Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

The Solution for Seagate 7200.11 HDDs

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
4721 replies to this topic

#4276
hitman2006

hitman2006
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Im getting this msg, could any help me

F3 2>U

HighPowerMode
ExecuteSpinRequest

DiagError 00006008
Spin Error
Elapsed Time 13.409 secs
R/W Status 2 R/W Error 84150180


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#4277
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,077 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Im getting this msg, could any help me

F3 2>U

HighPowerMode
ExecuteSpinRequest

DiagError 00006008
Spin Error
Elapsed Time 13.409 secs
R/W Status 2 R/W Error 84150180

See:
http://www.msfn.org/...rracuda-720011/

jaclaz

#4278
v71

v71
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Sorry, coming late to the discussion. Have the ST31500341AS for some time and it died long time ago. Did not have time to take care of it until now.

Recently saw an option - PCB exchange. Did that, but no luck. Realised that i started from a wrong direction - only after PCB exchange had a look at BIOS. I know, no excuses.

The HDD showed 0GB in BIOS. So, it should be LBA0 (at least in theory solvable)

Then i read the following forums/threads:
- Canadian suggeste also in jaclaz post http://www.mapleleaf...agatebrick.html
- MSFN jaclaz Rad-me-1st http://www.msfn.org/...-read-me-first/
- This one - The Solution for Seagate7200.11 HDDs http://www.msfn.org/...te-720011-hdds/

Bought a USB to TTL adapter. Installed HyperTerminal on Win7x64. Connected the HDD.
1. If any of the connections (motor or head, this one being suggested in other formus as well) is covered with cardboard HDD would not react at all to any CTRL-Z.

2. HDD does react to CTRL-Z only when both motor+head are in contact with PCB.

3. Hyperterminal reacts to COM4, not to COM1 (on COM1 no sign of life). Tried RealTerm to no response at any options.

4. Hyperterminal (only with Head and Motor connected) allows to shift to /1 or /2 levels and /T level, to spin down or up the HDD etc.

5. But as soon as I reach the F3 1>N1 it gives and error
Init SMART Fail
LED:000000CC FAddr:00239CED
LED:000000CC FAddr:00239CED

6. Errors (DiagError 0000500D) appear when trying:
a.) F3 T>m0,2,2,0,0,0,0,22
Max Wr Retries = 00, Max Rd Retries = 00, Max ECC T-Level = 00, Max Certify Rewr
ite Retries = 0000
DiagError 0000500D
User Partition Format Failed - Elapsed Time 0 mins 00 secs
R/W Sense 00000002, R/W Error 00000084, File Error 00001002
Blk Addr 7B400001, Blk Addr Type D0, Cyl FFFD0000, Hd 80
b.) Same error appeared when i tried F3 T>m0,1,1,2,2,0,0,22
c.) at the end tried even F3 T>m0,1,1,0,0,0,0,22
All of them gave the same error.

7. Tried G-List erase ( i4,1,22) and entire BSY, just in case. nothing. when it comes to N1 or m0,etc it gives erros.

Should I proclaim it dead:)?

Edited by v71, 30 September 2012 - 08:28 PM.


#4279
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,077 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Should I proclaim it dead:)?

Possibly, yes :( (as far as we know :blushing: ).

But it is the first case I ever recalled of a 7200.11 not responding to CTRL+Z when board entirely detached (or with one or the other set of contacts insulated).
There is only one other reference I could find similar to your case:
http://forum.hardwar..._796558_116.htm

Having attempted the PCB swap may have compromised the situation, but you were EXTREMELY lucky that somehow you are having that error, see what happens with
m0,1,1,2,2,0,0,22:
http://www.msfn.org/...772#entry832772
:ph34r:

The COM4 v s. COM1 is a non-issue it is simply the driver that maps the COM as COM4.

Are you sure that everything is connected and grounded properly?

Have you tried the 1 minute disconnection from power as in http://www.mapleleaf...agatebrick.html ? :

At this point, many say you need to disconnect the SATA power cable from the drive and wait one minute. Yes, count to sixty. Then plug the SATA power cable back into the drive. There is a bit of debate about this step in the forums but that is what I did and it worked fine in my case. *IF and only if* you choose not to disconnect drive power temporarily, you need to at least change back to the test level prompt (type F3 1>/T (enter)) at this point before continuing.


jaclaz

#4280
hitman2006

hitman2006
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
platter is scrached and head is dead ,
scratched in outer track that head is locked in track and then head is gone

1. sa in this family is outer ?

2.donor head will lock again in that track position then head gone,
what can i do in this step?

#4281
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,077 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

platter is scrached and head is dead ,
scratched in outer track that head is locked in track and then head is gone

1. sa in this family is outer ?

2.donor head will lock again in that track position then head gone,
what can i do in this step?

You are on the wrong forum. :(
If you are capable of a head transplant on a multi-platter disk, you are well beyond our knowledge and experience, you should go here instead:
http://forum.hddguru.com/
or to a similar forum for "professionals".

jaclaz

#4282
v71

v71
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag


Should I proclaim it dead:)?

Possibly, yes :( (as far as we know :blushing: ).

But it is the first case I ever recalled of a 7200.11 not responding to CTRL+Z when board entirely detached (or with one or the other set of contacts insulated).
There is only one other reference I could find similar to your case:
http://forum.hardwar..._796558_116.htm

Having attempted the PCB swap may have compromised the situation, but you were EXTREMELY lucky that somehow you are having that error, see what happens with
m0,1,1,2,2,0,0,22:
http://www.msfn.org/...772#entry832772
:ph34r:

The COM4 v s. COM1 is a non-issue it is simply the driver that maps the COM as COM4.

Are you sure that everything is connected and grounded properly?

Have you tried the 1 minute disconnection from power as in http://www.mapleleaf...agatebrick.html ? :

At this point, many say you need to disconnect the SATA power cable from the drive and wait one minute. Yes, count to sixty. Then plug the SATA power cable back into the drive. There is a bit of debate about this step in the forums but that is what I did and it worked fine in my case. *IF and only if* you choose not to disconnect drive power temporarily, you need to at least change back to the test level prompt (type F3 1>/T (enter)) at this point before continuing.


jaclaz



Yes, strange, but real. Rechecked all connections, all good, rx goes to tx and viceversa, ground and vcc connected correctly - still, if Motor or Head are disconnected (or PCB totally removed), no reaction to CTRL-Z.
BTW saw that post on the french forum myself, I was hoping at that time that it might be a solution, it turned out it wasn't.

As for 1 minute disconnection - I never get to this part, since it should come after SMART erase command - the Hyperterminal shows an error when I want to do the SMART erase. Here:
F3 1>N1

Init SMART Fail
LED:000000CC FAddr:00239CED
LED:000000CC FAddr:00239CED

And after that error I have to disconnect anyway, since it doesn't react to CTRL-Z anymore (in fact it doesn't react to anything). So I did disconnect, just not at the right step, I think.

...Stuck.

Edited by v71, 01 October 2012 - 11:53 AM.


#4283
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,077 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Basically the detaching of the PCB from the disk is a "trick" to exit a "loop" in which the firmware may go (and it is needed for the BSY fix, NOT for the LBA0 one)
As well, on a fully operational disk there should be no need to detach it, but still, it should work also completely detached.


But always, and particularly with the detached board, GROUNDing is essential, that's why I asked (and you completely failed to reply :whistle: ).

If you recheck the LBA0 fix ONLY you will se how the detaching is not needed at all, as well as the N1, etc., the LBA0 is simply (and ONLY):
F3 T>m0,2,2,0,0,0,0,22 (enter)
(but when you do so you get DiagError 0000500D, right?)

The only thing that you can try is to try executing the command at a different level, i.e. you could try going to level 3 and then issue the m0,2,2,0,0,0,0,22 command
http://forum.freetro...c.php?f=6&t=686
(but the issue there was a BSY).

jaclaz

#4284
yylai

yylai
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
For those wondering which cable to get, I had success with this one

http://www.amazon.co...duct/B008AGDTA4

(though for me, the cable came with the TXD and RXD reversed). This is powered from USB so it just works off the bat, but you might need to remove the black plastic on the pins in order to fit into the hard disk pins (and obviously wrap it with some insulating tape).

Download the chip's drivers so your OS can install it properly

http://prolificusa.c...2303hx-drivers/

Goodluck to all, this was very annoying to fix

#4285
v71

v71
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Basically the detaching of the PCB from the disk is a "trick" to exit a "loop" in which the firmware may go (and it is needed for the BSY fix, NOT for the LBA0 one)
As well, on a fully operational disk there should be no need to detach it, but still, it should work also completely detached.


But always, and particularly with the detached board, GROUNDing is essential, that's why I asked (and you completely failed to reply :whistle: ).

If you recheck the LBA0 fix ONLY you will se how the detaching is not needed at all, as well as the N1, etc., the LBA0 is simply (and ONLY):

F3 T>m0,2,2,0,0,0,0,22 (enter)
(but when you do so you get DiagError 0000500D, right?)

The only thing that you can try is to try executing the command at a different level, i.e. you could try going to level 3 and then issue the m0,2,2,0,0,0,0,22 command
http://forum.freetro...c.php?f=6&t=686
(but the issue there was a BSY).

jaclaz


Jacklaz, thanks.
- Unfortunately it is not working detached, but surprisingly it does work attached, which is a bit of contradiction in itself, I think, well it already becomes a theoretical one :(
- GROUNDING - wellllll, I did write that I checked ALL the cables and they were fine ;) OK, but I did not write about each of them. To be fair, though and report comprehensively - I did check and re-check Grounding as well, it was ok, but thanks for reminding.
- I'll try it from level 3 and report later.
Thanks for taking care and answering, really appreciated!
v71

#4286
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,077 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

- Unfortunately it is not working detached, but surprisingly it does work attached, which is a bit of contradiction in itself, I think, well it already becomes a theoretical one :(

Yes, in case I have a purely thoeretical explanation. :w00t:
When the firmware is running "normally", it checks the presence of heads and motors and if it can't find them goes in an "isolation" mode, i.e. if any of heads or motor is not found an instruction is executed that shuts off the serial interface.
When a BSY (but not as seen a LBA0) occurs, the firmware "loops" in a more restricted set of instruction that do not comprehend the check for heads and motor, and thus though still running, the procesor never reaches the instructon "shut off the serial".

As I like to say however ;):

- In theory there is no difference between theory and practice, but in practice there is. -


jaclaz

#4287
v71

v71
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

- Unfortunately it is not working detached, but surprisingly it does work attached, which is a bit of contradiction in itself, I think, well it already becomes a theoretical one :(

Yes, in case I have a purely thoeretical explanation. :w00t: When the firmware is running "normally", it checks the presence of heads and motors and if it can't find them goes in an "isolation" mode, i.e. if any of heads or motor is not found an instruction is executed that shuts off the serial interface.When a BSY (but not as seen a LBA0) occurs, the firmware "loops" in a more restricted set of instruction that do not comprehend the check for heads and motor, and thus though still running, the procesor never reaches the instructon "shut off the serial".


Yes, this was a good "theoretical" one :thumbup :D
In fact very useful, thank you :yes:

As I like to say however :
Quote
- In theory there is no difference between theory and practice, but in practice there is. -

jaclaz


Well, practice showed that issuing the m0,2,2,0,0,0,0,22 command on Level 3 was unsuccessful:
F3 3>m0,2,2,0,0,0,0,22
Invalid Diag Cmd

(ah, forgot, also unsuccessful was the F3 T>m0,2,2,,,,,22 but I think at this point it just doesn't matter...)
What the heck, HDD lost, but I had the most important things backed up - so, I just went and bought an open box 2TB Seagate(7200.14) for 76USD and that's it :ph34r:


jaclaz, mille grazie di tutto, incurante dal risultato (hopefully no mistakes) ;)

Edited by v71, 03 October 2012 - 12:16 PM.


#4288
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,077 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

What the heck, HDD lost, but I had the most important things backed up - so, I just went and bought an open box 2TB Seagate(7200.14) for 76USD and that's it :ph34r:

Well, that should make you a 76 US$ poorer, BUT 0.5 Tb richer , thus nonetheless happy :thumbup bunny!
http://www.msfn.org/...ic=128727&st=10

jaclaz

#4289
v71

v71
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

What the heck, HDD lost, but I had the most important things backed up - so, I just went and bought an open box 2TB Seagate(7200.14) for 76USD and that's it :ph34r:

Well, that should make you a 76 US$ poorer, BUT 0.5 Tb richer , thus nonetheless happy :thumbup bunny! http://www.msfn.org/...727&st=10jaclaz


Aha :D well, thanks once again jaclaz and good luck to everyone in the forum. goodbye :hello:

#4290
bob7

bob7
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
So I just did this fix, the BSY fix.

It worked as the hard drive is now found by computer, but the partitions and data are no longer there.

I tried couple recovery programs that just hang after a while. Tried to do quick format so that I could run other recovery programs but always get an error.

Not sure whats wrong with it now

#4291
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,077 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

So I just did this fix, the BSY fix.

It worked as the hard drive is now found by computer, but the partitions and data are no longer there.

I tried couple recovery programs that just hang after a while. Tried to do quick format so that I could run other recovery programs but always get an error.

Not sure whats wrong with it now

If you have successfully solved the BSY issue but you need assistance in recovering the partitions, please start a new thread.
If you search the forum, you will find a few examples of successful recoveries and a few failed or abandoned ones, that should however give you an idea of the suggested procedures.
As a general rule it is NEVER a good idea to fiddle with a hard disk bfore having made a dd-like image of it.

jaclaz

#4292
Gradius2

Gradius2

    IT Consultant

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 240 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I would never use (or continue to use) such HDDs.

Backup the DATA while you still can, and go for something more reliable.

Edited by Gradius2, 05 October 2012 - 10:27 AM.

"Two things are infinite: The Universe and Human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the Universe." Albert Einstein

#4293
standingbear

standingbear

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 27 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
i ran into some trouble with this. when I did the spin-up command "U", I got the following message:

F3 2>U

Error 1009 DETSEC 00006008
Spin Error
Elapsed Time 31.324 secs
R/W Status 2 R/W Error 84150180


what the heck does this mean? is my hdd still saveable?

#4294
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,077 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

i ran into some trouble with this. when I did the spin-up command "U", I got the following message:

F3 2>U

Error 1009 DETSEC 00006008
Spin Error
Elapsed Time 31.324 secs
R/W Status 2 R/W Error 84150180


what the heck does this mean? is my hdd still saveable?

It means (hopefully) check, double check, triple check motor contacts and or try again holding the disk vertical:
http://www.msfn.org/...90#entry1012490

jaclaz

#4295
standingbear

standingbear

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 27 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
something new here. when i tried again, this time on the "Z" spin-down command, it gave me:

F3 2>Z

LED:000000CE FAddr:00280569
LED:000000CE FAddr:00280569

#4296
standingbear

standingbear

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 27 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

something new here. when i tried again, this time on the "Z" spin-down command, it gave me:

F3 2>Z

LED:000000CE FAddr:00280569
LED:000000CE FAddr:00280569


okay never mind. found the solution. needs to type Z and wait for a few seconds before hitting enter. thanks for all the help

#4297
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,077 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

okay never mind. found the solution. needs to type Z and wait for a few seconds before hitting enter. thanks for all the help

Can we put you in the basket? :unsure:
http://www.msfn.org/...up/page__st__10

jaclaz

#4298
standingbear

standingbear

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 27 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

[
Can we put you in the basket? :unsure:
http://www.msfn.org/...up/page__st__10

jaclaz


YES PLEASE! BY ALL MEANS!. I am very grateful to you all, especially you jaclaz *hop *hop *hop. (is bunny hopping allowed here? some gamers consider it cheating) :thumbup

#4299
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,077 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

(is bunny hopping allowed here?

Sure it is! :thumbup
Spoiler


jaclaz

#4300
gemni7

gemni7
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi All,
first of all I appreciate Gradius2/jaclaz for this thread and continuing support. It does contain lot of info.

Guys I have ST3500413AS 500GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 HDD. It spins without noise but BIOS cant detect it. I suspect BSY problem. Please confirm me whether I can apply 7200.11 solution to my 7200.12.
I do have ttl to rs232 converter and knows all electronics required very well.

Please advise

Regards




7 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 6 guests, 0 anonymous users


    Bing (1)


How to remove advertisement from MSFN