Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

How to upgrade your WPI!

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1
Kelsenellenelvian

Kelsenellenelvian

    WPI Guru

  • Developer
  • 8,860 posts
  • Joined 18-September 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Steps to update your WPI folder:


  • Download and unRAR to a different location.
  • 2.From your old WPI folder, copy config.js, useroptions.js, networkoptions.js and windowoptions.js from WPIScripts or UserFiles to the new UserFiles folder.
  • Copy your Audio folder from old to new.
  • Copy your Install folder from old to new.
  • Copy Themes folder from old to new.
  • Copy your logos\graphics files the new location.
  • Rename or move your old folder in case something goes wrong.
  • Move the new WPI folder to where you want it.
  • Test it!

MAJOR new step!

Update your run WPI methods as wpi\wpi.hta no longer exists! You now need to use WPI\WPI.exe!

Edited by Kelsenellenelvian, 19 May 2012 - 05:43 PM.



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
Stoner81

Stoner81

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 342 posts
  • Joined 15-June 08
Thanks for the info kel much appreciated buddy!

Stoner81.

#3
Maeggor

Maeggor

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 07-April 08
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I have a 6.4 version and i want to upgrade it to new 7.2.2 but i dont know how because i extract the new files into the old folder and it doesnt start

Any suggests? Thanks!

#4
Kelsenellenelvian

Kelsenellenelvian

    WPI Guru

  • Developer
  • 8,860 posts
  • Joined 18-September 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Thats DEFINATLY not how the first post describes updating WPI. I suggest you read it a bit more...

#5
deadbug

deadbug

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 102 posts
  • Joined 30-June 05
I upgraded from 6.something to 7.2.2 using the instructions here and it worked like a charm.

It did mangle two things, but (given that I maintain config.js manually) that's pretty good.

1. It stripped all comments out
2. I define variables at the start and then use those rather than 'yes'/'no' so I can easily build a disk to install just new programs when I'm updating my disk.

It would be neat if a future upgrade could preserve comments. It would be frighteningly good if it preserved all lines it didn't understand - in the right place :-)

It took me two minutes to restore my manually maintained stuff, so anything that takes more than 10 mins to code isn't worth the hassle !

Once again, excellent job!

#6
mritter

mritter

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,099 posts
  • Joined 13-November 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I don't like it when people manually edit the config.js. It only leads to problems down the road. Changes like global replacements of text are fine. There will be no support for user entered comments.

#7
deadbug

deadbug

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 102 posts
  • Joined 30-June 05

I don't like it when people manually edit the config.js. It only leads to problems down the road. Changes like global replacements of text are fine. There will be no support for user entered comments.


That's fine - I was thanking not complaining ... honest :sneaky:

#8
frasuperbike

frasuperbike

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 57 posts
  • Joined 24-February 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I have a problem. I want upgrade my wpi 720 to 730.
I have saved the 3 files in wpiscript (Config.js, useroptions.js and windowoptions.js). I have delete all old file of my older wpi without install folder and music. I have replace all file with new version (730). In wpiscript i have replace the old 3 file with my option. I run wpi and i receive message that say :
your config.js and ask if i want to update it. If i say No wpi wont't start. If i say YES wpi start but with one problem. In config.js each program lost a command line...
New situation:
pn=1;
prog[pn]=['.Net Framework 1.1'];
uid[pn]=['NETFRAMEWORK11'];
desc[pn]=['Microsoft .NET Framework utiliti per rendering grafico avanzato di windows'];
ordr[pn]=[1];
dflt[pn]=['no'];
bit64[pn]=['no'];
forc[pn]=['no'];
cat[pn]=['Sistema'];
configs[pn]=['free,mondo,mondomerda,sistema'];
cmds[pn]=[''];
deps[pn]=['DELETENETUSERACCOUNT'];
picf[pn]=['netframeworks.jpg'];
picw[pn]=['128'];
pich[pn]=['128'];
textl[pn]=['Bottom'];
pn++;

Old situation
pn=1;
prog[pn]=['.Net Framework 1.1'];
uid[pn]=['NETFRAMEWORK11'];
desc[pn]=['Microsoft .NET Framework utiliti per rendering grafico avanzato di windows'];
ordr[pn]=[1];
dflt[pn]=['no'];
forc[pn]=['no'];
bit64[pn]=['no'];
cat[pn]=['Sistema'];
configs[pn]=['free,mondo,mondomerda,sistema'];
cmds[pn]=['%WPIPATH%\\Install\\DOTNET\\dotnetfx1.exe /q:a /c:"install /l /q"','"%WPIPATH%\\Install\\deluser\\deluser.exe"'];
deps[pn]=['DELETENETUSERACCOUNT'];
picf[pn]=['netframeworks.jpg'];
picw[pn]=['128'];
pich[pn]=['128'];
textl[pn]=['Bottom'];
pn++;


Help me please

What i can do???

#9
Kelsenellenelvian

Kelsenellenelvian

    WPI Guru

  • Developer
  • 8,860 posts
  • Joined 18-September 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Please attach you config.js

#10
mritter

mritter

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,099 posts
  • Joined 13-November 05
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Steps to update your WPI folder:


  • Download and unRAR to a different location.
  • From your old WPI folder, copy config.js, useroptions.js, and windowoptions.js from WPIScripts to the new WPIScripts folder.
  • Copy your Audio folder from old to new.
  • Copy your Install folder from old to new.
  • Copy Themes folder from old to new.
  • Rename or move your old folder in case something goes wrong.
  • Move the new WPI folder to where you want it.
  • Test it!
I have thought about using an actual install package creator, but steps 3-5 would still need to be done manually.

#11
Francesco

Francesco

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 411 posts
  • Joined 20-March 04

Steps to update your WPI folder:
I have thought about using an actual install package creator, but steps 3-5 would still need to be done manually.


Many installers can be programmed to copy/move/delete folders and do most of the stuff you can do with a custom application without touching a single line of code but if you could create folders for user-inserted themes and audio files (and add two options inside WPI to hide default themes and sounds in the list) then even a simple RAR SFX would be enough to update WPI.

#12
freeAppz

freeAppz

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 20 posts
  • Joined 09-December 08
I think a simple MSI could be nice or even Executable with features or propertys that install a fresh or upgrades WPI.
I can take a look at it someday. :)

Edited by freeAppz, 07 July 2009 - 07:10 AM.


#13
echo-soft

echo-soft
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 07-November 09
Thanks for the info kel much appreciated!

#14
coucou

coucou

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 837 posts
  • Joined 01-January 04
Hi,

I proceed as Kels advised in #1, it works like a charm.
Thank you :thumbup

BTW, as the new softwares are GB sized, I'm looking for buiding 2 DVDs, the first will be Windows 7 and office 2010 (4GB), the second with all softwares.
1) Do WPI 8.1 handle DVD1 to DVD2 change? If so, what option?
2) Let assume, that I want the first DVD1 install Windows 7 and office 2010. Then WPI run and ask to load DVD2? It is possible? If so, how?

Regards

Edited by coucou, 21 September 2010 - 09:56 AM.


#15
ghaffar

ghaffar

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 32 posts
  • Joined 08-September 07
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Thank you for the upgrade WPI guide

I think step 2 in the first post should be updated from

"2.From your old WPI folder, copy config.js, useroptions.js, networkoptions.js and windowoptions.js from WPIScripts to the new WPIScripts folder."
to
"2.From your old WPI folder, copy config.js, useroptions.js, networkoptions.js and windowoptions.js from WPIScripts or UserFiles to the new UserFiles folder."

because user configurations are in "UserFiles" folder in new WPI versions.
Am I right?

#16
Kelsenellenelvian

Kelsenellenelvian

    WPI Guru

  • Developer
  • 8,860 posts
  • Joined 18-September 03
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Yes thank you




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users