Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

Boot Windows 7 from VHD - an amazing concept


  • Please log in to reply
119 replies to this topic

#101
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,216 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

to boot a Win8 VHD you need the Win8 bootloader, the  Win7 version causes errors.


Posted Image


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#102
Ponch

Ponch

    MSFN Junkie

  • Patrons
  • 3,336 posts
  • Joined 23-November 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Thanks. An other remark; I left that Win7 VHD running for too long, it got bored and began to defrag my system partition!... So it's not as "interference free" as 1st thought.



#103
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 16,634 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Thanks. An other remark; I left that Win7 VHD running for too long, it got bored and began to defrag my system partition!... So it's not as "interference free" as 1st thought.

Well, that is your fault. :w00t:

Windows 7 booted from a VHD is in no way different from a Windows 7   booted from a "real" partition.

It will attempt to take possession of your PC (all your base are belong to us ;)), it is your duty - and you should know that by know - to keep it busy/entertained in such a way that it doesn't get bored and starts doing random maintenance tasks. :ph34r:

 

:lol:

 

jaclaz 



#104
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,216 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

upgrading a VM from Win7 to 8 doesn't work. You need to run the VHD inside a VM (hyper-V), here you can upgrade the VHD.


Posted Image

#105
Ponch

Ponch

    MSFN Junkie

  • Patrons
  • 3,336 posts
  • Joined 23-November 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Thanks. An other remark; I left that Win7 VHD running for too long, it got bored and began to defrag my system partition!... So it's not as "interference free" as 1st thought.

More seriously, this caused one badly needed program in the resident Win7 to stop working at the time (this was a painfull monday morning at work, back from a week off :unsure: ). I then rolled back some video driver updates that I thought were the cause of my problem. I got a BSOD! Then an other, then popup messages about Explorer crashing. I ended up disabling the device in Bios (switchable video cards)...OK ! I later spent a few hours reinstalling it with lots of trials and lots of errors. I think the first cause was the Win7 performance toolkit being nuked by the external defrag. So kids, ... disable Defrag in your VHD ! B)



#106
crashnburn4u

crashnburn4u

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 70 posts
  • Joined 04-August 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Magic Andre - I am undergoing crazy pain for weeks on similar issue as yours. Hope you and the experts who guided you can help me please fix this problem: 

http://www.msfn.org/...ticulous-steps/

http://www.msfn.org/...ticulous-steps/

 

Mistaken double post due to slow internet/ browser issues - I think mods will delete/ clean one out. 

 

I have a question. Does this native Boot works with UEFI?

I want to boot a Win7 Ultimate on a Win8 Laptop which uses UEFI (secure boot off). I converted the Win7 WIM with the Convert-WindowsImage.ps1 script, added it to the bootmenu but when I select the Win7 VHD, nothing happens and wIn7 doesn't boot.

blink.gif

MagicAndre1981, on 01 Apr 2013 - 1:21 PM, said:

ok, I found the cause. The generated VHD from the Powershell script is MBR style, but you need GPT.

So I created a VHD, converted it to GPT and used DISM to apply the WIM into the VHD. Now I can select the VHD, I can see the text "Starting Windows" but it freezes here. What's this? What do I miss now?

 

 

Does this native Boot works with UEFI?

Yes, read: Add a Native-Boot Virtual Hard Disk to the Boot Menu
To update a UEFI-based computer to include a Windows 7 boot menu
http://technet.micro...d799299(v=WS.10).aspx

I want to boot a Win7 Ultimate on a Win8 Laptop which uses UEFI (secure boot off).

Do you like to add Win7 VHD to the same hard disk?
Boot Windows 8 and run diskpart
create vdisk file=c:\win7.vhd type=fixed maximum=16789
select vdisk file=c:\win7.vhd
attach vdisk
list disk
clean
convert GPT
create partition primary
format quick fs=ntfs label=VHD_System
set id="EBD0A0A2-B9E5-4433-87C0-68B6B72699C7"
assign letter=V
list vol
exit 

DISM.exe /Apply-Image /ImageFile:E:\sources\install.wim /Index:4 /ApplyDir:V:\
bcdboot V:\Windows

bcdedit

powercfg /h off
Lettter E: refers to a mounted Windows 7 x64 ISO image.
Adjust the example.

PartitionType: A GUID that identifies the partition type.
http://msdn.microsof...a365449(v=vs.85).aspx

 

MagicAndre1981, on 01 Apr 2013 - 8:58 PM, said: 

I missed this set id. Is this important? The rest is the same as I did. I'll try it again this evening.

 

Due to the stupid board software all links that contains brackets are parsed incorrectly.
Here are the two cdob posted in a clickable format (it is needed to post them using the little icon looking like a chain):
http://technet.micro...9(v=WS.10).aspx
http://msdn.microsof...9(v=vs.85).aspx

A set of refereces should be also:
http://technet.micro...y/hh825689.aspx
http://technet.micro...y/hh825691.aspx
http://technet.micro...y/hh825709.aspx
http://technet.micro...y/hh825691.aspx

This is the refeference to set id:
http://technet.micro...0(v=ws.10).aspx
... but if you are not an OEM, additionally experienced with GPT disk, you cannot use it ;):

This command is intended for use by original equipment manufacturers (OEMs) only. Changing partition type fields with this parameter might cause your computer to fail or be unable to boot. Unless you are an OEM or experienced with GPT disks, you should not change partition type fields on GPT disks by using this parameter.


jaclaz

 

I created the VHD first with the Powershell script under Win8:

http://gallery.techn...ageps1-0fe23a8f

With this way I got a MBR VHD which I can't even boot.

Next I used diskpart to create the VHD (I tried fixed and dynamic), converted it to GPT, created a primary partition and applied the WIM with DISM and used bcdboot to add thee VHD to the boot menu. So I did the same you posted.

I can select Win7, it boots but after the boot logo it freezes. I waited an hour but nothing happens.

 

this Dell Laptop doesn't seem to be Win7 compatible. I created an USB thumbdrive with Rufus, I booted from it and it also freezes at the bootlogo (Starting Windows) :crazy: So I'm not able to start the setup or create a VHD.

Here is someone with the same issue:
 

Though it boots from the DVD & shows the first (all black & grey screen) which says Windows loading files; the installation freezes at the second screen that says 'Starting Windows'.


http://superuser.com...ron-15r-turbo-s

The strange thing is, that the 15R SE was sold with Win7 last year.

MagicAndre1981, on 14 Apr 2013 - 03:59 AM, said: 
ok, the GOP (Graphics Output Protocol) from UEFI seams to be the cause of the boot hang.
Now I need to figure out if the Intel HD4000 and Radeon HD 7700 support GOP with Windows 7.

MagicAndre1981, on 15 Apr 2013 - 12:16 PM, said:
ok, I found the cause.

I need to set the option "Load Legacy Option ROM" to true. Now I still use UEFI but with the old VGA Video BIOS. The disadvantage is a bit slower boot/Resume from hibneration and the loss of the Dell Logo during boot, but I can boot both Windows versions.

 

How did you find about GOP and How/ where did you enter that fix? How do I find my issue?


Edited by crashnburn4u, 13 August 2014 - 02:26 AM.


#107
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,216 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

my fix was to change a UEFI setting (set the option "Load Legacy Option ROM" to true).


Posted Image

#108
crashnburn4u

crashnburn4u

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 70 posts
  • Joined 04-August 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

my fix was to change a UEFI setting (set the option "Load Legacy Option ROM" to true).

 

I have an option in Firmware that allows switch between UEFI and CSM Boot (Compatibility support Modue). Is that the same or something else?

PS: What about the GOP thing? Is/ was that something separate? 



#109
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 16,634 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

 

I have an option in Firmware that allows switch between UEFI and CSM Boot (Compatibility support Modue). Is that the same or something else?

 

CSM means plainly "forget UEFI and let's use BIOS instead", see:

http://en.wikipedia....ace#CSM_booting

 

jaclaz



#110
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,216 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

GOP = Graphics Output Protocol from UEFI

 

Windows 7 doesn't support this.


Posted Image

#111
crashnburn4u

crashnburn4u

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 70 posts
  • Joined 04-August 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

GOP = Graphics Output Protocol from UEFI

 

Windows 7 doesn't support this.

 

So GOP disabling is like an 'exception' mode for UEFI booting? Lets boot UEFI but allow Windows 7 to use a way to bypass GOP?



#112
crashnburn4u

crashnburn4u

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 70 posts
  • Joined 04-August 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

GOP = Graphics Output Protocol from UEFI

 

Windows 7 doesn't support this.

 

Also Andre - Would you mind going through my thread (linked below) and sharing some thoughts on what might be good way to proceed (steps) towards Native Boot VHD (Even if I let go of Windows 7 and choose to go to Win 8/ 8.1?)

 

Please do share your thoughts. Thanks. 

http://www.msfn.org/...ative-boot-vhd/



#113
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,216 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

GOP is the graphic protocol of UEFI. With the old VGA you don't get the OEM Boot logo:

 

http://blogs.msdn.co...experience.aspx

 

 

The Surface Pro for example doesn't support the VGA Option ROM any longer so Windows 7 doesn't work on it.


Posted Image

#114
crashnburn4u

crashnburn4u

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 70 posts
  • Joined 04-August 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

So its possible that the new laptop I have may not support Windows 7 at all? So I think I will upgrade my Win7 to Win8 with Programs & Apps & Settings etc. 

 

Should I test a "Base Native Boot Win 8 VHD" on the machine first and then PORT the image from existing install? 

 

Ok. So, what would be the best way to migrate my existing Installation to Native boot VHD WIn 8? 

GOP is the graphic protocol of UEFI. With the old VGA you don't get the OEM Boot logo:

 

http://blogs.msdn.co...experience.aspx

 

 

The Surface Pro for example doesn't support the VGA Option ROM any longer so Windows 7 doesn't work on it.



#115
cdob

cdob

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,047 posts
  • Joined 29-September 05

The Surface Pro for example doesn't support the VGA Option ROM any longer so Windows 7 doesn't work on it.

Good catch

Windows 7 Setup hangs at "Starting Windows" on Surface Pro http://support.micro...b/2828074/en-us

The Surface Pro is a Class 3 UEFI device that does not support legacy BIOS Interrupt 10 (INT 10H) video transitioning and it requires Windows 8 or later operating systems to run.

I understand:
the Dell option "Load Legacy Option ROM" enables legacy BIOS Interrupt 10 (INT 10H) video transitioning at UEFI mode.

#116
crashnburn4u

crashnburn4u

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 70 posts
  • Joined 04-August 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

GOP is the graphic protocol of UEFI. With the old VGA you don't get the OEM Boot logo:

 

http://blogs.msdn.co...experience.aspx

 

The Surface Pro for example doesn't support the VGA Option ROM any longer so Windows 7 doesn't work on it.

 

So is it possible my new Toshiba wont support GOP at all and if so, Windows 7 will not work on it? Is there a "technical" way to check the BIOS for it? Some tool, code or script? Cause inside I see no option for it


Edited by crashnburn4u, 16 August 2014 - 11:09 PM.


#117
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 6,216 posts
  • Joined 28-August 05
  • OS:Windows 8 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

when the UEFI supports Legacy CSM it supports Windows 7, but not on UEFI mode only in BIOS mode.


Posted Image

#118
DosProbie

DosProbie

    MSFN Expert

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 1,042 posts
  • Joined 16-October 12
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Don't know for sure but 'RW Utility' may be able to tell if you bios supports GOP and Compatibility Support Module => http://rweverything.com/
sidenote: I know some of the BIOSes such as the American Megatreads 'Aptio'and which is used by the ASUS VivoBook Series does support CSM.
 



#119
crashnburn4u

crashnburn4u

    Junior

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 70 posts
  • Joined 04-August 10
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

when the UEFI supports Legacy CSM it supports Windows 7, but not on UEFI mode only in BIOS mode.

So, Windows 7 UEFI/ GPT will not work, especially from Native Boot VHD? 

My original machine has a MBR-BIOS system which I imaged to VHD using Disk2VHD and then converted to GPT+UEFI hoping it will work with UEFI firmware in that mode. 

 

So, now the key question is, if I have a GPT Hard-drive with Win8.1 Pre installed, could I boot a native Win7 VHD (stored on that drive/ partition) at all (In UEFI or CSM Mode)? If so, how? 

Or Would mixed mode booting just not work?

 

Don't know for sure but 'RW Utility' may be able to tell if you bios supports GOP and Compatibility Support Module => http://rweverything.com/
sidenote: I know some of the BIOSes such as the American Megatreads 'Aptio'and which is used by the ASUS VivoBook Series does support CSM. 

Thanks. I will check it out (had used RW everything once). I am wondering where and what section I need to be looking for that Information. 



#120
cdob

cdob

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,047 posts
  • Joined 29-September 05

So, Windows 7 UEFI/ GPT will not work, especially from Native Boot VHD?

Windows 7 UEFI/ GPT will work, given legacy BIOS Interrupt 10 (INT 10H) video transitioning at UEFI mode.

Windows 7 UEFI/ GPT will not work, given a GOP = Graphics Output Protocol at UEFI mode.
 

My original machine has a MBR-BIOS system which I imaged to VHD using Disk2VHD and then converted to GPT+UEFI hoping it will work with UEFI firmware in that mode.

It will fail at a GOP only hardware.
 

So, now the key question is, if I have a GPT Hard-drive with Win8.1 Pre installed, could I boot a native Win7 VHD (stored on that drive/ partition) at all (In UEFI or CSM Mode)? If so, how? 
Or Would mixed mode booting just not work?

CSM Mode booting is not possible from GPT out of the box.
Ignore this approach at a given hardware and software. Use a hardware solution: additional (USB) hard disk.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users