Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

The Solution for Seagate 7200.11 HDDs

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
4741 replies to this topic

#551
DeadST3500320AS

DeadST3500320AS
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 14-January 09
Help - I am following your direction, and everything went well except the last m0,2,2,... No response from the drive yet - what do I do?


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#552
DeadST3500320AS

DeadST3500320AS
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 14-January 09
aviko,
all done, everything worked great, data copying as I type...

Thanks

#553
DeadST3500320AS

DeadST3500320AS
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 14-January 09
Oh - I did F712 also on the second power cycle. Quite simple directions.

#554
poolcarpet

poolcarpet

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 108 posts
  • Joined 02-January 09
Ok, just as reference to others. I followed the 1st post and fixed my hard disk. Below are details:

1. Power off everything
2. Unscrew PCB from HDA, put cardboard to isolate the 4 contacts (i think it was 4)
3. Power up hard disk using power from PC
4. Use hyperterminal -> Ctrl-Z
5. Issue the /2 and Z commands

F3 T>/2
F3 2>Z
Spin Down Complete
Elapsed Time 0.128 msecs

6. Remove the cardboard isolation. Screw in all remaining screws to secure PCB to HDA.
7. Issue the rest of the commands

F3 2>U
Spin Up Complete
Elapsed Time 6.736 secs

F3 2>/1
F3 1>N1
F3 1>/T
F3 T>i4,1,22
F3 T>

8. After the above, I waited a while (few minutes) and then powered off the hard disk (remove and reseat the hard disk power cable from PC)
9. Issue the final command

F3 T>m0,2,2,,,,,22
Max Wr Retries = 00, Max Rd Retries = 00, Max ECC T-Level = 14, Max Certify Rewr
ite Retries = 00C8
User Partition Format 4% complete, Zone 00, Pass 00, LBA 00004339, ErrCode 000
User Partition Format 4% complete, Zone 00, Pass 00, LBA 00008DED, ErrCode 000
00080, Elapsed Time 0 mins 10 secs
User Partition Format Successful - Elapsed Time 0 mins 10 secs

F3 T>

The above took much longer than expected. I think in my case it took at least 2-4 minutes. As the 1st post says, NO MATTER WHAT, please DO NOT POWER OFF the hard disk after you've keyed in m0,2,2..... really have no idea what might happen.

Note that I am NO data recovery expert, I DO NOT work with s***gate hard disks daily, and I KNOW NUTS ABOUT THE COMMANDS above, but I know they fixed my crap 7200.11.

I'm just posting the above as a reference, based on my experience using the 1st post to fix my hard disk. I've completed copying out all my data and now am using it (after upgrade to SD1A) but am very cautious about it.

Actually I don't really have much confidence in it and I might go get a WD hard disk and leave this as paperweight or I might just film myself hammering it to bits and posting the video on youtube :P

#555
aikidoman

aikidoman
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 03-February 09

Hi again,

Now i've tried the loopback test so my setup is correct.
I dont get any response from the terminal, I dont get "F3 T>", but i can type..

I placed a paper card between the motor connector and the harddiskmainboard like in post #1, attached the tx and rx cables, opened hyperterminal, and then powered on the drive, and then pushed CTRL+Z... But i don't get anything?

Anyone that can help me? Over msn maybe?

I have a 3500320AS with SD15 firmwire. And i bought i RS232-TTL usb-converter.




I have the same problem as Alexx86 the set up is right but I get nothing but the small arrow mark on hyper terminal. Any help would be greatly appreciated
I have the same drive and firmware version Thanks

Edited by aikidoman, 03 February 2009 - 11:53 PM.


#556
poolcarpet

poolcarpet

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 108 posts
  • Joined 02-January 09
aviko,

like i said :

"Note that I am NO data recovery expert, I DO NOT work with s***gate hard disks daily, and I KNOW NUTS ABOUT THE COMMANDS above, but I know they fixed my crap 7200.11.

I'm just posting the above as a reference, based on my experience using the 1st post to fix my hard disk. I've completed copying out all my data and now am using it (after upgrade to SD1A) but am very cautious about it."

I'm sure you know much much more than me. I admit I know probably 1 on a scale of 0-100. I've noticed that you have posted really a lot of comments and fixes. As someone has mentioned, we are a bunch of victims who are trying to salvage their data at a relatively low cost. If you are so certain, as someone has mentioned, why don't you start a new post with step by step fix like Gradius2's post? His guide may not be 100%, and in fact it may cause data loss - but he's trying his best and he already has the WARNINGS in red at the beginning of his guide.

Let everyone decide which guide to follow and credit can be given where it's due. What you are doing now is just confusing everyone with your techno-speak and techno-questions.


Ok, just as reference to others. I followed the 1st post and fixed my hard disk. Below are details:


Do you some interest it that others will repeat mistakes? I noticed many times where are weak points of this tutorial.

1. Power off everything
2. Unscrew PCB from HDA, put cardboard to isolate the 4 contacts (i think it was 4)


so you think bad, motor has 3 contacts. when you isolate motor, you will not hear when its powered, safer is to isolate heads connector. when power up drive just wait to motor stops, if you rush at this step you got LED 00000CE error on terminal.

F3 T>i4,1,22
F3 T>

8. After the above, I waited a while (few minutes) and then powered off the hard disk (remove and reseat the hard disk power cable from PC)


Imagine how hard disk work: reference

A G-list is a "growth" defect table. As sectors become bad over time, they are added to the G-list, and reads and writes are automatically redirected (remapped) to spare sectors. G-list sectors do slow down drive access, and if the G-list is filling up, it is time to replace the drive.


If your drive has any bad sectors on g-list it means data which belongs to them is somewhere else. When you clear it, all information about remapped sectors will be lost (and data in them). If you dont have any bad sectors in glist why need to clearing it?

powering off/on drive or waiting (with growing level of adrenaline) at this point is not necessary. just relax and send last command. I suggest to type F,,22 before, then without powering off m0,2,2,0,0,0,0,22 (difference is simple: if you dont specify parameter it will be used with defaults which is not the best option. 0 means no unnecessary rewriting. (Its funny because Gradius2 in solution for 0lba wrote (copied and pasted) m0,2,2,0,0,0,0,22 but when doing exactly same operation but in BSY solution gives different command: m0,2,2,,,,,22 ) guess why



#557
aviko

aviko

    user inactive

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 86 posts
  • Joined 01-February 09
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Hi again,

Now i've tried the loopback test so my setup is correct.
I dont get any response from the terminal, I dont get "F3 T>", but i can type..

I placed a paper card between the motor connector and the harddiskmainboard like in post #1, attached the tx and rx cables, opened hyperterminal, and then powered on the drive, and then pushed CTRL+Z... But i don't get anything?

Anyone that can help me? Over msn maybe?

I have a 3500320AS with SD15 firmwire. And i bought i RS232-TTL usb-converter.




I have the same problem as Alexx86 the set up is right but I get nothing but the small arrow mark on hyper terminal. Any help would be greatly appreciated
I have the same drive and firmware version Thanks


try connect ground from your cable to pin 3 in terminal socket of disk. i think it finally solved Alexx86 problem. we did everything from scratch, step by step so hard to tell.
Choice is yours. Fortunately it's your data not mine. Here all of this was started. even single spark can burn forest. Nobody's perfect. I'm nobody.

#558
RedIon1992

RedIon1992
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 01-February 09

When you say you see the arrow, do you mean the '>' character as shown after the "F3 F" text? If so, then
it may be doing what you want, but you just can't see all the text being echoed to the display but only the
last character which you are interpreting as an arrow head (not the mouse symbol).

I'm not sure if windows terminal allows one to change the terminal emulation from lets say whatever you have to VT100
with 80 columns. For those who have windows setup for other character sets or right to left prompting, could this be
the cause? I'm not sure how windows terminal would handle this too.

Can you post screen prints of your hyperterminal settings under File->properties and show us the settings for each screen tab under this
area? This will help with determining if they are set properly.....

Just some thoughts on the arrow problem. :whistle:


I'll post these when I get home.


Or now...

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

Posted Image

#559
tifa

tifa
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 02-February 09
Aviko is really specialist, has huge knowledge about all that we discuss here, much bigger than we can even think of.

He helped me with very unusual problem (standard, known solutions haven't worked) of my seagate.
I've got back all data from this drive, the most important all great pictures of my 1-year old son from his born to now.

In opposite Gradius is as i could say "compiler" of others solutions, but he should credit all those solutions he used (as he did initially, but later removed credits).
And i think Gradius should improve his text with good advices from aviko, so all readers/users will be safer with their 7200.11 adventure!

#560
comorex

comorex
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 04-February 09
Big thanks to all who developed the method of recovery. Following instructions, I successfuly restored my Seagate Baracuda ST3500320AS from BSY error using handmade RS232 to TTL adapter. HDD works fine after firmware update. All valuable information is untouched.
Greetings from Bulgaria! :hello:

#561
freestart

freestart
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 31-August 08
THANK YOU VERY MUCH !!! :thumbup

I have resolved I too my problem 0 LBA with the my Seagate ST3500320AS

note:

I have tried this method directly on new firmware SD1A and I has used another interface COM to TTL much simple without MAX232 CHIP with battery 9V :whistle:

#562
RedIon1992

RedIon1992
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 01-February 09

Hi again,

Now i've tried the loopback test so my setup is correct.
I dont get any response from the terminal, I dont get "F3 T>", but i can type..

I placed a paper card between the motor connector and the harddiskmainboard like in post #1, attached the tx and rx cables, opened hyperterminal, and then powered on the drive, and then pushed CTRL+Z... But i don't get anything?

Anyone that can help me? Over msn maybe?

I have a 3500320AS with SD15 firmwire. And i bought i RS232-TTL usb-converter.




I have the same problem as Alexx86 the set up is right but I get nothing but the small arrow mark on hyper terminal. Any help would be greatly appreciated
I have the same drive and firmware version Thanks


try connect ground from your cable to pin 3 in terminal socket of disk. i think it finally solved Alexx86 problem. we did everything from scratch, step by step so hard to tell.


I can tell you that adding a ground got my terminal working (finally)...

#563
abbas41

abbas41
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 04-February 09
a very inexperienced guy here.... but really need to recover my drive coz its not detected by BIOS...can i use this adapter???
http://cgi.ebay.com/...DAT...:1|294:50

#564
RedIon1992

RedIon1992
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 01-February 09
I'd just like to give my greatest thanks to Gradius2, aviko, mikew, and everyone else that has been involved in creating this solution. Thanks to you guys, I've learned a lot about terminals, serial ports, hard drives, electronics and many other things, all with a brilliant payoff at the end - getting my data back. Let's just say I owe you all one.

One other thing: aviko and Gradius2, you both seem to know what you're doing, as you've both proven with your helpful posts. The amazing success rate helps prove that the problem is solvable, but if I could ask of you one more thing - don't do as you have done in the past, and worked against each other. There is a common goal here, and all problems are better solved with cooperation than competition. I'm not saying Gradius2 didn't steal the information, but I'm not saying he did, either. The fact is, it is those commands that work. Who came up with them is not the important issue here - it is how they are used. In short, please, stop the fighting and work together. I understand you may have difficulty with this idea at first, but trust me, it will be for the common good if you two can put aside your differences and work together.

Thank you all once again - except for $eagate, the makers of the problem in the first place.

#565
CLAUDIUS84

CLAUDIUS84

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 16 posts
  • Joined 03-February 09
Hello Aviko,

I have some pictures to clarify to isolation to do. Right about your method? Thanks.

Attached File  demont.jpg   108.03KB   135 downloads

Attached File  pose_bristolB.jpg   70.04KB   132 downloads

#566
CLAUDIUS84

CLAUDIUS84

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 16 posts
  • Joined 03-February 09
And finally before commands:

Attached File  ready.jpg   181.38KB   157 downloads

#567
Tristano_74

Tristano_74
  • Member
  • 9 posts
  • Joined 20-January 09

a very inexperienced guy here.... but really need to recover my drive coz its not detected by BIOS...can i use this adapter???
http://cgi.ebay.com/...DAT...:1|294:50

Hi im used http://cgi.ebay.it/I...1QQcmdZViewItem

#568
abbas41

abbas41
  • Member
  • 3 posts
  • Joined 04-February 09

a very inexperienced guy here.... but really need to recover my drive coz its not detected by BIOS...can i use this adapter???
http://cgi.ebay.com/...DAT...:1|294:50

Hi im used http://cgi.ebay.it/I...1QQcmdZViewItem

i just want to know i only managed to get this one with alot of difficulty..can i make use of this one?

#569
aviko

aviko

    user inactive

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 86 posts
  • Joined 01-February 09
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

And finally before commands:

Attached File  ready.jpg   181.38KB   157 downloads


it seems ok to me. i just put something (eg pen) to bent pcb enough to prevent connection
Choice is yours. Fortunately it's your data not mine. Here all of this was started. even single spark can burn forest. Nobody's perfect. I'm nobody.

#570
CLAUDIUS84

CLAUDIUS84

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 16 posts
  • Joined 03-February 09
Thanks from France,AVIKO, i am waiting after my adaptator USB/TTL. Soon, i hope. :hello:

#571
Gradius2

Gradius2

    IT Consultant

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 240 posts
  • Joined 16-January 09
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

And finally before commands:

Attached File  ready.jpg   181.38KB   157 downloads


That's the head motor, nothing to do with SPIN motor. :whistle:

aviko is just trying to discredit a proven fine guide. :rolleyes:

We all have enough of it.

