Windows PE with ImageX vs. System Center Configuration Manager

zeusabj

Hi guys,

I'm a total newbie around here so let me start by saying you guys have an awesome forum. Tons of great information here. I'm just posting this thread because I'm looking for some specific Windows deployment advice from people (like you) who are way smarter than me. Let me give you some background on my issue:

I was one of the first hires in a brand new IT department that was formed by my present employer 4 years ago. Basically they had experienced some phenomenal growth through acquisitions and brought my team in to clean up several messes that resulted from growing really big, really quick. Since then we've engaged in and had great success in a number of high-profile "clean-up" projects which has gained my group full support from upper management. Last year my company sent me to Tech-Ed on an "information gathering" assignment to help us better leverage some of the Microsoft products we purchase. One item in particular we were hoping to get a handle on was anything that would allow us to take a more automated approach to OS deployment. Needless to say I was pretty exited when I attended a session on Windows PE and ImageX because that looked like the exact sort of thing we were looking for.

I got back all supercharged to roll this out and it turned out to be more difficult than I anticipated. Specifically I was having a real hard time finding documentation and online "How To's" to help me get this set up quickly. Thank God that I sumbled across this place and found IcemaND's *wonderful* guide to using ImageX:

http://www.msfn.org/board/index.php?showtopic=101383