Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

The Solution for Seagate 7200.11 HDDs

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
4759 replies to this topic

#3051
cuudulieu

cuudulieu

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 22 posts
  • Joined 16-June 09
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi guys,
I have a Seagate Barracuda HDD with the following specifications:
Seagate 160Gb 7200.12
Model : ST3160318AS
FW : CC38
No detect
I have tried with dku5:

F3 T>/1

F3 1>N1

F3 1>N1

Init SMART Fail
LED:000000CC FAddr:0024E2DB
LED:000000CC FAddr:0024E2DB
LED:000000CC FAddr:0024E2DB
LED:000000CC FAddr:0024E2DB
LED:000000CC FAddr:0024E2DB


what means this message?

someone please help me?

Edited by cuudulieu, 02 August 2010 - 12:45 AM.

SPAM REMOVED.


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#3052
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,654 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

I have a Seagate Barracuda HDD with the following specifications:
Seagate 160Gb 7200.12


Compare with point #1 and #2 of the Read-me-first:
http://www.msfn.org/...-read-me-first/

Pretty much a non-target!

I see that you have then double-posted, so discussion (if any) continues here:
http://www.msfn.org/...howtopic=145646

jaclaz

Edited by jaclaz, 02 August 2010 - 01:56 AM.


#3053
annoyedman

annoyedman
  • Member
  • 7 posts
  • Joined 02-August 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Hello fellas,

Been trying to debrick my terabyte 7200.11 drives (have two, both of them not showing in BIOS) with no success so far.

I bought this

http://alldav.com/in...&products_id=21

from this guide

http://sites.google....ite/seagatefix/


So. I soldered four wires to all four access points, and when I connect the RX to TX (loop test, just these two wires), it works. I see my typing in the terminal. So the product works, and is powered if I understand the last few posts prior to my own post. So I do not need to plug in the GND or the 5V+ wire to anywhere on the HDD, just the RX and TX. So.

I then plug the RX (PC) to TX (HDD) and vice versa for the other wire and plug the power (sata from PSU). The PCB heats up, meaning it gets power. But Ctrl + Z does not work. It just remains blank.

Please help.

#3054
VideoRipper

VideoRipper

    CSI Eastwood City

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 330 posts
  • Joined 11-February 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Erm... the PCB shouldn't "Heat" up; it *might* get warm-ish after being powered
for an hour or so, but it should not get hot :o

  • Make sure the ground wire of the convertor is also connected
  • Are you sure the RS232-end of the convertor is powered with 3.3V
    and not 5V?
  • Try reversing the TX and RX wires
Greetz,

Peter.

Edited by VideoRipper, 02 August 2010 - 10:09 AM.

To C the BASIC things in life, use Delphi

#3055
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,654 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

I bought this

http://alldav.com/in...&products_id=21

from this guide

http://sites.google....ite/seagatefix/

NO. :(

The guide uses this one:
http://alldav.com/in...&products_id=11
the new version of which is this one:
http://alldav.com/in...&products_id=28

Please notice how the word "TTL" is used in the description of BOTH the above.

Notice also how on the product you linked to there is NO mention of "TTL" but mention of "UART".

Cannot say if it means anything :unsure:, but the FT232R:
http://www.ftdichip....ucts/FT232R.htm
can output different levels, depending on how the board is made:
http://www.ftdichip....s/DS_FT232R.pdf
  • If pin 4 of the IC is connected to pin 17 it is configured for 3.3 V (right for this use)
  • If pin 4 of the IC is connected to pin 20 or however to + 5v CC (possibly wrong for this use)

So I do not need to plug in the GND or the 5V+ wire to anywhere on the HDD, just the RX and TX.

You are of course perfectly free to do whatever you want :), but this is NOT what is recommended, please check point #7 of the read-me-first:
http://www.msfn.org/...-read-me-first/

jaclaz

Edited by jaclaz, 02 August 2010 - 10:57 AM.


#3056
fackeid

fackeid
  • Member
  • 7 posts
  • Joined 22-July 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi
Thanks "jaclaz" for suggestions

I have re tested the hard drive. It is now detecting but not showing any partition in the Windows XP.

So I rechecked it so I found Bad sectors in this hard drive and , bad sectors are in very huge amount say out of 10,000MB 17000-190000 sectors are bad.

So now my question is what do you think, are these bad sectors are introduced after this firmware reset process?
(Please note - my hdd type is - Laptop SATA disk of Seagate 5400.6 series, is this going to make any issue over here?)


#3057
SnakeByte2

SnakeByte2
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 03-August 10
  • OS:Vista Home Premium x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi...

I'm attempting to implement the BSY fix on a 500GB 7200.11 (ST3500320AS) and I'm a bit stuck.

I obtained an RS232 to TTL adapter and connected a 2032 battery. I'm running the whole thing through a USB to Serial adapter, mush as per the set up shown in this tutorial. It shows up for me as COM5. I've set up HypetTerminal connection for 38400, 8, N, 1, no flow control.

I ran a loopback test and it was successful.

I then connected the adapter to the hard drive. Adapter Tx to Seagate Rx and Rx to Seagate Tx , and when I connected in HyperTerminal I got the expected LED:00 00 00 CC FAddr: 00 24 A5 01 code. I figured this confirmed that communications could be properly established with the drive.

I shut things down and then placed an insulator between the circuit board and the contacts as recommended. However, I can't establish a connection in HyperTerminal. When I do a CTRL Z I get a stylized f or some other character but I can not get to the drive's F3 T> prompt.

I removed the circuit board completely from the drive to no effect. I re-attached the circuit board to the drive and get the expected LED:00 00 00 CC FAddr: 00 24 A5 01 again. I tried reversing the Rx and Tx connections just in case but that didn't help.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks

#3058
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,654 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

....

I then connected the adapter to the hard drive. Adapter Tx to Seagate Rx and Rx to Seagate Tx , and ....


Grounding? :unsure:

Point #7 of read-me-first:
http://www.msfn.org/...-read-me-first/

jaclaz

#3059
SnakeByte2

SnakeByte2
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 03-August 10
  • OS:Vista Home Premium x86
  • Country: Country Flag


....

I then connected the adapter to the hard drive. Adapter Tx to Seagate Rx and Rx to Seagate Tx , and ....


Grounding? :unsure:

Point #7 of read-me-first:
http://www.msfn.org/...-read-me-first/

jaclaz


Hi jaclaz...

Thanks for the comment.

I think I'm OK in respect to grounding. I have the negative (-) of the CR2032 battery connected to the GND of the adapter (with the positive (+) connected to VCC of the adapter). As far as I know that meets the requirements as stated in Point #7.

I'm going to try this gain on a PC that has a fixed serial port so I can bypass the USB to serial adapter and see if that helps.

sb

#3060
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,654 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

I think I'm OK in respect to grounding. I have the negative (-) of the CR2032 battery connected to the GND of the adapter (with the positive (+) connected to VCC of the adapter). As far as I know that meets the requirements as stated in Point #7.

Then, the text must not be clear enough :unsure::

I will repeat myself, you NEED a (black) wire connecting:

  • the HD "Ground" pin
  • the (standard PC) Power Supply black wire
  • the converter "Ground" or 0V pin or connector or wire
  • if a battery is used, the - (minus) side/pin of it
  • if a separate Power Supply is used, it's black wire or 0V pin or connector or wire


Out of 5 4 (as two are mutually exclusive) points you listed 2 only

jaclaz

#3061
SnakeByte2

SnakeByte2
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 03-August 10
  • OS:Vista Home Premium x86
  • Country: Country Flag
I set things up on a PC here at work that had a serial port, thereby removing the need for the USB to Serial adapter. With that done I received the prompt and was able to successfully recover the drive!!!

I'm not well versed in electronics. Perhaps the USB to Serial adapter was the problem or maybe it was causing a grounding problem, I don't know. I do find the the text regarding what needs to be grounded a bit confusing. To help anyone else having problems does it mean that the ground pin on the hard drive also has to be connected to the GND of the Rs232 to TTL adapter?

