Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

Seagate 7200.11 fail & fine dataset

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
271 replies to this topic

#26
DeadST3500320AS

DeadST3500320AS
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 14-January 09
Well, here is another SeaBrick, barely a month old with no BIOS detection:
9QM7****:ST3500320AS:9BX154-303:SD15:09116:KRATSG:(11-25-08):(01-13-09):DeadST3500320AS:USA:(No detect in BIOS)

What a piece of junk...


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#27
Karyudo

Karyudo
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 19-January 07
@DerSnoezie: Have you ever heard of blist? It's a free, online database that's super-easy to use. Might be just the ticket for allowing people to add their own data, and view everyone else's.

It's at www.blist.com.

#28
Karyudo

Karyudo
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 19-January 07
Made my own blist from the data: http://app.blist.com...-Drive-Failures

#29
sskev

sskev
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 15-January 09
This is the second drive that fails on my PC. Sorry i didn't kept the info of the previous one.

62:9QJ1TFK9:ST31000340AS:9BX158-303:SD15:09107:KRATSG:NOV2008:(01-02-09):OEM:SSKEV:GREEECE:No detect in Bios

#30
DerSnoezie

DerSnoezie

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 151 posts
  • Joined 08-January 09
Great tip, I'm going to have look at it right now!

@DerSnoezie: Have you ever heard of blist? It's a free, online database that's super-easy to use. Might be just the ticket for allowing people to add their own data, and view everyone else's.

It's at www.blist.com.



#31
DerSnoezie

DerSnoezie

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 151 posts
  • Joined 08-January 09
Every bit of information is welcome :) Your country will be marked on the map!

Edit: Greece has been added to the map.

This is the second drive that fails on my PC. Sorry i didn't kept the info of the previous one.

62:9QJ1TFK9:ST31000340AS:9BX158-303:SD15:09107:KRATSG:NOV2008:(01-02-09):OEM:SSKEV:GREEECE:No detect in Bios


Edited by DerSnoezie, 15 January 2009 - 07:35 AM.


#32
jkc120

jkc120

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts
  • Joined 14-January 09

Great tip, I'm going to have look at it right now!

@DerSnoezie: Have you ever heard of blist? It's a free, online database that's super-easy to use. Might be just the ticket for allowing people to add their own data, and view everyone else's.

It's at www.blist.com.


Did you by chance include any of the reported info from the seagate forums? Are they all represented here? If not, I'd be happy to go through that thread and pull out the reported failures. Let me know!

#33
X2-3800

X2-3800
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 15-January 09
Is someone there wich have problems with the Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 1,5TB serial: ST31500341AS ?

For now my drive is working, but it is only enabled for a short time for backup.

#34
DerSnoezie

DerSnoezie

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 151 posts
  • Joined 08-January 09

Did you by chance include any of the reported info from the seagate forums? Are they all represented here? If not, I'd be happy to go through that thread and pull out the reported failures. Let me know!


A considerable amount of the entries have been reported by people who were active at the seagate forum some time ago. The original thread:

http://forums.seagat...;thread.id=3283

(started by Inviste, 188 posts) was locked by the moderators and hence could not grow further. Attempts to link people to msfn are actively countered by seagate moderators, by altering or deleting posts and simply filtering out key words, also in PM! The only thing that more or less works is to direct people via google search and also those efforts are monitored by seagate. If you get too active they will ban you from using their forum, just like they did to rimask, fatlip, me and many others. However, the ban only covers interactive usage, you can still go there and read stuff.

Ofcourse I appreciate your initiative and most likely you'll initially be able to attract additional interest to this thread, so I would be happy if you'd give it a try. But keep in mind that the data needs to be gathered in the correct format, or else the dataset will become a big mess :P

For the same reason I'm currenlty having my doubts about placing the dataset on blist, but perhaps I'll place it over there and also keep one copy over here.

Edited by DerSnoezie, 15 January 2009 - 10:06 AM.


#35
jkc120

jkc120

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts
  • Joined 14-January 09
Ahh I see, thanks.

Well, luckily for me Newegg was willing to let me RMA these drives at 32 days (2 days past their 30 day policy), and even waive the restocking fee since I'm buying 2 Western Digital Black 1TB/32MB cache drives!

So unfortunately, I may not have any more data to provide on my particular drives, unless *knock on wood* they die before I get the WD drives next week.

#36
DerSnoezie

DerSnoezie

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 151 posts
  • Joined 08-January 09

Well, luckily for me Newegg was willing to let me RMA these drives at 32 days (2 days past their 30 day policy), and even waive the restocking fee since I'm buying 2 Western Digital Black 1TB/32MB cache drives!


Sounds good :D

#37
thlickish

thlickish
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 15-January 09
I have two of them running in my Netgear ReadyNAS Duo. :} They are doing well so far.

XX:9QM2R***:ST3500320AS:N/A:SD15:N/A:N/A:Oct2008:N/A:OEM:thlickish:Germany:fine
XX:5QM24***:ST3500320AS:N/A:SD15:N/A:N/A:Oct2008:N/A:OEM:thlickish:Germany:fine

If Part No, DataCode and SiteCode are important information, I can add them later.

#38
DerSnoezie

DerSnoezie

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 151 posts
  • Joined 08-January 09

I have two of them running in my Netgear ReadyNAS Duo. :} They are doing well so far.

XX:9QM2R***:ST3500320AS:N/A:SD15:N/A:N/A:Oct2008:N/A:OEM:thlickish:Germany:fine
XX:5QM24***:ST3500320AS:N/A:SD15:N/A:N/A:Oct2008:N/A:OEM:thlickish:Germany:fine

If Part No, DataCode and SiteCode are important information, I can add them later.


Thanks for your support! DateCode and SiteCode are kinda important, since they show when and where your drives where manufactured. We will translate the 5 digit DateCode to a standard date notition for you.

Sitecode: KRATSG = Thailand, WUXISG = China

Edited by DerSnoezie, 15 January 2009 - 11:16 AM.


#39
Jack_Steel

Jack_Steel
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 15-January 09
Here is my data:

65:5QM00PXE:ST3500320AS:9BX154-303:SD15:08225:WUXISG:2008-01-21:N/A:N/A:Jack_Steel:Austria:still_running:WinXP_32bit

Edited by Jack_Steel, 15 January 2009 - 12:59 PM.


#40
DerSnoezie

DerSnoezie

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 151 posts
  • Joined 08-January 09

Here is my data:

65:5QM00PXE:ST3500320AS:9BX154-303:SD15:08225:WUXISG:2008-01-21:N/A:N/A:Jack_Steel:Austria:still_running:WinXP_32bit


Thanks Jack :D It is very important that drives which are still running fine are also included in the dataset. Based on the codes yours was manufactured at China on 5 December 2007. For now this the oldest drive in the list!

#41
CheshireCat

CheshireCat

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 15-January 09
66:9QM*****:ST3500320AS:9BX154-303:SD15:09075:KRATSG:September2008:N\A:OEM:CheshireCat:Israel:running_fine:xp32pro_vista32ult_now

I'm running this hdd literally 24\7 since it's purchase date. Most of the drives from the same box and ones that arrived a bit later are fine BUT there are problems now with the newest 500gb seagates. ~a month ago most of the new 500gb's started failing.

I have to mention that to run hdd properly you need a good PSU so maybe adding PSU type and number of drives\graphics card is relevant.
e.g. ENERMAX 500W @ 8800GT 3HDDs = FINE
ColorsIt 500W @ 8800GT 1 HDD = FAIL

#42
DerSnoezie

DerSnoezie

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 151 posts
  • Joined 08-January 09

I have to mention that to run hdd properly you need a good PSU so maybe adding PSU type and number of drives\graphics card is relevant.
e.g. ENERMAX 500W @ 8800GT 3HDDs = FINE
ColorsIt 500W @ 8800GT 1 HDD = FAIL


Thanks for your help. You're completely right; a low quality PSU can cause significant problems, just like the lack of adequate HDD cooling would. However, PSU related problems will (in general) directly surface when you add the HDD to your setup. All of these people were experiencing no problems with the stability of their system, everything was running fine - either for a couple days to even 4 months - when all of a sudden the HDD was no longer detected at the next boot.

I also think that the relatively older drives are of better quality compared to the recent batch (lets say the last 3-4 months), but for as yet I haven't gathered enough entries of older drives in the dataset to prove it.

Edited by DerSnoezie, 15 January 2009 - 01:43 PM.


#43
CheshireCat

CheshireCat

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 15-January 09

All of these people were experiencing no problems with the stability of their system, everything was running fine - either for a couple days to even 4 months - when all of a sudden the HDD was no longer detected at the next boot.


Generally HDD will either fail early on (e.g. the first week) or will not fail for a long time. In case of failing after couple of months it can be because of two reasons:
1) Poor system setup (PSU\cooling)
2) Manufacturing problems (build quality, firmware, etc)
So i wouldn't through out psu factor, especially if it's not hard to mention alongside with os type.

