Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

How 2 - edit Boot/install.wim files

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1
jcberry526

jcberry526

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 14 posts

i would love to know how how 2 edit the Boot.wim and install.wim files i have heard that it needs to be mounted or something but i am wanting a (detail) tut on how 2 open (mount) these files

i will also need to know how to unmount it (if it a thing that i needs to do after i have edit the files i want)


THANKS




How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
MagicAndre1981

MagicAndre1981

    after Windows 7 GA still Vista lover :)

  • Patrons
  • 5,953 posts
  • OS:Vista Ultimate x86
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

for doing this you have to install the WAIK. Mounting can be done with ImageX
Posted Image

#3
Arrow22

Arrow22

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 37 posts
To Prepare:

Install the WAIK
You will need the basic routines that the kit contains

This is what My Environment looks like

Attached File  Image5.gif   21.45KB   125 downloads

#4
Arrow22

Arrow22

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 37 posts
Step 1: Mount The Image

Create this batch file

_1. Mount Image.bat

echo off
cls

set __EXPAND="%Programfiles%\Windows AIK\Tools\amd64\Servicing\Expand.exe"
set __PEIMG="%ProgramFiles%\Windows AIK\Tools\PETools\peimg.exe"
set __IMAGEX="%ProgramFiles%\Windows AIK\Tools\amd64\Imagex.exe"
set __PKGMGR="%ProgramFiles%\Windows AIK\Tools\amd64\Servicing\pkgmgr.exe"
set __Mount=C:\Mount

Echo Off
Cls
Echo .
Echo .
Echo . Mounting Boot.wim to %__Mount%
Echo .
pause 1
pause 0
Echo .
Echo . Creating The Folder
mkdir "%__Mount%"
Echo .
Echo . Mounting boot.wim (First Image)
Echo .
%__IMAGEX% /mountrw ".\boot.wim" 1 "%__Mount%"
Echo .
Echo ......................................................
Echo .
pause

The 2 pauses are there in case you execute this script by accident.
The mount folder can be changed to anything you want but
besure to change it in the other batch files as well.

If you are using a 32-bit OS while preping the image,
change \amd64\ in the paths to \x86\

as in ="%ProgramFiles%\Windows AIK\Tools\x86\Imagex.exe"

Vista's boot.wim has 2 images, both images should be changed the same way.
I have not yet tried just updating image 2.

Image selection is controlled by the image number
%__IMAGEX% /mountrw ".\boot.wim" 1 "%__Mount%" <-- for image 1
%__IMAGEX% /mountrw ".\boot.wim" 2 "%__Mount%" <-- for image 2

You can also use names but it must be exact. Numbers are easier.

Ghost 12 has only 1 image.

this is what it looks like

Attached File  Image10.gif   14.92KB   131 downloads

Edited by Arrow22, 05 March 2009 - 12:54 PM.


#5
Arrow22

Arrow22

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 37 posts
Step 2 - Fold in Drivers

There are a number of things that you can do to the image while its mounted.
I use it mainly to preinstall my drivers.

I need the MediaShield RAID drivers for boot.wim to see my drives.
This is how I slipstream them in.

Create this batch file

_2. Fold In Drivers.bat

echo off
cls

set __EXPAND="%Programfiles%\Windows AIK\Tools\amd64\Servicing\Expand.exe"
set __PEIMG="%ProgramFiles%\Windows AIK\Tools\PETools\peimg.exe"
set __IMAGEX="%ProgramFiles%\Windows AIK\Tools\amd64\Imagex.exe"
set __PKGMGR="%ProgramFiles%\Windows AIK\Tools\amd64\Servicing\pkgmgr.exe"
set __Mount=C:\Mount

Echo Off
Cls
Echo .
Echo .
Echo . Adding Boot Drivers From OS Drivers
Echo .

pause 2
pause 1
pause 0

Echo .
Echo ......................................................
Echo .
%__PEIMG% /inf=".\01AHCI\nvstor32.inf" "%__Mount%\Windows"
Echo .
Echo ......................................................
Echo .
%__PEIMG% /inf=".\02RAID\nvrd32.inf" "%__Mount%\Windows"
Echo .
Echo ......................................................
Echo .

pause

As I posted in another thread, boot.wim is 32-bit (I have yet to see a 64-bit)

Do not attempt to slipstream in 64-bit drivers, 32-bit OS will not understand them.

#6
Arrow22

Arrow22

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 37 posts
Step 3 - Unmount the Image

For me, I like to verify my work...

Here is what the inf folder looked before the slipstream

Attached File  Image6.gif   57.83KB   101 downloads

And like this after the batch file is run

Attached File  Image7.gif   17.33KB   74 downloads

and here is the image now...
Note the OEM0.inf and OEM1.inf

Attached File  Image8.gif   50.91KB   67 downloads

So we are good, now create this batch file

_3. UnMount Image.bat

echo off
cls

set __EXPAND="%Programfiles%\Windows AIK\Tools\amd64\Servicing\Expand.exe"
set __PEIMG="%ProgramFiles%\Windows AIK\Tools\PETools\peimg.exe"
set __IMAGEX="%ProgramFiles%\Windows AIK\Tools\amd64\Imagex.exe"
set __PKGMGR="%ProgramFiles%\Windows AIK\Tools\amd64\Servicing\pkgmgr.exe"
set __Mount=C:\Mount

Echo Off
Cls
Echo .
Echo .
Echo . Unmounting Boot.wim from %__Mount%
Echo .

pause 2
pause 1
pause 0


%__IMAGEX% /commit /unmount "%__Mount%"
Echo .
Echo .
Echo ......................................................
Echo .
Echo .Removing Temporary Mount Folder
Echo .
RmDir /S /Q "%__Mount%"
pause

this is what it looks like
Attached File  Image9.gif   14.66KB   63 downloads


How was that.

If modifying boot.wim, do both images

#7
jcberry526

jcberry526

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 14 posts
thank you very, very much

this place is the BEST

#8
Tomorrow

Tomorrow

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 375 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
...or you can follow this guide...

http://www.msfn.org/...howtopic=111168

#9
krzychu70

krzychu70
  • Member
  • 4 posts
Is it possible to use just 7zip as it allows to open wim files?

#10
_Se7eN_

_Se7eN_
  • Member
  • 2 posts
Arrow22

Nice tutorial. however i must confess that i've tried both ways [updating one image and both] and the result was the same... Nvidia drivers don't install during setup... everything else installed fine...
i' triyng to use winpeshl.ini as some sort of trigger to install the exe version of Nvidia drivers... still no results...
Is there any other file/way to do that?? Excluding SetupComplete of the $OEM$ folder...


Se7eN

#11
Arrow22

Arrow22

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 37 posts

Arrow22

Nice tutorial. however i must confess that i've tried both ways [updating one image and both] and the result was the same... Nvidia drivers don't install during setup... everything else installed fine...
i' triyng to use winpeshl.ini as some sort of trigger to install the exe version of Nvidia drivers... still no results...
Is there any other file/way to do that?? Excluding SetupComplete of the $OEM$ folder...


Se7eN



For adding SATA/RAID drivers to Vista, I have not had a problem.
Are you adding the 64bit or the 32bit version?
Boot.wim is 32bit and will not recognize the 64bit versions.
(Took me 2 weeks to figure that out - Forest for the Trees thing)

Edited by Arrow22, 13 April 2009 - 12:59 PM.


#12
_Se7eN_

_Se7eN_
  • Member
  • 2 posts

Arrow22

Nice tutorial. however i must confess that i've tried both ways [updating one image and both] and the result was the same... Nvidia drivers don't install during setup... everything else installed fine...
i' triyng to use winpeshl.ini as some sort of trigger to install the exe version of Nvidia drivers... still no results...
Is there any other file/way to do that?? Excluding SetupComplete of the $OEM$ folder...


Se7eN



For adding SATA/RAID drivers to Vista, I have not had a problem.
Are you adding the 64bit or the 32bit version?
Boot.wim is 32bit and will not recognize the 64bit versions.
(Took me 2 weeks to figure that out - Forest for the Trees thing)


I have a 32bits system so i guess that i don't have that prob...
maybe i need to get a better driver extractor prog... i've been using MyDrivers and it's been working fine even with Nvidia drivers....
this prob started after i've updated the drivers o Nvidia by windows update.... perhaps its the driver it self cause in the installed system it is signed by Microsoft, however the same in the test OS appears as unsigned... this is really bugging me....

I wouldn't even mind if i could execute the install version of the driver during install, but that also is turning to be a prob... i'm unable to execute tthe CMD file through the Autounatted.xml file...

i've put the driver folder on the root on the install.wim, so that it could be copied to the HardDrive... but using "auditUser" the CMD file seems that can't find the folder...

Can you tell where can i learn the install timeline of Vista Ultimate? Because the CMD file must be executed AFTER the driver folder been copied to the HD...

Thanks for the reply



Se7eN

#13
Arrow22

Arrow22

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 37 posts
I do not know anything about the timeline as I slipstream and integrate everything natively.

I would suspect it is your drivers.


When you follow the directions above, do you see the OEMx.inf files?
If not, then the drivers are not installed.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN