Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 Troubles

EDIT: Wooah, so this thread got a lot of attention over the years! Hopefully it was a good starting point for those that figured out how to fix the issues.

To this day I have not bought another Seagate drive, not really due to this issue but I generally find WD and Samsung drives are slightly better value and I have not had one die on me yet which is a start!

Well guys I know MSFN will not take this thread down like Seagate so kindly did on their own forums so here goes.

This thread was created by a user on the Seagate forums and the first post read like this:

Good day.

I've been using Seagate hard drives for 8 years.And that's why when, being in Beijing

(Olympycs'08) and feeling a lack of space for photos, i've purchased a ST3500320AS.

It was working ok as a reserve-hdd for 2.5 months, when, suddenly, did not appear in the morning after the PC started...

The problem is:

-the motor is started (the power is ok)

-not detected by bios

-not detected by winxp

-after winxp boot from an other drive - the PC is very slow for 5-7 minutes (maybe detecting the drive) - and then works fine - the hdd is not detected by any win' programm

Searching the internet i've found that:

-it should be (probably) the firmware problem called "CC" (SA-problem - LED:000000CC

FAddr:0024A051)

-about 20-30% of 7200.11 have such problems(not detecting or "0gb space":smileywink:

-seagate knows about this problem

-such drives are still selling all-around-the-world

So' i have some questions:

1)can it be fixed at home (by myself) - wia firmware update or something else

2)can i restore some data

3)as the drive was purchased in China and i live in Belarus - can i hope for some kind of

warranty?

ps Sorry for posting this message in the forum - i cant create a question case at seagate's

site - it writes that there is a "missed xml" or smth like this.

END