Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

windows 7 beta and vlite

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
145 replies to this topic

#126
Guillaume

Guillaume

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 93 posts
  • Joined 06-November 04

Leave all things in the source folder :hello:


Could you expand on this a little? What all things are u refering to?

I think this responds to the Manual Install (Setup.exe): you can remove Manual Install if you want, but you'll have to "recopy" the Source folder.


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#127
marcash

marcash

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 18 posts
  • Joined 13-February 07
hey

how can i put vlite over 7100 x64 ?

there is some problem while install: after first reboot says install problem- please install again?

what did i wrong
i have not removed :
game explorer, crash dump, manual install, sqm, win firewall

#128
Guillaume

Guillaume

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 93 posts
  • Joined 06-November 04
Yeah, with the newer builds the required components list seems to have extended. Although I'm a real nLite fan, I'd say vLite is hardly worth the trouble for Win7.

#129
Yurek3

Yurek3

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 270 posts
  • Joined 23-November 04
christopher do not remuve "HELP"

And use VLite in Windows 7 ,for me working good.

#130
marcash

marcash

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 18 posts
  • Joined 13-February 07

christopher do not remuve "HELP"

And use VLite in Windows 7 ,for me working good.



also workin with the 7100 x64 ?

can can you make a list which parts we have to leave

#131
Intelmaster

Intelmaster

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 16 posts
  • Joined 12-December 08

hey

how can i put vlite over 7100 x64 ?

there is some problem while install: after first reboot says install problem- please install again?

what did i wrong
i have not removed :
game explorer, crash dump, manual install, sqm, win firewall


Hello,

keep Internet Explorer.. Then it installs complete.... SQM could remove in the Rc Build 7100 ;-)

#132
marcash

marcash

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 18 posts
  • Joined 13-February 07
i have not removed the IE8

here my ini

vLite preset file
;
;#Environment:
; vLite v1.2
; Framework 2.0.50727.1434
; Microsoft Windows NT 6.0.6001 Service Pack 1 32-bit
;
;#Target:
; Windows 7 ULTIMATE 32-bit <----- dont knw why 32bit i have done it with the x64
; Version 6.1 English (United States)
;
[Compatibility]
DVD Treasury
Halo 2
Hauppauge WinTV
Logitech Setpoint
Aero Glass
Internet Explorer
Scanners and Cameras
System Restore
Windows Update

[CustomHide]

[Components]
;# Accessories #
Accessibility
Character Map
Disk Cleanup
Games-Premium Inbox Games
Snipping Tool
Speech Support
System Information
Welcome Center
;# Drivers #
Diva Server
QLogic Fibre Channel Adapter
;# Hardware Support #
Fax Support
Floppy Disk Support
Internet Small Computer System Interface (iSCSI)
Windows HotStart
XBOX 360 Controller
;# Languages #
Arabic
Brazillian
Bulgarian
Croatian
Czech
Danish
Dutch
Estonian
Finnish
French
German
Greek
Hebrew
Hungarian
Italian
Japanese
Korean
Latvian
Lithuanian
Norwegian
Polish
Portuguese
Romanian
Russian
Serbian
Simplified Chinese
Slovak
Slovenian
Swedish
Table Driven Text Input Processor
Thai
Traditional Chinese
Turkish
Ukrainian
;# Multimedia #
Intel Indeo
Media Center
Media Metadata Handler
Music and Video samples
Sample Pictures
SideShow
Sound Recorder
;# Network #
Connect to a Network Projector
Distributed File System (DFS)
File and printer sharing (Server)
Internet Information Services (IIS)
Remote Desktop and Assistance
Remote Desktop Client
RIP Listener
Simple Network Management Protocol (SNMP)
Simple TCPIP services
Telnet Client
Telnet Server
TFTP Client
Windows Collaboration
;# System #
Disk Quota
Help
Microsoft Client For NFS
Microsoft Message Queue (MSMQ)
Natural Language
Performance Counters
Reliability and Performance Monitor
Remote Differential Compression
Security Center
Software Quality Management (SQM)
Subsystem for UNIX-based Applications (SUA)
Tablet PC
Windows Defender
Windows Easy Transfer
Windows SAT (Performance Index)

[Options]
DEP (Data Execution Prevention) = Enabled only for OS components (Optin)
User Account Control (UAC) = Enabled
AntiSpyware Realtime Protection = Default
Memory requirement = 256MB
AutoPlay = Disabled
Paging Executive = Enabled
Power scheme = High performance
Power button = Do nothing
Sleep button = Do nothing
Control Panel - Classic View = Enabled
Show hidden files and folders = No
Show protected operating system files = No
Show extensions for known file types = Yes
IE Phishing Filter = Enabled
IE Phishing Verification Ballon Tips = Enabled

[Services]
APPMGMT = Disabled
CERTPROPSVC = Disabled
CSCSERVICE = Disabled
DEFRAGSVC = Disabled
DPS = Disabled
FDPHOST = Disabled
FDRESPUB = Disabled
HIDSERV = Disabled
HKMSVC = Disabled
HOMEGROUPLISTENER = Disabled
HOMEGROUPPROVIDER = Disabled
IDSVC = Disabled
IPBUSENUM = Disabled
IPHLPSVC = Disabled
LLTDSVC = Disabled
MSDTC = Disabled
NAPAGENT = Disabled
NETLOGON = Disabled
PNGSVC = Disabled
QWAVE = Disabled
REMOTEREGISTRY = Disabled
SCARDSVR = Disabled
SCPOLICYSVC = Disabled
SENSORSMTPMONITOR = Disabled
SENSRSVC = Disabled
SPOOLER = Manual
TRKWKS = Disabled
WBIOSRVC = Disabled
WCNCSVC = Disabled
WDISERVICEHOST = Disabled
WDISYSTEMHOST = Disabled
WEBCLIENT = Disabled
WERCPLSUPPORT = Disabled
WERSVC = Disabled
WINHTTPAUTOPROXYSVC = Disabled
WINRM = Disabled
WMPNETWORKSVC = Disabled
WPDBUSENUM = Disabled
WSEARCH = Disabled

[Protection]
Windows\System32\wisptis.exe
Windows\System32\ieframe.dll
Windows\System32\shell32.dll
Windows\System32\stobject.dll
Windows\System32\TabletPC.cpl
Windows\System32\themecpl.dll
Windows\System32\themeui.dll
Windows\System32\powercfg.cpl
Windows\System32\drivers\diskdump.sys
Windows\System32\drivers\dumpata.sys

[Drivers]

[Unattended]

[Hotfixes]

[LanguagePacks]

#133
MMDominator88

MMDominator88
  • Member
  • 6 posts
  • Joined 27-April 08
-removed-

Edited by MMDominator88, 08 May 2009 - 06:10 PM.


#134
dead0

dead0

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 488 posts
  • Joined 29-October 06
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
anyone having any problems trying to remove packages with DISM? i always get access errors or cannot find the file specified...

#135
aviv00

aviv00

    Windowaizer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 989 posts
  • Joined 02-April 07
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

anyone having any problems trying to remove packages with DISM? i always get access errors or cannot find the file specified...


more info pls

#136
dead0

dead0

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 488 posts
  • Joined 29-October 06
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

anyone having any problems trying to remove packages with DISM? i always get access errors or cannot find the file specified...


more info pls

as an example, i mounted install.wim to folder c:\s2 using imagex & then ran this command: dism.exe /image:C:\s2 /remove-package /packagename:Microsoft-Windows-IIS-WebServer-AddOn-2-Package~31bf3856ad364e35~x86~~6.1.7127.0
i get package error: 0x80070005
error: 5
access is denied.

#137
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,133 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

How did you mount the Image? Please post your commandline
Posted Image

#138
dead0

dead0

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 488 posts
  • Joined 29-October 06
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

How did you mount the Image? Please post your commandline

i actually used imagex to mount, using the gimagex GUI with r/w checked? for some reason, i cant mount with dism? the mount-wim command is unknown?

Edited by dead0, 19 May 2009 - 03:08 PM.


