Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 Troubles

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
1247 replies to this topic

#976
Karlston

Karlston

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 13 posts

So do we know that CC1H and newer (CC1J) are good?


Stated very clearly and openly on the update page...

* Note: If your drive has CC or LC firmware, your drive is not affected and no further action is required. Attempting to flash the firmware of a drive with CC or LC firmware will result in rendering your drive inoperable.


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#977
mikesw

mikesw

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 365 posts

So do we know that CC1H and newer (CC1J) are good?


Stated very clearly and openly on the update page...

* Note: If your drive has CC or LC firmware, your drive is not affected and no further action is required. Attempting to flash the firmware of a drive with CC or LC firmware will result in rendering your drive inoperable.


Yes it does; however, people want to have the latest and greatest firmware no matter what. The reason is because
what ever is the newest version must fix something: a bug, make it faster, make it more reliable etc.

I'd like to get newer firmware versions to for my non-SATA seagate, maxtor, western digital drives regardless if they are
3.5 or 2.5 drives. I update my dvd/cd rw drives as soon as they provide a newer firmware fix under the assumption it
must of fixed something - likewise for the HDD drives too.

Note:

the newest firmware is S1B and the various xDxH means the number of disks and the number of heads in the HDD.
Since the filename doesn't mention cache size. One can say either the firmware is independent of it or they are all the
same cache size. for the model numbers listed.

The easiest way is to find a tool that can dump the firmware in the drive and save it to a file from ones current drive.
One could also write the new firmware to the drive, read it back and do a comparison of what got written or do a
checksum, md5 hash too.

Edited by mikesw, 24 January 2009 - 07:24 AM.


#978
Gradius2

Gradius2

    IT Consultant

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 240 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

So do we know that CC1H and newer (CC1J) are good?


Stated very clearly and openly on the update page...

* Note: If your drive has CC or LC firmware, your drive is not affected and no further action is required. Attempting to flash the firmware of a drive with CC or LC firmware will result in rendering your drive inoperable.


LOL, and you still believe on them?

Just unbelievable !

Yes it does; however, people want to have the latest and greatest firmware no matter what. The reason is because
what ever is the newest version must fix something: a bug, make it faster, make it more reliable etc.

I'd like to get newer firmware versions to for my non-SATA seagate, maxtor, western digital drives regardless if they are
3.5 or 2.5 drives. I update my dvd/cd rw drives as soon as they provide a newer firmware fix under the assumption it
must of fixed something - likewise for the HDD drives too.

Note:

the newest firmware is S2B and the various xDxH means the number of disks and the number of heads in the HDD.
Since the filename doesn't mention cache size. One can say either the firmware is independent of it or they are all the
same cache size. for the model numbers listed.

The easiest way is to find a tool that can dump the firmware in the drive and save it to a file from ones current drive.
One could also write the new firmware to the drive, read it back and do a comparison of what got written or do a
checksum, md5 hash too.


On old days (back in 2000) I used to hack firmwares for Pioneer burners (DVR-Axx family) as you can see here:
http://gradius.rpc1.org

You're 100% right, they always fix something, improves stability and speed, on newer firmwares.

The biggest issue I'm getting with CC1F is access time, way too high, they're 15.6ms on my 1TBs HDDs, while the normal would be 12.5ms or less (I get that on my 750GBs).

#979
Karlston

Karlston

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 13 posts

LOL, and you still believe on them?

Just unbelievable !


Huh? Why not?

You think we should do the direct opposite and flash it anyway?

After you...

You're 100% right, they always fix something, improves stability and speed, on newer firmwares.


Absolutely!

SD15 fixed the non-bricking issue of previous firmware.

SD17 fixed the non-stuttering issue on RAIDed drives or during video streaming.

:-)

#980
spankerer

spankerer

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Was it a drive with the busy or LB0 issue?



Ok I successfully flash my ST3500320AS to the SD1A firmware. Hopefully it will work fine until the end of it's natural life cycle.

I have 2 500 GBs, one has the BSY error, the other one still functions. So i flashed the survivor. I'm still looking for the RS232-TTL part to fix my bricked HDD.

#981
timha

timha

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 14 posts
Hey guys,

...its true the new fix is good...thanx Vinicius, i too was having issues with the hyperterminal....i dont reccomend for others to persue it...though at the time it was necessary as the firmware was not available....this is what i did as did Vinicius

1. swap pcb boards on 2 like hd's ...flash the bad pcb with the new SD1 firmware
2. swap back the pcb's
voila !! full recovery from bsy hd with no LB0.

this post is for real, my brick is fully recovered.....i know you all paid for the rs232, as did i, but it is a real hard fix compared to doing it this way
as far as i know you do need to 7200.11's though .. .

#982
eli2k

eli2k

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 28 posts

Hey guys,

...its true the new fix is good...thanx Vinicius, i too was having issues with the hyperterminal....i dont reccomend for others to persue it...though at the time it was necessary as the firmware was not available....this is what i did as did Vinicius

1. swap pcb boards on 2 like hd's ...flash the bad pcb with the new SD1 firmware
2. swap back the pcb's
voila !! full recovery from bsy hd with no LB0.

this post is for real, my brick is fully recovered.....i know you all paid for the rs232, as did i, but it is a real hard fix compared to doing it this way
as far as i know you do need to 7200.11's though .. .


Should I just buy a new 7200.11, try this, then return it and give them an excuse to return it? Anyone here happen to be from orange county, CA? =/

#983
velos

velos
  • Members
  • 9 posts
Has anyone tested the hdd before and after the firmware update to check if the update affects the hdd performance (speed)? I m sorry if I missed a previous post about it. Is it supposed to have no effect on the hdd speed?

I still havenít updated mine; I am waiting a while to be sure (I hope my hdd will not kick the bucket in the meantime).

#984
spankerer

spankerer

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 13 posts

Hey guys,

...its true the new fix is good...thanx Vinicius, i too was having issues with the hyperterminal....i dont reccomend for others to persue it...though at the time it was necessary as the firmware was not available....this is what i did as did Vinicius

1. swap pcb boards on 2 like hd's ...flash the bad pcb with the new SD1 firmware
2. swap back the pcb's
voila !! full recovery from bsy hd with no LB0.

this post is for real, my brick is fully recovered.....i know you all paid for the rs232, as did i, but it is a real hard fix compared to doing it this way
as far as i know you do need to 7200.11's though .. .

Question, after you swap the PCB boards, and then you boot up, does the BIOS detect the HDD?

#985
pksw

pksw

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 10 posts

Has anyone tested the hdd before and after the firmware update to check if the update affects the hdd performance (speed)? I m sorry if I missed a previous post about it. Is it supposed to have no effect on the hdd speed?

I still haven’t updated mine; I am waiting a while to be sure (I hope my hdd will not kick the bucket in the meantime).


I have found no difference.
ST31000333AS SD15 flashed to SD1B
OS: WinXp SP3
CPU: Intel Q6600, overclocking turned off for benching
HD Tach 3.0.4.0 used

I had no issue with my drive - it was only used as a backup disk. Decided to flash it to the new firmware. After flashing, WinXP detected a hardware change, and a new hard disk.
During the flashing process, the HDD made a few clicking noises (not unlike the click of death I used to hear from my IBM Deskstar aka Deathstar drives years ago), but it finished ok, and the BIOS detected the new firmware as SD1B.

SD15 BIOS
Random access 15.3ms
CPU utilization 4%
Average read: 99.3 MB/s

SB1B BIOS
Random access 15.2ms
CPU utilization 4%
Average read: 98.8 MB/s
There were a few clicks at the start of the test, which I thought the system had hung, but the bench finished ok. That point is seen in the graph (red line).

Posted Image

However, lots of clicking sounds from the drive at random times since I've updated the firmware. I'm not sure if that's a good sign. The system almost seems to pause when that happens.