If you see, those guys have just 1 to 3 post max, and this is why they don't know this dirty play aviko is doing.

If he was right since start, he should just started long ago his own topic (or leave) in first place, and not trying to continue to discredit a proven fine guide.

This topic got so messed because of him, I'll just close it.

Edited by Gradius2, 04 February 2009 - 08:17 AM.

"Two things are infinite: The Universe and Human stupidity; and I'm not sure about the Universe." Albert Einstein

#572
aikidoman

aikidoman
  • Member
  • 2 posts
  • Joined 03-February 09

Hi again,

Now i've tried the loopback test so my setup is correct.
I dont get any response from the terminal, I dont get "F3 T>", but i can type..

I placed a paper card between the motor connector and the harddiskmainboard like in post #1, attached the tx and rx cables, opened hyperterminal, and then powered on the drive, and then pushed CTRL+Z... But i don't get anything?

Anyone that can help me? Over msn maybe?

I have a 3500320AS with SD15 firmwire. And i bought i RS232-TTL usb-converter.




I have the same problem as Alexx86 the set up is right but I get nothing but the small arrow mark on hyper terminal. Any help would be greatly appreciated
I have the same drive and firmware version Thanks


try connect ground from your cable to pin 3 in terminal socket of disk. i think it finally solved Alexx86 problem. we did everything from scratch, step by step so hard to tell.


I can tell you that adding a ground got my terminal working (finally)...


Aviko, thanks so.......much it all worked like a charm backing up my data now as we speak.
The earth from the cable did the trick.

Thanks again you are definately my Hero!!! Cheers :thumbup

#573
aviko

aviko

    user inactive

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 86 posts
  • Joined 01-February 09
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

And finally before commands:

Attached File  ready.jpg   181.38KB   157 downloads


That's the head motor, nothing to do with SPIN motor. :whistle:

aviko is just trying to discredit a proven fine guide. :rolleyes:

We all have enough of it.

If you see, those guys have just 1 to 3 post max, and this is why they don't know this dirty play aviko is doing.

If he was right since start, he should just started long ago his own topic (or leave) in first place, and not trying to continue to discredit a proven fine guide.

This topic got so messed because of him, I'll just close it.


of course its head CONNECTOR, heads doesnt have any motors. I explained why isolating heads is better solution few times in earlier posts. this method is one which will work with ES.2 series and work also with DM22 and 7200.11, New firmares doesnt open terminal if motor connector is isolated. thats why we seen so many people who cant open terminal. I can discredit your competence on every post which you type. But you immediately change your post and then I look as this bad guy. almost all your posts are EDITED. There are posts where its only a DOT and signature.

Stop lying mr Fernando Martinez
Choice is yours. Fortunately it's your data not mine. Here all of this was started. even single spark can burn forest. Nobody's perfect. I'm nobody.

#574
basicguy

basicguy

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 14 posts
  • Joined 14-January 09

BASICGUY

Hmmm not too sure, And you will need some more bits of cables etc.

This will definately work and the delivery is quick, and the guy there Rob is really helpfull (in an Electronics type way).

http://cgi.ebay.co.u...T...A1|240:1318

And its at least £10 cheaper.

A nokia 3210 fbus data cable is still the cheapest an easiest option, at around 2 quid and only needing the rx and tx connecting (no gnd or power)


Thanks for the reply...
How about a DCU-65 cable? - I'm sorta' on a time limit for this...


...anyway, the RS232-TTL adaptor turned out to be dead but I did manage to find a nokia 3210 fbus data cable. Couple of questions:
1. The Nokia cable has 4 pins - which are TX/RX - or how can I determine this?
2. Do I need the drivers for the nokia 3210 fbus data cable?

Thanks in advance.

#575
aviko

aviko

    user inactive

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 86 posts
  • Joined 01-February 09
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

...anyway, the RS232-TTL adaptor turned out to be dead but I did manage to find a nokia 3210 fbus data cable. Couple of questions:
1. The Nokia cable has 4 pins - which are TX/RX - or how can I determine this?
2. Do I need the drivers for the nokia 3210 fbus data cable?

Thanks in advance.


If its USB you will need drivers. cable must be installed as COM port. If its connected via COM in PC - no drivers.

fourth wire is mbus which is not used here.

If DCU-65 is for sony ericsson and after plug to pc installs as usb-to-serial it will work.

pinout can be checked here just look what collors are soldered to pins rx tx and ground

Edited by aviko, 04 February 2009 - 09:12 AM.

Choice is yours. Fortunately it's your data not mine. Here all of this was started. even single spark can burn forest. Nobody's perfect. I'm nobody.




5 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 5 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN