Jump to content

Welcome to MSFN Forum
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account



Photo

KernelEx 4.5.2

- - - - -

  • Please log in to reply
1560 replies to this topic

#351
mikefitzvw

mikefitzvw

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 15 posts
  • Joined 26-October 09
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Well, I got closer. I re-made the xp.reg and unxp.reg files, but it still didn't quite work. Firefox would claim that Adobe DLM getPlus Add-on is not made for this system (which it's not of course). I then changed the compatibility mode of Firefox to Windows XP SP2, where it would take me to the flash site, install DLM, and then flash would still fail to install. Firefox decided tonight to upgrade itself to 3.5.4 after which point I uninstalled the DLM add-on and any Flash plug-ins, and tried again. Now I got to the flash site, tried to download Flash, and it would install DLM, tell me to restart Firefox, and then it would actually go to the same site as before and install DLM again (in a sort of endless-loop).

When I did all of this I had Firefox be the installer, because the saved desktop install application refused to be deceived into thinking this was XP. In short, I must be doing something wrong. Whenever presented with the opportunity I have set the install application to XP SP2 as well as Firefox, along with using the correct xp.reg file.

Thanks for both your insights so far. Any other ideas?


How to remove advertisement from MSFN

#352
Tihiy

Tihiy

    the creator

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,511 posts
  • Joined 19-November 04
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag

Donator

You don't need DLM (and nobody does)
Adobe is constantly breaking Flash Player install, but i believe you still can get .exe installers from here:
http://get.adobe.com.../otherversions/

#353
patclash

patclash

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 43 posts
  • Joined 11-December 08
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Just a heads up, Mozilla Firefox 3.6 alpha 1 [codenamed namaroka], does not work with KEx4.0final. It fails to start 'mozcrt19.dll' when loading despite the dependancies having been satisfied.

Mozilla Firefox 3.6 Alpha1
https://developer.mo..._for_developers

Hi all,
I try the latest Firefox 3.6 Beta 1 :
http://www.mozilla.c...x/all-beta.html
it does not work with KelnelEX 4.0 Final 2 :(
(I have the same warning message "It fails to start 'mozcrt19.dll' ")

It works with previous mozcrt19.dll.

Changing the file from a previous version copied from Firefox 3.5.5pre doesn't work anymore :no:

#354
Philco

Philco

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 240 posts
  • Joined 24-June 06
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Just a heads up, Mozilla Firefox 3.6 alpha 1 [codenamed namaroka], does not work with KEx4.0final. It fails to start 'mozcrt19.dll' when loading despite the dependancies having been satisfied.

Mozilla Firefox 3.6 Alpha1
https://developer.mo..._for_developers

Hi all,
I try the latest Firefox 3.6 Beta 1 :
http://www.mozilla.c...x/all-beta.html
it does not work with KelnelEX 4.0 Final 2 :(
(I have the same warning message "It fails to start 'mozcrt19.dll' ")

It works with previous mozcrt19.dll.

Changing the file from a previous version copied from Firefox 3.5.5pre doesn't work anymore :no:


With mozcrt9.dll (FF 3.5) work only Alpha 1. Beta Namoroka with new and rewriting function, need update KernelEx...
http://download.winp...ls/mozcrt19.dll - with this dll i run FF Namoroka Alpha 1 properly.

Edited by Philco, 01 November 2009 - 07:09 AM.

Posted Image
czech localization NUSB, BigHDD & UberSkin - homepage czech project: Winpack.org and windows98.ic.cz

#355
mikefitzvw

mikefitzvw

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 15 posts
  • Joined 26-October 09
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Ugh I am about to give up. I uninstalled the flash 9 install, re-wrote the xp.reg and unxp.reg files, re-downloaded flash 10, tried it all again and it failed. Am I supposed to restart after doing xp.reg or something? Somehow flash 10 knows this is Windows 98 no matter what I do. It would almost be easier for somebody to take the files from flash 10 and remake it without the system checks. Any other ideas? Would reinstalling 98 again help? Is 98FE too old for flash 10 (even though Firefox 3.5 works just fine)?

#356
SlugFiller

SlugFiller

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 127 posts
  • Joined 22-March 08
It's been a while since the last update. I hope this is still being worked on. With SeaMonkey setting its official version to 2.0, and recent games requiring GfWL, the need for KernelEx is becoming greater than ever. In its current incarnation, it doesn't actually run any of the real XP-only programs (The ones that need more than a Windows version change and a W-to-A). Perhaps work should proceed in the "Pick program - get it to run" methodology. I mean this in a more public form - users on this board could help test versions of KEx with a specific program, chosen by Xeno86 or tihiy, thus giving a clearer objective and focus, which would help make programs fully usable on a maximal number of configurations.

#357
rapierdragon

rapierdragon
  • Member
  • 1 posts
  • Joined 09-November 09
PROS:

KernelEx allowed me to start playing the newer games over at AdventureGameStudio which uses AGS

AGS... which uses the AGS engine (remember 90's sierra games Space Quest, Police Quest type games? Or games by LucasArts? well that's AGS). The latest AGS engine (3.1.2) requires XP or higher... which means all "fan made" or "AGS fan project" games after bout mid-2008 (which use the new AGS engine) won't work on an old win98se system like mine, but your little program makes it so I can play them. (something to do with how your program enables Visual Studio 2008 or Java or some such).

CONS:

Oddly though, I start getting frequent problems with IE6 (win98se vers). No specific error is given, just a "IE has encountered an error and will now close" with OK button. (Thankfully Firefox still works).

Annoyingly though this "IE error" carries over to regular win98se's explorer... so if I click start>run and click browse, or click a folder on my desktop (like My Computer or My Documents) I oddly get that "IE has encountered..." message and then the window closes. Means I have to use a 3rd party directory browser if I want to manually navigate to look for a file or something.

QUESTION

I couldn't run the installer for XP's IE7 or IE8 with KernelEX installed. Yet oddly other XP-level programs work. I even had "M.S. Office for XP" up and running for a while... only to switch back to Office 2002 when I found out how much additional bloat the XP version tended to install.

I even tried a re-install of win98se and then re-installed KernelEX and still get this error, so I don't know if its a custom setting or what that might cause it.

Anyway, the question is, what are the custom settings you mention? All I see during install is a "turn all on" and "turn all off" option and then again during uninstall there's a "save custom settings?" option... but no actual text on what the custom settings are, how to access them, etc.

#358
lightning slinger

lightning slinger

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 205 posts
  • Joined 18-July 06
  • OS:none specified
 

Anyway, the question is, what are the custom settings you mention? All I see during install is a "turn all on" and "turn all off" option and then again during uninstall there's a "save custom settings?" option... but no actual text on what the custom settings are, how to access them, etc.

Personally I would advise you reinstall KernelEx with the "turn all off" option and only enable KernelEx for the programs that require it to run correctly.

Right click the Install Setup File of the program you require, under Properties, there is a Compatibility tab. Click on this and you will see you have the option to run this program in compatibility mode for different OS's. Set this to run XP in the drop down menu. See the first picture in post#1.


Once you get the program installed you can go to into program files and right click those that need to run in XP mode in the same manner.

Edited by lightning slinger, 12 November 2009 - 06:17 AM.


#359
shazam

shazam
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 30-October 09
Running in xp sp2 mode that work for me:(add some reg key to fix start menu and other data in the right place. Will upload this fix later)
firefox 3.5.5 + Adobe Flash 10.0.0.32.18 (unzip with 7z and put NPSWF32.dll in firefox plugin folder)
ffdshow the newest one you need to copy (not cut) rundll32.exe from C:/windows to C:/windows/System/ (this work b/c the xp only version use the rundll32.exe in C:/windows/System/ folder)


Having Problem: :angry:
Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware it having trouble starting a service. Only get error scan system file like shell32. :angry:
TeamViewer close when you try to control 98se (from xp or win7) but you can Control other os like xp, win7 ...ect on 98se but not the other way.


I will try what lightning slinger sad see if fix some of my problem TeamViewer said that it work on Win95/98/98SE/Me/2000/NT/XP/2003/Vista/7.



Did any one get Malwarebytes' Anti-Malware working or any idea?

#360
eesseell

eesseell
  • Member
  • 7 posts
  • Joined 14-November 09
Flash 10 - How I made it on 98SE!

Dear all. I have several times tried the proposed solution with xp.reg and unxp.reg and was not successfull, Flash always refusing to install because of non supported version. I then discovered that the double click was not adding the specified line in the registry.

Therefore i did it manually and it worked !!

What i did : run regedit and then hit "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion"
At that string, I have made "add new string" though right click
then I have typed current version for he name and 5.1 for the value

Now i have two strings defaut and current version under current version

After that change, flash 10 install worked and falsh 10 now works

Hello from France - Hope this helps

My machine is : Win98SE, ASUS P2B-F June 99 (slot 1 what a marvel!!), PIII 1400 Tualatin on a Powerleap adaptor; ATA 100 through PCI adaptor, USB2 through PCI adaptor - More than 10 years of fun with it.

Long life to 98SE! Thanks for keeping it alive!

#361
cdoublejj

cdoublejj

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 141 posts
  • Joined 26-July 09
will this make me use more ram?

#362
Philco

Philco

    Member

  • Member
  • PipPip
  • 240 posts
  • Joined 24-June 06
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Flash 10 - How I made it on 98SE!

Dear all. I have several times tried the proposed solution with xp.reg and unxp.reg and was not successfull, Flash always refusing to install because of non supported version. I then discovered that the double click was not adding the specified line in the registry.

Therefore i did it manually and it worked !!

What i did : run regedit and then hit "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion"
At that string, I have made "add new string" though right click
then I have typed current version for he name and 5.1 for the value

Now i have two strings defaut and current version under current version

After that change, flash 10 install worked and falsh 10 now works
...


At "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion" its string "RegDone" with "1". No problem?
Posted Image
czech localization NUSB, BigHDD & UberSkin - homepage czech project: Winpack.org and windows98.ic.cz

#363
eesseell

eesseell
  • Member
  • 7 posts
  • Joined 14-November 09
Hello Philco

Don't have this string under Windows NT but under Windows.

Regdone= 1 is a key for registration to allow download from microsoft sites - Should not bother flash install even if at Windows NT string.

Bye

#364
awergh

awergh

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 981 posts
  • Joined 02-October 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag

AGS... which uses the AGS engine (remember 90's sierra games Space Quest, Police Quest type games? Or games by LucasArts? well that's AGS).

I'm pretty sure those games weren't powered by AGS eg Monkey Island, Day of the Tentacle, Beneath a steel sky all used the Scumm Engine.
I think AGS just is able to do everything the engines at the time like Scumm were able to do.

I couldn't run the installer for XP's IE7 or IE8 with KernelEX installed. Yet oddly other XP-level programs work. I even had "M.S. Office for XP" up and running for a while... only to switch back to Office 2002 when I found out how much additional bloat the XP version tended to install.

IE7 and IE8 are pretty much impossible to run on 9x, office 2002 and office XP are the same thing.

#365
mikefitzvw

mikefitzvw

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 15 posts
  • Joined 26-October 09
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
eesseell, could you please explain in very explicit, step by step directions exactly what you did to get Flash 10 to install? (or anyone else that understands)? Thank you very much.

As to making specific implementations of KernelEX aimed at specific programs, that is a fantastic idea. Perhaps specific versions for crucial programs (browser, antivirus, flash, and the like) and a general catchall like the one we have now. I would be glad to test a few (I'm not techie enough to make one myself though I'm afraid).

#366
eesseell

eesseell
  • Member
  • 7 posts
  • Joined 14-November 09
Dear all,

Thought my explanations were clear, i will then try to be more precise.

1) Obviously I have Kernelex final installed

2) I have made a manual modification of the registry launching the regedit program via Start\Run (don't forget that I have a french Win 98SE and that I'm not familiar with the english names of commands)

3) Once the registry was open, I went tho the key "HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion"

4) I left clicked on that key to select it and at the same time to display on the right pane of the registry the strings associated to that key

5) I had only one which was "default"

6) still the key mentioned at point 3 selected, i have done right click, hitting "add new string value" command

7) then a new string appeared on the right pane with invitation to give a name - I have called that new string CurrentVersion

8) then I have double clicked on this newly created string (on the right pane) and entered 5.1 in the corresponding window

9) Then I have closed the registry, rebooted the PC and run Flash 10 install with success

Hope this helps - This is the usual procedure to make manuel changes to the registry

#367
mikefitzvw

mikefitzvw

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 15 posts
  • Joined 26-October 09
  • OS:Windows 7 x64
  • Country: Country Flag
Sir you are a genius! I owe you a Coke.

#368
Steven W

Steven W

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 352 posts
  • Joined 02-June 06
I installed Windows 98 SE on a friends PC, was using IE and viewing videos on pages that use the Windows Media plug-in to embed WMP 9 on the page...long story short something was wrong with the plug-in sometimes it would work, sometimes it wouldn't. I decided to reinstall WMP, not even thinking about having KernelEx installed. I didn't uninstall the old version just reinstalled over it. During the "re-installation", an error came up about kex.exe. I wish I had payed a bit more attention. Anyway, it fixed the errors. All seems to work fine.

I'm kind of curious and also think someone may want to look into this. Does this trick the installer into thinking I'm running XP -- attempting to installing the NT (whatever differences that entails) version of the program? Would I, or anyone else for that matter, have problems if they did not reinstall over an existing installation? Can whatever is causing the message be fixed? Would there be any advantage in installing WMP 9 this way (assuming there are differences)?

Edited by Steven W, 22 November 2009 - 11:45 AM.


#369
EvanD

EvanD

    KISS Advocate

  • Member
  • 31 posts
  • Joined 17-April 08
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag

Dear all,

Thought my explanations were clear, i will then try to be more precise.

1) Obviously I have Kernelex final installed

<snip>

7) then a new string appeared on the right pane with invitation to give a name - I have called that new string CurrentVersion

8) then I have double clicked on this newly created string (on the right pane) and entered 5.1 in the corresponding window


Note that Xeno86, the KernelEx author, recommends undoing the change after installing Flash 10. Other installations that work on Win9x (ver4.1) may not work if they think your O/S is XP (ver5.1). He provides the Regedit scripts for setting and un-setting CurrentVersion. See Post #2 at http://www.msfn.org/...-2-t130936.html

Edited by EvanD, 23 November 2009 - 02:12 PM.


#370
PROBLEMCHYLD

PROBLEMCHYLD

    The Resurrector for old Windows OS

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,431 posts
  • Joined 07-October 05
  • OS:98SE
  • Country: Country Flag
Which do i use

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion]
"VersionNumber"="5.10.2600"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion]
"CurrentVersion"="5.1"

i'm not sure.

Believe God is the Alpha and Omega.
Believe Jesus Christ died for our sins.
Repent for your sins now or there will be
BLOOD

The Path to God


U98SESP3 03-11-2013


#371
esotericmaniac

esotericmaniac
  • Member
  • 5 posts
  • Joined 12-September 09
----------About nasty Flash 10 & Win98------------
To this day I still can not make Flash 10 running on Firefox. Always errors and unsatisfactory results happens. My solution was to play flash 10 videos by using the old flash 9. Previously I posted here a link for downloading an edited flash 9 plugin for Firefox. But there was a problem - the playing of videos which require flash 10 begin to play after some pause of 10-15 seconds. So for 10-15s the CPU Usage is 100% and even the mouse is not moving smoothly. I know that Adobe's products are going better when one removes something from them. The previous time I just substitute the "version info" section of flash 9 with this of flash 10. Now I just removed the "JAVACLASS" section. It really got better. The pause of 10-15 seconds disappeared. Here is the link for those who want to try it.

http://rapidshare.co...for_Firefox.rar

#372
rustweaver

rustweaver

    Newbie

  • Member
  • 11 posts
  • Joined 25-June 08

Which do i use

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion]
"VersionNumber"="5.10.2600"

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Microsoft\Windows NT\CurrentVersion]
"CurrentVersion"="5.1"

i'm not sure.


First one

#373
Steven W

Steven W

    Advanced Member

  • Member
  • PipPipPip
  • 352 posts
  • Joined 02-June 06
Xeno86, I have a request for support for an application. The Compatibility Pack for Word, Excel, and PowerPoint 2007 File Formats. You can see from my post here how to make it install and that it already gets a bit more functional with KernelEX.

http://www.msfn.org/...ts-t140032.html

Thanks.

#374
commander-keen

commander-keen
  • Member
  • 4 posts
  • Joined 08-May 06
Foxit Reader doesn't start because it fails to call Winspool.drv:GetPrinterDataExW

Would be nice to see it working as current Adobe Reader versions after Reader 6.0 don't work and current PDF documents are showing up more and more which aren't interpreted correctly by v6.0.

https://sourceforge....mp;atid=1126916

Attached Files


It Ain't over 'til It's over - Win2k support 'til 2010!

#375
awergh

awergh

    Friend of MSFN

  • Member
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 981 posts
  • Joined 02-October 05
  • OS:none specified
  • Country: Country Flag
Even if you did add the API needed for foxit reader to work this wouldn't fix the big problem of the huge GDI leak.




0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users