Edited by pksw, 24 January 2009 - 06:28 AM.


#986
velos

velos
  • Members
  • 9 posts
Thank you :hello: pksw for your detailed answer!

#987
sandersoni

sandersoni
  • Members
  • 2 posts
This Computerworld article mentions that law firm Kabateck, Brown Kellner LLP is considering filing a lawsuit again Seagate for the failed drives. You can let them know if your are affected by clicking here: [link]

#988
ViniciusFerrao

ViniciusFerrao

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 46 posts

Hey guys,

...its true the new fix is good...thanx Vinicius, i too was having issues with the hyperterminal....i dont reccomend for others to persue it...though at the time it was necessary as the firmware was not available....this is what i did as did Vinicius

1. swap pcb boards on 2 like hd's ...flash the bad pcb with the new SD1 firmware
2. swap back the pcb's
voila !! full recovery from bsy hd with no LB0.

this post is for real, my brick is fully recovered.....i know you all paid for the rs232, as did i, but it is a real hard fix compared to doing it this way
as far as i know you do need to 7200.11's though .. .

Question, after you swap the PCB boards, and then you boot up, does the BIOS detect the HDD?


Hello, I'm very happy now because I figured this out. :) :) :) :)

When you swap the boards the "old" board should boot the new drive with 0Mb. Since the disk is not made for that PCB. Will be normally detected on BIOS.

After this fireup firmware update. You'll some errors like Cylinder 0, assuming 63! Something like this. But just ignore and flash the drive.

After the power cycle reswap PCB's and use the old drive. It should be fixed from BSY and from LBA=0!

See details of what I've done in the Solution Thread.

[]'s

#989
mikesw

mikesw

    Advanced Member

  • Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 365 posts

Hey guys,

...its true the new fix is good...thanx Vinicius, i too was having issues with the hyperterminal....i dont reccomend for others to persue it...though at the time it was necessary as the firmware was not available....this is what i did as did Vinicius

1. swap pcb boards on 2 like hd's ...flash the bad pcb with the new SD1 firmware
2. swap back the pcb's
voila !! full recovery from bsy hd with no LB0.

this post is for real, my brick is fully recovered.....i know you all paid for the rs232, as did i, but it is a real hard fix compared to doing it this way
as far as i know you do need to 7200.11's though .. .

Question, after you swap the PCB boards, and then you boot up, does the BIOS detect the HDD?


Hello, I'm very happy now because I figured this out. :) :) :) :)

When you swap the boards the "old" board should boot the new drive with 0Mb. Since the disk is not made for that PCB. Will be normally detected on BIOS.

After this fireup firmware update. You'll some errors like Cylinder 0, assuming 63! Something like this. But just ignore and flash the drive.

After the power cycle reswap PCB's and use the old drive. It should be fixed from BSY and from LBA=0!

See details of what I've done in the Solution Thread.

[]'s


I'm wondering if one can get away with not even attaching the PCB to the disk of the 2nd drive. The reason being is that when they make these at the
factory, they probably just attach the PCB to a test machine which flashes the PCB and runs electrical tests on it. This would be easier
to make these in mass and then ship a box of these to another site that attaches the PCBs to the actual disk that some other factory
site made in mass. Then both are run through another test machine to make sure the PCB and drive heads and platters work together.

Thus, for those with the PCB having LBA=0 and BSY, try just removing the PCB from the drive, attach the PCB to the power and
IDE/SATA cable, and then reflash with the new firmware. It'd be interesting to see if this works. Maybe the BIOS doesn't need to
detect them. This will also eliminate the possible damaging of the disk heads and platter of the drive that is incompatible since there isn't one.
The most that will happen is there is no spinup, 0 heads, 0MB/GB, 0 cylinders etc or this method won't work. The only thing that will happen
is that you are SOL!

The other possiblilty to bypass the BIOS is to attach just the PCB to an external SATA or IDE to USB adaptor cable (see sabrent adaptors or equiv)
and power cable ,then plug in the USB and flash thru the USB port. I'm not sure if one can flash thru the USB even if updating working drives, but
without any knowledge about it working or not, the only way to attain knowledge is to experiment.....and hopefully the BIOS is too stupid.

Edited by mikesw, 24 January 2009 - 09:47 AM.


#990
timha

timha

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 14 posts

Hey guys,

...its true the new fix is good...thanx Vinicius, i too was having issues with the hyperterminal....i dont reccomend for others to persue it...though at the time it was necessary as the firmware was not available....this is what i did as did Vinicius

1. swap pcb boards on 2 like hd's ...flash the bad pcb with the new SD1 firmware
2. swap back the pcb's
voila !! full recovery from bsy hd with no LB0.

this post is for real, my brick is fully recovered.....i know you all paid for the rs232, as did i, but it is a real hard fix compared to doing it this way
as far as i know you do need to 7200.11's though .. .


Should I just buy a new 7200.11, try this, then return it and give them an excuse to return it? Anyone here happen to be from orange county, CA? =/



i happen to have 3 barracuda st300320AS, it would probably work on any two different models, when you swap the bad pcb to a good disk it is seen in the bios and that gets you half there.....flash the new firmware and your done....remember to flash the other hard disk as well when you swap back.. i used PowerISo to make the firmware cd....

as a note i've been swapping that pcb back and forth and tinkering with it so much with that dang rs232 that it should be broke but it isnt, dont be scared of it use torx6 screwdriver , but dont break it either ....good to have my hd back

#991
ViniciusFerrao

ViniciusFerrao

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 46 posts

Hey guys,

...its true the new fix is good...thanx Vinicius, i too was having issues with the hyperterminal....i dont reccomend for others to persue it...though at the time it was necessary as the firmware was not available....this is what i did as did Vinicius

1. swap pcb boards on 2 like hd's ...flash the bad pcb with the new SD1 firmware
2. swap back the pcb's
voila !! full recovery from bsy hd with no LB0.

this post is for real, my brick is fully recovered.....i know you all paid for the rs232, as did i, but it is a real hard fix compared to doing it this way
as far as i know you do need to 7200.11's though .. .

Question, after you swap the PCB boards, and then you boot up, does the BIOS detect the HDD?


Hello, I'm very happy now because I figured this out. :) :) :) :)

When you swap the boards the "old" board should boot the new drive with 0Mb. Since the disk is not made for that PCB. Will be normally detected on BIOS.

After this fireup firmware update. You'll some errors like Cylinder 0, assuming 63! Something like this. But just ignore and flash the drive.

After the power cycle reswap PCB's and use the old drive. It should be fixed from BSY and from LBA=0!

See details of what I've done in the Solution Thread.

[]'s


I'm wondering if one can get away with not even attaching the PCB to the disk of the 2nd drive. The reason being is that when they make these at the
factory, they probably just attach the PCB to a test machine which flashes the PCB and runs electrical tests on it. This would be easier
to make these in mass and then ship a box of these to another site that attaches the PCBs to the actual disk that some other factory
site made in mass. Then both are run through another test machine to make sure the PCB and drive heads and platters work together.

Thus, for those with the PCB having LBA=0 and BSY, try just removing the PCB from the drive, attach the PCB to the power and
IDE/SATA cable, and then reflash with the new firmware. It'd be interesting to see if this works. Maybe the BIOS doesn't need to
detect them. This will also eliminate the possible damaging of the disk heads and platter of the drive that is incompatible since there isn't one.
The most that will happen is there is no spinup, 0 heads, 0MB/GB, 0 cylinders etc or this method won't work. The only thing that will happen
is that you are SOL!

The other possiblilty to bypass the BIOS is to attach just the PCB to an external SATA or IDE to USB adaptor cable (see sabrent adaptors or equiv)
and power cable ,then plug in the USB and flash thru the USB port. I'm not sure if one can flash thru the USB even if updating working drives, but
without any knowledge about it working or not, the only way to attain knowledge is to experiment.....and hopefully the BIOS is too stupid.


Using just the PCB without the disk simply fail. Since the PCB doesn't find a disk it waits for timeout. And this take an eternity. When finally Seagate Firmware Update launches it reports NO DISK.

[]'s

Seagate replied my email regarding data recovery for free... Hmmm it appers that they are really interested in a good reputation after this lamentable firmware episode.

[]'s

#992
sandersoni

sandersoni
  • Members
  • 2 posts

Seagate replied my email regarding data recovery for free... Hmmm it appers that they are really interested in a good reputation after this lamentable firmware episode.


Interesting. When did you file your original request?

#993
CheshireCat

CheshireCat

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 13 posts
I've got an email from seagate disksupport with a link to kb article and firmware - took them one week to respond.
Will wait a week or two before applying the fw. Maybe there will be another release.

After reading comments on slashdot things are getting clearer.

The conditions have to be just right - you have to reboot just after the drive writes the 320th log file to the firmware space of the drive. this is a log file that's written only occasionally, usually when there are bad sectors, missed writes, etc... might happen every few days on a computer in a nin-RAID home use situation.. and if that log file is written even one time after the magic #320, it rolls over the oldest file kept on the drive and there's no issue. It'll only stop responding IF the drive is powered up with log file #320 being the latest one written... a perfect storm situation. IF this is the case, then seagate is trying to put in place a procedure where you can simply ship them the drive, they hook it up to a serial controller, and re-flashed with the fixed firmware. That's all it takes to restore the drive to operation! As for buying new drives, that's up to you. None of the CC firmware drives were affected - only the SD firmware drives. I'd wait until later in the week, maybe next week, until they have a known working and properly proven firmware update



http://it.slashdot.o...9/01/21/0052236

#994
enrolb

enrolb
  • Members
  • 6 posts
For information sake: I have a bricked ST31000340AS drive with the BSY problem. I have a second Seagate 1Tb drive but its model number is ST31000333AS. I tried the the (bricked) 340AS PCB on the working 333AS HDA but still got the BSY issue and could not flash the firmware because it couldn't recognize it in BIOS.... My thoughts are that some part of the firmware is stored on the harddrive or maybe a key register for the BSY signal... anyway for information sake this doesn't work.... I did put back the 333AS (working drive toether) and it worked as normal.

Oh well I thought it worth a try.

#995
eli2k

eli2k

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 28 posts

i happen to have 3 barracuda st300320AS, it would probably work on any two different models, when you swap the bad pcb to a good disk it is seen in the bios and that gets you half there.....flash the new firmware and your done....remember to flash the other hard disk as well when you swap back.. i used PowerISo to make the firmware cd....

as a note i've been swapping that pcb back and forth and tinkering with it so much with that dang rs232 that it should be broke but it isnt, dont be scared of it use torx6 screwdriver , but dont break it either ....good to have my hd back


The only other seagate SATA model that I have is a 7200.9 series, which I don't think will be quite compatible. I guess if Seagate offers data recovery, I may take that offer up =/

#996
Gradius2

Gradius2

    IT Consultant

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 240 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

For information sake: I have a bricked ST31000340AS drive with the BSY problem. I have a second Seagate 1Tb drive but its model number is ST31000333AS. I tried the the (bricked) 340AS PCB on the working 333AS HDA but still got the BSY issue and could not flash the firmware because it couldn't recognize it in BIOS.... My thoughts are that some part of the firmware is stored on the harddrive or maybe a key register for the BSY signal... anyway for information sake this doesn't work.... I did put back the 333AS (working drive toether) and it worked as normal.

Oh well I thought it worth a try.


OUCHHHH! You're crazy !!

340 means 4 (four) plates and heads, and 333 means 3 (three) plates and heads, you might fry the PCB, or HDA or both !

