Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

Guide - Install WinXP From HDD or USB Drive Or CD


  • Please log in to reply
54 replies to this topic

#1
aviv00

aviv00

    Windowaizer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 976 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Guide - Install WinXP From HDD or USB Drive or CDROM [ ver 1.3 Final ]



Here the guide in steps :
Method 1.



Step 1 - Preparation:
a. Make ur drive active and pri partition [using Diskpart or another tool like HP USB Disk Storage Format Tool]
b. Use bootsect.exe to make it nt52 bootable

Step 2 - file management:
a. Copy ur WHOLE Windows Xp CD to c:\
b. Copy SETUPLDR.BIN TXTSETUP.SIF NTDETECT.COM to c:\
c. Rename SETUPLDR.BIN to ntldr
d. Rename I386 Folder in c: to $WIN_NT$.~BT
e. copy whole asms folder to c:\I386
f. copy the list files in SYSSETUP.IN_\SYSSETUP.INI\[ProductCatalogsToInstall]
like
[ProductCatalogsToInstall]
NT5INF.CAT, 1
NT5.CAT
SP3.CAT
NTPRINT.CAT
MAPIMIG.CAT
HPCRDP.CAT
wmerrenu.cat
IASNT4.CAT
MSTSWEB.CAT
OEMBIOS.CAT
netfx.cat

to folder c:\I386

Step 3 - editing:
a. Open TXTSETUP.SIF and rename I386 folder to $WIN_NT$.~BT
WARNING!!!!! don't rename the folders in winnt dir just those are relevant to setup

*******************************************
Step a in more details
here the list u shouldnt rename:
39 = "Driver Cache\i386"
Architecture = i386
1,"Driver Cache\i386"

here a list of what u should rename
all in the lines in subject
[SourceDisksNames.x86]
exclude
2 = "%cd2name%","%cd2tagfilei%",,\cmpnents\tabletpc\i386
3 = "%cd2name%","%cd2tagfilei%",,\cmpnents\mediactr\i386
4 = "%cd2name%","%cd2tagfilei%",,\cmpnents\netfx\i386


*******************************************

b. Add SetupSourceDevice = \device\harddisk0\partition1 to TXTSETUP.SIF\[SetupData]

*Notice if u use usb then change to harddisk1 however i didnt had problem leave it like that i choose to boot usb from bios & didnt need to change it its
*Notice usually its F12 to run the bios menu for booting
check pic here: http://www.msfn.org/...o...st&p=844270

i test it with unattained & nlited windows xp the Whole setup goes normal no problem at all


i gonna test it again soon to make sure its work properly
Edited:
i test it again its working :)



Method 2 [ only for ntfs much easier ]


1. install hardlinkshellext
[ download from here: http://schinagl.priv...xt.html#contact ]

do all Step 1
do step 2 just a,b,c
make hard link to i386 to $WIN_NT$.~BT
do step 3 b only

and u finished :)



common errors:

when the setup ask for cd the hdd or partation is not right
[ SetupSourceDevice = \device\harddisk0\partition1 ]


Images:

set ur vm (step 0)
Posted Image

the diskpart.exe process (step 1.a)
Posted Image

the bootsect.exe process (step 1.b )
Posted Image

copy the cd to drive (step 2)
Posted Image

after mapping and copy the files set the files (steps 2/3)
Posted Image


setup is ready
Posted Image

Edited by aviv00, 18 April 2009 - 01:23 PM.



How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
mg.eggink

mg.eggink

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 26 posts
Hi, nice topic!!

it worked for me with a Nlite-XP with a USB-stick.

Additions:

-- Formated USB to NTFS. Can for example be done with Paragon Partition Manager
Fat32 might also work, will test later

-- bootsect.exe is a Vista-file

-- made a cmd-file with entries

bootsect.exe /nt52 i: (i:=USBdisk)
pause

and used it ;-)

-- Copied complete NLited"-cd to USB

-- Copied SETUPDLR.BIN and NTdetect.com from \i386

-- Renamed SETUPDLR.BIN to ntldr

-- Copied txtsetup.sif from \i386 to \ and deleted txtsetup.sif in \i386


-- In txtsetup.sif renamed all i386 --> $win_nt$.~BT except "Driver cache \i386" and "Architecture i386"

-- In txtsetup.sif added SetupSourceDrive =device\harddisk1\partition1 ( in my case USB is disk1 )

-- renamed \i386 to \ $win_nt$.~BT

-- Booted from USB

Installation went OK, but it asked about ten times for a directory ( I typed d:\$win_nt$.~BT to continue).
All related to files from PS3.

Maybe I have to rename the "Driver cache"-entry also


MGE

Edited by mg.eggink, 07 March 2009 - 03:28 AM.


#3
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,225 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
GOOD. :)

Just a note:
If the stick is formatted through the HP USB formatting utility or through my batches (run on win2k/xp/2003), there won't be the need for the Vista bootsect.exe.
http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=5000

If you work on Vista or WinPE 2.x, you can use diskpart directly on the USB stick, only be aware of this possible problem, that might prevent the stick partitioning from being "kosher":
http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=21186
Registry settings to check:
http://support.micro...om/kb/931760/en

.reg file:
http://www.911cd.net...o...21186&st=18

jaclaz

#4
aviv00

aviv00

    Windowaizer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 976 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Installation went OK, but it asked about ten times for a directory ( I typed d:\$win_nt$.~BT to continue).
All related to files from PS3.

MGE


try use bios menu to start the boot from usb so its will called c:\ drive

thx for ur supports and for info

Edited by aviv00, 07 March 2009 - 10:49 AM.


#5
ilko_t

ilko_t

    MSFN Addict

  • Super Moderator
  • 1,718 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Good one :)

A few questions:
1. Does boot files (NTLDR, BOOT.INI and NTDETECT.COM) get copied to the internal disk? What are rdisk values in it?
2. Has anyone tried it with USB memory stick? With USB hard disk when booted from it SetupSourceDevice should be as mentioned harddisk0, but with USB memory stick it becomes harddisk1 etc. as mentioned in the related topic. Has anyone observed different behavior?
3. I guess USB hard disk gets drive letter C:, correct? Using migrate.inf should help as no driver is used to patch removable/fixed result.
4. Why putting XP source in ~BT folder? Should be easier to copy it as it is in own folder, and give this path in txtsetup.sif:
SetupSourcePath = "\xppro\"

Install Windows from USB, boot Linux, multiboot and a lot more with WinSetupFromUSB


#6
aviv00

aviv00

    Windowaizer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 976 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Good one :)

A few questions:
1. Does boot files (NTLDR, BOOT.INI and NTDETECT.COM) get copied to the internal disk? What are rdisk values in it?
2. Has anyone tried it with USB memory stick? With USB hard disk when booted from it SetupSourceDevice should be as mentioned harddisk0, but with USB memory stick it becomes harddisk1 etc. as mentioned in the related topic. Has anyone observed different behavior?
3. I guess USB hard disk gets drive letter C:, correct? Using migrate.inf should help as no driver is used to patch removable/fixed result.
4. Why putting XP source in ~BT folder? Should be easier to copy it as it is in own folder, and give this path in txtsetup.sif:
SetupSourcePath = "\xppro\"


thx
1.
when u say internal disk u mean the disk u gonna install xp ?
if yes then yes but the setup system think about usb drive as prim drive and start the boot from there its could be fixed manually
2.
yea check post num 2
3.
i didnt try usb drive i guess ur are right its need driver
to enable the usb 2.0
4.
well setup use ~BT to load boot the system and then load the setup
and then check for installation files that why i put all in the same dir
if u wanna u could make 2 installation in the same disk
with txtsetup editing and setupldr hex loading too
then its useful
but then u need to use nt6 booting mode and edit the bcd store

Edited by aviv00, 07 March 2009 - 12:12 PM.


#7
mg.eggink

mg.eggink

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 26 posts
Hi,

I use a USB-stick (Sandisk Cruzer)

Jaclaz is right. Making a bootable USB-stick with "HP Windows Format Utility for USB Drive Key" works
I used version 2.00 and formatted NTFS.
I had no success with FAT32.

Changing BIOS-settings did not solve the asking for "missing" SP3-files

Screenshot shows file names of "missing" files.

After setting BIOS-setting back to HD-boot something strange happened.

I can not install XP now from the same USB-stick!!.
Booting is OK, files are transfered, but at reboot HAL.DLL is missing.

Attached Files



#8
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,225 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
@mg.eggink

Yes, there is something still not fully documented, about FAT32 not booting.

Basically it is due to "unbalancing" between CHS and LBA data.

Try again using my batches (link above) or fuwi's batch:

which does use the HP utility, but adds some (hopefully) fixes.
http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=21702

When something like what you describe happens, best thing is to wipe first, say 100, sectors and start from scratch:
http://www.msfn.org/...u....html&st=13
http://www.boot-land...topic=3453&st=8

jaclaz

#9
dencorso

dencorso

    Adiuvat plus qui nihil obstat

  • Supervisor
  • 5,844 posts
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

Yes, there is something still not fully documented, about FAT32 not booting.

Basically it is due to "unbalancing" between CHS and LBA data.

Can you please elaborate on this unbalancing or give some links with more detail about it?

#10
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,225 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

Yes, there is something still not fully documented, about FAT32 not booting.

Basically it is due to "unbalancing" between CHS and LBA data.

Can you please elaborate on this unbalancing or give some links with more detail about it?

Remember, you actually asked for it :whistle::

http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=5924
http://www.boot-land...?...c=6165&st=0
http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=21914
http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=21136

http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=21702
particularly here:
http://www.911cd.net...o...1702&st=129

http://www.boot-land...?showtopic=2959

http://www.911cd.net...showtopic=22016

;)

jaclaz

#11
thestonegroover

thestonegroover
  • Member
  • 3 posts
Hello everyone :hello:

Just registered on these forums after straying across them- I've been looking at a quite a few and your methods seem to be the best mixture of concise vs. round the houses bloat and command line hackery vs. gui frustration. I followed the instructions, and had to change SetupSourceDrive =device\harddisk1\partition1 just like mr.egglink (thanks) however, I seem to be stuck in an endless loop now that when xp setup has finished copying the files and reboots, it goes straight into the initial install screen, enter to install, r to repair f3 to quit etc. I took the usb drive out and tried it and it says there is a drive error.

Does anyone have a solution?

Many thanks :yes:

#12
aviv00

aviv00

    Windowaizer

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 976 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
hey and welcome
for now u need to fix the boot

cos the setup using the usb drive as ntldr and then point the system to load the os from the hdd drive

i dont get why the setup didnt change the files on the usb drive [maybe access denied ?]
the ntldr is STILL the setupldr.bin
that why u get that err
when i tested it in vmware and installed it from hdd
its was ok the setup process did replace that file with the "real" ntldr

so what u need to fix it

bootsect.exe the hdd and place the "real" ntldr and ofc NTDETECT.COM
[the setup think that usb drive the "hdd" that boot first the system that why its loop]


and thx u i was i n the same problem like u

btw i gonna try install the system from usb to test it soon gonna check what its all about :)

Edited by aviv00, 10 March 2009 - 10:25 AM.


#13
thestonegroover

thestonegroover
  • Member
  • 3 posts
Hi there,

Thanks for the reply, unfortunately I didn't really understand your instructions.

I'm trying to load XPProSP2 on my Dell Mini9 netbook, so I can't bootsect.exe the destination drive, I tried it by running the bootsect.exe command when logged into the recovery/repair console and it didn't work. I also copied over the ntldr file and NTDETECT.COM file and again, it didn't make any difference.

Any ideas?

Many thanks

#14
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,225 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

I'm trying to load XPProSP2 on my Dell Mini9 netbook....
Any ideas?


WinsetupfromUSB:
http://www.msfn.org/...howtopic=120444

Works with the mini12:
http://www.msfn.org/...howtopic=130809
it should as well work with the mini9. ;)

jaclaz

#15
mg.eggink

mg.eggink

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 26 posts
Hi thestonegroover

I had the same with endless reboot and install.
I use a Dell Vostro. When I select USB-stick as first boot device in Bios Setup (Dell =F2) it reboots and installs over and over.

Choosing the boot-device USB-disk during booting ( Dell= F12) it went Ok and restarted from the original HD.

MGE


Hello everyone :hello:

Just registered on these forums after straying across them- I've been looking at a quite a few and your methods seem to be the best mixture of concise vs. round the houses bloat and command line hackery vs. gui frustration. I followed the instructions, and had to change SetupSourceDrive =device\harddisk1\partition1 just like mr.egglink (thanks) however, I seem to be stuck in an endless loop now that when xp setup has finished copying the files and reboots, it goes straight into the initial install screen, enter to install, r to repair f3 to quit etc. I took the usb drive out and tried it and it says there is a drive error.

Does anyone have a solution?

Many thanks :yes:


Edited by mg.eggink, 12 March 2009 - 11:34 AM.


#16
thestonegroover

thestonegroover
  • Member
  • 3 posts
Hi everyone,

Thanks for the tips. I went to the WinfromUSBsetup thread as sugested, used the GUI etc and when I booted off it, it started in the second part of the original install process! I had to get GParted on to a USB stick and format the SSD again, then when I tried the WinfromUSB'd stick, I got a Hal.dll error, same as other methods I've tried before. I'll have another go with your method here using the now it's been pointed out very obvious method :blushing: of setting to boot from SSD first but changing temporary boot options on the initial boot.

I'll let you know how I get on.

Cheers!

#17
victor888

victor888

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 155 posts
I test it under VMWARE.

2 disks, one is booted as installation source (harddisk0), the second is target disk. When guibooting, a lot of .CAT file not found correctly(default is c:\i386), as well notepad.exe and other dll file lost.

the ntldr on the harddisk0 is changed to normal, and boot.ini was put on it too.
the RDISK() is wrong:

[Boot Loader]
timeout=1
Default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS
[Operating Systems]
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(1)partition(1)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /noexecute=optin /fastdetect


The installation procedure I can understand, but what confused me is that why installation files havn't been deleted? Migrate.inf is not be used.

Also above wrong directory, how to correct it?

...

#18
ilko_t

ilko_t

    MSFN Addict

  • Super Moderator
  • 1,718 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

When guibooting, a lot of .CAT file not found correctly

Check \windows\system32\$winnt$.inf where Setup looks for the source files. Check setup log files in \windows too.
What did you put as SetupSourcePath in txtsetup.inf?
Were those missing files from a slipstreamed SP or updates? Check paths to them in txtsetup.sif, they may differ from those of a 'regular' source file.

the ntldr on the harddisk0 is changed to normal, and boot.ini was put on it too.

This is expected behavior- Setup would put boot files on the first fixed hard disk according to BIOS order. In case of USB stick which is normally 'removable', Setup puts them on the first fixed disk.

rdisk value is not wrong. According to BIOS order the second disk, where Windows is being installed to, is rdisk(1). There is still need to mess up with BOOT.INI later on.
The only way we found to avoid this behavior was to "break" HD order using grub4dos map command. Seems at that stage grub4dos mapping is still in effect. Setup would detect a strange situation and will use HD signature along with ARC path- e.g. signature(de33eaf8)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS. Note, rdisk value is the desired one. Those were tests with USB sticks. Signature part also seems to cause delay during boot, longer or shorter, depending on the system.
Read around this post for details:
http://www.msfn.org/...o...st&p=646746

why installation files havn't been deleted?

Read here:
http://www.msfn.org/...o...st&p=776205

In short- if MsDosInitiated="1", then SetupSourcePath and SetupSourceDevice are ignored, it defaults to $WIN_NT$.~LS, source files gets deleted as the source path is considered as temporary, saving disk space as the installation goes along.
MsDosInitiated="0"- SetupSourcePath and SetupSourceDevice are taken into account, source path is no longer considered as "temporary", no files are deleted.

Install Windows from USB, boot Linux, multiboot and a lot more with WinSetupFromUSB


#19
victor888

victor888

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 155 posts

Check \windows\system32\$winnt$.inf where Setup looks for the source files. Check setup log files in \windows too.
What did you put as SetupSourcePath in txtsetup.inf?


I havn't checked it yet. I will test it tonight.
I set SetupSourcePath = \device\harddisk0\partition1 in txtsetup.sif

Were those missing files from a slipstreamed SP or updates? Check paths to them in txtsetup.sif, they may differ from those of a 'regular' source file.

The XP is sp3 from msdn CD.

rdisk value is not wrong. According to BIOS order the second disk, where Windows is being installed to, is rdisk(1). There is still need to mess up with BOOT.INI later on.


The value rdisk(0) after "defaut =" is not equal to the one in [operatins systems] which is rdisk(1).

The only way we found to avoid this behavior was to "break" HD order using grub4dos map command. Seems at that stage grub4dos mapping is still in effect. Setup would detect a strange situation and will use HD signature along with ARC path- e.g. signature(de33eaf8)disk(0)rdisk(0)partition(1)\WINDOWS. Note, rdisk value is the desired one. Those were tests with USB sticks. Signature part also seems to cause delay during boot, longer or shorter, depending on the system.

If the file system not NTFS, boot.ini can be fixed by DD comand of grub4dos.

In short- if MsDosInitiated="1", then SetupSourcePath and SetupSourceDevice are ignored, it defaults to $WIN_NT$.~LS, source files gets deleted as the source path is considered as temporary, saving disk space as the installation goes along.
MsDosInitiated="0"- SetupSourcePath and SetupSourceDevice are taken into account, source path is no longer considered as "temporary", no files are deleted.

Thanks a lot.

#20
ilko_t

ilko_t

    MSFN Addict

  • Super Moderator
  • 1,718 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

I set SetupSourcePath = \device\harddisk0\partition1 in txtsetup.sif

You meant SetupSourceDevice = \device\harddisk0\partition1, right? What was SetupSourcePath?

The value rdisk(0) after "defaut =" is not equal to the one in [operatins systems] which is rdisk(1).

I thought it was a typo. Maybe on real hardware result will be different :unsure:

If the file system not NTFS, boot.ini can be fixed by DD comand of grub4dos.

That's restrictive, I personally would always use NTFS plus one may want to install windows on the second or third internal HD. Maybe search for a tag file...
In other hand, binifix.cmd at start of GUI is a proven to be working option.

Install Windows from USB, boot Linux, multiboot and a lot more with WinSetupFromUSB


#21
victor888

victor888

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 155 posts

You meant SetupSourceDevice = \device\harddisk0\partition1, right? What was SetupSourcePath?

Yes, you are right.
SeupSourcePath, I did not change it.

You get up so ealier. :blink:

#22
ilko_t

ilko_t

    MSFN Addict

  • Super Moderator
  • 1,718 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

SeupSourcePath, I did not change it.

I'd try with a source in a folder too.

You get up so ealier.

Nah, just the time zone. As for waking up early mornings- that's never been my strong side :lol:

Install Windows from USB, boot Linux, multiboot and a lot more with WinSetupFromUSB


#23
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,225 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
I may add that however, grub4dos dd should be able to change a single byte even on a NTFS filesystem with no problems, haven't tested it, but from the grub4dos readme:

In some cases when writing a file in NTFS, dd might fail.

should mean that it is possible that a problem happens, not necessarily that it will happen.

The difficult part would be to tell it WHICH byte to change, i.e. somehow scripting the feature, both finding the "address" that needs to be changed and the right "value" to write.

The "z-1" concept was devised to work on "ANY" setup ;):
http://www.msfn.org/...t...html&st=240
and following.


jaclaz

#24
victor888

victor888

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 155 posts
Here already such dd example in Chinese: http://bbs.znpc.net/...0...t=dd&page=4

The 60th topic.

I translate here

dd is a strong command, personally I think this is anoter most powerfull command after map command of grub4dos.

By using the switch of "bs, skip, seek" we can copy file to file, sector to sector and the byte to byte of file, any position can be wittern (wether the file is read only or have NTFS right, Added by victor888).

Note:
1. for a complete write, the byte of target file must be more than or equal to source file.
2. The target file should be in device, no matter what the file content is.

Example:

This is a dos batch on (fd0) name path.bat:

set string=abcdefghijklmnopqrstuvwxyz
set path=¥:
goto main
:main
...
...
....
goto end
...
:end

The first line is 37 bytes (in fact, there ENTER or SHIFTLINE charactor bytes at the end of line, for the sake of demonstrating the use of dd command, the bytes are omitted.)
The second line is 11 bytes.

Then we could write any charactor to the second line.
e.x replacy ¥ in the second line to certain letter, juse do the following:

dd if=(fd0)/path.bat of=(fd0)/path.bat bs=1 skip=11 count=1 seek=46

hence, the second line was replace to set path=a:

(bs=1 means one byte as read unite,count=1 means only write one block defined by bs switch, here is one byte. skip=11 means skip 11 bytes including space. seek=46 means skip 46 bytes when write, that is write the 47 byte ¥)

Certainly, we can do booting disk this way:
dd if=/pe.img of=(fd0) or
dd if=(cd0) of=/cd.iso

Writing boot sector to imge fiel is also convenient:
dd if=(hd0,0)+1 of=/dos.img


We can study above to chang boot.ini without dificculty.

Edited by victor888, 16 March 2009 - 08:51 AM.


#25
jaclaz

jaclaz

    The Finder

  • Developer
  • 14,225 posts
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

We can study above to chang boot.ini without dificculty.


Well, not so easy. :(

I have full faith on the power of grub4dos dd command, but alas not yet enough on grub4dos scripting language.

You may have a "strange" BOOT.INI already on the target machine.

See the example posted here:
http://www.msfn.org/...t...html&st=244

Are you positive that you can find a way (entirely in grub4dos) to detect the position of z, both here:

[Boot Loader]
Timeout=5
Default=multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(z)partition(3)\WINDOWS

and here:

...
....
C:\BOOT\FDOS1440.bin="Test boot"
multi(0)disk(0)rdisk(z)partition(3)\WINDOWS="Microsoft Windows XP Professional" /fastdetect


And later read the z value, calculate the z-1 value and write it in both places? :blink:


jaclaz




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN