Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account


Photo

How to guides on deploying Windows XP WIM Images

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
28 replies to this topic

#1
Ashinator

Ashinator

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 10 posts
Hi Guys,

I just wanted to let you guys know that I have posted 2 howto guides on my blog to share with yas. The first is "How to create a hardware independent sysprepped WIM image of Windows XP for deployment from Windows Deployment Services" and the second being "Setting up Windows Deployment Services for WIM image based network deployment of Windows XP on Windows Server 2003". I have learnt alot from these forums throughout many years of experimenting and working on optimsing a good way to deploy Windows XP. Anyway my blog address is http://ashleystechblog.blogspot.com/ so let me know what you think. I have them availible in word documents also in case you guys want to use/update them yourselves.


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#2
andrew84uk

andrew84uk

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 123 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x86
This is a very nice guide you have there. Is it possible to deploy .wim images over CD/DVD?

Just asking just for the people who don't use WDS for offline image deployment. I know the hal could be a problem with offline images for different hardware, which is a difficult subject.

Great write up. I am sure someone will go through it soon enough and provide feedback.

#3
Ashinator

Ashinator

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 10 posts
Yes, It is possible to deploy .WIM images via CD/DVD. I used the same WIM image and just hacked a lil automation into a Win PE (Preinstallation Environment) DVD and added the .WIM image to the DVD. I will see if I have find my old work files and I will post what I find here.

The steps were something like this tho.

call diskpart.bat which used diskpart to format and create 20gb partition on the first hardrive and then create a partition for the rest of the drive.
call winpe.bat which basically used imagex to expand the image onto the drive
call reboot.bat which basically rebooted the computer and then it would boot into the sysprepped image we just deployed onto the hard drive.

#4
andrew84uk

andrew84uk

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 123 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x86

Yes, It is possible to deploy .WIM images via CD/DVD. I used the same WIM image and just hacked a lil automation into a Win PE (Preinstallation Environment) DVD and added the .WIM image to the DVD. I will see if I have find my old work files and I will post what I find here.

The steps were something like this tho.

call diskpart.bat which used diskpart to format and create 20gb partition on the first hardrive and then create a partition for the rest of the drive.
call winpe.bat which basically used imagex to expand the image onto the drive
call reboot.bat which basically rebooted the computer and then it would boot into the sysprepped image we just deployed onto the hard drive.


Brilliant, the news I wanted to hear. Hopefully you still have the work or some guides maybe the same as how you have in your first post. This would be great if you can deploy .wim's over CD/DVD via sysprep. Nt 100% sure how the hal change would work though from AMD/Intel systems ACPI/UP/MP e.t.c would work via this method though but I am sure some clever people would be able to post about sysprep and hals. Thanks pal.

#5
Ashinator

Ashinator

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 10 posts
In regards to changing the HAL. The way i did it was to install it onto a VM with one CPU.
I used MySysprep http://www.tsaysoft.com/mysysprep/. I use MySysprep to Sysprep the PC before reboot and capturing/making an image.
When it boots up MySysprep runs instead of normal Sysprep which changes HAL and installs the drivers before booting into Windows. I have not had any issues with regards to changing the HAL with MySysprep.
I have had issues with having faulty drivers so you need to constantly remove faulty drivers and replace them as you encounter problems. I have found Mass Storage Drivers to be the biggest problem which results in the 0x00000007B blue screen. I have also had alot of issues gettin bluetooth drivers to work. I can say that I have been able to use this method to deploy one image to multiple hardware setups with all drivers installed ready to boot via network and dvd. It requires alot of time, persistance and patience to create but hopefully using my guides it will simplify and streamline the process alot.

Let me know if you have any more questions.

#6
Rich_Weiss

Rich_Weiss

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 20 posts
This looks great and very helpful. Thanks for sharing your efforts with us. However, I have a question regarding the Build_All.cmd, which calls the install_msd.cmd and install_network.cmd files. I do not seem to have the install_msd.cmd and install_network.cmd files, and I did not see where to get them, or how to create them from your WIM Imaging Tutorial 1.5. I must be missing something somewhere, and would be grateful if you would enlighten me. The best I can tell is that I should rename and use the Install_Drivers.cmd, copying one into the drivers/network folder and another into the drivers/msd folder.

#7
Ashinator

Ashinator

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 10 posts
Hi Rich_Weiss,

I believe you maybe refering to someone elses tutorial. If you do have any questions or need any help just let me know.

#8
panosarp

panosarp
  • Members
  • 2 posts
Hello, thank you for these nice guides.

I have used a very similar method to build - capture my image, using virtual pc instead of vmware, the hal is already at acpi pc in virtual pc , used mass drivers from
driverspack and mysysprep.
So my image should work with computers that have acpi multi cpu hal thanks to mysysprep that will change the hal in the mini setup stage,
however when a multi cpu acpi boots from wds (i have used the boot.wim in vista dvd sp1 to make my boot image) my "universal" xp image is not shown in the
list because it shows only the hal compatible images.
I dot know if that hal detection and the filtering of the image list to show only the compatible ones is from the wds or the winpe environment in the boot.wim (from vista dvd).
Has anyone had that problem , can that hal detection be disabled so it can show all available images , even the incobatible ones?

Thank you in advance.

#9
Ashinator

Ashinator

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 10 posts
Hi Panosarp, In my Setting up Windows Deployment Services for WIM image based network deployment of Windows XP on Windows Server 2003 post. Have a look at this post http://www.midteq.co...c...8&Itemid=68 it should be able to help you. Basically you have to hack the boot image for WDS so that it will force detect all booted PC with the same HAL and there for show all images. I had a similar problem and I'm pretty sure this is what fixed it. You can see how I did it in my guide in my Setting up Windows Deployment Services for WIM image based network deployment of Windows XP on Windows Server 2003 post at step 78 to step 84.

#10
panosarp

panosarp
  • Members
  • 2 posts
Thank you very much Ashinator, that was exactly what i needed!
I should have read both guides before bothering this forumm, thank you.

#11
akajester

akajester
  • Members
  • 2 posts
Ashley, thanks for the great tutorial. One question. When I pxe boot to WDS and choose the "capture windows xp image", I get no C: drive in the dropdown. Typically this is due to a non sysprepped drive. I followed your instructions and used the MySysPrep utility to Seal the drive. Any ideas?

thanks again!

Edited by akajester, 02 June 2009 - 08:54 AM.


#12
Ashinator

Ashinator

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 10 posts
Hi akajester,

What you can do is open up a command prompt when you boot into WinPE and see if you can browse the C:\ drive and confirm it is the correct drive. The other thing you could do is open diskpart in the command prompt and then type list disk which will bring up a list of disks. If your drive is listed type in select disk 0 (the number which corelates with your disk) then type list partition and your system partition should be listed. For help with the diskpart commands try this link. http://support.microsoft.com/kb/300415.

If your disk is not showing up I am guessing that you will need to inject a mass storage driver into WinPE. I know the Intel SATA drives you need to do this for especially with laptops. You should be able to find out how to do it in my guide at http://ashleystechbl...t-services.html. Try steos 39 to 41. You will need to place your driver files in their before you do those steps tho. You may need to go back a few steps depending on how you did yours.

Anyway let me know how you go.

#13
akajester

akajester
  • Members
  • 2 posts

Hi akajester,

What you can do is open up a command prompt when you boot into WinPE and see if you can browse the C:\ drive and confirm it is the correct drive. The other thing you could do is open diskpart in the command prompt and then type list disk which will bring up a list of disks. If your drive is listed type in select disk 0 (the number which corelates with your disk) then type list partition and your system partition should be listed. For help with the diskpart commands try this link. http://support.microsoft.com/kb/300415.

If your disk is not showing up I am guessing that you will need to inject a mass storage driver into WinPE. I know the Intel SATA drives you need to do this for especially with laptops. You should be able to find out how to do it in my guide at http://ashleystechbl...t-services.html. Try steos 39 to 41. You will need to place your driver files in their before you do those steps tho. You may need to go back a few steps depending on how you did yours.

Anyway let me know how you go.


the original is a vmware machine. Shouldn't the winxp capture boot already have support for the vmware drives or will I still need to inject them? Thanks for the quick response. Again, the guide is excellent and must've taken a ton of time to put together. thanks,

-akajester

#14
Ashinator

Ashinator

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 10 posts
Can you open up the device manager on your VMware guest and tell me what the hard drive controller is? The other way to check is to open the settings of your VMware guest and click on hard drive and it should say whether it's IDE or SCSI. I think you maybe using a SCSI hard drive which isn't supported in the vanilla WinPE/WDS images.

#15
zeusabj

zeusabj

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 34 posts
Ashinator...

What can I say? *THANK YOU* you just have no idea how long I have been trolling the web for a *SIMPLE* step-by-step guide WITH SCREENSHOTS that just spells out how to create hardware independent sysprepped WIM images. I keep finding bits and pieces of the process but nothing that spells out the ENTIRE process for you completely from cradle to grave. You have no idea how much easier this will make things for me at work. I simply can't thank you enough for this.

YOU ROCK!

#16
Crazysky

Crazysky
  • Members
  • 3 posts
Hello,

I'm working for a french Hospital (IT department) and we are happy of this "How To". But we have trouble with "Dual Core" or "Hyper-Threading" processor. The system see 2 logical/physical processor but the 2nd is not used (periphical list show 2 processors)
Only one processor is visible in Task Manager.

Did you have this problem ? If yes, do you have a solution ?

PS: It's on ALL our Computer model, not only one.

Thanks for your help

#17
hj_fr

hj_fr

    Member

  • Members
  • PipPip
  • 142 posts

Hello,

I'm working for a french Hospital (IT department) and we are happy of this "How To". But we have trouble with "Dual Core" or "Hyper-Threading" processor. The system see 2 logical/physical processor but the 2nd is not used (periphical list show 2 processors)
Only one processor is visible in Task Manager.

Did you have this problem ? If yes, do you have a solution ?

PS: It's on ALL our Computer model, not only one.

Thanks for your help

"Mono Processor ACPI" vs "Multi processeur ACPI" HAL. You need to change HAL to multiprocessor ACPI for multicore/hyperthreading CPU.

#18
Crazysky

Crazysky
  • Members
  • 3 posts
Thanks for the answer !
i've used the MySysprep to do it and it solved the problem ;)

#19
altjx

altjx

    Newbie

  • Members
  • 23 posts
Nice guide, when I get to
40. Type into the command prompt:

peimg /inf= Drivers\*.inf /image=build_install

If that didn’t work you may have to type the ones that didn’t work manually.

Ex: peimg /inf= Drivers\e1000.inf /image=build_install

I get errors "PEIMG failed to complete the operation with status code 0x80070003. Followed the guide exactly step by step. I'm doing this on a physical machine, not virtual btw.

Edited by altjx, 03 August 2009 - 10:05 AM.


#20
connorsbc

connorsbc
  • Members
  • 1 posts
I love the step by step instructions. They work like a charm.

Question: Has anybody deployed the finshed WIM file using MDT 2010? I what to deploy the image and also install a few appication too.

When I try to deploy with MDT, the script doen't complete the second part.

Brian

#21
cluberti

cluberti

    Gustatus similis pullus

  • Supervisor
  • 11,247 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
You can't deploy an XP WIM from MDT - MDT's Windows PE is hard-coded to run setup.exe from the install medium to install the WIM, which is how Vista and Win7 are deployed. However, XP doesn't deploy from setup.exe, and as such you'll simply hang when trying to deploy. You will have to use a flat-file install of XP to use MDT to deploy it, or you'll have to create a post-image task sequence and call it after you deploy the XP WIM from WDS.

#22
Bloodboy

Bloodboy
  • Members
  • 1 posts
Hey Guys, :hello:
my name is Tobias and im from germany. I train as a IT specialist.
Now the end of my education is close, so i have to prepare a project for my final audit.
Ive chosen the Windows Deployment Services as my topic.

Via google ive found the Blog from ashinator, but ive got some questions about it.

When i crreate the hardware independent XP image, why i have to do step 58 - 62 and the same in 74 - 77 ? Is it not enough to record the image at the end?

And in step 38, can i use the driver packages from http://driverpacks.net ?

Excuse me for my bad english and I know that the thread is quite old, but i hope anyone can help me!

#23
cluberti

cluberti

    Gustatus similis pullus

  • Supervisor
  • 11,247 posts
  • OS:Windows 8.1 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Welcome to the forums, Tobias. I need you to make sure you've read the rules here, because your question pretty much falls afoul of rule 2.c:

2.c Requesting help with academic material, such as assignments, is not permitted on MSFN. Receiving such help is often viewed as plagiarism in many schools, and therefore cannot be allowed. This is for your own protection in your academic career.

Your questions are innocuous, but you'll learn more if you try for yourself and determine if you can or cannot do these things. The project and your education should be yours, not MSFN's to help with. I am sorry, but these rules are in place to help people who are doing things for their education, not to hinder you.

#24
P2PGuru

P2PGuru
  • Members
  • 3 posts
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Great post but I'm wondering what happens to the VMWare Tools. I don't see that these are uninstalled before syprep is executed.
I know that sysprepping removes the drivers but this doesn't uninstall the VMWare tools. Am I missing something here?

Edited by P2PGuru, 08 February 2010 - 09:56 AM.


#25
knifesk

knifesk
  • Members
  • 8 posts
dude... this is an amazing guide!! you should make the video!! haha

Thanks a lot... I guess ill put it on practice soon!




1 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users



How to remove advertisement from MSFN