Plus, you can scratch the platers, if that happens, you'll lost the HD forever.

Edited by Gradius2, 24 January 2009 - 05:51 PM.


#997
ViniciusFerrao

ViniciusFerrao

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 46 posts

For information sake: I have a bricked ST31000340AS drive with the BSY problem. I have a second Seagate 1Tb drive but its model number is ST31000333AS. I tried the the (bricked) 340AS PCB on the working 333AS HDA but still got the BSY issue and could not flash the firmware because it couldn't recognize it in BIOS.... My thoughts are that some part of the firmware is stored on the harddrive or maybe a key register for the BSY signal... anyway for information sake this doesn't work.... I did put back the 333AS (working drive toether) and it worked as normal.

Oh well I thought it worth a try.


Man this is insane! You cannot do this! o.O

#998
kadolf

kadolf

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 25 posts
Has anyone tried to flash the new firmware for ST3320613AS?
I tried, but without success: The firmware update tool says that it will work with ST3320613AS/9FZ162-300, SDxx only.
My drive is such a ST3320613AS/9FZ162-300 with SD11 and the tool recognizes that:
Model ST3320613AS SN 9SZ0**** FW SD11 on Generic PCI ATA Bus 0 Device 1
But then it aborts with following error messages:
NO MATCH! WILL NOT DOWNLOAD FIRMWARE!

*********

 Error: Specific model not found. ST3320613AS expected.

*********

Cycle power to continue...

Edited by kadolf, 25 January 2009 - 08:18 AM.


#999
enrolb

enrolb
  • Members
  • 6 posts
Yesterday I had an amusing day at a big electronics store. When I asked about hard drives the sales person said "Oh you got to see the great sale on Seagate drives we have!" I thought to myself, "I bet", but proceeded to follow him. He showed me a whole stack of Seagate drives. I looked at them and they were the recent 7200.11 models! He said that they had marked them all down by $40. When I asked him why, he said with a big smile "Seagate wants us to clear them out!" I thought to myself, I bet they do..

At the check out the clerk said they were discounted even more to $109 for 1Tbs. Although I won't trust them with key data, Seagate has great hardware and once the firmware is sorted out I will have some really inexpensive drive storage... Course it'll be relegated to non important tasks! Going to be a while before I trust their drives again.

#1000
Gradius2

Gradius2

    IT Consultant

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 240 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Has anyone tried to flash the new firmware for ST3320613AS?
I tried, but without success: The firmware update tool says that it will work with ST3320613AS/9FZ162-300, SDxx only.
My drive is such a ST3320613AS/9FZ162-300 with SD11 and the tool recognizes that:

Model ST3320613AS SN 9SZ0**** FW SD11 on Generic PCI ATA Bus 0 Device 1
But then it aborts with following error messages:
NO MATCH! WILL NOT DOWNLOAD FIRMWARE!

*********

 Error: Specific model not found. ST3320613AS expected.

*********

Cycle power to continue...


Are you using IDE Extended (or enhanced) only ? Do not use RAID or AHCI.

Also the drive is alone? No other is connected, except CD/DVD drive?

Yesterday I had an amusing day at a big electronics store. When I asked about hard drives the sales person said "Oh you got to see the great sale on Seagate drives we have!" I thought to myself, "I bet", but proceeded to follow him. He showed me a whole stack of Seagate drives. I looked at them and they were the recent 7200.11 models! He said that they had marked them all down by $40. When I asked him why, he said with a big smile "Seagate wants us to clear them out!" I thought to myself, I bet they do..

At the check out the clerk said they were discounted even more to $109 for 1Tbs. Although I won't trust them with key data, Seagate has great hardware and once the firmware is sorted out I will have some really inexpensive drive storage... Course it'll be relegated to non important tasks! Going to be a while before I trust their drives again.


Funny and sad at same time. :blink:




3 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users


    Bing (3)


How to remove advertisement from MSFN