#44
kadolf

kadolf

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 25 posts
  • Joined 15-January 09
67:9SZ*****:ST3320613AS:9FZ-162-300:SD11:08391:TK:August 2008:2008-12-22:OEM:kadolf:Germany:0GB-Bug:WinServer 2k8 x64

Broke-down as a christmas present. ;) Often recognized as 0GB, but twice it was recognized by the BIOS as 8GB.

#45
DerSnoezie

DerSnoezie

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 151 posts
  • Joined 08-January 09

All of these people were experiencing no problems with the stability of their system, everything was running fine - either for a couple days to even 4 months - when all of a sudden the HDD was no longer detected at the next boot.


Generally HDD will either fail early on (e.g. the first week) or will not fail for a long time. In case of failing after couple of months it can be because of two reasons:
1) Poor system setup (PSU\cooling)
2) Manufacturing problems (build quality, firmware, etc)
So i wouldn't through out psu factor, especially if it's not hard to mention alongside with os type.


Yeah, we basically started this dataset with entries from the "computer enthousiast" user type, who - I think - would know to check the PSU before concluding otherwise. But now this thread has opened to a more general public it might be wise to add the PSU type to exclude a few non-related problems. Thanks :)

Edited by DerSnoezie, 15 January 2009 - 02:13 PM.


#46
DerSnoezie

DerSnoezie

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 151 posts
  • Joined 08-January 09

67:9SZ*****:ST3320613AS:9FZ-162-300:SD11:08391:TK:August 2008:2008-12-22:OEM:kadolf:Germany:0GB-Bug:WinServer 2k8 x64

Broke-down as a christmas present. ;) Often recognized as 0GB, but twice it was recognized by the BIOS as 8GB.


Well.. thanks a lot Santa! :( We'll add yours to list. BTW what kind of power supply (PSU) do you use in your setup?

#47
kadolf

kadolf

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 25 posts
  • Joined 15-January 09
It's a Xilence SPS-XP420.(12)R 420W PSU :blushing:
I know that Xilence isn't a brand known for superior quality, but voltages are quite good even with Prime95 and 3DMark running and the whole system worked stable for months.
Further data about my PC you can find at http://www.sysprofile.de/id58426 - although it's a German page you should be able to gather all needed information.

#48
CheshireCat

CheshireCat

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 15-January 09
thanks for adding the psu to the list :)
now thinking about it, adding PC configuration is a common practice in relation to hardware problems.
so i hope this thread will grow and actually help people!

i'v got HEC Ace 580UB loaded with Core2Duo E6750 3hdds and 8800GTS
please edit my entry
66:9QM*****:ST3500320AS:9BX154-303:SD15:09075 (20-08-08):KRATSG:Sep2008:N\A:OEM:CheshireCat:Israel:running_fine:xp32pro_vista32ult_now
to
66:9QM*****:ST3500320AS:9BX154-303:SD15:09075 (20-08-08):KRATSG:Sep2008:N\A:OEM:CheshireCat:Israel:running_fine:xp32pro_vista32ult_now:HEC_Ace_580UB@C2D_E6750+8800gts+3h
dds

#49
DerSnoezie

DerSnoezie

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 151 posts
  • Joined 08-January 09

It's a Xilence SPS-XP420.(12)R 420W PSU :blushing:
I know that Xilence isn't a brand known for superior quality, but voltages are quite good even with Prime95 and 3DMark running and the whole system worked stable for months.
Further data about my PC you can find at http://www.sysprofile.de/id58426 - although it's a German page you should be able to gather all needed information.


It's no problem. Also thanks for posting the link to the high quality article in the main thread! I can understand it perfectly :)

#50
DerSnoezie

DerSnoezie

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 151 posts
  • Joined 08-January 09

thanks for adding the psu to the list :)
now thinking about it, adding PC configuration is a common practice in relation to hardware problems.
so i hope this thread will grow and actually help people!

i'v got HEC Ace 580UB loaded with Core2Duo E6750 3hdds and 8800GTS
please edit my entry
66:9QM*****:ST3500320AS:9BX154-303:SD15:09075 (20-08-08):KRATSG:Sep2008:N\A:OEM:CheshireCat:Israel:running_fine:xp32pro_vista32ult_now
to
66:9QM*****:ST3500320AS:9BX154-303:SD15:09075 (20-08-08):KRATSG:Sep2008:N\A:OEM:CheshireCat:Israel:running_fine:xp32pro_vista32ult_now:HEC_Ace_580UB@C2D_E6750+8800gts+3h
dds


I think adding the PSU to the list will suffice. For convenience sake I would also like to keep the number of variables now constant. There are various reports of people who have encountered this specific problem and tested with different hardware or even placed the faulty HDD in other computers to find the same result. At the moment enough is known about the issue to trace the origin back to the firmware level or other HDD related factors.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN