Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

The Solution for Seagate 7200.11 HDDs

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
4755 replies to this topic

#4401
Jim744

Jim744
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • Joined 07-March 13
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
I have been following this thread closely and done like everything needed to try and recover my ST3500320AS 500G Seagate drive with SD81 firmware. Every step works as recommended in Hyperterminal through a RS323/TTL converter.

I have even done the "F3 T>i4,1,22" command suggested for SD81 firmware drives.
I have also done "F,,22" command and received a "Drive Configuration restored to Default" result.

The "m0,2,2,0,0,0,0,22" command yielded, "User Partition Format Successful - Elapsed Time 0 mins 00 sec" - I think this zero time elapse indicates that nothing was done or achieved from the command inserted. With this result I even tried the recommended alternative command, "m0,6,2,0,0,0,0,22" with the same zero Elapsed Time message at the end.

My Seagate HDD is still not detected by the BIOS. Back to square one.

What else can I do?


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#4402
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,593 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

I have also done "F,,22" command and received a "Drive Configuration restored to Default" result.

Well, this is NOT part of the "standard", "recoommended" guides, WHY exactly did you issued that? :unsure:
Or you did that on a a second attempt?

Basically running the "F,,22" command is of little use unless you also check the setting (to see if it is set correctly).
The checking command for the SD15 is F712, but it may vary with different firmwares.
Compare with:
http://www.rage3d.co...446&postcount=6
http://www.msfn.org/...post__p__832794


What else can I do?

Try restarting from scratch.
FORGET about anything that you read anywhere else and just re-do the steps from THIS:
http://www.mapleleaf...agatebrick.html
guide EXACTLY as they are.
There are quite a few reports about people failing that succeeded by simply re-doing the procedure from scratch.

jaclaz

#4403
Jim744

Jim744
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • Joined 07-March 13
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
jaclaz, thank you for your reply and your suggestion which I carried out.

I went through the whole procedure and followed the exact steps and still my HDD is not detected by the BIOS.

The thing I noticed is that after the command to do a partition regeneration (m0,2,2,0,0,0,0,22), the HDD returned the final message of "User Partition Format Successful - Elapsed Time 0 mins 00sec" in my case. As I mentioned before, the zero elapsed time indicates that nothing was done.

Any more ideas what I can do?

#4404
smandurlo

smandurlo

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 40 posts
  • Joined 12-December 11
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
I got several zero elapsed time (yesterday 2 of them) and the hard drives work fine.

#4405
Jim744

Jim744
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • Joined 07-March 13
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I got several zero elapsed time (yesterday 2 of them) and the hard drives work fine.


Good for you, smandurlo.

Unfortunately, mine still did not work.
On top of the BIOS not detecting the HDD, the HDD caused the Windows 7 boot-up to hang. Without the HDD connected, boot-up went normal.

#4406
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,593 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

On top of the BIOS not detecting the HDD, the HDD caused the Windows 7 boot-up to hang. Without the HDD connected, boot-up went normal.

Sometimes using an external USB enclosure and connecting it to an already booted system, the disk becomes accessible.
You can try that and see if a disk editor, like tiny hexer or a recovery tool like DMDE can access the disk, possibly seen as RAW and thus asking to initialize it in disk management, i.e. DO NOT try opening disk management.

jaclaz

#4407
JuergenD

JuergenD
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • Joined 21-July 12
  • OS:Vista Home Premium x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Sometimes using an external USB enclosure and connecting it to an already booted system, the disk becomes accessible.
You can try that and see if a disk editor, like tiny hexer or a recovery tool like DMDE can access the disk, possibly seen as RAW and thus asking to initialize it in disk management, i.e. DO NOT try opening disk management.

jaclaz


I used the external USB enclosure and didn't have the drive recognized. Connecting it directly to the PC fixed the problem:
http://www.msfn.org/...85#entry1004685

Juergen

#4408
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,593 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

I used the external USB enclosure and didn't have the drive recognized. Connecting it directly to the PC fixed the problem:
http://www.msfn.org/...85#entry1004685

Juergen

Well, with all due respect :), that's incomplete/unfinalized anecdotal reference at it's best. :w00t:
You had a working (revived) disk drive inside a "botched" enclosure (or maybe an old model not able to recognize a disk bigger than - say - 128 Gb).
A working disk will work as direct connection AND inside a working USB enclosure.
Some "half-botched" disks may send *queer* signals to the BIOS or to the OS when connected directly preventing booting, while the on-board controller of the USB enclosure may be less sensitive to it, as well some timing problems that are critical in the booting phase may be avoided by connecting the disk to an already booted system.
You can also fake :ph34r: that the Sata connection is actually an e-sata connection, thus allowing hot-plug of the disk directly after boot.

Unfortunately :( this is only part "science", the other part being "magic" or "luck" or "fate" or whatever you want to call something that is "immaterial" ;).

jaclaz

#4409
Jim744

Jim744
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • Joined 07-March 13
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Thank you all for suggesting various ways to get the HDD noticed by my computer.

I have yet to try one more method; that of putting the HDD in an enclosure and plugging it to the USB port. Been very busy with work and visitors, but I shall soon get hold of an enclosure, most possibly by this weekend.
I will then report back the outcome.

Thanks again, guys and gals.

#4410
bsjohnson

bsjohnson
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 13-March 13
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi, GUYS !

I think I have a serious problem:

When I open the terminal, and I find a loop error like this:LED:00000067 FAddr:00380338

I CAN'T type any letters in the terminal after I press ctrl+z.

so How to solve it ?

HELP!!!

SN:6WR1Z0EZ
model:ST9500423AS
FW:0001SDM5

#4411
z8m

z8m
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 02-April 13
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hello Just want to say that English I know is bad, learning. I would be grateful if you help with a question. I ST3500320AS 500 GB. Restored it through Hyperterminal as instructions. The problem occurred in the complete erasure of (full), at process up to 62%, that is, until the 672 millionth head pops up error A9E4CF52, A9E4CFE2. Then another tried to make a short and a long repair. The same result. If you set the size manually to 62% of the space (in SeaTools), then I think it's part of the hard drive will work without problems. HDD space opened in HEX check this area for the presence of zeros. All zeros. Is there a way to restore this crash or a mechanical problem and did not fix it?

Edited by z8m, 02 April 2013 - 10:02 AM.


#4412
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,593 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Hello Just want to say that English I know is bad, learning. I would be grateful if you help with a question. I ST3500320AS 500 GB. Restored it through Hyperterminal as instructions. The problem occurred in the complete erasure of (full), at process up to 62%, that is, until the 672 millionth head pops up error A9E4CF52, A9E4CFE2. Then another tried to make a short and a long repair. The same result. If you set the size manually to 62% of the space (in SeaTools), then I think it's part of the hard drive will work without problems. HDD space opened in HEX check this area for the presence of zeros. All zeros. Is there a way to restore this crash or a mechanical problem and did not fix it?

It depends on what was the original cause of the BSY or LBA0 issue (or other issue) you had and that the procedure managed to re-set.

The general idea is that "unbricking" a disk is just a possible way to recover data from it, once you managed to recover the data, you do BOTH the short and long test with Seatools, and if any of them fails, you simply throw the disk in the dustbin (or if the disk is still under warranty, RMA it for a replacement).

Actually repairing or reconditioning a disk (apart from the "reset" done through the described procedure) is simply outside the scope of this thread and well beyond the knowledge/experience/capabilities of anyone taking part to the thread :ph34r: , is a "professional" chore to be carried by a pro, with professional software and hardware/tools (and with professional level knowledge).

To give you an example, if something has gone wrong with one head (electrical/electronic) it is very possible that the disk will work alright for a few more years (in the reduced at 62% status), but if a head has touched a platter (mechanical damage), the disk working status will likely come to an end within days or weeks, possibly enlarging the 38% bad area, and thus corrupting data in the currently good 62% area.

As a matter of fact, I have read how it is possible that a reconditioned disk can sometimes be made out of a larger disk with one or more heads disabled in firmware. (but this is again "reserved" to manufacturers/professionals)

jaclaz

#4413
lapsus

lapsus
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 02-April 13
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
I thank all members who helped gather information in this and relevant threads.

I wanted to report success with following USB-TTL adapter: http://www.adafruit.com/products/954

HDD model: ST3500320AS

Check grounding! :)

#4414
TomasMascinskas

TomasMascinskas

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 19 posts
  • Joined 07-April 13
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Hey guys, begging for help here
info:
running windows xp
this cable:
Nokia CA-42 DKU-5 USB Cable 3100 5100 6100 6800 7200
http://www.ebay.co.u...984.m1497.l2649
this driver: http://www.citronid...._usb_driver.rar
driver works, in device manager in ports as com3
cable: ground > hdd ground
cable tx > hdd tx
cable rx > hdd rx

i connect sata power to hdd, let it spin down, connect data cable to pc, run hyper terminal, follow the steps, comes up with, unable to open com3, disabled port in device manager,

reenabled, closed then reopened hyperterminal, opened saved session, works fine but when i press ctrl + z, i get an arrow

switched rx tx connectors on hdd, no longer says "unable to open com3", but only shows up as an arrow when i press ctrl + z

no batteries used, am i supposed to?

following mainly this guide:

#4415
giaro

giaro
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 07-April 13
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi, I have a seagate hard drive Barracuda 7200.11 500GB not seen by the bios, and doing the steps I get stuck on this error:

F3 T>/2

F3 2>Z

Spin Down Complete
Elapsed Time 0.144 msecs
F3 2>U

Error 1009 DETSEC 00006008
Spin Error
Elapsed Time 7 mins 17 secs
R/W Status 2 R/W Error 84150180
F3 2>

What should I do?

#4416
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,593 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Hey guys, begging for help here

Start by reading FIRST, the READ-ME-FIRST AND the FGA's:
http://www.msfn.org/...-read-me-first/
http://www.msfn.org/...-720011-drives/
(they are "stickies" for a reason ;))

Come back after a successful loopback test.

....
Error 1009 DETSEC 00006008
...
What should I do?

Search on the board? :unsure:
Here:
http://www.msfn.org/...c-00006008-fix/


jaclaz

Edited by jaclaz, 07 April 2013 - 04:46 AM.


#4417
zlatinzz

zlatinzz
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 17-April 13
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Success full story, I am writing this to help if somebody have the same case.
FIRST THANK ALL THE PEOPLE FOR THE INFO, THANKS TO YOU I COULD RECOVER MY DATA
MANY THANKS !!!!
I have ST31500341AS, I own like 5 more HDD from this type and 3-4 from 1 TB from Seagate hope they will not show same errors, My BIOS is CC.. and used the drive for 2.5 years with no problems, and 1 month ago it simply disappears. I tested the HDD on different computers and on some BIOS doesn’t shows at all, in older ones shows but LBA0.
So I used
https://sites.google...seagatefix/Home
http://www.msfn.org/.../page__st__4400
http://www.mapleleaf...agatebrick.html

I have very similar case like v71 here is the post
http://www.msfn.org/...29#entry1013329

I Bought a USB to TTL adapter. Installed HyperTerminal on Win7x64. Connected the HDD.
1. If any of the connections (motor or heador both) is covered HDD would not react at all to any CTRL-Z.
2. HDD does react to CTRL-Z only when both motor+head are in contact with PCB.
3. Hyperterminal reacts to COM4 (Thanks v71) on COM3 no connection
I could do the following
Rst 0x20M
ASCII Diag mode
F3 T>/2
F3 2>Z
Spin Down Complete
Elapsed Time 13.094 secs
F3 2>U
Spin Up Complete
Elapsed Time 9.071 secs
F3 2>/1
F3 1>N1
Init SMART Fail
LED:000000CC FAddr:00239CED
LED:000000CC FAddr:00239CED
After that restart And
F3 T>m0,2,2,0,0,0,0,22
Max Wr Retries = 00, Max Rd Retries = 00, Max ECC T-Level = 00, Max Certify Rewr
ite Retries = 0000
User Partition Format Successful - Elapsed Time 0 mins 00 secs
Zone re-format was skipped.
F3 T>i4,1,22
F3 T>
And restart again it worked, I could access my data and copy it,
Right now I am making RMA because the disk doesn’t pass short test on Seatools.
Hoppe they change it.
Again THANK ALL the people for the info in internet…

#4418
nieblarj

nieblarj
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 20-April 13
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
hello friends i have a question please helpme...
a few months ago i use this metod for recovery my seagate disk
well after 3 o 4 months the disk become very slow and now i cant access to the disk i dont upgrade the firmware, windows cant access, the bios recognize the disk correctly when i connect to motheboard and reastart windows freeze or maybe need long time to start.

please if somebody have the same problem and fix that i need to know how.. thanks

#4419
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,593 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

hello friends i have a question please helpme...
a few months ago i use this metod for recovery my seagate disk
well after 3 o 4 months the disk become very slow and now i cant access to the disk i dont upgrade the firmware, windows cant access, the bios recognize the disk correctly when i connect to motheboard and reastart windows freeze or maybe need long time to start.

please if somebody have the same problem and fix that i need to know how.. thanks


Your disk is most probably gone (for good), unfortunately. :(

This thread (and also the very limited knowledge we have) is ONLY about BSY or LBA0 issues, and NOT about ANY other issue.

Use the Seagate tools on the disk to diagnose it, BOTH the short and long test, if it doesn't pass either, your disk is "gone".

I hope that - since you already had this issue happen - that you have a backup of the Data, otherwise, procure yourself another disk and try imaging the failing disk as soon as possible BEFORE running the tests, if you are lucky you will be able to do that before the disk dies.

jaclaz

#4420
nieblarj

nieblarj
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 20-April 13
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
thanks jaclaz for your answer i test the disk with victoria and victoria recognize the disk in some description victoria tell me smart are disabled errlog selftest and security off,frozen
when i go to test the disk victoria give me a message Block 0 error: ABRT i think maybe it become fixed with firmware

#4421
nieblarj

nieblarj
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 20-April 13
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
in another test victoria tellme Warning! Block start at 64 = 1031 ms i think the disk internally are fine only cant acces the data for that reason i think a firmware upgrade fixed that issue if somebody can helpme i apresiate that. i am a photographer and in this disk i have a lot of information very thanks.

#4422
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,593 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

thanks jaclaz for your answer i test the disk with victoria and victoria recognize the disk in some description victoria tell me smart are disabled errlog selftest and security off,frozen
when i go to test the disk victoria give me a message Block 0 error: ABRT i think maybe it become fixed with firmware


in another test victoria tellme Warning! Block start at 64 = 1031 ms i think the disk internally are fine only cant acces the data for that reason i think a firmware upgrade fixed that issue if somebody can helpme i apresiate that. i am a photographer and in this disk i have a lot of information very thanks.


Look, I don't want to seem grumpier than I normally am :w00t: , but the idea is that you come here for help because you cannot solve an issue by your own.

You are here asking for advice.

The advice is:
  • there is NOTHING you can do on that disk, if not, maybe, salvage the data on it, whilst updating it's firmware will VERY LIKELY brick it for good, DO NOT, for ANY reason, attempt updating the firmware.

Besides it is written all over the place that:
  • NO hard disk is "safe"
  • ALWAYS make backups (possibly more than one)
  • DO NOT EVER "trust" a hard disk and NEVER, EVER one "revived" after unbricking with this method
  • NEVER update firmware on any disk that does not pass BOTH the short and long Seagate tools test

You cannot seriously come here saying that:
  • you don't have a recent backup of the data
  • you don't have a recent backup of the data of a disk that you have unbricked with this method
  • you think that upgrading the firmware will solve the issue

If you REALLY think that upgrading the firmware will solve the issue, then go on, do it :ph34r: , BUT don't come back whining that the disk bricked itself/became completely inaccessible.

jaclaz

#4423
ultravy

ultravy

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
  • Joined 22-May 08

Try restarting from scratch.
FORGET about anything that you read anywhere else and just re-do the steps from THIS:
http://www.mapleleaf...agatebrick.html
guide EXACTLY as they are.
There are quite a few reports about people failing that succeeded by simply re-doing the procedure from scratch.

jaclaz

Thank you jaclaz!!!! i used a home made converter with max232 powered with 5v from psu!
i follow your method and i was able to bring back to life 2 hdd stucked is busy mode! one is sd15 firmware and another HP24!!! after a google search i found that is hp modded - HP firmware version HP24!
s/n 9QM5W01T
ST3500620AS
firmware:HP 24

finding sd15 was easy. found one for hp24 , its upgrade to hp26, but it's hard disk to a friend of mine! i send him the firmware, if it work or not i will post later! if you extract the exe the iso file is insinde!

HP page direct link
Enhancement/Fixes:

- Resolves an issue where the hard disk drive may become inoperable after a power-on.
- Resolves an issue where performance may be degraded for a period of time after heavy disk usage.
- Updates ST3500620AS, ST3750630AS, and ST31000340AS hard disk drives to firmware version HP26.
- Updates ST3320813AS hard disk drive to firmware version HP2A.

Edited by ultravy, 23 April 2013 - 01:56 PM.


#4424
TomasMascinskas

TomasMascinskas

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 19 posts
  • Joined 07-April 13
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
@jaclaz, or any other people that can help me, for people who have already recovered their data, anyone want to to it for me for money? i would have to come myself thought as i dont want the hard drive out of my hands, so it be great around london, anyone intrested call me or email me: 078 4609 1033, or, dareheaven@hotmail.com, or facebook "facebook.com/dareheaven", hope this isnt spam as it is about this problem, i would just rather pay someone to do it for me who has already done it

#4425
Jim744

Jim744
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • Joined 07-March 13
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Hi Everyone. After a short hiatus, I'm back to report on my progress.

After having gone through the procedure to un-brick my Seagate drive, here are the results.

I used a hot-swappable sort of enclosure to connect the drive to the computer. The computer could "see" the drive and the 5 partitions. It took a long time for the computer to "see" these partitions. Of the 5 partitions only one is readable and I was able to copy out my data to another external drive. Needless to say, the transfer rate was painfully slow, like 170 to 500 Kb/sec. I took about 3 days to finally transfer 90 Gb out.

The other 4 partitions could not be accessed, giving an error message as follows:
"Location is not available.
X O:\ is not accessible.
The request could not be performed because of an I/O device error."

I think the above error message or the inability of the computer to access the other partitions is due to firmware problems.

Does anyone have any idea how to solve this problem?




12 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 12 guests, 0 anonymous users