intel Embedded Graphics Drivers for i915/910 - http://www.intel.com...ics_drivers.htm . It includes Terminate-and-stay-resident VBIOS module with editor. You can add needed mode, load VBIOS into RAM and then use VBEMP 9x or SNAP Graphics in VESA mode. Some people tell that this method works well.
Same functionality used in 915resolution.
Developer quote:
If its good, I am responsible. If its bad, its all your fault. ;)
Suggestions and bug-reports are always welcome.
Well ... bug-reports are perhaps not *that* welcome ... ;)
© Daniela Engert.

#37
Sfor

Sfor

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 561 posts
  • Joined 01-July 07
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag
I was able to build a VBIOS. It seems to be working fine in DOS. But, Windows 98 fails to load with the VBEMP 9x, if the VBIOS module was loaded to the memory.

I found no indication how the VBIOS should be loaded, so I've added it to the AUTOEXEC.BAT.

I was unable to switch the SNAP driver to the VESA mode. The "gaoption.exe vesa on" command brings an iformation the nga_w32.dll could not be loaded.

The IEGD package suggests it is possible to build own EFI module. The EEE supports EFI, as far as I know. The linux version of the EEE PC 900 does have the EFI partition by default. Still, I do not know what to do with it.

#38
bearwindows

bearwindows

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 34 posts
  • Joined 13-June 07
Sfor
You can use my infovbe tool to see which VESA modes are available after you loaded VBIOS.

October 21 I made a new VBEMP 9x version with ASUS EEE PC (with Intel 91xG Graphics) support.
It requires a loading of TSR VBIOS before loading driver (included with 08.10.21 driver).
See my site for details.

Edited by bearwindows, 25 October 2008 - 04:57 AM.

Developer quote:
If its good, I am responsible. If its bad, its all your fault. ;)
Suggestions and bug-reports are always welcome.
Well ... bug-reports are perhaps not *that* welcome ... ;)
© Daniela Engert.

#39
Sfor

Sfor

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 561 posts
  • Joined 01-July 07
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag
Good news is the DOS sessions are working in windowed mode with the new driver. So, it is significantly better, than the regular one.

The bad news is, I can not load Windows with the VBIOS loaded, still.

The InfoVBE tool works correctly without the VBIOS. But, with the VBIOS it does not exit as it should to. A lot of informations scrolls through the screen, then stops at some point. It is necesary to reboot the system then. I've tried to redirect the screen output to a file. But, the contents of the output file gets lost after the reboot. So, I can not check if the new modes are present in the VBIOS.

----- Edit
The new VBEMP 9x comes with a properly working VBIOS TSR included. After loading the /1024x768/alv_1411.exe in the autoexec.bat the 1024x600 mode becomes available.
-----

I found another strange behavior connected with disabled wireless network card. The Windows 98 started to crash at booting when the unknown ethernet adapter device was present in the device manager and disabled in BIOS. To make everything working correctly with both enabled and disabled wireless adapter, I had to let the windows detect both Atheros network cards as unknown network cards, and then I have disabled both in the device manager. Now everything works fine, no matter if the wireless card is enabled or disabled.

Edited by Sfor, 25 October 2008 - 06:20 AM.


#40
Mijzelf

Mijzelf

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 462 posts
  • Joined 11-April 07

I've tried to redirect the screen output to a file. But, the contents of the output file gets lost after the reboot. So, I can not check if the new modes are present in the VBIOS.

Maybe you can redirect the output to a serial port? Or doesn't the EEE has one?

#41
Sfor

Sfor

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 561 posts
  • Joined 01-July 07
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag

Maybe you can redirect the output to a serial port? Or doesn't the EEE has one?

Asus EEE PC does have just USB ports. So, no RS232 available.

Edited by Sfor, 23 October 2008 - 11:57 PM.


#42
Sfor

Sfor

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 561 posts
  • Joined 01-July 07
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag
Thanks to Bearwindows there is a new version of VBEMP 9x driver available.

The problem with DOS applications have been solved. It is possible to run them in a window, now.

The 1024x600 screen resolution is available as well. To make it work it is necesary to add a VBIOS TSR utility in the autoexec.bat.

Both driver and utility are available at http://www.geocities...ndows/vbe9x.htm.

#43
Sfor

Sfor

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 561 posts
  • Joined 01-July 07
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag
Oooops! The problem with DOS applications was not solved, yet. On the other hand, the system does not hang, as it was with the older driver.

When starting a DOS application in a windowed mode the screen contents gets destroyed completely. In order to get back to normal, it is enough to switch the DOS application to full screen, and then back to windowed mode (ALT+ENTER).

When starting a DOS application in full screen mode, everything works correctly. So, it is a good idea to keep the _DEFAULT.PIF file forcing DOS application to use full screen as the default mode.

Edited by Sfor, 28 October 2008 - 06:22 AM.


#44
Sfor

Sfor

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 561 posts
  • Joined 01-July 07
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag
Bearwindows helped me again.

It is possible to enable the ACPI support in Windows 98. To do so it is necesary to import a following registry settings:

REGEDIT4

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Detect]
"ACPIOption"=dword:00000001

Then the "new hardware wizard" will detect the ACPI BIOS.

However, there is a catch in it. In my case, enabling ACPI BIOS made the windows detect the built in USB card reader. Now SD cards are both detected by the BIOS USB drive support and the Windows giving two drive letters for a single SD card. It does not seem to be a very important issue, but it is a bit irritating.

#45
Sfor

Sfor

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 561 posts
  • Joined 01-July 07
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag
I've been thinking about removing the duplicated USB MS-DOS compatible drive letters from Windows by creating a DOS utility. It should be possible to remove a USB drive letter from the DOS.

But, there are a few problems:
- Where the Windows takes the DOS drive informations from? (DOS or BIOS) Is it necesary to remove the drive from both BIOS and DOS disk drive devices list?
- The DOS support for the USB drives comes with loading IO.SYS, as BIOS does the whole job. So, there is no possibility to remove a driver or something. It would be necesary to undo quite a few things, probably.
- Perhaps a boot manager could do the trick of removing the unwanted USB drives.

-------------------------------------------

I've tried to hide the partition on the USB drive using XOSL boot manager. It did hide the drive in DOS, and the Windows showed just one drive letter. Unfortunatelly, Windows detected the SD card as an unformatted one. So, this system is useless.

Clearly XOSL is hiding partitions through a change in the partition table. The Windows can not access the drive in such a case.

It could be possible to enable the partition back, after DOS booted. So, the windows gets a correct partition information, that way. But, it would require to create an application to change the partition of the flash drive. It should be relatively simple, when compared to the task of forcing the DOS to loose the USB drive letter support.

Edited by Sfor, 11 November 2008 - 06:05 AM.


#46
dencorso

dencorso

    Iuvat plus qui nihil obstat

  • Supervisor
  • 6,023 posts
  • Joined 07-April 07
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Bearwindows helped me again.

It is possible to enable the ACPI support in Windows 98. To do so it is necesary to import a following registry settings:

REGEDIT4

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Detect]
"ACPIOption"=dword:00000001

Then the "new hardware wizard" will detect the ACPI BIOS.

However, there is a catch in it. In my case, enabling ACPI BIOS made the windows detect the built in USB card reader. Now SD cards are both detected by the BIOS USB drive support and the Windows giving two drive letters for a single SD card. It does not seem to be a very important issue, but it is a bit irritating.

You can switch it to APM instead, and see how it behaves... It's easy, just set:
"ACPIOption"=dword:00000002, restart, redetect your hardware and restart. This may solve your duplicate drive letter problem and keep the auto turn-off working. ;)

#47
Sfor

Sfor

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 561 posts
  • Joined 01-July 07
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag
Indeed. Switching back to APM does remove the problem of duplicated USB drive letters. However, the ACPI buttons are a very useful function. I do not want to loose the button function by switching to APM.

#48
iWindoze

iWindoze

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 122 posts
  • Joined 07-June 05
Its been awhile, so I have to ask--any updates on this? I'm happy enough with my Ubuntu install, but being that I really cut my teeth on Win9x I'm hoping these issues get worked out and I can install Win9x for a little mucking about. Besides, I can't imagine Win9x taking as long to boot up as Ubuntu does on my EeePC...

--iWindoze

#49
Sfor

Sfor

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 561 posts
  • Joined 01-July 07
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag
I did not made any progress, unfortunatelly. I had some more important matters to attend to, and I'm quite satisfied with the dual boot Xandros and Windows 98 marriage.

Windows 98 is sufficient and efficient for working, while Xandros is used just for wireless network and entertaining purposes.

There is a new 0906 BIOS version available for the 900 series. But, I was unable to upgrade the BIOS, so far.

I would like to see some power and VGA BIOS improvements, as it could push the thread forward.

#50
Sfor

Sfor

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 561 posts
  • Joined 01-July 07
  • OS:Windows 2000 Professional
  • Country: Country Flag
I've just received a brand new Asus EEE PC 900 with factory Xandros setup. It had exactly the same BIOS version, as the old one. But, in this case I was able to successfully upgrade the BIOS.

The BIOS upgrade procedure requires to reboot the system. Then another OS is started (it's probably some kind of DOS). After the BIOS upgrade, the computer has to be switched off. Then the Xandros starts, again.

I do believe the factory third small FAT partition is used during the BIOS upgrade. So, when making a dual Xandros/Windows 98 system, the default 4 partition layout is changed. And thats the reason, why I was unable to upgrade the BIOS in my old EEE PC.

The only BIOS difference visible on the first sight is the table showing the PnP interrupt assignments and hardware details before system booting starts.

Edited by Sfor, 01 April 2009 - 02:16 AM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users