#139
aviv00

aviv00

    Windowaizer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 989 posts
  • Joined 02-April 07
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

anyone having any problems trying to remove packages with DISM? i always get access errors or cannot find the file specified...


more info pls

as an example, i mounted install.wim to folder c:\s2 using imagex & then ran this command: dism.exe /image:C:\s2 /remove-package /packagename:Microsoft-Windows-IIS-WebServer-AddOn-2-Package~31bf3856ad364e35~x86~~6.1.7127.0
i get package error: 0x80070005
error: 5
access is denied.


did u use the wim tweak with /m switch ?

#140
Intelmaster

Intelmaster

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 16 posts
  • Joined 12-December 08
Hello,

here ist my preset file... all things work properly with no problems

Attached Files


Edited by Intelmaster, 21 May 2009 - 08:15 AM.


#141
dead0

dead0

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 488 posts
  • Joined 29-October 06
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

anyone having any problems trying to remove packages with DISM? i always get access errors or cannot find the file specified...


more info pls

as an example, i mounted install.wim to folder c:\s2 using imagex & then ran this command: dism.exe /image:C:\s2 /remove-package /packagename:Microsoft-Windows-IIS-WebServer-AddOn-2-Package~31bf3856ad364e35~x86~~6.1.7127.0
i get package error: 0x80070005
error: 5
access is denied.


did u use the wim tweak with /m switch ?

should i have done?

#142
aviv00

aviv00

    Windowaizer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 989 posts
  • Joined 02-April 07
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
on win7 u should use /m like
install_tweak.exe /m /p c:\work\wimmount

/m delete the owners keys from another location in the hive

that why u cant delete it cos only the owner could do that

#143
dead0

dead0

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 488 posts
  • Joined 29-October 06
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

on win7 u should use /m like
install_tweak.exe /m /p c:\work\wimmount

/m delete the owners keys from another location in the hive

that why u cant delete it cos only the owner could do that

that seemed to have worked! :thumbup

#144
dead0

dead0

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 488 posts
  • Joined 29-October 06
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
a quick update, i have finally made an almost stable vlite'd copy of windows 7. its a mixture of dism & vlite with the install size coming to just under 3gb. the only major problem is that most of the mmc snapins dont work such as gpedit or local security policy?

ps regarding the install size, i could be wrong? it seems to vary when checking the properties of C drive?

Edited by dead0, 29 May 2009 - 06:08 PM.


#145
aviv00

aviv00

    Windowaizer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 989 posts
  • Joined 02-April 07
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

a quick update, i have finally made an almost stable vlite'd copy of windows 7. its a mixture of dism & vlite with the install size coming to just under 3gb. the only major problem is that most of the mmc snapins dont work such as gpedit or local security policy?

ps regarding the install size, i could be wrong? it seems to vary when checking the properties of C drive?


check Topic [Guide] Win server 2008 topic for safe packages that could be removed

#146
survector

survector
  • Member
  • 7 posts
  • Joined 09-October 07

A few days ago i did a very basic vlite to remove extra drivers, tablet pc, media center and languages to install on an Aspire One netbook with a 160GB HD (box said 120 but hey :) )

It works extremely well, RAM usage is about double of the pre-installed XP, it's normally hovering just below 500MB. I can confirm that it's definately as quick as XP on the Atom processor, and now when I switch to XP (dualbooting them) it feels like I've booted into the stone age. Kind of like the feeling when you first got aquainted with XP after living with Win9x.

Anyway, I've had an error when it comes to activation. slui.exe fails due to SCARDDLG.dll is missing. unfortunately I've already deleted my .iso and the vlite settings, but I'm fairly certain I didn't remove anything else other than mentioned above.

Wether this information is useful or not to anyone I don't know - after all I may have removed something else and I've simply forgotten - but I thought it was worth mentioning in case it is.

So for now it's back to the default install, I didn't notice any performance differences between this and a regular install, i just tried it to free up a bit of space :)


this ini works best:

; vLite preset file
;
;#Environment:
; vLite v1.2
; Framework 2.0.50727.3521
; Microsoft Windows NT 6.1.7000.0 32-bit
;
;#Target:
; Windows 7 ULTIMATE 32-bit
; Version 6.1 English (United States)
; vLited with v1.2 (08/01/2009 23:36:03)
;

[Compatibility]
ACDSee / XnView
KMPlayer
Zoom Player
Recommended
Aero Glass
Scanners and Cameras
Internet Explorer
Windows Update
Aero Glass
Internet Explorer

[CustomHide]

[Components]
;# Accessories #
Accessibility
Disk Cleanup
Games-Inbox Games
Games-Premium Inbox Games
Mobility Center
Speech Support
System Information
Welcome Center
;# Drivers #
Diva Server
Modems
Printers-Generic printer
QLogic Fibre Channel Adapter
Scanners
Storage controllers-Adaptec
Storage controllers-Elxstor
Storage controllers-IBM ServeRAID
Storage controllers-ICP vortex
Storage controllers-Intel (Matrix)
Storage controllers-nVidia
Storage controllers-SiS
Storage controllers-Via
TV Tuners-ADS Technologies
TV Tuners-ASUSTeK Computer Inc.
TV Tuners-AVerMedia Technologies, Inc.
TV Tuners-Compro Technology Inc.
TV Tuners-Creatix
TV Tuners-Hauppauge
TV Tuners-KNC ONE GmbH
TV Tuners-KWorld
TV Tuners-Lumanate, Inc.
TV Tuners-Philips Semiconductors
TV Tuners-Pinnacle Systems
TV Tuners-TerraTec Electronic GmbH
TV Tuners-VidzMedia Pte Ltd.
;# Hardware Support #
Dynamic Volume Manager
Fax Support
Firewire (1394)
Floppy Disk Support
Infrared Support
Internet Small Computer System Interface (iSCSI)
Microsoft Multi-Path Bus
Modem Support
Printer Support
Smartcards
TV Tuner support
Windows HotStart
XBOX 360 Controller
;# Languages #
Arabic
Brazillian
Bulgarian
Croatian
Czech
Danish
Dutch
Estonian
Finnish
French
German
Greek
Hebrew
Hungarian
Italian
Korean
Latvian
Lithuanian
Norwegian
Polish
Portuguese
Romanian
Russian
Serbian
Simplified Chinese
Slovak
Slovenian
Spanish
Swedish
Thai
Turkish
Ukrainian
;# Multimedia #
Intel Indeo
Media Center
Music and Video samples
Sample Pictures
Screensavers
SideShow
Sound Recorder
Wallpapers
;# Network #
Connect to a Network Projector
Distributed File System (DFS)
File and printer sharing (Server)
Internet Information Services (IIS)
Simple Network Management Protocol (SNMP)
Simple TCPIP services
TFTP Client
Windows Mail
;# System #
Beep
BitLocker Drive Encryption
Disk Quota
Help
IMAPIv2 Burning Support
Jet Database Engine
Microsoft Client For NFS
Microsoft Message Queue (MSMQ)
Natural Language
Parental Controls
Performance Counters
Reliability and Performance Monitor
Remote Differential Compression
Run a legacy CPL elevated
Subsystem for UNIX-based Applications (SUA)
Sync Center
Tablet PC
User Account Control (UAC)
Windows Easy Transfer
Windows SAT (Performance Index)
Zip Folder

[Options]
DEP (Data Execution Prevention) = Default
User Account Control (UAC) = Disabled
AntiSpyware Realtime Protection = Default
Memory requirement = 256MB
AutoPlay = Enabled
Paging Executive = Disabled
Power scheme = High performance
Power button = Default
Sleep button = Default
Control Panel - Classic View = Default
Show hidden files and folders = Yes
Show protected operating system files = Yes
Show extensions for known file types = Yes
IE Phishing Filter = Enabled
IE Phishing Verification Ballon Tips = Default

[Services]

[Protection]

[Drivers]

[Unattended]

[Hotfixes]

[LanguagePacks]

---

with UAC disabled I can still use sidebar with this config. But make sure you do not re-enable UAC to full or else it won't run properly (explorer crashes, no control panel even if you are in admin group, etc)

if you DID happen to do so, just boot in safe mode and disable UAC again.


Sorry for the dumb question, but does this work for Windows 7 RTM (build 7600)? It worked for my beta but I have RTM now and would like a simple preset for vLite to slim it down. Thanks!




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users