Thanks

#3062
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,654 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

To help anyone else having problems does it mean that the ground pin on the hard drive also has to be connected to the GND of the Rs232 to TTL adapter?

YES. :)

I really cannot find what is the deceiving part in:

7. GROUNDING:
Since, as seen above the actual 0's and 1's are obtained by a difference of voltage relative to 0V, it is VITAL, to ensure that TTL level communication works as expected, to have the same 0 V level on ALL equipment involved.
This is obtained by connecting ALL the 0 V or "Ground" of ALL devices involved together (normally and by convention a black wire is used).
I will repeat myself, you NEED a (black) wire connecting:

  • the HD "Ground" pin
  • the (standard PC) Power Supply black wire
  • the converter "Ground" or 0V pin or connector or wire
  • if a battery is used, the - (minus) side/pin of it
  • if a separate Power Supply is used, it's black wire or 0V pin or connector or wire


In other words, ANYTHING marked "GND" or "GROUND" or "-" (minus) or having a black wire should be connected together.

The idea is to create an equipotential "zero", this post by VideoRipper may help understanding the possible problem:
http://www.msfn.org/...=128807&st=2949
as well as point #6 of the read-me-first:

6.SERIAL Voltage and TTL levels:
Serial communication basically works by sending bits as voltage peaks separated by a time interval.

RS-232 sends a "0" by means of a "high level" from +5v to +15v and a "1" by sending a "low level" -5v to -15v.
The above is called "negative logic" (0=high;1=low)

TTL/CMOS sends a "0" "low" when between 0.2 V and 0.8 V and a 1 "high" when between 2.0 V and 5 V
TTL sends a "0" "low" when between 0.35 V and 0.8 V and a 1 "high" when between 2.0 V and 3.3 V
The above is called "positive logic" (0=low;1=high)

Each circuit/board may use a narrower (or wider) interval for the "high" level, but the "low" level is so narrow by design that having the SAME 0 V level on ALL equipment connected is VITAL. (see below "GROUNDING")


If you have an idea or a more accurate wording to better convey this info, please post it (or PM me) and I'll modify the read-me-first.

jaclaz

#3063
mlamagna

mlamagna
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 05-August 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi all,

thank you for this great post.

Yesterday morning I turned on my pc and the BSY issue came up. I tried contacting Seagate but they said there is no bug, until I finally found many posts on the web.

I've tried searching on the thread without success so excuse me in advance if my question has already been answered.

I have two ST3500320AS, only one of which is currently facing the BSY issue. I'm only interested in recovering data from the dead drive.

What happens if I replace the PCB of the dead drive with the one from the working drive? Is the dead one coming back to life? They are same model and have same firmware.

Thank you.

Ciao!

Max

EDIT: I found some posts of people asking the same question but I found no answers :-(

Edited by mlamagna, 05 August 2010 - 09:25 AM.


#3064
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,654 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

What happens if I replace the PCB of the dead drive with the one from the working drive? Is the dead one coming back to life? They are same model and have same firmware.

What SURELY happens is that your drive WILL NOT come back to life.
Additionally you risk that EVEN the now working drive WILL NEVER come back to life. :ph34r:

The procedure called in jargon "PCB SWAP" can work:
  • easily on drives that have NO specific calibration/setup data (very, very old ones)
  • anyway on drives that have calibration/setup data in a eeprom (BUT you need to either backup and restore the eeprom or physically de-solder it form the old PCB and re-solder it on the "new" PCB)

It CANNOT work on drives where calibration/setup data is stored on the actual hard disk reserved sectors, such as the 7200.11.

Compare with (what you could have found if searching for the right keywords):
http://www.msfn.org/...=128807&st=1821
http://www.msfn.org/...=128807&st=2173
http://www.msfn.org/...=128807&st=2240
And with:
http://www.msfn.org/...howtopic=145290

Basically, every few tens posts comes a new guy thinking that the rather complex procedure this thread is about can be bypassed easily with a plain PCB SWAP, and someone, usually yours truly :), has to convince him that it won't work....:whistle:

So, NO, you need to use this procedure, there are no known workarounds.

Start from here:
http://www.msfn.org/...-read-me-first/
feel free to ask for help should something be not clear.

jaclaz

#3065
mlamagna

mlamagna
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 05-August 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

What SURELY happens is that your drive WILL NOT come back to life.
Additionally you risk that EVEN the now working drive WILL NEVER come back to life. :ph34r:


Hi Jaclaz,

thank you very much for the explanation. Actually I used the wrong search words (I used "replace PCB" "working PCB" etc.)

For sure I don't want to make things more broken than they currently are so I will try going with the standard procedure and let you know the outcome.

Ciao!

Max

Edited by mlamagna, 05 August 2010 - 10:35 AM.


#3066
mongoled

mongoled
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 06-August 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Just registered to say thanks to all that contibuted to this fix.

Also want to add that this fix was applied to a ST31000528AS which is a 7200.12 drive with firmware version CC35.

I am currently looking to see if there are any firmware updates for this drive, can anybody post information relevant to this?

#3067
fackeid

fackeid
  • Member
  • 7 posts
  • Joined 22-July 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi
anyone please guide me...
Can we use this RX TX method with other Seagate SATA drives as well?? ( I mean, with Seagate Momentus 5400.6 SATA Drives)

Or we should perform this tricks only on Seagate 7200.11 drives only?

Please guide me

#3068
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,654 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Hi
anyone please guide me...
Can we use this RX TX method with other Seagate SATA drives as well?? ( I mean, with Seagate Momentus 5400.6 SATA Drives)

Or we should perform this tricks only on Seagate 7200.11 drives only?

Please guide me


Question: Guess why there is a read-me-first? :unsure:
http://www.msfn.org/...-read-me-first/
Answer: To avoid having to reply to the SAME questions asked n times before (and also answered n times before)

Please READ it:
http://www.msfn.org/...-read-me-first/
EXPECIALLY ponts #1 and #2

jaclaz

#3069
VideoRipper

VideoRipper

    CSI Eastwood City

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 330 posts
  • Joined 11-February 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Can we use this RX TX method with other Seagate SATA drives as well??

If you mean "Talk" to other Seagate drives: yes :yes:

And for (older) PATA drives you'll have to connect the convertor to these
pins (and try slower rates, like 9600 Baud):
Posted Image

If you want to know if the "Tricks" in this thread also applies to other
types of (Seagate) drives: read Jaclaz' comment above. :unsure:

Greetz,

Peter.
To C the BASIC things in life, use Delphi

#3070
fackeid

fackeid
  • Member
  • 7 posts
  • Joined 22-July 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag


Hi
anyone please guide me...
Can we use this RX TX method with other Seagate SATA drives as well?? ( I mean, with Seagate Momentus 5400.6 SATA Drives)

Or we should perform this tricks only on Seagate 7200.11 drives only?

Please guide me


Question: Guess why there is a read-me-first? :unsure:
http://www.msfn.org/...-read-me-first/
Answer: To avoid having to reply to the SAME questions asked n times before (and also answered n times before)

Please READ it:
http://www.msfn.org/...-read-me-first/
EXPECIALLY ponts #1 and #2

jaclaz



Hi
jaclaz

Thanks for reminding me the basics. :-)
And i apologize for my mistakes. :no:

Can you please tell me the solutions for Seagate Momentus 5400.6 drives?
Because I have few Momentus drives which are not getting detected. (Basically they are USB Portable Drives, so disconnected disk from it and) I performed direct F3 T>m0,2,2,0,0,0,0,22 on it.

So disk started detecting in BIOS as well as in Windows but with no file system on it(no NTFS/FAT32). So when i further diagnose it i found non repairable bad sectors on it (I tried with HDD Regenerator).

I am not able to figure out my mistakes in this process. ( I know these firmware reset command is designed for seagate 7200.11 series only, but for me it worked with these momentus 5400.6 drives as well..)

And hey special thanks for VideoRipper for wonderful tips about IDE drives. :thumbup

I will give a try for this area as well.

#3071
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,654 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Hi
jaclaz

Thanks for reminding me the basics. :-)
And i apologize for my mistakes. :no:

Can you please tell me the solutions for Seagate Momentus 5400.6 drives?
Because I have few Momentus drives which are not getting detected. (Basically they are USB Portable Drives, so disconnected disk from it and) I performed direct F3 T>m0,2,2,0,0,0,0,22 on it.

So disk started detecting in BIOS as well as in Windows but with no file system on it(no NTFS/FAT32). So when i further diagnose it i found non repairable bad sectors on it (I tried with HDD Regenerator).

I am not able to figure out my mistakes in this process. ( I know these firmware reset command is designed for seagate 7200.11 series only, but for me it worked with these momentus 5400.6 drives as well..)

And hey special thanks for VideoRipper for wonderful tips about IDE drives. :thumbup

I will give a try for this area as well.

The point that I evidently completely fail to explain :( is that THIS THREAD is for 7200.11 ONLY, and ONLY for those affected by the LBA0 or BSY state. :realmad:

Don't you think that otherwise it could have been titled:

Post here any crazy question about any dead hard drive and also any other question that crosses your mind?

:unsure:

Five simple steps :):
  • Start a NEW thread, here:
    http://www.msfn.org/...e-media-issues/
  • Title it meaningfully
  • DON'T EVER use HDD regenerator (if the scope is recovering DATA)
  • STOP (for the moment ;)) fiddling with those drives
  • Post detailing ALL the steps you ALREADY took

jaclaz

#3072
pborut

pborut
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 08-August 10
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Hello Gradius!

Thank you for sharing your knowledge.
I also came to BSY problem with my sister's Seagate 7200.11, however, disk still doesn't to boot after procedure I've gone through.

- I've made first BSY step change.
- Bios now recognizes HDD
- Tried to boot from disk, no go.
- I've made first second BSY step change.

Here is serial console log from second (optional) BSY step:
F3 T>i4,1,22

F3 T>
F3 T>m0,2,2,,,,,22
Max Wr Retries = 00, Max Rd Retries = 00, Max ECC T-Level = 14, Max Certify Rewr
ite Retries = 00C8

User Partition Format Successful - Elapsed Time 0 mins 00 secs

- Partition format was very quick, instant.
- Disk still doesn't boot.

- Now I've used diagnostic SeaTools from Seagate.
- Done Short test and I've received answer ADEACE62, that I dish has bad blocks
- Done Long test and I've received answer that there are 100 errors (error was at all but very first block ).

I didn't have any problems with RS232 part or moving powered PCB back to HDD body.
My question is, if you can confirm me, if I've done something wrong.
I'm not sure if it was correct to do (second) optional BSY step, because first one already solved BSY problem (but disk didn't boot).

Thank you in advance,
Borut.

Edited by dencorso, 09 August 2010 - 09:29 AM.
Removed unnecessary (and way too long) quotation. Please do quote just what's really needed!


#3073
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,654 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
pborut,
please edit your post removing the WHOLE Quote from Gradius' initial post, it makes no sense and only contributes to make the thread less readable.

There is nothing wrong in the procedure.
You shouldn't even THINK of booting from that drive.
Your next step should be to image that drive to another one and then attempt to recover the DATA you may have on it (if of value).

jaclaz

#3074
mlamagna

mlamagna
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 05-August 10
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag


What SURELY happens is that your drive WILL NOT come back to life.
Additionally you risk that EVEN the now working drive WILL NEVER come back to life. :ph34r:

For sure I don't want to make things more broken than they currently are so I will try going with the standard procedure and let you know the outcome.


Hi all,

I've just completed the procedure and it worked! (I had a few strange error messages, sorted out by tightening the screws on the PCB=-

Thank you very much.

Ciao!

Max

#3075
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,654 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Hi all,

I've just completed the procedure and it worked! (I had a few strange error messages, sorted out by tightening the screws on the PCB=-

Thank you very much.

Ciao!

Max


Another happy bunny in the basket! :)
http://www.msfn.org/...ic=128727&st=10

jaclaz




6 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 6 guests, 0 anonymous users