Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Seagate 7200.11 fail & fine dataset

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
271 replies to this topic

#101
Gradius2

Gradius2

    IT Consultant

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 240 posts
  • Joined 16-January 09
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
9QK0****:ST3750330AS:9BX156-303:SD15:08495:KRATSG:2008-07-01:2009-08-14:OEM:Gradius2:Chile:POST error (it recognize, but returns error on POST)

9QK0****:ST3750330AS:9BX156-303:SD15:09023:KRATSG:2008-08-10:2009-08-14:OEM:Gradius2:Chile:BSY error

9QK0****:ST3750330AS:9BX156-303:SD15:09023:KRATSG:2008-08-10:2009-08-14:OEM:Gradius2:Chile:BSY error


OS: Vista Ultimate SP1 x64 (on all them)

Gradius
"Two things are infinite: The Universe and Human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the Universe." Albert Einstein


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#102
DerSnoezie

DerSnoezie

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 151 posts
  • Joined 08-January 09
First of all: Thanks to all new members for sharing your 7200.11 data with us!

Second point: Please pay attention to the particular unfortunate experience below, which was reported by donnerzusel:

Long story short:
-ST31000340AS with Firmware SD15 (working)
-Seagate support acknowledged that the drive is affected
-Seagate support suggests firmware upgrade to AD14
-upgraded firmware, drive bricked.

Thank you, Seagate.


We have repeatedly warned for the dangers of "upgrading" your firmware from SD15 to AD14, but now even some seagate support employees appear to be making this mistake.

Edited by DerSnoezie, 18 January 2009 - 03:07 PM.


#103
rook-ie

rook-ie
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 18-January 09
5QM3****:ST3500320AS:9BX154-303:SD15:09233:WUXISG:2009-01-07:N/A:RETAIL:rook-ie:MALAYSIA:fine:winXP

still fine

Edited by rook-ie, 19 January 2009 - 11:01 AM.


#104
Karlston

Karlston

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 13-January 09
http://seagate.custk...sp?DocId=207931 has been updated with links (by drive model) to firmware downloads.

The firmware for some models is still being QA'd.

On a local forum, people are getting errors trying to do the firmware update, one guy tried 3 different PCs without success...

http://forums.whirlp...i...1&p=12#r240

Please post your results, good or bad...

EDIT: Looks like Seagate stuffed the release...

http://forums.seagat...e.id=5287#M5287

Edited by Karlston, 19 January 2009 - 05:07 AM.


#105
cirap

cirap
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 19-January 09
registered just to post this: bought mine durng July of 2008. been running more than 12h 24/7 since then, no problems at all

btw: How do I find out the Part N°? Drive Detect nor Seatools tells me anything


92:5QM25EB6:ST3500320AS:9BX154-303:SD15:08512:WUXISG:2008-07-15:N/A:OEM:cirap:Sweden:fine:Vista X64:Hiper 580W


that's all the info I could find out. if someone can tell me how to find the rest I will update the post, but since my drive is fine I won't bother with it right now


edit: I could find out the rest of the stuff by removing the front cover of my case and peeking in, didn't have to remove the side panel or take out the drive ;)

to clarify: I bought the disc at a retailer, but it says "For OEM Use" on the drive. so I assume I should of put OEM in the data?

Edited by cirap, 19 January 2009 - 12:42 PM.


#106
Karlston

Karlston

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 13-January 09

How do I find out the Part N°? Drive Detect nor Seatools tells me anything

Isn't it on the label on the top of the drive? "P/N" = Part Number...

#107
cirap

cirap
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 19-January 09

How do I find out the Part N°? Drive Detect nor Seatools tells me anything

Isn't it on the label on the top of the drive? "P/N" = Part Number...


edit: took care of it

Edited by cirap, 19 January 2009 - 12:20 PM.


#108
Anon-E-moose

Anon-E-moose
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 19-January 09
9QM*****:ST3500320AS:9BX154-335:SD15:09085:*:KRATSG:2008-12-15:N/A:RETAIL:Anon-E-moose:USA:fine:

I run linux(gentoo), XP(for games) and testing win7 x64, no problems (yet - fingers crossed)

Power supply antec 500, MB ECS GeForce6100PM

System stays powered on, pretty much 24/7 (powered down 6 times including the seagate install)

Edited by Anon-E-moose, 19 January 2009 - 09:26 AM.


#109
Gradius2

Gradius2

    IT Consultant

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 240 posts
  • Joined 16-January 09
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Long story short:
-ST31000340AS with Firmware SD15 (working)
-Seagate support acknowledged that the drive is affected
-Seagate support suggests firmware upgrade to AD14
-upgraded firmware, drive bricked.

Thank you, Seagate.


LOL, you're not alone donnerzusel, the same thing happened to me!

Only the model was different, mine is a ST3750330AS

Gradius

Edited by Gradius2, 19 January 2009 - 04:49 PM.

"Two things are infinite: The Universe and Human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the Universe." Albert Einstein

#110
Karlston

Karlston

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 13 posts
  • Joined 13-January 09
An update update has been released as of Jan 19, 2008 3:15PM CST (whatever the heck CST is, probably a US time zone known only to them)...

http://seagate.custk...sp?DocId=207951

Recognises -303 part numbers.

#111
Gradius2

Gradius2

    IT Consultant

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 240 posts
  • Joined 16-January 09
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Oh yes baby !! :ph34r:

I just fixed my ST3750330AS with AD14 firmware (it was SD15 originally). :thumbup :thumbup :thumbup

YESSS!! I love myself (hehe).

Now I have just 2 (two) HDs to recovery (both are with BSY problem).

Hey donnerzusel, I have the solution. :ph34r:

Your drive is a ST31000340AS with SD15, and now it have a AD14, right?

If so, just burn this ISO (at 4x max), disconnect every drive (except the bad one), config your BIOS to IDE or IDE Extended (don't use it as RAID or AHCI), then boot the CD and follow the simple instructions.

Keep in mind this will ONLY works for those with SD15, SD16, SD17, SD18, SD19 and AD14 drives and those models:
ST3500320AS, ST3640330AS, ST3750330AS, ST31000340AS

Fixed SD1A firmware

Don't forget to unrar with WinRAR (.iso inside) before to burning.

Gradius
"Two things are infinite: The Universe and Human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the Universe." Albert Einstein

#112
dilosolid

dilosolid

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 12 posts
  • Joined 18-January 09
Gradius2 did u apply the fixed SD1A firmware to the ST3750330AS ?

#113
sellig

sellig
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 18-January 09
Gradius was your hdd bricked before you upgraded the firmware or not ?

#114
verdilith

verdilith
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • Joined 18-January 09
Number:9QM3****:ST3500320AS:9BX154-303:SD15:08411:KRATSG:2008/07/15:2009/01/16:OEM:Verdilith:UK:fail :Windows XP SP2:

This is actually my second drive - the first was DOA, I returned it and got the one above. Unfortunately, I didn't make a note of what the f/w or anything was, assuming it was just "one of those things". It was a 500GB ST3500320AS though, and like the second one, wasn't being detected in the BIOS.

Edited by verdilith, 20 January 2009 - 03:53 AM.


#115
PrOdiGy1

PrOdiGy1

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 28 posts
  • Joined 08-January 09

Gradius was your hdd bricked before you upgraded the firmware or not ?

i do not know for sure but i doubt it?

if the drive cannot be detected then it is pretty hard to apply firmware....

#116
WeatherPaparazzi

WeatherPaparazzi

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 20 posts
  • Joined 20-January 09
Number:9QJ03****:ST31000340AS:9BX158-335:SD15:08461:KRATSG:2008/07/15:2009/01/19:Microcenter:MinneapolisMN:US:fail :Windows XP SP3:

How or were to you buy the unlocking BSY stuff? This is a major video editing drive that is only a temp drive were I put files on to be edited before saving the master catalogs to several other drives.

This has really hosed me big time and I just bought a 1.5 TB drive last week that I'm going to be backing up to a 1tb Western Digital Drive now.

I was in the middle of backing up data from the 1TB SeaBrick last night and shut the computer down to power the system down and swap USB drives to back up data. Powered it back up and NADDA. Not even showing up in the bios. After pullling it out of the computer I put it in a SATA docking station to try it on several other computers and nothing. Even the copy of Ontrack could not see this thing.

How do I fix the BSY issue

Using a repair kit I purchased online (not cheap!) I was able to connect to the drive through a special serial connection that I did not recognize in my 15+ years of PC experience. With the included software I was able to clear the BSY (busy) lock on the HDD and also the 0GB detect issue. Full functionality was restored and the data intact. The kit was expensive so if the data is not valuable then I recommend RMAing it in.


Where did you buy the kit, I want one.

#117
Gradius2

Gradius2

    IT Consultant

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 240 posts
  • Joined 16-January 09
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Gradius2 did u apply the fixed SD1A firmware to the ST3750330AS ?


Yes, but since it was a ST3750330AS and originally a SD15.

I have been flashed with AD14, and got error after POST (drive not ready), it was like that for days, until $eagate put SD1A on site and managed to flashing correctly.

Gradius

Gradius was your hdd bricked before you upgraded the firmware or not ?


No it was working fine, but I got scared by the others two begin bricked (SD15 from August), so I decided to flash to AD14 and was a big mistake.

I have 4 (four) 750GB, all them are SD15, the only difference are the Date Code (2 from July, 2 from August).

I have 2 (two) 1TB too with CC1F, so far those are working fine, but the problem is the cache bug on HD Tuner it reports them all (750GB & 1TB) as N/A on buffer, this worry me.

Gradius

Gradius was your hdd bricked before you upgraded the firmware or not ?

i do not know for sure but i doubt it?

if the drive cannot be detected then it is pretty hard to apply firmware....


It detected fine on BIOS, but at the end of POST, it returned "drive not ready", and I couldn't access my datas anymore.

I knew all along if I managed to firmware again with the right fw, I could recover my drive.

Gradius

Where did you buy the kit, I want one.


No need to buy any kit, except RS232 to TTL, or USB>RS232>TTL adapters.

They costs $15 or less.

The entire solution is here:
http://www.msfn.org/...howtopic=128807

Gradius

Edited by puntoMX, 20 January 2009 - 02:49 PM.

"Two things are infinite: The Universe and Human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the Universe." Albert Einstein

#118
PrOdiGy1

PrOdiGy1

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 28 posts
  • Joined 08-January 09

Gradius was your hdd bricked before you upgraded the firmware or not ?

i do not know for sure but i doubt it?

if the drive cannot be detected then it is pretty hard to apply firmware....


It detected fine on BIOS, but at the end of POST, it returned "drive not ready", and I couldn't access my datas anymore.

yep that was my point - the drive you applied the new firmware to was not in the BSY state, like others have been

#119
Gradius2

Gradius2

    IT Consultant

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 240 posts
  • Joined 16-January 09
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

yep that was my point - the drive you applied the new firmware to was not in the BSY state, like others have been


I have two drives on BSY state, I'll fix them as soon the RS232 to TTL adapter arrives here.

Gradius
"Two things are infinite: The Universe and Human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the Universe." Albert Einstein

#120
Tristano_74

Tristano_74
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 20-January 09
hello to everyone here is another party and unfortunately also my hard disk: (


9QK0****:ST3750330AS:9BX156-303:SD15:08054:2008-12-15:KRATSG:2009-01-10:OEM:Tristano:ITALY:Made In THailand(no detect in bios):

#121
donnerzusel

donnerzusel
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 18-January 09
Hi everybody, sorry, I've been busy the last days.

Hey donnerzusel, I have the solution. :ph34r:
Your drive is a ST31000340AS with SD15, and now it have a AD14, right?


Congrats, Gradius2! I found the update on the Seagate website, burned it at slowest speed possible, booted the PC and attached the drive after the POST.
The Firmware SD1A-Disc boots up, and if I let it try to detect the drive, the computer hangs and messages like "invalid opcode" appear on the screen,
so it seems that I'm not able to flash my drive with the new firmware.

When I try to flash, I unplug every drive (because the BIOS hangs after recognizing the faulty ST31000340AS - is this the BSY-error?) and restart the computer to re-plug the ST31000 just after the POST. Strange thing: The AD14-Update-Boot-CD (which was recommended by a Seagate employee) does recognize the drive and is able to flash it again with AD14, which is not what I want. So I'm waiting again on Seagate to fix the fixed firmware. ;-)

Thanks for reading.

Greets, donnerzusel

#122
qdr

qdr
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • Joined 20-January 09
1:9QM2JG0B:ST3500320AS:9BX154-303:SD15:08385:2008-12-01:KRATSG:2008-05-12:2008-12-01:RETAIL: qdr: Kazakhstan: F/K: WinXPx86
2:9QM81RSX:ST3500320AS:9BX154-303:SD15:09155:2009-01-10:KRATSG:2008-12-05:2009-01-10:RETAIL: qdr: Kazakhstan: F/K: WinXPx86

#123
DerSnoezie

DerSnoezie

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 151 posts
  • Joined 08-January 09
Thanks for the new entries! Kazakhstan has been added to the 7200.11 "plague" map.

Edit: Issues reported from Kazakhstan appear to be not directly related to our main problem, therefore Kazakhstan is removed from the map.

Edited by DerSnoezie, 21 January 2009 - 09:19 AM.


#124
JRD393

JRD393
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 20-January 09
Here's mine that croaked during bootup last night. Not only undetectable by bios, it prevented detection of my good 2nd drive until disconnected.

5QJ0YAG8:ST31000340AS:9BX158-303:SD15:09115:??:WUXISG:2008-11-20:2009-01-19:OEM:JRD393:USA:(no detect in bios):XP Pro:Corsair 650W

#125
qdr

qdr
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • Joined 20-January 09
DerSnoezie do you think, adding info about MB chipset could be a good Idea? I mean, there a lot of discussions on the internet about Nvidia Nforce4 chipset drivers making HDD's corrupt their MFT + when you run Zero Assumption Recovery 8.3 it tells you, that Nvidia IDE drivers are know to make problems in case of an intensive usage. I myself have a Gigabyte GA-8NSLI, it uses Nforce 4.

Edited by qdr, 21 January 2009 - 02:05 AM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users