Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

The Solution for Seagate 7200.11 HDDs

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
4755 replies to this topic

#4676
seg77

seg77
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 06-April 14
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Though when it comes to design reliable disk drives the good engineers at Seagate do suck a bit ;) and the way this particular model issues were mis-managed by the technical support sucks BIG, but they actually know what is inside their hard disks (I mean, they designed and manufactured them, they anyway know more - and very, very often won't tell - than anyone else on the specific topic).

The Seatools are for Seagate a "key" app, if either the short or long test fails, it will produce a code that will entitle you (if the disk drive is still under warranty) to have a replacement unit.

Though it is of course possible that because of the above the tool is maliciously tuned to make drives appear more healthy than they really are :w00t: :ph34r:, I doubt that this is the case, as a matter of fact the common experience on this thread shows that disks that did not pass the test were anyway largely accessible and functional.

HD sentinel is a third party "generic" tool that uses the monitoring of the SMART attributes of the disk to "predict" failure.

While the approach:

http://www.hdsentine...smart/index.php

is seemingly more "sound" than the "plain" check for SMART thresholds, but it is anyway a "theoretical model", seemingly nice, but only assertedly and theoretically more accurate than "plain" check.

 

The SMART in itself is not accurate at all, and to all practical effects it has not any relevant increase in accuracy than flippism, see:

http://www.msfn.org/...ve-sould-i-get/

http://www.msfn.org/...the-hard-drive/

 

There is not any evidence (AFAIK) that the HDsentinel method is accurate or "more accurate" than anything else, the only thing that you can say for sure of the results is that it is "more conservative", .i.e. it will start crying (sometimes crying Wolf! ;)) much earlier than a "plain" SMART monitoring tool,  in their own words (same source as above):

 

 

According to this number, the health is disquieting. By default, this software would alert the user if the health value is as low as this number. By selecting the correct evaluation method and the correct alert levels, it is possible to predict failure long before the catastrophe. The owner of this hard disk could prevent data loss if he'd install this software before.

A low health value alone does not neccessary mean that the hard disk will surely die in the near future (to verify this, a complete (hardware) examination is required), but there is a real chance for failure. The problem of the hard disk described above can not be easily detected but as we can see, there were some signs in the S.M.A.R.T. attributes. Other hard disks with other problems may work for a long time, months or years (even if they have lower health value). Problems caused by a short period (for example, too hot environment or an incorrect power supply) will not disappear. But after fixing the reasons of such problems (using a heatsink, fan or replacing the power supply), the hard disk lifetime can be extended. Anyway, it is recommended to examine the status of these hard disks constantly or regulary and to use them as secondary data storage only. Users should make sure that their important and valuable files are stored on an other hard disk also (with a higher "health" value).

 

 

jaclaz

Today I installed Windows on it, then I installed SeaTools and HD sentinel.Sentinel showed 173 bad sectors.Seatools passed the short test, but not long finished properly, I'll try another long test, because my computer went to stand by.

Thank you once again for your reply!




How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#4677
seg77

seg77
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 06-April 14
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Here is the screenshots,that's it,i will no more try to do anything with this hard drive!

Again thank you!

 

 


Edited by seg77, 09 April 2014 - 05:32 AM.


#4678
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,593 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Here is the screenshots,that's it,i will no more try to do anything with this hard drive!

Again thank you!

 

 

I am not sure to understand. :unsure:

The screenshot on the left is seemingly about the "Short" test (and this was passed, good :)).

What about the "Long" test (which is BTW evidently more complete/thorough)?

 

jaclaz



#4679
seg77

seg77
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 06-April 14
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

 

Here is the screenshots,that's it,i will no more try to do anything with this hard drive!

Again thank you!

 

 

I am not sure to understand. :unsure:

The screenshot on the left is seemingly about the "Short" test (and this was passed, good :)).

What about the "Long" test (which is BTW evidently more complete/thorough)?

 

jaclaz

 

Right now i'm doing the long test,and later i will post the screenshot!
It's strange when i enter the comand in hyperterminal,m0,22,,,,,22 ,and just say some text,formated but no show how much percentage,and successfull,elepsated time 0 and that's it!



#4680
seg77

seg77
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 06-April 14
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Test lasted for 30 min, then failed, the computer suddenly rebooted I do not know why, I had to turn it off, then Windows reported the error blue screen.
Right now i'm using this drive,no problems.
I will not attempt to do anything with the hard drive!

Thank's!



#4681
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,593 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Test lasted for 30 min, then failed, the computer suddenly rebooted I do not know why, I had to turn it off, then Windows reported the error blue screen.
Right now i'm using this drive,no problems.
I will not attempt to do anything with the hard drive!

Thank's!

Yep :), but all the "combined" reports (including the failure to perform a "Long" test) lead to believe that the disk is having issues, I personally would not EVEN THINK of using it as "System" drive, further use is suggested possibly ONLY as a secondary or tertiary backup.

 

jaclaz



#4682
seg77

seg77
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 06-April 14
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

 

Test lasted for 30 min, then failed, the computer suddenly rebooted I do not know why, I had to turn it off, then Windows reported the error blue screen.
Right now i'm using this drive,no problems.
I will not attempt to do anything with the hard drive!

Thank's!

Yep :), but all the "combined" reports (including the failure to perform a "Long" test) lead to believe that the disk is having issues, I personally would not EVEN THINK of using it as "System" drive, further use is suggested possibly ONLY as a secondary or tertiary backup.

 

jaclaz

 

Yes,certainly the problem to the hard disk.
I dont use it anymore,now it's on auction,I hope to get rid of that drive! :)

Thank's again.


 



#4683
bphlpt

bphlpt

    MSFN Addict

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,798 posts
  • Joined 12-May 07
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Yes,certainly the problem to the hard disk.
I dont use it anymore,now it's on auction,I hope to get rid of that drive! :)


I hope you are honest and tell whoever buys it that it has problems?

Cheers and Regards

Posted Image


#4684
seg77

seg77
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 06-April 14
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

 

Yes,certainly the problem to the hard disk.
I dont use it anymore,now it's on auction,I hope to get rid of that drive! :)


I hope you are honest and tell whoever buys it that it has problems?

Cheers and Regards

 


Yes I mentioned what the problem is,if someone does buy!

All the best!

 



#4685
duckevo

duckevo
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 12-April 14
  • OS:XP Home
  • Country: Country Flag
I did managed to put the code in hyper terminal till F3 2>U which it prompted error in spinning up...

I tried to redo the whole process again but no prompt in hyper terminal when I press ctrl+z

Any advise to get it back??

#4686
Elpigo

Elpigo
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 18-April 14
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Did the BSY method but I adapted it for my 7200.12 (inverted the m0 and the N1 commands) and it worked fine after a couple of tries. But after, what should I do? I made a copies of the main files on the drive but can the drive still be used afterward? I'll also do the firmware update as offered on Seagate site for my drive but will it be stable after that for everyday use or should I consider using it as a dead weight for my CD collection?

 

Thanks for any help



#4687
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,593 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Did the BSY method but I adapted it for my 7200.12 (inverted the m0 and the N1 commands) and it worked fine after a couple of tries. But after, what should I do? I made a copies of the main files on the drive but can the drive still be used afterward? I'll also do the firmware update as offered on Seagate site for my drive but will it be stable after that for everyday use or should I consider using it as a dead weight for my CD collection?
 
Thanks for any help

Please do READ the read-me first, (that you should have read BEFORE):
http://www.msfn.org/...-read-me-first/
Particularly points #1 and #5.
You posted on the wrong thread (as this is for 7200.11 ONLY as per point #1) and asked a question that has been answered in the read-me-first point #5 (and in reply to countless other posts by people that also did not manage to read the read-me-first FIRST).

jaclaz



#4688
Elpigo

Elpigo
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 18-April 14
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Dear jaclaz,

 

Hum, seems to me you've been offended by my post. I'm sorry about that but it was made while still finding ways to retrieve the data from the HD that had suffered this bug. I know that this site is devoted to the 7200.11 only but the medecine also applies to his kin brother 7200.12. I used it and had success with it and I clearly mentionned it in my post. I have now read the read-me-first and smoke has cleared now.

 

My question still remains: what do you do next after the emergency operation? What about if the firmware update is made and the drive is reformated? I don't think Seagate produced this drive to be defective and as they must have sold thousands if not millions of it, some must have worked perfectly, more so when you think that the same kind of bug affected the 7200.12 after getting to the 7200.11. I'd like to understand what exactly has been done to the drive with the Gradius method, why should it work afterward? Then what about "Life after surgery" for these unfortunate drives? I don't intend to reuse it as my main drive, only for back-up purposes, but what would be the percentage of it going wrong again?

 

Thanks



#4689
bphlpt

bphlpt

    MSFN Addict

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,798 posts
  • Joined 12-May 07
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Elpigo, if you are not dealing with a 7200.11 drive, PLEASE start a separate thread for ANY questions or discussions you might have.  It does not matter if "... the medecine also applies to his kin brother 7200.12. I used it and had success with it and I clearly mentionned it in my post.". Keeping questions and discussions about any drive besides a 7200.11 in separate threads will help others find those threads if they are in similar circumstances to you.

As to whether a "repaired" 7200.11 can be safely used, I believe it has been stated that just because the 7200.11 drive has been "repaired" does not mean that it has been "fixed" so that it will not fail again. If the same circumstances happen again that caused it to fail the first time, it is just as likely that it will fail again, even if the drive has had its firmware updated and it has been reformatted. There is no known "percentage of it going wrong again". So it is recommended that it only be used as a secondary or tertiary backup drive.

 

Cheers and Regards


Posted Image


#4690
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,593 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

This may help you take a decision, though the same theme is discussed also in the read-me-first (point 5, to which you were ALREADY pointed to) here it is more explicit:

http://www.msfn.org/...87#entry1067976

http://www.msfn.org/...119#entry930329

http://www.msfn.org/...-2#entry1012499

 

 

WHAT :w00t: is the "difficult part" in those? :unsure:

 

Let's try again. :)

 

Question: OK, I have revived a hard disk, <insert here any number of wordy descriptions and considerations>, can the drive be trusted afterwards? <optionally insert here any number of more logical reasons why you think you repaired the disk and how you think it should be blindly trusted, and how it is not possible that the manufacturer built a bad disk>

Answer: NO, nein, non, ...

More:

http://www.freelang....ressions/no.php

 

See if these further clears the matter:

http://www.msfn.org/...hdds/?p=1004448

http://www.msfn.org/...254#entry985254

 

You have applied a "miracle" cure to an UNDIAGNOSED illness, there is NO way on Earth to know WHAT was the problem and HOW it was fixed (IF it was fixed) and how long this UNKNOWN CURE will prevent the SAME (or other) ILLNESS to affect again the disk.

 

I am not at all offended :), I am exasperated (which is different) as the SAME, SAME, SAME question that has been answered IN ALL POSSIBLE WAYS is asked AGAIN, and AGAIN and AGAIN.

 

Your disk has been by sheer luck revived, if you managed to get the data you already were very lucky, if I were you I would not bet on it working properly again (which does not mean that it cannot happen, only that I would not bet on this).

 

More:

http://www.msfn.org/...cted/?p=1014387

http://www.msfn.org/...d/#entry1014421

 

jaclaz


Edited by jaclaz, 06 May 2014 - 03:46 AM.


#4691
nitro91

nitro91
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 10-May 14
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

does anyone know,

when i get to the point where it says take power out of the hdd and then put it back in then wait then type the m,0,,22, command. when i put the power back in, i cant type anything into hyperterminal?



#4692
nitro91

nitro91
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 10-May 14
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

nevermind, i plugged it in and it showed the 0mb on BIOS, so i did 0 lba trick.

and its all working!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

 

how do i update firmware so it doesnt happen again, or should i just copy filess over and throw it out?



#4693
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,593 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

how do i update firmware so it doesnt happen again, or should i just copy filess over and throw it out?

Point #5 of the read-me-first:

http://www.msfn.org/...-read-me-first/

further expanded here:

http://www.msfn.org/...121#entry932258

 

jaclaz



#4694
nitro91

nitro91
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 10-May 14
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

yeh soz simple google search and i got it.

 

for some reason i first had the bsy error, then playing with the m0,22 thing i then plugged it onto my motherboard and it came up on the bios but as 0 mb so the 0lba error.

fixed that and its all fixed!

 

not sure why this only happened to me now since ive been using it since 2008, and this is my primary storage hard drive, from 08-11 it was my primary hard drive with OS on it.



#4695
piero

piero
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 16-May 14
  • OS:XP Pro x86
  • Country: Country Flag
my seagate barracuda 7200.11 hdd isn't recognized by BIOS (BSY error). my hdd was partitioned (one partition for OS and one for data). I have a doubt: digiting "m0,2,2,,,,,22 (enter)" (partition regeneration), it would appear "User Partition Format Successful" (with other); what it means? it formats my partitions and I lose my data or it recognize the original partitions? or something else? I hope it's all clear. thank you for the topic.

#4696
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,593 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Normally (i.e. if the cause of the BSY is the original problem) all data remains accessible "as before".

 

IF the cause of the BSY is another, the data recoverable may vary.

 

But the answer to your question is "something else", what happens when you issue that command through terminal is that "user partition (data) is regenerated", i.e. the part of the disk that is accessible to the user is reset to "usable".

 

That "partition" is at a completely different level (much lower) than the "partition" you see in (say) Disk Manager, it is the partitioning of the disk between "Seagate's Data" and "User Data".

 

If you prefer, usually (say 95% or more of cases :yes:) after the disk has been unbricked, it will appear exactly as it was before, though in some instances it happened that partition based recovery was needed (and was rather easily accomplished :)), example:

http://www.msfn.org/...-after-bsy-fix/

in an even minor number of cases, partition recovery was not possible :ph34r: or only partially possible :(, examples:

http://www.msfn.org/...ecovery-on-hdd/

http://www.msfn.org/...essful-unbrick/

http://www.msfn.org/...11-malediction/

 

There is no real way to know in advance as we don't have a way to diagnose the actual cause of the problem.

 

jaclaz



#4697
gogeta

gogeta

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
  • Joined 27-May 14
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Hi, i have recently bought a USB-->TTL adapter for fix my ST3500320AS. I have installed the driver on 2 pc: 1 on Windows 8.1 x64 and another with Windows 7 x32.

The adapter works fine if i put together the TX-RX connector (i see loopback on hyperterminal), but when i connect the hdd there are nothing on the screen, only blink cursor.

Now i cannot tried to remove the PCB because i don't have a Torx T6. there is a possibility that work if i try to remove the PCB? Or is possible to a driver problem?

 

The HDD was visible in bios, before the issue, but now isn't.



#4698
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,593 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Hi, i have recently bought a USB-->TTL adapter for fix my ST3500320AS. I have installed the driver on 2 pc: 1 on Windows 8.1 x64 and another with Windows 7 x32.
The adapter works fine if i put together the TX-RX connector (i see loopback on hyperterminal), but when i connect the hdd there are nothing on the screen, only blink cursor.
Now i cannot tried to remove the PCB because i don't have a Torx T6. there is a possibility that work if i try to remove the PCB? Or is possible to a driver problem?
 
The HDD was visible in bios, before the issue, but now isn't.

 
If the disk is bricked, it is bricked.
 
If you do not remove (or loosen enough) the PCB and insulate either the motor or head contacts you won't normally have access to the disk interface via TTL.
 
 
 
Consider the usual carpenter comparison:
To join two planks of wood together you need (at least) three nails (of suitable length) and a hammer.
Put the two planks one over the other and drive the nails vertically in both the planks by hitting with the hammer the heads of the nails.
 
Q. I have the hammer but no nails. I tried banging the hammer on the planks really hard, but they don't stick together.
A. You need the nails.
 
The procedure REQUIRES that one set (or the other) of contacts are insulated (or the whole PCB is removed).
You *need* a suitable Torx screwdriver to losen or remove the screws.
If you really-really cannot afford (or procure one) usually these screws can be undone with *any* flat screwdriver of suitable size of which you have filed down a bit the edges, i.e. from:
 
 
 _
| |
| |
|_|
 
to
 
 
/ \
| |
\ /
 
However, quick check list:
  • Is the disk powered?
  • Did you try hitting CTRL+Z?
  • Have you tried inverting Tx and Rx?
  • Are all devices properly grounded?
  • Have you made sure that the USB->TTL adapter provides the right (lower) TTL levels?
jaclaz

Edited by jaclaz, 27 May 2014 - 04:51 AM.


#4699
gogeta

gogeta

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
  • Joined 27-May 14
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

I have tried hit CTRl+z (not uppercase), swapped TX RX. I have bought a pl2303hx adapter, i think that is good for this job.

I thought that even without removing the PCB, something appeared on the screen, just for test.

Today i buy the Torx screwdriver and i will try to remove the PCB. I hope that will work! Thanks for now!


Edited by gogeta, 27 May 2014 - 04:59 AM.


#4700
gogeta

gogeta

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 10 posts
  • Joined 27-May 14
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

i have tried with PCB removed, with only isolation for the contact with a stripe of paper, but same situation... Driver problem for the TTL adapter?

Hyperterminal is correctly configured. OS: Windows 8.1 and Windows 7.






8 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 8 guests, 0 anonymous users