Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

Windows XP Professional x64 SP2 in Multiboot DVD

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
21 replies to this topic

#1
Gremo

Gremo

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 101 posts
  • Joined 24-May 05
Hi, i'm trying to integrate Windows XP Professional x64 SP2 into my AIO DVD with various XP version already working.
So what i do:

I get $WIN_NT$.~BT and $WIN_NT$.~LS folders with this command running XP Professional x64 virtual machine:
D:\AMD64\WINNT32.EXE /noreboot

Delete:
\$WIN_NT$.~BT\BOOTSECT.DAT
\$WIN_NT$.~BT\migrate.inf
\$WIN_NT$.~BT\winnt.sif
\$WIN_NT$.~LS\SIZE.SIF

Rename/move:
\$WIN_NT$.~BT\ ---> ROOT\PRO1
\$WIN_NT$.~LS\I386 ---> ROOT\I386
\$WIN_NT$.~LS\AMD64 --->ROOT\AMD64

Copy:
win51 ---> ROOT\
win51ap ---> ROOT\
win51ap.sp2 ---> ROOT\

Hex edit:
ROOT\PRO1\setupldr.bin
hex address: 0x2060 from "74 03" to "EB 1A"

Final DVD layout:

AMD64
I386
PRO1
win51
win51ap
win51ap.sp2

All works fine. Boot and installation OK.
BUT i want to move AMD64 and I386 folders inside ROOT\Source. Editing PRO1\setupldr.bin didn't do the trick. No luck with PRO1\txtsetup.sif SetupSourcePath, like other Windows XP versions. win51, win51ap, win51ap.sp2 copied also to ROOT\Source.
I get "Txtsetup.sif is corrupt error".

Maybe there is an updated tutorial somewhere?
Thanks in advance, sorry for my poor english :)


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
cdob

cdob

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,000 posts
  • Joined 29-September 05

i'm trying to integrate Windows XP Professional x64 SP2 into my AIO DVD with various XP version already working.

i want to move AMD64 and I386 folders inside ROOT\Source.

Maybe there is an updated tutorial somewhere?

New tutorial here:

Follow flyakite's tutorial and ignore flyakite's tutorial.

Don't use winnt32.exe.

Create a directory .\XP64.
Copy directories \I386 and \AMD64 to .\XP64\.
Create win51* flag files at root and at .\XP64\.
Copy files setupldr.bin, txtsetup.sif and ntdetect.com to \XP64\.

DVD Layout:
.\WIN51
.\WIN51AP
.\WIN51AP.SP2
.\XP64\AMD64\
.\XP64\I386\
.\XP64\WIN51
.\XP64\WIN51AP
.\XP64\WIN51AP.SP2
.\XP64\NTDETECT.COM
.\XP64\SETUPLDR.BIN
.\XP64\TXTSETUP.SIF

Edit setupldr.bin at directory .\XP64\
@echo off
rem multiboot_XP64.cmd - edit XP64 setupldr.bin
rem created by cdob

rem use gsar.exe: Tormod http://home.online.no/~tjaberg/

set setupldr=SETUPLDR.BIN
set char4=XP64

rem checksum: geitonaki http://www.msfn.org/board/index.php?showtopic=58410
gsar.exe -o "-s:x46:xda:x74:x03" "-r:x46:xda:xEB:x1A" %setupldr%

rem adjust \i386\ntdetect.com and AMD64
gsar.exe -o "-s\i386\ntdetect.com" "-r\%char4%\ntdetect.com" %setupldr%
gsar.exe -i -o "-sAMD64:x5C" "-r%char4%:x5C:x00" %setupldr%
gsar.exe -o "-sAMD64:x00" "-r%char4%:x00:x00" %setupldr%

Edit txtsetup.sif, adjust SetupSourcePath and create BootPath:
[SetupData]
SetupSourcePath = "\XP64\"
BootPath = \XP64\AMD64\

BTW:
txtsetup.sif, SetupSourcePath, BootPath does work at XP32 too.

#3
Gremo

Gremo

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 101 posts
  • Joined 24-May 05
I will try it right now! Thanks for helping and for your time :)

#4
Gremo

Gremo

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 101 posts
  • Joined 24-May 05
How should i edit the boot image? replace I386 with?

#5
cdob

cdob

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,000 posts
  • Joined 29-September 05

How should i edit the boot image? replace I386 with?

As for Boot Sector: follow flyakite's tutorial
replace I386 with used 4 char name, remember .\XP64\ directory.
that's replace I386 with XP64

#6
LeveL

LeveL

    Senior Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 551 posts
  • Joined 30-September 05
This is a good way but I get the error:

File \XP64\biosinfo.inf could not be loaded.
The error code is 14.

Setup cannot continue. Press any key to exit.


EDIT: Sorry my mistake I did not amend the "SetupSourcePath" in this file:

\XP64\TXTSETUP.SIF

:blushing:

Now it works!

Edited by LeveL, 07 March 2009 - 04:27 PM.


#7
sT0n3r

sT0n3r

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 14 posts
  • Joined 11-July 07
works perfect thanks so much mate you saved me many days work :)

#8
meowing

meowing

    XP64 is a joy forever

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 135 posts
  • Joined 24-July 08
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag

How should i edit the boot image? replace I386 with?

As for Boot Sector: follow flyakite's tutorial
replace I386 with used 4 char name, remember .\XP64\ directory.
that's replace I386 with XP64

This is a little confusing; Gremo calls it Boot Image, you call it Boot Sector. What exactly do you mean here?

Edited by meowing, 13 November 2009 - 02:30 AM.


#9
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,409 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

This is a little confusing; Gremo calls it Boot Image, you call it Boot Sector.

It's the same thing.
It is the "Microsoft Corporation.img" or "Arnes Boot Record" which is the El-Torito no emulation boot image and that is written to the CD bootsector.

Let's say that before being actually burned to CD it is a Boot Image and after it has been burned it is a Boot Sector. ;)

Here:
http://flyakite.msfn.org/xpprosp1.htm
it's called Boot Sector, it's the 2048 bytes long file that ends like this:
Posted Image

jaclaz

#10
meowing

meowing

    XP64 is a joy forever

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 135 posts
  • Joined 24-July 08
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag

set setupldr=SETUPLDR.BIN
set char4=XP64

gsar.exe -o "-s:x46:xda:x74:x03" "-r:x46:xda:xEB:x1A" %setupldr%

gsar.exe -o "-s\i386\ntdetect.com" "-r\%char4%\ntdetect.com" %setupldr%
gsar.exe -i -o "-sAMD64:x5C" "-r%char4%:x5C:x00" %setupldr%
gsar.exe -o "-sAMD64:x00" "-r%char4%:x00:x00" %setupldr%

So are these still valid as the only 4 required changes inside setupldr.bin for XP x64 (SP2+)?

And should this be applied to both copies of setupldr.bin per OS (the one in the original location and the one in the os-root) ?

Is moving ntdetect.com one folder up simply to get the 4char replacement of i386 working, or is there another reason?
If it would be:
"\i386\ntdetect.com" -> "\%char4%\i386\ntdetect.com"
one would not have to move ntdetect.com in the os-root, right?

Thanks!

Edited by meowing, 13 November 2009 - 02:35 AM.


#11
meowing

meowing

    XP64 is a joy forever

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 135 posts
  • Joined 24-July 08
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag

It's the same thing.
It is the "Microsoft Corporation.img" or "Arnes Boot Record" which is the El-Torito no emulation boot image and that is written to the CD bootsector.

it's called Boot Sector, it's the 2048 bytes long file that ends like this:
Posted Image

OK, I was under the impression that XP64 isos don't use this anymore.. Is there an easy way to obtain such image from an official XP64 iso without having to use Isobuster?

#12
cdob

cdob

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,000 posts
  • Joined 29-September 05

So are these still valid as the only 4 required changes inside setupldr.bin for XP x64 (SP2+)?

Yes, this is valid for XP x64 SP2.
What's (SP2+) ?

And should this be applied to both copies of setupldr.bin per OS (the one in the original location and the one in the os-root) ?

Apply this for relocated versions.
There is no need to change setupldr.bin at original location.

However mixing original and relocated versions may get strange results.
Or work without any issue. No idea.

Is moving ntdetect.com one folder up simply to get the 4char replacement of i386 working

Yes, it is.

Is there an easy way to obtain such image from an official XP64 iso without having to use Isobuster?

BBIE - Bart's Boot Image Extractor http://www.nu2.nu/bbie/

spcmdcon.sys contains the boot image too. At offset 0x17F00, size one CD data sector.

#13
meowing

meowing

    XP64 is a joy forever

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 135 posts
  • Joined 24-July 08
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag

What's (SP2+) ?

Just meant an up to date XP x64 image, I have no idea if MS ever updated setupldr.bin post the XP64 SP2 disk release..

Is there an easy way to obtain such image from an official XP64 iso without having to use Isobuster?

BBIE - Bart's Boot Image Extractor http://www.nu2.nu/bbie/
spcmdcon.sys contains the boot image too. At offset 0x17F00, size one CD data sector.

Thanks!

Is replacing all the amd64 entries as in
gsar.exe -i -o "-sAMD64:x5C" "-r%char4%:x5C:x00" %setupldr%
gsar.exe -o "-sAMD64:x00" "-r%char4%:x00:x00" %setupldr%
really safe?
I ask this because of what it says here:
http://www.msfn.org/...004-t58410.html
"Do not replace all occurrences of "amd64" since some of them refer to a section of txtsetup.sif"

When I compare the two setupldr.bin files (the one in that post and the one generated by your gsar commands, the one from geitonaki has a lot more amd64 entries left in there..

Still not clear what to replace in setupldr.bin and what to leave as is... Can someone reassure me the gsar script here is correct for XP x64 SP2 setup?

Edited by meowing, 13 November 2009 - 02:56 PM.


#14
cdob

cdob

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,000 posts
  • Joined 29-September 05

Can someone reassure me the gsar script here is correct for XP x64 SP2 setup?

Yes, it is.

#15
cdob

cdob

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,000 posts
  • Joined 29-September 05
Grub4dos is a multi boot loader.
Grub4dos was enhanced recently, 14th Nov 2009: http://nufans.net/grub4dos/tinybit/
Editing in RAM is possible now. Previous editing is not required anymore.

General grub4dos informations: integrated help file
http://grub4dos.sour...ub4dos_tutorial
http://diddy.boot-la...os/Grub4dos.htm

Grub4dos can chainload setupldr.bin: no need for a boot sector file.

title Loading XP install - plain /I386/SETUPLDR.BIN
chainloader /I386/SETUPLDR.BIN

title Windows XP PRO 64 SP2 - multi boot 
map --mem /XP64/I386/SETUPLDR.BIN (rd)
#checksum: geitonaki http://www.msfn.org/board/index.php?showtopic=58410
write --offset=0x2060 (rd)+1 \xEB\x1A
#cdob SetupSourcePath="\XP64\"; BootPath=\XP64\AMD64\  
#http://www.msfn.org/board/index.php?s=&showtopic=126480&view=findpost&p=814566
cat --locate="\\i386\\ntdetect" --replace="\\XP64\\ntdetect.com" (rd)+1
cat --locate="amd64\\" --replace="XP64\\\x00" (rd)+1
cat --locate="AMD64\\" --replace="XP64\\\x00" (rd)+1
cat --locate="\\AMD64" --replace="\\XP64\x00" (rd)+1
cat --locate=I386 --replace=XP64 (rd)+1
chainloader (rd)+1
root ()


#16
meowing

meowing

    XP64 is a joy forever

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 135 posts
  • Joined 24-July 08
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag

General grub4dos informations: integrated help file
http://grub4dos.sour...ub4dos_tutorial
http://diddy.boot-la...os/Grub4dos.htm

Grub4dos can chainload setupldr.bin: no need for a boot sector file.

That's great! As I understand it, I need mkisofs to create the iso like this:
mkisofs -R -b grldr -no-emul-boot -boot-load-size 4 -o grldr.iso iso_root
and I read a lot about different versions of mkisofs, is there any version specifically fitting for XP x64 that you are aware of?

title Windows XP PRO 64 SP2 - multi boot 
map --mem /XP64/I386/SETUPLDR.BIN (rd)

OK, this is loading the unaltered setupldr.bin location; How would grub4dos work together with your layout as described above in Post #2? I assume nothing changes, except for the setupldr.bin being under /I386/ which needs to be hexedited still, correct?

Edited by meowing, 18 November 2009 - 07:26 AM.


#17
cdob

cdob

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,000 posts
  • Joined 29-September 05

and I read a lot about different versions of mkisofs, is there any version specifically fitting for XP x64 that you are aware of?

Try at any mkisofs version you can find: mk_XP64.cmd
mkisofs -iso-level 3 -N -D -d -relaxed-filenames -allow-multidot -joliet-long ^
 -r -b grldr -hide boot.catalog -no-emul-boot -boot-load-size 4 ^
 -o XP64.iso -o XP64.iso iso_root

OK, this is loading the unaltered setupldr.bin location;

Yes, /XP64/I386/SETUPLDR.BIN is the original file.

]How would grub4dos work together with your layout as described above in Post #2? I assume nothing changes, except for the setupldr.bin being under /I386/ which needs to be hexedited still, correct?

Yes, should work
title Loading XP install - plain /I386/SETUPLDR.BIN
chainloader /I386/SETUPLDR.BIN


#18
meowing

meowing

    XP64 is a joy forever

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 135 posts
  • Joined 24-July 08
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Yes, should work

title Loading XP install - plain /I386/SETUPLDR.BIN
chainloader /I386/SETUPLDR.BIN

Just to be sure, you mean:
title Loading XP install - plain /XP64/I386/SETUPLDR.BIN
chainloader /XP64/I386/SETUPLDR.BIN
in your layout, correct?

And
.\XP64\WIN51
.\XP64\WIN51AP
.\XP64\WIN51AP.SP2
.\XP64\NTDETECT.COM
.\XP64\TXTSETUP.SIF
should all still stay there?

Edited by meowing, 18 November 2009 - 04:33 PM.


#19
cdob

cdob

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,000 posts
  • Joined 29-September 05

Just to be sure, you mean:

Setupldr.bin location doesn't matter at grub4dos. Load the appropiate file.

The edited Setupldr.bin was at /XP64/SETUPLDR.BIN.
If you like this one, chainload this one.

If you like to use another one, chainload the another one.
The original one was at /XP64/I386/SETUPLDR.BIN
Use grub4dos to change this file in RAM.

Keep all files as described previously, there is no change.

#20
meowing

meowing

    XP64 is a joy forever

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 135 posts
  • Joined 24-July 08
  • OS:XP Pro x64
  • Country: Country Flag

The original one was at /XP64/I386/SETUPLDR.BIN
Use grub4dos to change this file in RAM.

LOL, hexediting it in memory is a neat and cool option, but somehow I'd rather do the hex-editing beforehand.

Thanks for all the hints. Should all work now.

#21
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,409 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Is replacing all the amd64 entries as in
...
really safe?


@cdob
watch out, I have a deja-vu feeling :ph34r::
http://www.imdb.com/...t0074860/quotes

Christian Szell: Is it safe?... Is it safe?
Babe: You're talking to me?
Christian Szell: Is it safe?
Babe: Is what safe?
Christian Szell: Is it safe?
Babe: I don't know what you mean. I can't tell you something's safe or not, unless I know specifically what you're talking about.
Christian Szell: Is it safe?
Babe: Tell me what the "it" refers to.
Christian Szell: Is it safe?
Babe: Yes, it's safe, it's very safe, it's so safe you wouldn't believe it.
Christian Szell: Is it safe?
Babe: No. It's not safe, it's... very dangerous, be careful.


in case:
http://www.imdb.com/...t0109830/quotes

Jenny Curran:Listen, you promise me something, OK? Just if you're ever in trouble, don't be brave. You just run, OK? Just run away.


:P

jaclaz

#22
kingamir79

kingamir79
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 10-August 11
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
hi guys
thanks for your tutorials.
i do any things that you'r say for multi-boot dvd with windows xp 64-bit. but I get "Txtsetup.sif is corrupt error, status 14". i dont know WHAT!!!!
please help me




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN