Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

How to install Windows 98 in modern motherboards using more than 1 GB.

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
50 replies to this topic

#26
seaweed

seaweed

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 27 posts
  • Joined 07-April 09

I have a Compaq dc7600 which has p4 dual 3.2 Ghz, o/b graphics card and sound card. Can I install Win98 on it?

If you use an ATA HD it is easy. For SATA you may find also a solution in the precedent post of dencorso.

In my own experience I installed it recently after a failure in my SATA HD. I felt tired of reinstalls and replaced it by a new ATA HD.

I had no problems at all with the install process, and after it I used the video generic driver mentioned in the first post of this thread with excellent results.

I use Windows 98 on doubleboot, only for disk and XP maintenance purposes. I find it great because, even when I keep using XP as I always did, the maintenance operations are done in a much easier and faster way from outside.

And having a "second chance" cloned XP to override inmediately any OS failure means a complementary solution, fast and secure. I found the way to do it here:
http://www.msfn.org/...howtopic=118623

Edited by seaweed, 30 May 2009 - 04:39 AM.



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#27
seaweed

seaweed

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 27 posts
  • Joined 07-April 09

Only two problems are to resolve:

reading and writing from IDE HDD is almost fast like at XP, but writing on SATA HDD is very slow. Copying - frozened PC - copying - frozened PC - copying - frozened PC...

Many softwares don´t work under ME. Motherboard MSI P4M900M2 don´t support ME. I tried installation, but I must add soundcard to PCI port, but there is no slot AGP, only video-regime VGA is disponible...


Your video problems may be solved by using Bearwindows free Universal VESA/VBE Video Display Driver. Read also this thread for more on it: Asus Eee PC and Windows 9x.
Your sata problems require RLoew's (beta) SATA.INF... It's not free, but IMHO it's worth the cost. For more about it, check his site.

Good luck!


I've used Bearwindows free with excellent results. I found it here.
I wonder if it could be possible to find also a valid USB driver for a Gigabyte motherboard.

Thanks.

#28
dencorso

dencorso

    Iuvat plus qui nihil obstat

  • Supervisor
  • 6,195 posts
  • Joined 07-April 07
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

In case NUSB 3.3 doesn't work for you (but did you give it a try?), you have the Wintricks driver pack (the download link is on page #6) or RLoew's pack (the download link is on the Prerelease and Beta Software page), both free and both derived from the same Lexar drives. And there is the Win 2k USB 2.0 drivers for 9x/ME (direct download). I'd install USB 3.3 and if it gave me grief, just uninstall its (Win ME) USB 2.0 drivers from the Add/Remove software dialog and then add the Win 2k drivers. If that also doesn't work I'd restore a previously saved full system image to remove all traces of this installation and install one of the lexar derived drivers with the Win 2k USB 2.0 stack. Only if even that doesn't work I'd then just use either NUSB 3.3 without the USB 2.0 stack or one of the Lexar derived drivers stand alone. But without a USB 2.0 stack USB is not very useful, is it?

#29
seaweed

seaweed

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 27 posts
  • Joined 07-April 09

In case NUSB 3.3 doesn't work for you (but did you give it a try?), you have the Wintricks driver pack (the download link is on page #6) or RLoew's pack (the download link is on the Prerelease and Beta Software page), both free and both derived from the same Lexar drives. And there is the Win 2k USB 2.0 drivers for 9x/ME (direct download). I'd install USB 3.3 and if it gave me grief, just uninstall its (Win ME) USB 2.0 drivers from the Add/Remove software dialog and then add the Win 2k drivers. If that also doesn't work I'd restore a previously saved full system image to remove all traces of this installation and install one of the lexar derived drivers with the Win 2k USB 2.0 stack. Only if even that doesn't work I'd then just use either NUSB 3.3 without the USB 2.0 stack or one of the Lexar derived drivers stand alone. But without a USB 2.0 stack USB is not very useful, is it?

Wow!
I'll try all that.
Thank you very much, dencorso.

#30
cannie

cannie

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 471 posts
  • Joined 04-June 08
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Revised and improved.

HTH

Edited by cannie, 30 November 2009 - 05:26 PM.


#31
cannie

cannie

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 471 posts
  • Joined 04-June 08
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
Slight changes in the contents and improvement in the shape of the first post.

Included a quote about the posible need of modifyng BIOS before using the DOS boot floppy.

HTH

Edited by cannie, 11 December 2009 - 07:18 AM.


#32
cannie

cannie

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 471 posts
  • Joined 04-June 08
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
After detecting that the old geocities link was not valid any more, paragraph B has been modified to include a valid link to download the same universal video driver.

HTH

#33
dencorso

dencorso

    Iuvat plus qui nihil obstat

  • Supervisor
  • 6,195 posts
  • Joined 07-April 07
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

For more info on VBEMP and bearwindows, check this post, and the next four replies that follow it. HTH.

#34
cannie

cannie

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 471 posts
  • Joined 04-June 08
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
  • Country: Country Flag
After finding that the bearwindows download page doesnt't work any more, I've changed the download adress for the mentioned universal video driver.

HTH

Edited by cannie, 10 January 2010 - 04:39 AM.


#35
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 15,017 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Just for the record:
http://www.boot-land...opic=2325&st=22

2010, JUNE

*** VBEMP(9x) ***
1. New version of driver with VESA/VBE calls support in DOS window/fullscreen.


:thumbup

jaclaz

#36
rloew

rloew

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,134 posts
  • Joined 30-May 05
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Just for the record:
http://www.boot-land...opic=2325&st=22

2010, JUNE

*** VBEMP(9x) ***
1. New version of driver with VESA/VBE calls support in DOS window/fullscreen.


:thumbup

jaclaz

I tried it in my ECS 6100SM-M Computer with a NVidia 8400 Video Card.
When I opened a DOS Box, I got a blank screen just like the previous Version.
Disabling Hardware Acceleration and setting 640x480 did not help.
Ye who enter my domain. Beware! Lest you become educated in the mysteries of the universe and suffer forever from the desire to know more.

#37
yay

yay
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 09-September 11
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
I have MS-DOS 7.10 (the DOS windows 98 used)

#38
TrevorS

TrevorS
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 11-May 13
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Don't know if the OP is still around, but a solution to this problem is exactly what I need for my dual boot WinXP/Win98SE system, and so I did my best to follow the provided instructions. My system used to be 1GB and Win98SE was happy with that, but I added another 1GB to benefit WinXP and all-of-a-sudden, Win98SE wouldn't run due to an oversized vcache (remove memory resident programs in Config.sys error message during boot). So, I first tried making a modified Win98SE disc using the edit described in the second post -- seemed very elegant. Unfortunately, I couldn't get it to work. So, I turned to the original OP instructions and manually created and edited a System.ini file at the very beginning of the install. That worked fine, but at the first boot when I went back in to update the System.ini file, nothing had changed. OK, so maybe I was just lucky and so I checked again at the next boot point, still nothing had changed. At the end of the automated install the failure symptom was also unchanged and so this thread benefited me not at all. I don't know what system you were installing when you came up with those instructions, but I don't see how it could have been 98SE. Very disappointed :(!

If you wish to discuss, please respond.

#39
LoneCrusader

LoneCrusader

    Resistere pro causa resistentiam.

  • MSFN Sponsor
  • 831 posts
  • Joined 11-May 09
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Don't know if the OP is still around, but a solution to this problem is exactly what I need for my dual boot WinXP/Win98SE system, and so I did my best to follow the provided instructions. My system used to be 1GB and Win98SE was happy with that, but I added another 1GB to benefit WinXP and all-of-a-sudden, Win98SE wouldn't run due to an oversized vcache (remove memory resident programs in Config.sys error message during boot). So, I first tried making a modified Win98SE disc using the edit described in the second post -- seemed very elegant. Unfortunately, I couldn't get it to work. So, I turned to the original OP instructions and manually created and edited a System.ini file at the very beginning of the install. That worked fine, but at the first boot when I went back in to update the System.ini file, nothing had changed. OK, so maybe I was just lucky and so I checked again at the next boot point, still nothing had changed. At the end of the automated install the failure symptom was also unchanged and so this thread benefited me not at all. I don't know what system you were installing when you came up with those instructions, but I don't see how it could have been 98SE. Very disappointed :(!

If you wish to discuss, please respond.

You're not alone if those "RAM tweaks" for Windows 9x above 512MB given here and elsewhere didn't work for you. They have never worked for me either.

I purchased RLoew's RAM Limitation Patch, and have never looked back.

#40
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 15,017 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Well, there is a thread dedicated to this:
http://www.msfn.org/...than-1-gib-ram/
summing up all the various tricks and tweaks and what not that people has uses and uses to run 98 day to day with more than 1 Gb Ram ;).

Of these, not all use the Ram limitation patch by R.Loew.

jaclaz

#41
submix8c

submix8c

    Inconceivable!

  • Patrons
  • 4,461 posts
  • Joined 14-September 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Indeed, reading more that just Post#1 and Post#2 would have told you that.

BTW, "nothing had changed" because the changes get "wiped" after each reboot and that's the reason for "re-editing".

Notice my PC is in the list of Greater Than 1gb (2048mb).

Someday the tyrants will be unthroned... Jason "Jay" Chasteen; RIP, bro!

Posted Image


#42
rloew

rloew

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,134 posts
  • Joined 30-May 05
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Well, there is a thread dedicated to this:
http://www.msfn.org/...than-1-gib-ram/
summing up all the various tricks and tweaks and what not that people has uses and uses to run 98 day to day with more than 1 Gb Ram ;).

Of these, not all use the Ram limitation patch by R.Loew.

jaclaz

True. But many people find that the alternatives do not work for them. LC and the person who E-Mailed me this morning discovered that.
Certain Ethernet and Registry issues are not resolved by the alternatives as well.
Ye who enter my domain. Beware! Lest you become educated in the mysteries of the universe and suffer forever from the desire to know more.

#43
TrevorS

TrevorS
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 11-May 13
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Don't know if the OP is still around, but a solution to this problem is exactly what I need for my dual boot WinXP/Win98SE system, and so I did my best to follow the provided instructions. My system used to be 1GB and Win98SE was happy with that, but I added another 1GB to benefit WinXP and all-of-a-sudden, Win98SE wouldn't run due to an oversized vcache (remove memory resident programs in Config.sys error message during boot). So, I first tried making a modified Win98SE disc using the edit described in the second post -- seemed very elegant. Unfortunately, I couldn't get it to work. So, I turned to the original OP instructions and manually created and edited a System.ini file at the very beginning of the install. That worked fine, but at the first boot when I went back in to update the System.ini file, nothing had changed. OK, so maybe I was just lucky and so I checked again at the next boot point, still nothing had changed. At the end of the automated install the failure symptom was also unchanged and so this thread benefited me not at all. I don't know what system you were installing when you came up with those instructions, but I don't see how it could have been 98SE. Very disappointed :(!

If you wish to discuss, please respond.

OOPS!

Went back to it again this morning and realized I made a dumb goof during the install process. I went per the instructions, making a Windows directory and then a system.ini file inside it, but after initiating the Win98SE CD setup, I didn't notice that when it prompted for the Windows directory name, it suggested "Windows.000". I'm used to it always suggesting "Windows" and at first glance it looked normal and I accepted. The result was the installation process never even looked at my [386Enh] and [vcache] entries, it was busy building the system over in directory "Windows.000". And to imagine, the old problem was still there -- duh! (Note: Once in EDIT, to save the file and exit use ALT-F to open the "File" menu. Then type in the highlighted letter to make your menu selection.)

This time, I stored the initialized copy of the System.ini file on my Win98SE startup diskette for the sake of convenience and after creating the windows directory, I just copied it over. Following the OP's instructions, I kept booting to the startup floppy and observed that on the first boot after startup, the [386Enh] entry was unchanged, but the [vcache] entry was deleted and I had to re-enter it. However, I found that on the second and all ensuing boots, neither entry had been modified and so no further editing was needed. Happy to report, Win98SE came up nicely with 2GB installed. I checked with Device Manager and was informed the system had 1022KB which must be how "MaxPhysPage=40000" works out. (I should mention I used a different spec for "MaxCacheSize", I specified 65536. Reason is the machine is for gaming and I read elsewhere a much smaller vcache is best for games, both since the video card typically needs a lot of virtual address space for its RAM window, and also because games usually want lots of direct RAM access. That particular size had been suggested.)

In any case, the OP's procedure worked and I now have a functioning 98SE/XP dual boot with 2GB DRAM. Perhaps my experience will be helpful to somebody else.

-- Thanks very much OP :)!


Don't know if the OP is still around, but a solution to this problem is exactly what I need for my dual boot WinXP/Win98SE system, and so I did my best to follow the provided instructions. My system used to be 1GB and Win98SE was happy with that, but I added another 1GB to benefit WinXP and all-of-a-sudden, Win98SE wouldn't run due to an oversized vcache (remove memory resident programs in Config.sys error message during boot). So, I first tried making a modified Win98SE disc using the edit described in the second post -- seemed very elegant. Unfortunately, I couldn't get it to work. So, I turned to the original OP instructions and manually created and edited a System.ini file at the very beginning of the install. That worked fine, but at the first boot when I went back in to update the System.ini file, nothing had changed. OK, so maybe I was just lucky and so I checked again at the next boot point, still nothing had changed. At the end of the automated install the failure symptom was also unchanged and so this thread benefited me not at all. I don't know what system you were installing when you came up with those instructions, but I don't see how it could have been 98SE. Very disappointed :(!

If you wish to discuss, please respond.

You're not alone if those "RAM tweaks" for Windows 9x above 512MB given here and elsewhere didn't work for you. They have never worked for me either.

I purchased RLoew's RAM Limitation Patch, and have never looked back.

What matters is you got it working, congrats. I was banging my head against this for over a week and it just seemed logical that with all the configuration tweaks the early Win systems supported, this should be workable. Apparently, the trick is to force all the automated setup decisions to stay within the tweak bounds from the very beginning, rather than trying to back-fill with msconfig later.

Indeed, reading more that just Post#1 and Post#2 would have told you that.

BTW, "nothing had changed" because the changes get "wiped" after each reboot and that's the reason for "re-editing".

Notice my PC is in the list of Greater Than 1gb (2048mb).

When I said nothing had changed between boots, what I'm saying is that my initial edits remained intact. In any case, it doesn't matter, the system is now running exactly as I wanted, Win98SE and 2GB :)!

Edited by TrevorS, 13 May 2013 - 09:42 PM.


#44
TrevorS

TrevorS
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 11-May 13
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

This time, I stored the initialized copy of the System.ini file on my Win98SE startup diskette for the sake of convenience and after creating the windows directory, I just copied it over. Following the OP's instructions, I kept booting to the startup floppy and observed that on the first boot after startup, the [386Enh] entry was unchanged, but the [vcache] entry was deleted and I had to re-enter it. However, I found that on the second and all ensuing boots, neither entry had been modified and so no further editing was needed. Happy to report, Win98SE came up nicely with 2GB installed. I checked with Device Manager and was informed the system had 1022KB which must be how "MaxPhysPage=40000" works out. (I should mention I used a different spec for "MaxCacheSize", I specified 65536. Reason is the machine is for gaming and I read elsewhere a much smaller vcache is best for games, both since the video card typically needs a lot of virtual address space for its RAM window, and also because games usually want lots of direct RAM access. That particular size had been suggested.)

In any case, the OP's procedure worked and I now have a functioning 98SE/XP dual boot with 2GB DRAM. Perhaps my experience will be helpful to somebody else.

-- Thanks very much OP :)!

Need to make a follow up. The above describes how I got through the Win98 install, but I hadn't yet installed the other bits and pieces such as mother board specific drivers and add ons, etc. Turned out that when I tried to install the driver for my Promise SATA RAID controller, Windows reported a serious driver problem and I couldn't recover, ended up with the old insufficient memory problem again. Perhaps this was related to the only drive on that port being formatted NTFS, but perhaps not, in any case I left it out after that. On another attempt to get through the whole thing, I had failures during install of the ATI Catalyst drivers for my video card. I found that setting MaxPhysPage to 30000 prevented the Catalyst failure and I was finally able to reach the end of my installs (probably higher values would have worked as well, but definitely not 40000). I also concluded that changes to either of the two parameters after 98SE install was risky and likely to cause return of the insufficient memory problem.

In any case, it seems OK now, but it'll take me awhile to get confident, a few more successful program installs maybe.

Edited by TrevorS, 13 May 2013 - 09:40 PM.


#45
TrevorS

TrevorS
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 11-May 13
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Need to make a follow up. The above describes how I got through the Win98 install, but I hadn't yet installed the other bits and pieces such as mother board specific drivers and add ons, etc. Turned out that when I tried to install the driver for my Promise SATA RAID controller, Windows reported a serious driver problem and I couldn't recover, ended up with the old insufficient memory problem again. Perhaps this was related to the only drive on that port being formatted NTFS, but perhaps not, in any case I left it out after that. On another attempt to get through the whole thing, I had failures during install of the ATI Catalyst drivers for my video card. I found that setting MaxPhysPage to 30000 prevented the Catalyst failure and I was finally able to reach the end of my installs (probably higher values would have worked as well, but definitely not 40000). I also concluded that changes to either of the two parameters after 98SE install was risky and likely to cause return of the insufficient memory problem.

In any case, it seems OK now, but it'll take me awhile to get confident, a few more successful program installs maybe.

Happy to report I've installed three games and engaged in other adventures since the above and the tweaked Win98SE appears to be stable. For me, the values that worked were [386Enh] MaxPhysPage=30000 and [vcache] MaxCacheSize=65536 (focus on gaming). I prepared a copy of "system.ini" containing only those two entries, stored it on the startup diskette, and then copied it into a brand new "Windows" directory at start of install using DOS commands. After starting the install, at the very first reboot, I used "edit" to restore the removed "vcache=65536" entry. From that point on, there was no need to reboot from floppy, the previously entered values held (this result may be different for other version of Windows). Yes, it does appear to work and I again thank the OP :)!

Edited by TrevorS, 15 May 2013 - 01:42 AM.


#46
dencorso

dencorso

    Iuvat plus qui nihil obstat

  • Supervisor
  • 6,195 posts
  • Joined 07-April 07
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Congratulations! :)
Since you have 2 GiB RAM onboard, as soon as you are satisfied the system is really stable, feel free to submit the needed details by PM to me, and your machine shall be included in the > 1 GiB list. :yes:

#47
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 15,017 posts
  • Joined 23-July 04
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

True. But many people find that the alternatives do not work for them. LC and the person who E-Mailed me this morning discovered that.
Certain Ethernet and Registry issues are not resolved by the alternatives as well.

"Not all" means that at least one (they are actually more than one, let's call them conventionally "a few") *somehow* managed to get a stable or "stable enough" system even without using your RAM limitation patch.

This latter :thumbup may be the second best thing after ice cream :unsure: , but not - AFAIK - the ONLY way, very possibly a more "universal" solution :thumbup , or if you prefere "best", but by no means "ONLY".
Nothing more, nothing less.

jaclaz

#48
rloew

rloew

    MSFN Expert

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,134 posts
  • Joined 30-May 05
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag


True. But many people find that the alternatives do not work for them. LC and the person who E-Mailed me this morning discovered that.
Certain Ethernet and Registry issues are not resolved by the alternatives as well.

"Not all" means that at least one (they are actually more than one, let's call them conventionally "a few") *somehow* managed to get a stable or "stable enough" system even without using your RAM limitation patch.

This latter :thumbup may be the second best thing after ice cream :unsure: , but not - AFAIK - the ONLY way, very possibly a more "universal" solution :thumbup , or if you prefere "best", but by no means "ONLY".
Nothing more, nothing less.

jaclaz

Since you just love to nitpick. Show me where any of us said it is the ONLY way.

It IS the more "universal" solution.
LC and others have said it is the "best" solution.
For some people, the alternative may be no built-in Ethernet or stripping their Registry.
But it is definitely not the ONLY way. I know of several myself and ice cream isn't one of them.
Ye who enter my domain. Beware! Lest you become educated in the mysteries of the universe and suffer forever from the desire to know more.

#49
dencorso

dencorso

    Iuvat plus qui nihil obstat

  • Supervisor
  • 6,195 posts
  • Joined 07-April 07
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

LC and others have said it is the "best" solution.

And I agree. But my case is interesting because I was able to stabilize my system without the RAM Limitation Patch and optimized the setup long and carefully, before I went on and adopted it. So I am one of the few who can actually compare both results from before and after the RAM Limitation Patch. My conclusion is the Patch makes the system way stabler, and especially so when going above 1.5 GiB. But this is based on the type of hardware I have only, of course.

#50
TD238

TD238
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 05-September 13
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Hi,

 

I'd like to install Windows98 on a modern laptop (no floppy drive) that has Windows7 (32bit) already on it. Is this doable?

 

TD238






0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users